Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kea and unverified addresses?

• 19-05-2007 9:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,319 ✭✭✭

Ok I could wait for them to get back to me. That might not be till monday though!

I ordered the 1.8 50mm tonight through the ebay shop. I DID read through all the payment/delivery bumph (I SWEAR I DID!) and then went ahead with the sale through my sister's card. I tried to pay via visa but it seems they only take paypal? Anyway, added the card details to my account and all seems fine - the payment is processed and I got my receipt from both Paypal and Kea. It was only after that when I looked at my account details that I noticed this:

Please pay the final cost + shipping + insurance. If payment is by Paypal, we can only ship to VERIFIED PAYPAL ACCOUNT with CONFIRMED ADDRESS ONLY. Thanks!

The payment has been made, and as I said receipts delivered, but AFAIK my account is neither verified nor address confirmed. I'm feeling a bit of an anticlimax here, and very anxious. I want my 50!

Does anyone have any experience/advice with this? I've emailed them to ask for clarification but that might take ages..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭GristlyEnd

They will usually despatch it. I've used paypal with an unverified address on ebay without any problems. It's usually only UK and US addresses that can be confirmed. He may ask you to email over a scanned copy of the credit card.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I've never been able to get my paypal address confirmed in all the years using my Irish account no matter how hard I tried. It has something to do with the CC company not having this feature available or something for Irish accounts.
    You might be asked for additional information as mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

He will ask you to send either a bill or your drivers license in a fax or email, it'll be monday before he gets back to you though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭City-Exile

Spot on, Darren G.
    Once the credit card is verified, the payment should go through, as it's almost impossible to get an address verified, for an Irish card.
    URGalaxy don't have a problem with it, thankfully, as I get my stuff delivered to my work address.
    Had a problem when I ordered my 400D from England but they sent me an e-mail to confirm and delayed the shipping by one day, before they sent it to my work address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

From what I can tell from my limited use of PayPal is that the verification goes something like this ...

You authorize a (token) payment of ₤1.50 to PayPal through the verification page (click on the 'Irish Unverified' link on your Account Overview, and on the next page on 'Get Verified'). You wait until that item appears on your CC bill where a 4 digit code appears. Log-in to your PayPal account, and enter that code, whizz-bang your account is verified, and they even credit back the amount you paid in initially to your account.

I haven't done this myself (yet), but I can't see any reason why that process shouldn't work on an Irish CC account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭deRanged

just like Alun said - it works fine on Irish CCs.
    If you've got online access to your credit card you can get the whole thing done in less than a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭m_stan

Strange all the talk of it being hard to get an Irish carc verified. Mine is. Has been for years. Can't remember how it happened, but it mustn't have been hard. Makes me feel better since there's a good chance I'll be buying some gear off Kea in the next week since J&R in New York don't have all I need in stock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,319 ✭✭✭sineadw

Lovely email in my inbox this morning - he's shipping it on Monday :D He hasn't asked for anything to verify, I guess its so small a value there's no need?

Now to sit looking at the front door for a week...

Lads above, you're missing the point. It's not the cc that isn't verified, it's the address for the cc that isn't verified.
    It should, in theory, be verified, to ensure that no one is using your credit card fraudulantly.

If you don't mind me asking, Sinéad, how much did the lens set you back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭deRanged

City-Exile wrote:
    Lads above, you're missing the point. It's not the cc that isn't verified, it's the address for the cc that isn't verified.

That's exactly what is verified. The verification process works by adding a code to your credit card bill, which is sent to your home address. You open your post at your address, read the code and confirm it with paypal, thus confirming your address.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭311

The confirmation is for your credit card ,not your address.
    I verifyed my paypal account ,but my address is not verified.

I think it's something to do with the banking systems here ,america seems to be integrated with paypal.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Roen

_Brian_ wrote:
    The confirmation is for your credit card ,not your address.
    I verifyed my paypal account ,but my address is not verified.

I think it's something to do with the banking systems here ,america seems to be integrated with paypal.:(
    Effective October 10, 2003, addresses provided by U.K. and Canadian buyers may notice a status of Confirmed on their PayPal accounts. A Confirmed Address is a PayPal member's credit card billing address. Because not all credit card companies are currently able to confirm addresses, only some U.K. and Canadian addresses can be confirmed at this time.

Sellers can use the presence of a Confirmed Address as an additional risk management tool when considering transactions where Seller Protection Policy may be unavailable. All addresses for PayPal members outside the U.S., U.K. and Canada will continue to show a status of Unconfirmed.

Is this what ye are talking about? Or am I on the wrong track altogether?

Aye horse ,that would be along the lines of it . Reading up on various web pages when I started using paypal a few months back ,it seemed as if people were using their paypal account almost like a bank account.

But I thought the US was the only country ,obviously not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Roen

I got a bit panicky when the first time I noticed the 'Verified addresses only' thing. As usual with things like this I only copped it after I'd made the purchase. They could do with clarifying things a little better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,319 ✭✭✭sineadw

Agreed Roen - it was only afterwards I spotted it too. Sent me into a bit of a panic.

City_exile, it was a grand total of €83.99, including P&P :D:D:D AFAIK rrp here is €150 so a bargain indeed.

sineadw wrote:
    City_exile, it was a grand total of €83.99, including P&P :D:D:D AFAIK rrp here is €150 so a bargain indeed.

Ah, I see. I was looking at the f1.4, which is considerably more expensive. Didn't think I'd make enough use of it.
    Let me know how you get on with the f1.8 because I'll probably buy a prime, before the summer is out.

I got the same lens from kea a couple of months back ,don't mind the repaired lens sticker on the jiffy bag :) .