Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another suicide? Whats going on?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Suicide?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

"At this stage of the investigation there are no signs of any foul play."

Really hope it's not suicide as you have suggested....
    Local outgoing TD Dr Jim McDaid formally pronounced Ms Innes and her daughter dead at the scene yesterday afternoon.

Since when do local TD's officially pronounce someone dead??!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

I heard on my local radio station that the mother was found hanging...but i seriously hope that is not the case..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

When he's a doctor.............

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Well he is also a physician.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Heinrich

Presumably since they qualified as medical practictioners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

http://www.unison.ie/irish_independent/
    seems to suggest suicide here...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

How did the girl suffocate? Surely not suicide?

crosstownk wrote:
    When he's a doctor.............

Ah Bollix :rolleyes:

They should have left out the 'Local outgoing TD' bit.... too early in the morning for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gyppo

Why, what would you prefer it to be??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

How did the girl suffocate? Surely not suicide?

From the Indo article linked above -
    ... was apparently suffocated to death before her mother hanged herself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/0516/innes.html

Now, Im not saying the Indo is definitely wrong, but we are talking about the same paper that broke the Liam Lawlor death with a bit of spice. Or having the tact to mention that cop who died in childbirth was married to the shooter in the Abbeylara incident. And a few others I cant remember right now.

That paper, I think its trying to outdo the Suns Hillsborough reporting sometimes. Wouldnt wipe my arse with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Tha Gopher wrote:

Now, Im not saying the Indo is definitely wrong, but we are talking about the same paper that broke the Liam Lawlor death with a bit of spice. Or having the tact to mention that cop who died in childbirth was married to the shooter in the Abbeylara incident. And a few others I cant remember right now.

That paper, I think its trying to outdo the Suns Hillsborough reporting sometimes. Wouldnt wipe my arse with it.
    well said. its a filthy rag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

They need an ad campaign that just says "Cop on FFS".

gyppo wrote:
    Why, what would you prefer it to be??

Give it a rest ......

It's another terrible loss which could be the result of any number of scenarios. The first media reports are suggesting suicide. When I said I really hope it's not suicide , I think the majority would have been thinking the same. The loss of two young people and I'm sure you'll agree gyppo, nobody would have had any preferences on the way they went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

yeah i was 3 or 4 doors away from the house in question last night i heard enough details to say murder suicide but i'm not gonna get into the details cause i don't think its right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Heinrich

Yes people, let's wait until we get the same story from the Times and RTE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Femmy wrote:
    I heard that themother was found hanging on my local radio station..

Unusual way to do it.

Seriously, suicide is incredibly catching. (See Malcolm Gladwell's essay on the subject in The Tipping Point.) After a young male suicide, especially if it's someone locally idolised, you get a bunch of young male suicides, and a bunch of young male single-car crashes. After a young woman kills herself and her children, you often get imitative suicide-murder attempts and successes.

Wish the health service would get its act together about weekend cover, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Tha Gopher wrote:

++

The SINDO has "become" particularly noxious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gyppo

It's another terrible loss which could be the result of any number of scenarios. The first media reports are suggesting suicide. When I said I really hope it's not suicide , I think the majority would have been thinking the same. The loss of two young people and I'm sure you'll agree gyppo, nobody would have had any preferences on the way they went.

Totally agree with you about the tragic loss of life. I just thought your statement was a bit odd - the fact that it may have been suicide is no more/less tragic than if it had been accidental or malicious - the net result is the same - the untimely end of two lives.

gyppo wrote:
    the fact that it may have been suicide is no more/less tragic than if it had been accidental or malicious

Various different reasons for death will have different impact on the people left behind.

As far as I know, nothing has been confirmed for cause of death etc ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

luckat wrote:
    Wish the health service would get its act together about weekend cover, though.
    there IS a psychiatric service provided in every area 24/7, with doctors on call. admissions to psych units dont just happen between 9 and 5 mon to fri. social services dont provide weekend cover but the psych services do. everywhere in the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Tha Gopher wrote:
    we are talking about the same paper that broke the Liam Lawlor death with a bit of spice. Or having the tact to mention that cop who died in childbirth was married to the shooter in the Abbeylara incident. And a few others I cant remember right now.

No, the stories you mentioned were actually broken by the Sunday Independent as opposed to the Irish Independent. Same company yes, but still two different papers. Different editor-in-chief, editorial team and writers. Not that the Indo is a bastion of quality journalism or anything, but I still wouldn't consider it a fraction as trashy as the Sindo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Dr. Seuss

Femmy wrote:
    Another suicide? Whats going on?

Eh, it's a coincidence. Why - what did you think was going on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Binomate wrote:
    They need an ad campaign that just says "Cop on FFS".

Whos that going to help?

c - 13 wrote:
    From the Indo article linked above -
    That doesn't answer the question either way.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

That doesn't answer the question either way.:)

Valid point.