Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dream Judge

• 16-05-2007 8:54am
    Registered Users Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭

I notice theres always plenty of people on here quick to put the boot in if someone dares post a questionable speeding offence, moral highground quickly taken in a lot of cases :rolleyes:

So I was happy to see this article in todays Indo...a bit of common sense from a judge for a change ;) Sticking up for joe public...

SCORES of motorists are back on the road after appealing to a higher court that the original case judge hadn't listened to their excuses for driving offences.

The bans were removed despite some admitting to not turning up at original cases. Others were 40kph above the speed limit.

Circuit Court Judge Mary Faherty yesterday removed bans imposed by District Court Judge John Coughlan.

She heard motorists state that Judge Coughlan did not give them a chance to speak at District Court level, or sped through cases so they had no time to explain. The errant drivers came before Judge Faherty yesterday with four points on their licences, €800 fines - and six months' disqualification from driving.

In some of these cases Judge Faherty overturned the lower court ruling, points and all. In most of the others, she reduced fines to €150 or so and removed disqualifications.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭MercMad

About time too !

I wish I was one of those fortunate people !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭Linford

It was more to do with the behaviour of the Judge in the district court than anything else, he wouldn't let anyone of the accused offer an explanation or anything, hence they were not given a fair go in court and as a result the higher court has to overturn his judgements.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Head The Wall

So if you have an excuse it's ok to break the law.

"Sorry your Honour I didn't see the kid because I was putting on my make up while I was driving"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭astraboy

"Sorry your Honour I didn't see the kid because I was putting on my make up while I was driving"

O get off your bloody high horse will you! This place is full of them and I'm getting well sick of it! High horse, high moral ground numpties. I'm surprised ye even have time to drive ye are all so feckin pious. Read the article you clown, the people did not have a chance to explain themselves in court originally. And yes, if you have a valid excuse it is ok to break the law at times.

"Sorry you had to give birth in the back of the car honey but I could'nt break the speed limit. "

Idiot:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭littlejukka

astraboy wrote:
    And yes, if you have a valid excuse it is ok to break the law at times.
    if you had a valid excuse you wouldn't be in court in the first place.

EH, what if your caught by an automatic camera. The high horse brigade has not thought of everything! :D :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭littlejukka

astraboy wrote:
    EH, what if your caught by an automatic camera. The high horse brigade has not thought of everything! :D :rolleyes:

if you're speeding with a valid excuse you can walk into a garda station and argue your way out of it. if it's not valid and you don't pay the fine, you'll end up in court. is that too complicated for you?

RIIIIIIIIIIIIIGHT. Tell me how many times have you walked into a garda station and aruged your way out of a speeding fine. You would be told to contest the fine and tell it to the judge. These people tried to do this, did not have ample time to explain their case and ended up with 4 points and an 800 euro fine. Justice was not originally done. People have a right to explain themselves. Is that too complicated for you?:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 602 ✭✭✭IrishRover

I can understand your frustration astraboy.
    On this forum I often wonder if we might actually be talking to a lot of 19 year olds who are typing away to us from somewhere in the UCD Arts block, because I think anyone who got out into the real world after a few years of being fed opinions would have to see that things aren't as cut and dried as they may have been led to believe :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,245 ✭✭✭drdre

Sizzler wrote:
    I notice theres always plenty of people on here quick to put the boot in if someone dares post a questionable speeding offence, moral highground quickly taken in a lot of cases :rolleyes:

So I was happy to see this article in todays Indo...a bit of common sense from a judge for a change ;) Sticking up for joe public...

SCORES of motorists are back on the road after appealing to a higher court that the original case judge hadn't listened to their excuses for driving offences.

The bans were removed despite some admitting to not turning up at original cases. Others were 40kph above the speed limit.

Circuit Court Judge Mary Faherty yesterday removed bans imposed by District Court Judge John Coughlan.

She heard motorists state that Judge Coughlan did not give them a chance to speak at District Court level, or sped through cases so they had no time to explain. The errant drivers came before Judge Faherty yesterday with four points on their licences, €800 fines - and six months' disqualification from driving.

In some of these cases Judge Faherty overturned the lower court ruling, points and all. In most of the others, she reduced fines to €150 or so and removed disqualifications.

Why cant all judges be like that and let people off :(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭cast_iron

drdre wrote:
    Why cant all judges be like that and let people off :(
    Because it would make a farce of the system if that was the case.

I would like to see some numbers and only then take the words "some" and "most" into context.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,245 ✭✭✭drdre

cast_iron wrote:
    Because it would make a farce of the system if that was the case.

I would like to see some numbers and only then take the words "some" and "most" into context.
    Yeah i know what you mean but they should give the sentences to scumbags not people who work hard. those guys rob and do anything and get away with it :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭cast_iron

drdre wrote:
    Yeah i know what you mean but they should give the sentences to scumbags not people who work hard. those guys rob and do anything and get away with it :confused:
    Yes, they should.
    But it shouldn't be an either/or situation.
    If things like this were let go, it would become a free for all for all "middle class" offenders (and offences).

The scumbags don't care either way, but letting the rest off is hardly the right way to go about things. That would only lead to more disorder, and I think we've enough of that to deal with as is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

People are entitled to be heard on their day in court, these people were treated badly by a Judge

what if it wasnt Irish news, what if it was US news and this was scores of people wrongfully charged with murder because the judge had a prejudice view of their cases

• Registered Users Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭jhegarty

Lets try here is the receipt from the garage to show they had the car at the time of the offense...

Looks really carefully at the photo Judge and you will see that last digit is a 6 not an 8... my number plate ends in 8....

here is evidence my car was 200 miles away at the time......

etc..etc..etc....

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

People are entitled to be heard on their day in court, these people were treated badly by a Judge

what if it wasnt Irish news, what if it was US news and this was scores of people wrongfully charged with murder because the judge had a prejudice view of their cases
    Exactly!
    They were not given their full rights. Many people choose to go to court to explain their reasons (whatever they may be). Not allowing them to speak is removing these rghts and therefore damages our justice system.

Nobody here is a judge so stop condemning people for speeding without knowing their story.
    Im reminded of when I was escorted by the gardai to the Coombe when my wife went into labour last November. Following the squad car down the Naas Rd after coming off the M50 we were doing about 80mph (in rush hour traffic). What if a Gatso van caught me? In theory I should lose my licence but I had valid mitigating reasons.

kbannon wrote:
    Im reminded of when I was escorted by the gardai to the Coombe when my wife went into labour last November. Following the squad car down the Naas Rd after coming off the M50 we were doing about 80mph (in rush hour traffic). What if a Gatso van caught me? In theory I should lose my licence but I had valid mitigating reasons.

I think some of the posters would want you sent for a spell in mountjoy...

• Registered Users Posts: 12,766 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

jhegarty wrote:
    I think some of the posters would want you sent for a spell in mountjoy...

...where he could phone the wife whilst watching the 42" LCD TV and feeding the budgie.....:D :D

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote:
    ...where he could phone the wife whilst watching the 42" LCD TV and feeding the budgie.....:D :D

Thats only for murders , speeders get put in stocks in the basement...

• Registered Users Posts: 65,221 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

galwaytt wrote:

ROFL :D