Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

how much drink?

• 17-05-2007 12:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭patrickc

hey all just wondering how much drink is too much in a week? never mind the world health organisations figures etc.. how much do you drink in a week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

At least half a bottle of Jager and a bottle of vodka. That would be during work and drinks after work.
    On top of that, I go out at least once or twice a week. So prob throw another bottle of vodka and the other half bottle of Jager. Then what ever other weird shots we make in the bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭patrickc

people say uve a prob if u drink like 15 cans a week or pints whatever i dont agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,725 ✭✭✭oleras

when you cant cope, thats too much.......... if you can cope on 100 units a week why not, you only live once !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

people say uve a prob if u drink like 15 cans a week or pints whatever i dont agree

I probably drank close to that on a weekly basis last year but I hardly drank this year in college. I was pretty depressed last year though....

For the record that was probably too much drink, I could function, and even enjoy myself, but there was a lot of wasted days and hangovers.

I probably drank close to that on a weekly basis last year but I hardly drank this year in college. I was pretty depressed last year though....

For the record that was probably too much drink, I could function, and even enjoy myself, but there was a lot of wasted days and hangovers.

i think if it affects ur daily life and work etc thats a bad sign... but a few drinks maybe 4 nights a week is reasonable

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

When I'm cookin, I like a glass of wine. When HOT, I like a cool pint. Innuendoes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

7 500ml cans, 5 330 ml cans and I've 4 500 ml cans to go.
    I'm ****ed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

Eh it changes from month to month some months i wont drink once others i have drank every single day, whatever im in the mood for really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

About 2-3 bottles of Jager and about 3-6 bottles of beer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Sweet Jaysus lads, do you all really drink that much !!!

Don't get me wrong, I'm not anti drink, I love the stuff but I didn't realise people drank that much on a weekly basis.

I drank 5 bottles of beer last weekend and I thought that was loads. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

About 2-3 bottles of Jager and about 3-6 bottles of beer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭kaizersoze123

20 pint bottles of Bulmers over the course of last Fri/Sat
    Probably the same this weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

By Jager, do people mean Jagermeister? Never realized that was popular.
    For me, about 8 pints and about 700ml vodka a week. Unless its a special weekend for trip away, or having people down, in which case the number of beers would probably double.

What do people think of drinking every day? Say 1 or 2 pints, or a vodka and coke when you get home from work before dinner? I always find some people are disgusted at the idea of that, yet they see nothing wrong whatsoever with two or three glasses of wine every night. I personally would have 3-4 days a week alcohol free, but a lot of people I know drink small amounts every day. Is that common?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

I've been out every night for the past two weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

A week?

On average for the whole week between 1/2 and 3/4 a bottle of wine.

thats about 4-6 glases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

KTRIC wrote:

Don't get me wrong, I'm not anti drink, I love the stuff but I didn't realise people drank that much on a weekly basis.

Pfft babies drink out of bottles :p

When I was 14 the lads and I used to buy 6 Scrumpy Jack for a fiver then head off to 'the field'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

layke wrote:
    Pfft babies drink out of bottles :p

When I was 14 the lads and I used to buy 6 Scrumpy Jack for a fiver then head off to 'the field'

Emm, the 500ml bottles !!! Not the little girly ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

Tbh i don't usually drink unless there is some form of occasion.

Weddings, Funerals, Work related occasions, Happy Wednesdays, you know, the usual :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

hey all just wondering how much drink is too much in a week? never mind the world health organisations figures etc..how much do you drink in a week?
    http://www.drinkaware.ie/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

KTRIC wrote:

Steamer*

*If 330ml bottles, double steamer score.

If you have to ask about whether you're drinking too much, you're drinking too much.
    Many people around here seem to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Have to say I'm a bit of a horse when I get going. Usually can have about 6-10 pints on a good night out. That said, I don't drink at home and rarely drink Monday -Thursday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭Beta2

I had 9 pints of Heineken and 6 vodkas last night.

I'll probably repeat that 2 more times this week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Jaysus I'd go through a good three or four litres of milk a week at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 redsauce

As much as you feel like, once it doesnt start to take over your life. If it starts to affect work & relationships etc then its time to cut back. Otherwise GET IT INTO YA!!!!!!

KTRIC wrote:
    I don't drink too much at times. Although every now and again it can on for a bit. I think I was drunk most nights after work last week. Kinda had stuff to go to and a some crap new alcohol launch another night. Sometimes the drink is free, the rest is usually at a discount.
    Usually I end up having a shot or two during work.

Not long home from work. Tonight I had one vodka and lemonade, a shot made of JD, Butterscotch snapps and Franjelico. Also had a flavoured vodka mixed with a couple of other drinks as a shot.

Mmmmmm tasty.
    Archeron wrote:
    By Jager, do people mean Jagermeister? Never realized that was popular.
    Very popular over here. Nice when chilled. Nothing like a Jagerbomb to get the night going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

over one particular weekend last month that included 21st's with kegs my mate reckons he drank 50 pints........he realised he needs to slow down so ill slow down when i reach that much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

I haven't had a drink in weeks. Shared a bottle of wine with a few friends about 3 weeks ago and had a hot whiskey about a fortnight before that. I think that's it since christmas.

I have a bottle of Jameson and another of Galliano under my desk, half a naggin of Jameson on my desk and a nice bottle of white wine somewhere under my bed for some odd reason though.

I just haven't been in the humour for drinking for the past 4 or 5 months.

Rabies wrote:
    I don't drink too much at times. Although every now and again it can on for a bit. I think I was drunk most nights after work last week. Kinda had stuff to go to and a some crap new alcohol launch another night. Sometimes the drink is free, the rest is usually at a discount.
    Usually I end up having a shot or two during work.

Not long home from work. Tonight I had one vodka and lemonade, a shot made of JD, Butterscotch snapps and Franjelico. Also had a flavoured vodka mixed with a couple of other drinks as a shot.

Mmmmmm tasty.

Very popular over here. Nice when chilled. Nothing like a Jagerbomb to get the night going.

You work in the drinks industry right? Also can you get Franjelico in bottles smaller than 700ml?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

About a crate of Stella bottles a week at home....A princely e2.40! Then maybe 10 beers around town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭sportswear

im 22 and i still do that

I'm under par here according to the average here so far!! i'd usually have 5/6 pints 2 nights a week and maybe 2 cans once a week

You work in the drinks industry right? Also can you get Franjelico in bottles smaller than 700ml?
    Not sure, will take a look at the orders next time. Our bottles are 700ml.

I missed out on going to Vodka University on wednesday. 42 Below were holding a cocktail afternoon. Promote their range and get every one drunk at the same time.
    Hope I can make the next one :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Either nothing or 3 to 5 pints depending on whether I go out or not. Don't drink much these days. I used to drink a lot more when I was younger but the hangovers just aren't worth it these days.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

6-8 bottles per night when I'm at home, interspersed with 2-3 Joints and a few cans of rum

when I go out to the pub I drink 8-10 pints an a few Vodkas.

I do live alone tho, so in teh abscence of conversation I just drink meself into oblivion and post inane shoite in the interweb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

6-8 bottles per night when I'm at home, interspersed with 2-3 Joints and a few cans of rum

I do live alone tho, so in teh abscence of conversation I just drink meself into oblivion and post inane shoite in the interweb

We need to go for a session sometime :)

My ideal night is a 6-pack before I hit the club with 2 nagons of Jack Daniels in my pockets which never leave the club. Then a couple hours of 'sobering up' on smoke and/or munchies.

Usually only go out a few times a month though.

Can's of rum??