Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Favourite Sopranos episode from the 6 seasons?

• 16-05-2007 3:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭

So what was your favorite episode from the past 6 seasons?

Mine has to be Pine Barrens (where they took the Russian out to the woods to shoot him).

Also the episode in which they shot Pussy, and the one where they popped Adriana.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,596 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Where Ralphie makes a smart remark to Tony, and Tony beats the life out of him. One of the best moments of TV ever! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Badabing

1 of mine was when they were playing poker with frank sinatra jnr and one of meadows friends dad goes way over his head and blows everything and ends up losing his buisness to tony and his crew, also silvio was at his funniest best!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭EARMUFFS

daveg wrote:

Mine has to be Pine Barrens (where they took the Russian out to the woods to shoot him).

Also the episode in which they shot Pussy, and the one where they popped Adriana.

Pine Barrens would have to be the highlight obviously although loved commendatori (tony and christophers trip to sicily) and All Due respect (tony b's demise). Pity the whole thing is coming to the end but all good things etc...

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Another vote for Pine Barrens, above all else for the fragmented phone conversations between Tony and Paulie.

"You’re not gonna believe this. He killed sixteen Czechoslovakians. Guy was an interior decorator."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭azzeretti

Without doubt its Pine Barrens (and I think we haven't seen the last of him!).

I had never seen an episode of the Sopranos until last Christmas when I got series 1 for a present. I watched them all the went out and bought the next 5 series.

There is also a great scene in a later episode when Paulie and Chris are at it again. Paulie has just loaded a restaurant bill and Chris brings it up in the car park. They are just about to beat the b'jaysus out of each other when the waiter arrives and looks for a tip.......absolutely classic!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

Robbo wrote:
    "You’re not gonna believe this. He killed sixteen Czechoslovakians. Guy was an interior decorator."

Chris; really?...his apartment looked like sh!t...

Pine Barrens, absolute classic.

Also liked the one where Ralphie killed the stripper in the car park; gut wrenching violence, real consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Can't argue with Pine Barrens. As good an hour as you'll ever see on TV

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Dr. Seuss

daveg wrote:

Pine Barrens for me too - the interaction between Chris & Paulie was just gold!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

yep another one for pine barrens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,999 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Pine Barrens for me as well, noticing a trend? :)

Any of the episodes that had Paulie/Chris at each other were priceless.

Whitecaps was excellent and The Legend of Tennessee Moltisanti was quality too.

Thats all that I can remember right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,960 ✭✭✭trout

Pine Barrens ++

conversation between Chris & Paulie in the car, eating the sachets of ketchup & mustard.... priceless ... Chrissy threating to leave Paulie in the woods " and you know how fast I can run, you one-shoed f**k".

FTW! "F**k you Paulie. Captain or no Captain, right now we are just two a**holes lost in the woods".

When Paulie was flipping out about his shoe, did anyone else think he looked just like Jack Nicholson in The Shining ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,993 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

I like the one where Chris-Duh-fur is at death's door and Paulie goes to see a medium - who is overwhelmed by the spirits of all the people Paulie has whacked over the years.
    Paulie is pissed off and goes to complain to his parish priest "I been paying to you to take care of this kind of thing" etc

Some of the eps that feature big family gatherings are usually good for a laugh - like Tony's ma's funeral where Chris is out of his tree and Janice is her usual self and also Richie Jr's funeral where Uncle Jr sings and brings a tear to Johnny Sacs eye etc.

I also liked the one where Tony has a list of things to do before Christmas eg get revenge on Russians who roughed up Janice, launder money, get present for Carm etc. He is under a lot of pressure to get it done and finally he achieves it. Then on Christmas day Meadow gives him one of those talking fish which reminds him of Pussy. He can't even look at it but has to force himself to keep smiling for the family.

For some reason I also like the one where Furio and Tony rough up a doctor on a golf course who wont treat Uncle Jr.

There's so many more! In fact they're all great - please tell me it's not nearly over ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,896 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

Pine barrens. I also really enjoyed the second episode of the second half of season 6. the one with cleaver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭Morgans

Pine Barrens is probably the funniest but the fight between Tony and Carmella in the pool house is up there with the best TV I've ever seen. When he punches the wall, having looked like attacking Carmella. Brilliant. Also, Christopher's intervention is worth some sort of mention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭liamdubh

Hard to pick out an episode. Moreso favourite scenes...of which there are too many to name.

Christopher (Columbus Day Parade, the Ginny Sack mole joke), Mergers & Acquisitions (Paulie trying help his mother get settled in in the nursing home)...Pine Barrens obviously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

Haven't seen Pine Barrens, S06 ep 18 the one before the last one out on the net.

grasshopa wrote:
    Haven't seen Pine Barrens, S06 ep 18 the one before the last one out on the net.
    FYI Pine Barrens was in season 3.

Another of my faves was Carmela's dad's birthday party. A nice light hearted ep for a change

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

trout wrote:
    Pine Barrens ++

conversation between Chris & Paulie in the car, eating the sachets of ketchup & mustard.... priceless ... Chrissy threating to leave Paulie in the woods " and you know how fast I can run, you one-shoed f**k".

LOL :D

Chris is in the woods going mad about what the Russian will do to them if he survived (even though he is unarmed)

Paulie "Yeah, and whats he gonna do, kill us with his dick?!!?" :D

Paulie in the flat

"Plasma screen tv, DVD player, universal remote control, I bet ya wiped your ass in the old country with your bare hand"

Counting the money
    "Better be no roubles in this!"

I think my favourite quote of the lot is from a different episode when Junior and Tony are having a meeting in the doctors office (as the FBI are barred from bugging it). Junior has just told Tony that he and Tonys dad had a brother they never told him about (i.e. Tony had a mentally handicapped uncle who lived in a home most of his life)

Tony "I remember now, when I was a kid Id hear my mother and father arguing, she would make fun of my Dad by sayin his brother was slow and a retard......I thought she was talkin about you" :D:D

Another favourite, the intervention with Chris and all his family/gang

"Aw great, my own mother. **** you ya fukin hoowah" :D Just the pronounciation of hooer, its gas. Same scene, Adriana reads a pre done speech about his drug abuse, basically stating he cant get it up anymore because the amount hes taking, to which Chris roars "is this really ****in necessary", however the gas bit is Paulie smirking as she reads it :D

Its Adriana ffs, no amt of gear could stop you getting up for that yoke :)

EDIT- OH FOR **** SAKE!!!!! I just went to look at one of my favourite scenes from an old episode, and some bastards on youtube have posted below it comments like "that scene was great. He was one of my favourite in the show, was hoping he would last to the end. R.I.P *character name*" Im only following it on tv (last one I saw having been the last one of prev season) so Ive just found out about a death I wanted to see as I watched. Bollix anyway.

So yeah, anyone lookin for classic scenes on youtube, keep your eyes to the screen and dont look down :(

IMHO, you should put that last bit in spoiler tags. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Captain Smiggy

Obviously pine barrens, but i love it when Chrissy and Little carmine go to hollywood to meet ben kingsley:

We gotta great writer, worked on grey's anatomy, law and order, the SUV.....

Saw lindsay lohan, TOTAL piece of ass.....

The mans just a genius....

EDIT: oh, oh! then they steal Lauen Bacall's gift basket....oh god so funny...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭Nephew

The episode where Chris and Furio are grinding up a body in the kitchen of Satriales, and Chris says something about never eating there again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭silvine

This week's episode about the Cleaver premier is supposed to be funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 313 ✭✭Ho-Hum

I like the one where Chris-Duh-fur is at death's door and Paulie goes to see a medium - who is overwhelmed by the spirits of all the people Paulie has whacked over the years.
    Paulie is pissed off and goes to complain to his parish priest "I been paying to you to take care of this kind of thing" etc

This was a great episode, Paulie imo is the funniest character in the show, so predictably my favourite would have to be Pine Barrens