Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

in a social rut

• 17-05-2007 9:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭jellybeans

Ok so here it is. Im in my early 30's and have found myself in an unfortunate position. Basically all my firends are going out with people and the last few remainnig single friends I did have are now in relationships. Its crap. I've no one to go on holidays with and now its getting harder and harder to find people to go out even for a night out with any suggestions on what to do? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Buy a wife on ebay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Join a club in your area and go travelling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

bluewolf wrote:

Yea, all the lookers hang around chess clubs and book clubs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭loadabollocks

try speed-dating......great craic. i went on my own and had a ball

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭loadabollocks

or else join some kinda team.....eg a rugby team...then you have a big agang of people to go out with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

Or tell your friends to stop being whipped, under the thumb pussies, grow some balls and tell their other halves that they're going out for a lads night/lads holiday. Then you have your current mates to go out with.......that's if their GF/Wives don't ban them from seeing you for telling them to stand up to their other halves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

jellybeans wrote:
    Ok so here it is. I'm in my early 30's and have found myself in an unfortunate position. Basically all my friends are going out with people and the last few remaining single friends I did have are now in relationships. Its crap. I've no one to go on holidays with and now its getting harder and harder to find people to go out even for a night out with any suggestions on what to do? :(

Ah I kinda know what ya mean.
    My best friend will always be my best friend, but over the years we have really changed, and right now, we really don't seem to enjoy any of the same activities.

We're both in relationships but I still like to go clubbing and have a bit of fun. She(age 24) says she has outgrown all that, and prefers to go for meals, or just a few drinks in the local.

She's entitled to her preferences, but it can be annoying when we can't agree on what to do on a Friday night.
    We're all going away on hols together this year and just deciding on a location was a bit of a nightmare. She wanted quiet and relaxing, I wanted young and lively - we have to compromise on everything.

Sometimes I do wish I had a pal who was into all the things I wanna do, I often joke about holding auditions for a new best friend, but I guess I just gotta take the hand I've been dealt and make the most of it.

As much as we argue, I'd miss her if she wasn't around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Or if you want to meet more people like these, go to boards beers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Dr. Seuss

Daddio wrote:
    Or if you want to meet more people like these, go to boards beers!
    He's trying to get OUT of a rut, mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭jellybeans

ok first thanks thanks to all who responded with helpful advice and second - Im a girl!!!! :confused: I have thought about going away on my own but I think I would feel a bit funny bout it. I was meant to be going travelling but guess what I introduced the girl I was supposed to be going with to her new freakin boyfirend and now she's not going. Annoying. I suppose it would make life simpler if I was in a relationship too but for the moment that doesn't look likely as I never meet anyone I fancy and now with the lack of social buddies it's getting harder and harder to get out there to meet people :( Im getting really frustrated and I know there is no magic wand that will sort it but it kinda helps hearing other peoples stories. Has anyone else found themselves in a similar situation? what did they do to get out of it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

bluewolf wrote:
    Why join a club if he's going to be leaving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

I'm exactly in the same boat (i'm 30 too) but I have to say myspace has been my salvation.. I've met so many people from it. Hell even met my last girlfriend on it. It's addictive too so be careful ..it's nearly as bad as the boards lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭patrickolee

Just wait a few years, all your friends relationships will start breaking down... then you can swoop!

Why join a club if he's going to be leaving?

Im a GIRL!!!!

I'm exactly in the same boat (i'm 30 too) but I have to say myspace has been my salvation.. I've met so many people from it. Hell even met my last girlfriend on it. It's attactive too so be careful ..it's nearly as bad as the boards lol

Ye Im on myspace but I only ever chat to people I know. Never met anyone else on there, I mean I have chatted to people but never met them or anything in the real world. Whats your myspace name? tell us, Im so nosey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

Has anybody ever messed about with that website adultfriendfinder? There's this auld fella works with us who is constantly banging birds after meeting up. Hatchets they may be but still gotta take the hat off to him. He's in his 50's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 redsauce

Get a cat. In fact, get 4 or 5 cats while your at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭digitally-yours

Dun laoire wrote:
    Has anybody ever messed about with that website adultfriendfinder? There's this auld fella works with us who is constantly banging birds after meeting up. Hatchets they may be but still gotta take the hat off to him. He's in his 50's.

I just cant stop laughing

for some Ignorance is a blessing hehehe

would love to meet him :D there is always one !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

jellybeans wrote:
    Im a GIRL!!!!
    Cooper: There have to be at least a hundred drunk girls here, and we should be trying to have sex with each and every one of them!
    Jenny: Hello. Mixed company?
    Cooper: What?
    Jenny: I'm a girl.
    Scott: No, you're not.
    Cooper: Yeah, you're just a cool guy with long hair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Plissken1

jellybeans wrote:
    Ok so here it is. Im in my early 30's and have found myself in an unfortunate position. Basically all my firends are going out with people and the last few remainnig single friends I did have are now in relationships. Its crap. I've no one to go on holidays with and now its getting harder and harder to find people to go out even for a night out with any suggestions on what to do? :(

Yeah, its called Ireland. People say they are independent, but they arent really. I know of so many people who are in a relationship just simply out of the fear of being single, actually I know people who are married just to keep their parents happy. I have a close friend who is living with someone that she doesnt even really get on with, but she has the whole 5 year plan going, and she has also never been single so it scares her. She also said "well at least I can afford a house now" messed up society or what !!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭BeatNikDub

What i find a bit scary is turning 26 in July, being on an ok wage but only just being able to make ends meet each month.
    Im not with anyone either so have no prospect of being able to buy a house in the next 5 years anyway.
    I have some savings but only really started in the last 12 months.

Ive no major debts but money is always short so i decided to make an appointment with the local mabs office to see if i can control it better.

Im not unhappy or terribly lonely but i would worry about the future.

One day I would like a place of my own and have kids but i have to prepare for a future without, just in case.

Just to add, im out every weekend, i dj, i have lots of friends all over the place so im not sitting home and feeling sorry for myself! Just feel it impossible to save and meet anyone in this country!

ME ME ME!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Secretly sabotage all your friend's relationships. Then, when they're broken emotionally you can have a big cry and everything gets back to normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

Dr. Seuss wrote:
    He's trying to get OUT of a rut, mate.

Hahahahahaha. Best thing I've ever read on this site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭PinkPrincess26

Hey,

Why not try...... WWW.anotherfriend.com on line dating.... its a laugh. some weirdos alright but some nice ppl's as well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

jellybeans wrote:
    Why don't you become a Moderator on boards?

Pighead knows for a fact that Modding improves peoples lives. 90% of the Mods on here were in exactly the same position as you. Stay at home losers who were becoming more lonely with every passing day. Modding has given these ex-misfits power, respect and huge cocks/love buttons.

The only question remaining is what forum should you Mod. Pighead recommends going for the Outdoor Pursuits in the Sports drop down menu. To be Frank, the current Mod Evil Phil is shit. His attitude towards the forum seems to be "Fcuk the forum, I'm too busy showing off my newly enhanced Mod-Cock".

If you don't know anything about Outdoor Pursuits fear not. Half the Mods here haven't a clue on their subject matter. For example, one of the soccer mods is a girl. No, seriously. Just do a quick google on outdoor pursuits. Start a few threads about dogging and bobs your uncle.

Let Pighead know how you get on. Stay strong girl.xxx

Hey,

Why not try...... WWW.anotherfriend.com on line dating.... its a laugh. some weirdos alright but some nice ppl's as well...

Hey,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

ehhh, I think she gets the idea PinkPrincess26 :eek: