Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford - Tramore Race this Saturday..

• 17-05-2007 11:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭

Is anyone here going to take part in this? I am thinking of doing it. Does anyone know where I could get some info?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭aoa321

Here you go

http://www.westwaterfordathletics.org/component/option,com_extcalendar/Itemid,27/extmode,view/extid,13/

It will start at the Theatre Royal/Town Hall in Waterford and off ye go out the road !! There will be probably about 200 - 250 runners, and like everything else organised by Waterford AC or West Waterford it should be well organised and all abilities are welcomed. Registration will be at the badminton club close to the start - just go to the Theatre Royal and ask any of the runners for directions, Finton will be shouting out instructions over the loudspeaker if you're too shy !!

Just remember it's a point to point race, so you better send somebody out to to Tramore in a car to pick you up unless you're in the mood for a 15 miler !! Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

great, thanks for the info.

Is that Fintan the same Fintan who used to start lots of race meetings around Waterford and writes up the Athletics notes in the local media?? Fintan Walsh??

I used to be a member of St. Mary's Athletic club (Ballygunner) but tis no longer I believe.

ah yeah I know the area alright, lived in Waterford for years.
    I'm looking forward to the race..does anyone know what it is like, I know to drive it it seems fairly flat but running it is a different ball game...any deceptive hilly bits I should know about??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭jimbo21

its windie down here so we will have to run 7.5 miles running into the wind:eek: but it is a lovey run:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭tombliboo83

Looking forward to it tonight. I registered online so do I pick my no. up at theatre royal ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭slowsteady

Ran this race tonight. 372 entries, good craic at registration, good weather en route, better craic at the finish.

Well organised, water at 4 miles for those who needed it, nice route straight and fairly flat.

Day had been forecast very windy southeasterly, straight in your face for the whole route, thundery showers to add a bit of interest. In the end the wind died to occasional gusts, the rain stayed away and the sun nearly shone (well, not really - the last bit). All in all a good evening.

Waterford AC are hosting the National Half-marathon in September and if this is a guide it should be top class.