Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poker lessons Limerick?

• 21-05-2007 1:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16

Hey
    Looking for someone to give couple of improving poker players some lessons.. Can be in and around the Limerick area.

Ideally want someone to point out where we are going wrong etc just above the basics.. We would have played online quite a bit and couple of tournaments etc along with friendly games..

please contact me by pm or reply to thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 fightingfit

anyone???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭john@thenewvic

Call into the New Vic Poker Club any night and ask for John F. I'll point you towards the right people and give any advice I can. I know its my job to say so but there is a genuinly friendly athmosphere here in the club and any of the decent players would be more than happy to give advice or pass on whatever knowledge they have gleaned over the years. Best way to learn is to play and discuss i reckon and nobody in this place has any problem telling anybody who wants to listen the hows, whys and wherefores of every hand they play..believe me.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭The_Chopper

Call into the New Vic Poker Club any night and ask for John F. I'll point you towards the right people and give any advice I can. I know its my job to say so but there is a genuinly friendly athmosphere here in the club and any of the decent players would be more than happy to give advice or pass on whatever knowledge they have gleaned over the years. Best way to learn is to play and discuss i reckon and nobody in this place has any problem telling anybody who wants to listen the hows, whys and wherefores of every hand they play..believe me.;)

How are the games in limerick at the moment? Is it just tournies or are there some decent cash games?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭busted flush

where is this new club in limerick? im traveling to cork twice a week from buttervant limerick is prob closer to me would love a change to tbh! what is on there visa vie cash games (omaha?), what tournies are on offer? thanks in advance!
    bf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭fabsoul

this is there web site all the info there

http://www.fitzpatrickscasino.com/main.htm

I have been there a few times very nice place, it would'nt be far behind the Sporting Emporium for luxury and comfort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,572 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Casino looks nice, but spelling mistakes and broken links on a website never inspire me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Duff Man Jr.

Neither do free templetes from monstertempletes.

Just to clear things up a little.... I was referring earlier to THE NEW VIC CARD CLUB. We are on Hartstonge Street in Limerick, just around the corner from the Belltable Arts Centre. Most people can tell you where it is as it used to be a very popular snooker club. Still is actually. The premises is now split half and half Poker/ Snooker. We run Tournys six nights a week (Sun-Fri) at 9pm and have cash games and side games from 8.30 most evenings. We pride ourselves on being a card club, not a casino. We have 10 poker tables and 10,000 sq feet to play with which lends itself to that perfect busy club athmosphere when the tournys are going. I would also think that it would be a good learning enviornment for new poker players as we run very reasonably priced tournys ( just E5 to play on Thurs nights, E30 freezeout on sundays) and also as i mentioned earlier most of the lads in here live to talk poker. Our tourny schedule is in the Tourny Schedule Sticky on the Tournys and Events forum or you can call 086 3997584 pretty much anytime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 fightingfit

excellent thanks john.. will definitely be calling in, the fact the tournaments are so reasonable is a big plus.. I guess the only way to improve is to play regularly

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 468 ✭✭trap4

John, is there any website for The New Vic? I tried your username/email as a domain but no luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭StephenInsane

I know a few sound guys between 20-22 who live around the castletroy region and are all semi-pros, if you'd be interested in their numbers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭dK1NG

I know a few sound guys between 20-22 who live around the castletroy region and are all semi-pros, if you'd be interested in their numbers.

its called U.L. :D

ah, the joys of student life eh....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭StephenInsane

Yes, they are students with no jobs who play poker, therefore I describe them as semi-professionals. (despite the fact they're crap, haha!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,613 ✭✭✭mormank

Ha!! I cant believe this thread hasnt turned sour yet with people saying how good they are and other people shooting them down... let me start it, i'm a great player!! :-0 now who's gonna shoot me down. Bes tnights to come into the Vic are, well any night except wednesday or saturday. We seem to be gettin good numbers for tournies every other night these days... I dont think any1 from limerick will fess up to being a good player online for fear of being shot down or bein up for public humiliation... but drop in, im sure in no time u will get to know the heads..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

excellent thanks john.. will definitely be calling in, the fact the tournaments are so reasonable is a big plus.. I guess the only way to improve is to play regularly

Hi fightingfit, I see you joined boards last June. Have you been lurking here since then, or where you reading other fora?

My advice would be to start posting questions and hand histories here, you'll learn so much from it. I joined here in Feb 06 and since then I've learned so much from this forum, and my game has improved greatly (still a lot of improving to do, but gettin there).

Any time you get into a tough spot, try remember all the details of the hand if it's live, or copy the HH if online, then post here, you'll get really good quality advice which will really help your game.

Lazare wrote:
    Hi fightingfit, I see you joined boards last June. Have you been lurking here since then, or where you reading other fora?

My advice would be to start posting questions and hand histories here, you'll learn so much from it. I joined here in Feb 06 and since then I've learned so much from this forum, and my game has improved greatly (still a lot of improving to do, but gettin there).

Any time you get into a tough spot, try remember all the details of the hand if it's live, or copy the HH if online, then post here, you'll get really good quality advice which will really help your game.

QFT.

The best bit of advice given here so far! :cool:

Excellent advice indeed.... i just hope its in my lovely club that folk play these interesting hands.:D

Wonder should we offer it as a service???

Had an interesting hand in the club tonight?
    Like to tease it out??
    Give us the details and we'll post it on boards for you!

(At this point we could put in a bit about boards and what it does.)

We could then print off the resulting thread and post it in the club!

New service for me to offer...nice plug for boards.
    What do ye reckon??
    Bit dumb considering most peoples ease of access to PCs nowadays or worth a pop??

Might be a bit awkard describing villan as a donkey who cant play and then having it stuck up with your name on it. If people post themselfs at least there is some anonymity to it.

New service for me to offer...nice plug for boards.
    What do ye reckon??
    Bit dumb considering most peoples ease of access to PCs nowadays or worth a pop??

well, seeing as so many of the vic's clientele raraely step foot out of the place, it might be worth a shot.........:D

hows the club going john? i havent been down in a while, must try drop in some time when i'm around limerick!

Duff man, how anonymous do you think you are m8??? :D

mormank wrote:
    Duff man, how anonymous do you think you are m8??? :D
    I know im not annoymous but I rarely post hands and when I do I try not to insult people, we all know what it can lead to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 beanflick

Vic is O.K like, but i myself prefer fitzpatricks, nicer place, sound people etc??
    What kind of numbers are the vic getting these days ??
    Can both places last the pace, i hear fitzpatricks has 2 big backers!!

Hey Dking,

Things are going really well, numbers for the tournys continue to grow and given that that is our main focus we are very pleased. Drop in anytime.

Not sure how to respond to you post beanflick other than to rub my gaotee between my forefinger and thumb and say "very interesting" in a strange german accent.

Figure anonymity wouldnt be an issue either duff man, could just post as " a hand from the vic" and refer to people as ply1 ply2 etc.

Hey Dking,

Things are going really well, numbers for the tournys continue to grow and given that that is our main focus we are very pleased. Drop in anytime.

Not sure how to respond to you post beanflick other than to rub my gaotee between my forefinger and thumb and say "very interesting" in a strange german accent.

Figure anonymity wouldnt be an issue either duff man, could just post as " a hand from the vic" and refer to people as ply1 ply2 etc.

especially when u take into a/c that he only has 3 posts to his name. . . . . hmmmmmm:D

i must drop in for a game soon. what cash games are on these days?

i havent been to fitzpatricks yet, but i have heard some good things about it tbh.

hey dking,

We run a 50c/E1 and a E1/E2 pot limit with a live straddle pretty much every night. As im sure you could guess the stakes can get a bit bigger as the night goes on depending on the amounts of money in play. The FitzPatrick is gorgeous. Really nice really plush. Bit too much of a casino for my tastes but well worth a look.

I would jus like to say that there is defo a case for someone giving out leesons in limerick but i dont think ego will let most people ask for help on how to get better..but hey on the other hand why would someone who is good enough to give lessons want bad players to get better!!

As for the fitz, obviously it is very nice but as for poker, you can ask any poker player worth his salt and they will tell you they are beginners with poker and the dealers aren't the best to put it mildly. Don't wanna offend anyway cos they are "sound people".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Kobraki

mormank wrote:
    the dealers aren't the best to put it mildly.
    Nice...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Jam-Fly

John,
    You said there were no tournaments on Saturday nights, is there still cash games?
    Also, is the club open 24/7 or what. How long do the cash games go on for roughly.
    Also, what kind of players do you get strength wise? Any of the local sharks, haha.

Nothing at all on saturdays. Cash game start varies, usualy between half ten and 12 tho. Starts out as 50c/1 game. Strength is, well, the players aren't the best to put it mildly!! :D

Hey jam fly,

Its pretty much what mormank said but i dont think the players are as bad as he says. From what i see everyone seems to be well able to look after themselves on the poker table and i would not call in expecting a shower of mongs.:) Methinks mormank might be trying to entice some new blood cos everyone here has him figured out.;) We are not quite 24/7 as we do not have a Sat tourny and the Sat cash game, when it does happen, is invite only but we stay open any morning till the game ends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Jam-Fly

Ah right, cheers for responses.
    So basically the club stays open till the cash games break?
    The tournaments start at 8pm btw??

I'll be sure to pay a few visits over the next few weeks.