Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looking for a Renault 4 for parts

• 17-05-2007 9:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭

Hello there,

I wonder if someone can help me. I am restoring a 1984 Renault 4 GTL for a friend and I need a roof panel for the body shell. It was stored in a shed for years and it looks like kids where jumping on the roof a lot.
    If anyone has a rusty shell they don’t need and the roof is in good condition, I would be very grateful if you could reply to this thread.

Now, I want to make it clear that I am in the trade and don’t want to break any forum rules but if you want to see a dairy of the R4 restoration please check out www.northcoastclassics.ie

Adam

p.s Great forum by the way :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

There's a couple of them in a field near Dungourney co. Cork if you want directions P.M. me, there's a Triumph Mayflower, a Saab 96, an old Land Rover and a couple of other yokes there too. I'll post pictures later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Welcome.

I must admit to having a soft spot for R4s (one of the few Renaults I can say that about!).

Have a look at this page to start (mostly continentals, but one or two from the UK who may be able to assist.) Link.

Nothing on buyandsell at the moment, but you never know who may have one tossed in a field somewhere.

Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭superboy

Fair play on the restoration - looks superb!!! Never knew there was such a sturdy chassis under a Renault 4. grand cars. Here's a thought - why don't you turn it into a ragtop - with one of them full- length sunroofs??? I will keep a good eye out for any R4's around, i'm bound to come across one sooner or later on my travels!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭superboy

Hey, have you seen the new thread - "pics of abandoned classics"- you may be pleasantly surprised!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Bios

Thanks for the replies folks.

junkyard, one of those r4s might be perfect but it’s a bit far for me I think, I’m in Donegal. I’d guess around €400-500 to get a car brought up from cork :(.

RoundyMooney, thanks for the link, lots of useful information. Also check out http://www.mig-welding.co.uk/ which is done by the guy who runs http://www.renault4.co.uk/. Some great info and videos for anyone wanting to learn how to MIG weld.

superboy, hehe, I don’t think my friend/customer would be very happy if I made it a ragtop out of his r4 :).

I have to say, I wasn’t that keen on the r4 restoration at the start, as I’m used to working on more complex and generally better engineered cars like mercs and bmws, but having started the restoration, I appreciate them now.

Simple effective engineering and easy to fix.

The hunt continues :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭breanoh

I know where there is one in Ennis in Co. Clare, beyond repair, but I can give you details of the location. restoring an R4... As I tyoe I am looking at a picture on the wall of me aged 5 sanding the roof of my dad's white R4... the memories... One would be the perfect companion to the R9.
    Best of luck with the Resto, a car really worth saving!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭PanhardPL

NCClassics wrote:
    Thanks for the replies folks.

junkyard, one of those r4s might be perfect but it’s a bit far for me I think, I’m in Donegal. I’d guess around €400-500 to get a car brought up from cork :(.

RoundyMooney, thanks for the link, lots of useful information. Also check out http://www.mig-welding.co.uk/ which is done by the guy who runs http://www.renault4.co.uk/. Some great info and videos for anyone wanting to learn how to MIG weld.

superboy, hehe, I don’t think my friend/customer would be very happy if I made it a ragtop out of his r4 :).

I have to say, I wasn’t that keen on the r4 restoration at the start, as I’m used to working on more complex and generally better engineered cars like mercs and bmws, but having started the restoration, I appreciate them now.

Simple effective engineering and easy to fix.

The hunt continues :)[/QUOTE
    If you wish I can give you a telephone number for the guy that has the R4's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Bios

Thanks again for the help folks.

I think I will spend some time looking for a shell a bit closer to me. If I don’t succeed, I will definitely get back to you.

I get a very warm reaction to the Renault 4 when I have visitors to the workshop. Almost everyone remembers driving or being driven in these little cars and of course as the old green PT vans :D

Regards

Adam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

I remember the orange and white Telecom Eireann ones alright. They gave sterling service.

My neighbour is Columbian (well, his other half is), and the R4 is known out there as "Faithful Friend", or whatever that is en Espagnol...