Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wheres Lemlin???

• 19-05-2007 10:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭

Well we're at the early stages of the championship and a man from Cavan known as Lemlin is missing on boards.ie

Veterans on this board will know that myself and Lemlin have had interesting discussions,arguments,agreements etc.So I thought to add a bit of spice to the boards,I'd ask to bring back Lemlin who is extremely quiet and missed here.

Maybe Pornapster can comment on the whereabouts of his fellow Cavan counterpart.I really do miss the debates and I'd say that the Championship banter is not the same without him.I'm not the only person to collide with him though,Waylander,Rooster,Culchie have all debated with him.

So lets bring back Lemlin for more interesting reading.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

If Cavan win the replay expect some action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Lemlin is probably off kicking himself for not winning last Sunday. :)

I don't think Cavan are going to worry too many counties this year, even if they beat Down.

After today, he'll be keeping an even lower profile. :)

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Indeed. Or he could be in jail if he got anywhere near the referee... Homer wasn't the word for that twat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭muincav

I want to know where the ref bought his licence for the game of football because he should return it as soon as possible before someone shoves it up where he keeps his brains....aaarrrggghhhhh:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Didn't get to catch the Sunday Game yesterday,I heard the ref was extremely harsh in this match which may have given Down the necessary edge.

If Cavan win in the qualifiers,we'll hear from the man himself.I wouldn't hold my breath though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

He is in college isn't he, so maybe he has exams. I am sure he will be delighted to know that you are missing him Blackbelt :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

blackbelt wrote:
    Well we're at the early stages of the championship and a man from Cavan known as Lemlin is missing on boards.ie

Veterans on this board will know that myself and Lemlin have had interesting discussions,arguments,agreements etc.So I thought to add a bit of spice to the boards,I'd ask to bring back Lemlin who is extremely quiet and missed here.

Maybe Pornapster can comment on the whereabouts of his fellow Cavan counterpart.I really do miss the debates and I'd say that the Championship banter is not the same without him.I'm not the only person to collide with him though,Waylander,Rooster,Culchie have all debated with him.

So lets bring back Lemlin for more interesting reading.:)

Lol, who doesnt remember him ;) I havent been on here in ages either actually. Was away for ages and then got back to find my computer being an arse and constantly acting up. At least i can turn it on now so thats enough :)

Welcome back Nalced,

I do think the amount of championship banter is a lot less than what I'd hope for but we are at the early stages.Its a pity he is missing because our tendency to disagree livens things up on boards.

Its a well known fact that I'm not the only one.Theres Flukey,Culchie,Waylander,Rooster,Netwhizkid too.I think he might wait a while until the memory of Cavan being knocked out fades away for the season :D

Wait until we start winning again blackbelt. Then you won't hear the end of us! :p

Until then...

Well Porn,heres hoping that Cavan draw Kildare or Clare.If Cavan avoid Mayo,Armagh and Westmeath,they should have a good run.I hope they do.

blackbelt wrote:
    Welcome back Nalced,

I do think the amount of championship banter is a lot less than what I'd hope for but we are at the early stages.Its a pity he is missing because our tendency to disagree livens things up on boards.

Its a well known fact that I'm not the only one.Theres Flukey,Culchie,Waylander,Rooster,Netwhizkid too.I think he might wait a while until the memory of Cavan being knocked out fades away for the season :D
    Cheers man. It really isnt the same without some disagreements. What keeps us going is coming back to see if the person were arguing with has replied :) I sent you a PM by the way on the ticket thing. Its quite a longshot but not impossible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭opa01_2000

Much as it distresses me to say it, it may not be a bad thing if we get slaughtered in the qualifiers if it speeds up the exit of the current management.

I cannot believe how the County Board appointed as manager someone who has no experience of club management. My view is that a good manager starts at U12, U14 etc before working their way up into Senior club management for a number of years before being considered for their county.

The only exception to this, IMO, is a player who has played for his county for a number of years and knows the setup inside out. He could then graduate to management if he's got the right support team.

Our manager was a fairly average Intermediate Club player who made a couple of appearances for the county. Don't get me wrong - I have no problem with the man himself but I think it was obvious in the Down and Roscommon games that he couldn't make the necessary adjustments that experience would made obvious to him.

I can believe the Cavan county board made the decision as it was all based on finances. I have heard that the cost to our manager is his assistant's salary (£60,000 stg for 2 years) but surely we can afford this kind of salary in the County Board when a Div 2 club game costs €14 to get in.

Bring back wee Martin - he well worth the £60,000 stg !!!

In the immortal words of Mrs Merton "Let's have a heated debate" !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

opa01_2000 wrote:
    Bring back wee Martin - he well worth the £60,000 stg !!!

Can't see wee Martin going back to management. He's doing alright with his media jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Ah lads, I have been here and reading your views, its great to be missed but everyone knows I'm not in full swing until Dubs such as you start making your outlandish claims Blackbelt :D

Former classics are that Jason Sherlock deserved an All-Star (despite not even making the Dublin starting 15) and that Dublin are the 3rd best team in Ireland because they managed to draw with Tyrone.

Then there was the time when ye all said I too was biased for saying James Reilly deserved an All-Star. Until of course he was nominated for one and ye all had egg on your face. I do love being proved right :D

Anyway, lads, I'll actually be attending this Sunday's game. Heading in with theirty lads from Meath and we all have Hill tickets. Should be fun :D

Not sure who I'll be cheering for yet though, Meath vs. Dublin is six of one and half a dozen of the other for me.....

Welcome back ye son of a B**** :D

Anyway,to kickstart the traditional boards championship banter,I'll start by saying that James Reilly was nominated but what happened..........:D

As for Dublin being the 3rd best team,at that time,it was a very feasible claim as we were playing the best football we had in years and did draw with Tyrone.We lost the replay because of two uncharacteristic mistakes by O Shaughnessy.We'll never know if Dublin could have came back from the dead to win.We made the semi last year,so again its still feasible.

Jayo deserves an all star....well his performance against Wexford and Laois merited some award.He dug us out of trouble and scored some crucial scores.

I'm guessing you are jumping on the Meath bandwagon as your Cavan pipe dream has come to fruition.Ye better invest in some helmets ,cups and wahtever.

Ye got some balls and some neck going into the Hill.I don't envy you.

Im also attending the game, going with, i dunno a few thousand lads from Dublin to the Hill ;) Anyway, i dont think i ever stated Jayo deserved an AllStar, nor did i say Reilly didnt. And finally nor did i say we were the 3rd best team in the country but as Blackbelt said, at that point we werent far off it. We should all meet for a drink beforehand and have an auld arguement, you know, get the day off to a flyer altho it might be better if we met in the ring in The National Stadium if Lemlin and Blackbelt get their hands on eachother i think ;)

blackbelt wrote:
    Welcome back ye son of a B**** :D

Anyway,to kickstart the traditional boards championship banter,I'll start by saying that James Reilly was nominated but what happened..........:D

As for Dublin being the 3rd best team,at that time,it was a very feasible claim as we were playing the best football we had in years and did draw with Tyrone.We lost the replay because of two uncharacteristic mistakes by O Shaughnessy.We'll never know if Dublin could have came back from the dead to win.We made the semi last year,so again its still feasible.

Jayo deserves an all star....well his performance against Wexford and Laois merited some award.He dug us out of trouble and scored some crucial scores.

I'm guessing you are jumping on the Meath bandwagon as your Cavan pipe dream has come to fruition.Ye better invest in some helmets ,cups and wahtever.

Ye got some balls and some neck going into the Hill.I don't envy you.

I love this...

You'll be the same Dublin supporter who'll be here in a few weeks saying that Dub supporters' images are tarnished by the actions of a few. Yet you're here bragging that a group of supporters from another county who go onto the Hill should expect trouble.

Well done for showing your true colours. Disgraceful.

Lemlin wrote:
    I love this...

You'll be the same Dublin supporter who'll be here in a few weeks saying that Dub supporters' images are tarnished by the actions of a few. Yet you're here bragging that a group of supporters from another county who go onto the Hill should expect trouble.

Well done for showing your true colours. Disgraceful.
    Jesus, you really are a broken record Lemlin. Everything people say here isnt to be taken completely seriously. You really need to tap into the forgotten art of humour and not take everything anyone says at face value. You may experience trouble, you may not. Really depends where in the Hill you are. If you want to have a little point to cry about here, go to scumbags corner and start taking the same bigoted crap you tend to spout out here about Dublin and i will safely say you will get trouble there.

Ah lads, let Lemlin have his day in Croke Park in peace. His county are unlikely to see it again this year, and the Dubs will show him how football should be played and Meath will show him how boxing is done.:)
    A truly educational day for him.

Flukey wrote:
    Ah lads, let Lemlin have his day in Croke Park in peace. His county are unlikely to see it again this year, and the Dubs will show him how football should be played and Meath will show him how boxing is done.:)
    A truly educational day for him.
    Ah, im not gonna have a go at Lemlin this year. Last year was enough arguing to last me till 2010 i think. Ill be happy just discussing stuff instead of arguing them. Just think you should stop with the fans arguement tho. Nobody wants that starting up again Lem! ;)

Ye know Lemlin,you should get some psychiatric help if everything anybody says is to be taken completely serious.I'll put the smileys in for your benefit in future.

Secondly,if you are seriously going into the Hill with what you say as 30 Meath supporters,I would not rule you or those Meath supporters out getting into trouble.As a whole,Dublin supporters are great and very rarely is there huge bust-ups.

However,saying this,there will always be the minority select few scumbags that might start on you.I do not condone any such action but to turn around and brand ALL Dublin fans in general as scumbags is downright ignorant and highlights the narrow mindedness and stupidity of that person.I think you have more integrity not to do this but you've surprised us all in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

blackbelt wrote:
    Ye know Lemlin,you should get some psychiatric help if everything anybody says is to be taken completely serious.I'll put the smileys in for your benefit in future.

Secondly,if you are seriously going into the Hill with what you say as 30 Meath supporters,I would not rule you or those Meath supporters out getting into trouble.As a whole,Dublin supporters are great and very rarely is there huge bust-ups.

However,saying this,there will always be the minority select few scumbags that might start on you.I do not condone any such action but to turn around and brand ALL Dublin fans in general as scumbags is downright ignorant and highlights the narrow mindedness and stupidity of that person.I think you have more integrity not to do this but you've surprised us all in the past.

In 2005, there was a bunch of about 12 lads in Meath jerseys on the Hill and there was some great banter. However, some lads didn't take so kindly to it and started spouting threatening and abusive language towards them (while taking successive drags on their spliffs - morons!!!).

Let them have their time on the Hill, it'll hopefully be their last time there this summer ;)

UP THE DUBS!

I wonder was that Lemlin and his mates that caused the hassle on the Hill at half time and were then led away? I was watching that group from my seat in the Cusack from early on, as there was a group of them in green jerseys there.

I very much doubt you'd see Lemlin in one of those green jerseys Flukey! ;)

Flukey wrote:
    I wonder was that Lemlin and his mates that caused the hassle on the Hill at half time and were then led away? I was watching that group from my seat in the Cusack from early on, as there was a group of them in green jerseys there.

Causing hassle? I wouldn't call having cans of Stella and coins thrown at your head causing hassle.

I was lucky enough to swap my Hill ticket for a Cusack ticket. My friends from Meath still went to the Hill because that's where their tickets were for.

Of course the wonderful fans of Dublin on the Hill didn't take kindly to the fact that a group of opposition fans should have the cheek to enter a stand they seem to think they own.

From the moment the lads went in, they were baaed at. Last time I checked Meath wasn't a stronghold for sheep, maybe someone should tell the bunch of cavemen on the terrace that.

By half time, they had to be moved by the Gardai for their own safety, as one Garda told them.

Among the items thrown at them were bottles, coins, cans and, strangely enough, an umbrella.

But I bet all ye great Dub supporters will claim they went looking for trouble by going on the Hill. Why then did the GAA release 3,000 Hill tickets to Meath GAA?

I've never heard of behaviour like that at a GAA match before and I personally think that the Hill should be closed for Dublin games if that behaviour is going to go on. There's no room for loutish soccer style behaviour at GAA matches.

The lads went on the Hill two years ago and, while they were baaed at and had the odd item thrown, it was nothing compared to yesterday, so it does show that this sort of thing is getting worse.

Lemlin,

If you read my post above, you'll see what I saw in 2005. The majority of genuine Dublin fans will always be up for a bit of craic with supporters from the auld enemy. However, I've noticed over the past few years that a small minority (you'll probably say large but I'm going to defend the majority who are proper supporters and not sunshine bandwagon hoppers) attend and a) have no interest in the game and would much prefer their Bulmers and spliff concoctions and b) I'd love to know where they get their tickets from as the clubs to which these muppets are affiliated (we all know that 99% of Dubs Hill 16 tickets come from the clubs) should be informed and these clowns shouldn't get tickets again.

dcr22B wrote:
    Lemlin,

If you read my post above, you'll see what I saw in 2005. The majority of genuine Dublin fans will always be up for a bit of craic with supporters from the auld enemy. However, I've noticed over the past few years that a small minority (you'll probably say large but I'm going to defend the majority who are proper supporters and not sunshine bandwagon hoppers) attend and a) have no interest in the game and would much prefer their Bulmers and spliff concoctions and b) I'd love to know where they get their tickets from as the clubs to which these muppets are affiliated (we all know that 99% of Dubs Hill 16 tickets come from the clubs) should be informed and these clowns shouldn't get tickets again.

If it happened down the country though, other supporters would tell the morons to stop it and cop themselves on. That sort of behaviour would not be allowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

This just reminded me. did any of ye read about the group of mayo lads trying to use bebo to organise a cult kind fan base (requirements - no girls or under 16's). they basically were trying to promote hooliganism. They believed it was the missing element in gaa. pure disgrace really. the account is canceled now but still it makes me wonder how many peple are like this and should the gaa look into it before it has a chance to develop.

I can't speak for myself unfortunately as I don't go the Hill that much (girlfriend and sister want to stay well clear of it for the reasons we've outlined already). These idiots travel in packs so you'll be very lucky to pipe up against them without being targetted for abuse afterwards.

There is now an urgent need for CCTV to be installed to avoid a repeat of yesterday's scenes.

Lemlin, I was at the Hill 16 end of the Cusack Stand, in 301, and so had a very good view of Hill 16. There were lots of Meath fans on it, all seeming to be in good humour and also being made welcome. It was just that single group that were removed. If those Meath fans were being removed for their own protection, then so would all have the other ones on it, but they weren't. So obviously they had caused some hassle. As they were led away, there were missiles thrown at them, and no one here condones that kind of behaviour from Dublin or other fans that engage in it. Contrary to opinions often expressed here, fans of the other counties do engage in that kind of behaviour. Then again, anyone that engages in that kind of behaviour, no matter what county they are from, can't really be called fans.

I was on the Hill yesterday and I must admit I saw a good few hooligans smoking spliffs and drinking cans n sh!t.

Luckily,I did not see the scenes at half time of the gardai reefing the Meath supporters out of the Hill as I had to go to the gents....that was a big ordeal in itself.

Anyway,I was told that some Meath supporters were giving the finger and kissing their jersey in front of the Hill as they were escorted out.Cans and crap were lobbed at them and hit them.Whilst I do not condone this behaviour of those individuals who threw stuff,the Meath supporters should not have done this for their own safety.I think part of the blame is with them for antagonizing the Hill.

Yes Meath supporters have every right to be in the Hill but they should really consider the repurcussions.Hill 16 is the home of the Dubs and an invasion of the opposition is in a sense asking for trouble.Dublin have made Hill 16 their home since Heffo's army in the 1970s.

I can also guarantee you that the scumbag Dublin supporters (minority) on the Hill are those that either buy tickets from a guy in the pub or online on ticketmaster.I don't think this knackerish behaviour comes from club members.

Lemlin,I told you that it was a real possibility that a select few scumbags might start trouble with your Meath friends.What I don't understand,is your repetition of branding ALL Dublin supporters "scumbags" or "ye great Dublin supporters".Like there has never been 20-30 scumbag Cavan supporters.Hell even Kerry and Mayo have their scumbag supporters.The latter of those two have great supporters who you'll find in the Hogan or Canal.

I remember at the Mayo-Dublin match last year,a woman and her family knew the area where my grandparents where from.They were great to me and my girlfriend and cheered for the Dublin goals.After the match we exchanged hats.One week prior to this,I was in the Hill with my gf for Mayo-Laois.The Mayo fans on the Hill were a bit knackerish.So you can't sweep everybody with the same brush.

And whats this about Hill 16 closing for Dublin matches?Come on Lemlin,you are losing credibility and your integrity by saying this.Whilst I think CCTV is a good idea,I think its the Gardai duty to sort out those scumbags who throw stuff and smoke their hash.

Hill 16 adds to the atmosphere and is a great place to be in a derby.I think you should take off your anti-Dublin tinted glasses and look at it logically.You're like an old man the way you carry on.I suppose you eat custard and prunes while you post here :D

They were, i was at the cusack stand end of the Hill. As they passed by there they were making gestures to the Hill and shouting things up and basically looking for trouble so i have no doubt they were doing it while in the Hill also. Either way they shouldnt have things thrown at them but they shouldnt be looking for it either. Also, close the Hill? I can see why your not put incharge of security for Croker. Anyway, i was in The Big Tree before the game and there was some great banter between the supporters. There was not 1 bit of trouble in there and there were plenty of Meath fans. Funny that really as if All Dubs are scumbags you would think they would get hassle there also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Aedh Baclamh

Nah the Hill is full of your typical Dublin fan. At least they were more accurate with their bottle throwing than the Dublin players' kicking. Maybe it's just down to years of practice?

"The Hill is full of your typical Dublin supporters".(Aedh Baclamh)

Oh so I am a typical Dublin supporter because I chose to go to the Hill?When you say FULL,that must mean everybody yeah?

Are you branding me as a "typical Dublin supporter"?I do believe when you say typical,you mean a hash smoking,beer lout who causes trouble and throws sh!t and who isn't there for the sake of supporting their team.I'm a true fan of Dublin and GAA.I go into the Hill knowing I'm not a scumbag and I'm proud of that.Flukey,NalcedIrl,Waylander,Rooster etc who were in the Hill may also be offended by your comments.

I was in the Hill and did not throw a single thing or laugh or cheer when it was.Neither am I a trouble maker or a hooligan.I'll go to any terrace or stand I want.Just because I was in the Hill does not mean I was there to cause trouble.Unfortunately there are some scumbags from Dublin who are sunshine supporters and there were Meath scumbags in the Hill also.I saw them.

There is a huge amount of English football supporters who are hooligans.My first time to Lansdowne Road was Ireland vs England in 1994 (I think) when the riot happened.I will not say that ALL the English supporters are like this.

Keep your comments to yourself if you want to brand everybody that is in the Hill as a "typical Dublin supporter" ie a scumbag.Any such attacks is deemed a suspendible or bannable offence on boards and thats what you've done.

I'm offended by these comments.Your remarks really p!ss me off.They detract from the reason we are here and thats to talk about football.You are flaming this thread and I'm getting fed up big time.I post here a lot and people enjoy reading my posts and my contribution and I enjoy reading others peoples opinions and whatever and have fun doing so.I feel personally insulted by the crap with which you wrote.At least with Lemlin,our arguments are kept to respectable level without branding each other in a derogatory nature.

Maybe you should do something constructive like reading the rules thread or discussion about Dublin/Ulster/Cavan thread before you post again.I can't remember the last time I read a post and took great offence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Aedh Baclamh quit trolling right now.

The rest of you cop on. Championship is still in the early stages fs.