Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bertie Ahern's Car Causes Accident

• 18-05-2007 2:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭

Bertie Ahern has just visited my local town, His state car was illegally parked on double yellow lines at the top of the main street and it caused a lorry to hit the side of a Volkswagon Beetle on the opposite side (parked legally)...
    Wonder will he pay for the damage..?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Femmy wrote:
    Bertie Ahern has just visited my local town, His state car was illegally parked on double yellow lines at the top of the main street and it caused a lorry to hit the side of a Volkswagon Beetle on the opposite side (parked legally)...

Call the radio stations. :)

like hell he won't ...

this kind of thing is disgraceful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

scojones wrote:
    Call the radio stations. :)

i work for one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Then I trust you informed the newsroom. :) (which station btw RED FM?)

Mike

mike65 wrote:
    Then I trust you informed the newsroom. :) (which station btw)

Mike

Got the presenter to announce it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Inform them all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I go jogging past his constituency office some evenings and his state mercedes is always parked fully on the footpath. (all four wheels)

Maybe I should call in the clampers ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭PCros

Femmy wrote:
    Got the presenter to announce it..

Without any propper sources...thats radio for ya!

I dont think hes gonna get in any trouble considering he runs the country!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭slumped

Isn't the Taoiseach and President protected from prosecution for parking/driving violations???

S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Femmy wrote:

He wont pay for the damage "ah sure accidents will happen" is all he will say :rolleyes:

Maybe this is an example of Fianna Fáil's campaign for safety on Irish roads :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭stipey

Femmy wrote:

Hang on a sec! As much as I hate the snivelling little shitebag, Bertie didn't cause the accident.

For one thing I doubt our great leader actually drives himself about the place so it probably wasn't him that parked the car where it was.

Secondly, although parked illegally, the car didn't cause the lorry to hit anything. It may have inconvenienced the driver. It may have left him without enough room to pass without hitting something - but the onus is on the driver to perform the maneuver with due care and attention. If he was unsure that he had sufficient space to perform the maneuver he should not have tried to complete it.

I agree that this whole one rule for them and another for us thing is a disgrace - but saying that Bertie himself caused the accident is a bit sensationalist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

micmclo wrote:
    I go jogging past his constituency office some evenings and his state mercedes is always parked fully on the footpath. (all four wheels)

Maybe I should call in the clampers ;)

Better still, buy one in Argos and slap it on the car yourself. :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

slumped wrote:
    Isn't the Taoiseach and President protected from prosecution for parking/driving violations???

S
    Do either of them actually drive themselves anywhere?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

robinph wrote:
    Do either of them actually drive themselves anywhere?

Nope. They have full-time garda drivers.
    The OP's title is misleading

yeah ok , maybe my title was a bit misleading...sorry about that. i'd change it if i could.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

Femmy wrote:
    yeah ok , maybe my title was a bit misleading...sorry about that. i'd change it if i could.
    You can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

You can change the title by clicking to the right of the topic line in the After Hours front page.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Nordie

They should slap a 50K fine on him:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

*whistles* title changed.

Enda Kenny\'s convoy forced someone off the road too, allegedemedly. Cannae trust any of them. *cough*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

Femmy wrote:

Thats the best title in ages......I'm considering letting you have some of my children :D

* Edit to add in original title !

Zomg! Bertie EATED A Car And B0rked My Hamster!¬!!!

Raiser wrote:
    Thats the best title in ages......I'm considering letting you have some of my children :D

drop them over anytime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭slumped

So in effect what the OP is saying is that a Garda parked his car on a double yellow (of course by parked the Garda would have to have left the vehicle).

The car was not Bertie's - it is owned by the State.

So a state owned car driven by a member of An Garda Siochaina was partly to blame for a truck that had an accident?

Is that more accurate??

S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Pat Rabbite sits on motorway overpasses chewing live bunnies and throwing them at car windscreens causing multiple pileups everyday **

** most likely not true, but sure why not.

slumped wrote:
    So in effect what the OP is saying is that a Garda parked his car on a double yellow (of course by parked the Garda would have to have left the vehicle).

So a state owned car driven by a member of An Garda Siochaina was partly to blame for a truck that had an accident?

Is that more accurate??

S

Era yeah..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

slumped wrote:

Is that more accurate??

S
    It's not as catchy a title

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

Wesht cork and city. But his Speech on Patricks street was cancelled cos of some hecklers in the previous place he was at..oh and there was nobody there!

Raiser wrote:

* Edit to add in original title !

Zomg! Bertie EATED A Car And B0rked My Hamster!¬!!!

You can thank Karoma for that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭Villain

I think he is in Carlow tomorrow, well I hope he is looking forward to having a word with the crook. See if he will give a lend of a few grand and not want repayment for 10 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Carlow, eh....Where's me rotten foodz :p

I will rofl if he loses the election over this :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

irish1 wrote:
    I think he is in Carlow tomorrow, well I hope he is looking forward to having a word with the crook. See if he will give a lend of a few grand and not want repayment for 10 years.

I was wondering for some time what crook Bertie was meeting in Carlow, punctuation is so damn handy sometimes :D

- I knew the title change would kill this thread, we were all sooo excited when there was car carnage and bonked rodents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

There's been some sort of misunderstanding... the Mercedes was only *resting* on those double yellow lines, you see, it doesn't count!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Wouldn't the lorry be at fault there? regardless of whether the state car was parked ilegally

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

We all know Bertie drives himself around everywhere. It's the drivers fault, not Berties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭UrbanFox

To answer part of the original question....

If the car contributed to causing the accident you and I will pay for it as taxpayers, not Bertie ! This assumes that the State is still self-insured...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

effectively, since bertie has a fulltime driver, who is a garda, the garda cant get charged with anything becasue he is on duty(traffic offences) so we pay for it, as long as its seen as bertie's cars fault

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gyppo

No Bertie lover by a long shot, but it does not matter a flying f**k where berties car was parked wrt this incident. The accident and damage was caused by the driver of the lorry, who should have been able to judge whether or not there was enough room to pass, and on obviously making that call, should have been able to exercise control when passing by the car he swiped.
    The fact that a state car (or any other car for that matter ) parked illegally has no bearing on whether another car was damaged as a result of trying to get by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭G Luxel

This type of Public Abuse is one reason i despise policitians. Hypocrites. The car shouldnt be on a double yellow line. These Public Representatives dont know the meaning of political correctness. Now you can see one reason why people dont vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Femmy wrote:

His garda driver is liable for the vehicle, not Bertie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

And the lorry driver is liable if he hits a car, I'd be more worried that he cannot navigate his lorry properly because of a minor obstruction.

Ahern's driver should have been more careful where he parked especially with all the negative publicity doing the round but it's a non issue really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

TITLE: "Bertie Ahern's Car Causes Accident "

So now it's the car's fault? I wonder did it park there with malice aforethought, or did it see a hot sexy Porsche it fancied, and get distracted from what it was doing? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Rudolph Claus

Feckin polititions going around hassling and getting in the way of ordinarypeople who are actually do a days work. Pity the lorry driver didnt run over Berties car and kill the corupt lying ugly grinning gobsh-te. Roll on voting day, Enda Kenny will be getting my vote anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

PCros wrote:
    I dont think hes gonna get in any trouble considering he runs the country!?
    He run's the country? He can't look after his own finances ffs.:rolleyes: