Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What about a Live Score centre for GAA games ?

• 13-05-2007 2:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭

Was thinking here in the office ( call centre, no radio !!! ), why not have something similiar to the Live Scores on Sky Sports ttp://home.skysports.com/ for GAA matches ? Lets say RTE to do it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭thewools

http://www.rte.ie/aertel/401-01.html

thats about as good as u will get

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

yep the aertel stream would do? or you can watch the current game live online...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭O'Leprosy

copacetic wrote:
    yep the aertel stream would do? or you can watch the current game live online...

Fair play lads, better than nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭BennytheBall

The aertel service is particularly cack
    They basically update the score based on the (irregular) reports that come in on RTE Radio from the venues.

If RTE had their head screwed on, they should have someone at all the games, texting/calling in the score and scorer each time there is a change or incident. They could then pop these up on screen and on aertel. It would cost them vitually feck all, but would be a great value add to the viewer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

If RTE had their head screwed on, .

I think this is where the problem lies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

bumping a really old thread here but any proper site where the scores come in auto.

RTE.IE doesnt even give the score at the moment for clare - waterford and limerick - tipp !:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Not really sure where to put this but Galway have beaten Cork 3-20 to 0-20 in a Hurling practice match in Cork tonight. Cork went into a 7 point lead but some tactical changes and Galway were soon on top in the middle third for the rest of the game. McGann, Curran, Naughton and Canty impressed for Cork, Cadogan and Corry were poor. Didn't take much notice of the Galway players. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭john concannon

As a Galway man I'm worried we might peak to soon.

Aertel is the poxiest thing ever.Just some nerd listening to Radio 1 and possibly half asleep.

I wouldn't worry about that. It was very much a practice match, nowhere near championship pace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

re-posting this hoping someone may have an answer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

I really don't see how it would so difficult to implement. All they need is a single page on the RTE website and one person at a computer in Donnybrook with the ability to type relatively fast. Something along the lines of what the BBC have

They don't even need 606 or anything. But at the moment anything would be better than a feed of a poxy out of date service thats been around for over 30 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

man it has games that started at 2:30 and scores over 30 mins old
    fcking results should be up by now:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,877 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

The aertel service is particularly cack
    They basically update the score based on the (irregular) reports that come in on RTE Radio from the venues.

If RTE had their head screwed on, they should have someone at all the games, texting/calling in the score and scorer each time there is a change or incident. They could then pop these up on screen and on aertel. It would cost them vitually feck all, but would be a great value add to the viewer.

How much is feck all? Would these people not have to be on a contract with RTE to attend every game for a particular team and what would happen if they missed a game? You would need over 20 of these someones today to cover all the games. The alternative would be for some random publicly spirited souls to ring in with the scores but I dont think RTE could trust a system like that. A lot of games are covered on local radio including on line so could keep up to date at least in part that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

How much is feck all? Would these people not have to be on a contract with RTE to attend every game for a particular team and what would happen if they missed a game? You would need over 20 of these someones today to cover all the games. The alternative would be for some random publicly spirited souls to ring in with the scores but I dont think RTE could trust a system like that. A lot of games are covered on local radio including on line so could keep up to date at least in part that way.

They already have cameras at most grounds, so they can show the highlights later. Add in the sports journalists from all the newspapers in Ireland and you should have every game covered. It definitely wouldn't be hard to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,877 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

All these people have their own job to do and it doesn't include ringing in to RTE every two minutes with the scores. Would have to be something more formalised which would cost money which RTE don't have. And if updates were coming in from say 20 games it would also need more than just a quick typist in Donnybrook to make it work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

I've given up on Aertel.. last 2 Clare games I've went in search and found I'm best waiting 'til 6.1 news and sport! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

soundsham wrote: »
    man it has games that started at 2:30 and scores over 30 mins old
    fcking results should be up by now:confused:

Aertel is bad as is the RTE Website. They've called results a couple of times, went back an hour later, result changed.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭li@mo

There's a thread over at www.gaaboard.com called latest scores where people post the scores they here on radio, phone etc.

I think its a very good idea for a website where users can update scores as they here them and then league table.

Pity I know nothing about web design:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

li@mo wrote: »
    There's a thread over at www.gaaboard.com called latest scores where people post the scores they here on radio, phone etc.

I think its a very good idea for a website where users can update scores as they here them and then league table.

Pity I know nothing about web design:rolleyes:

It's something I'd love to get involved in the future, for sure. I've learned a bit of web design from my college course but I wouldn't have a clue how to go about hosting it, servers etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭li@mo

I see there's something similar in the making

http://www.gaascores.com/

Might never happen though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭toe_knee

Lads I know this is an old thread but just found the live scores on setanta... http://www.setanta.com/ie/Articles/other-sports/2009/06/07/GAA-Sundays-LIVE-action-/gnid-56123/
    Not sure how up to date it is as I just found it.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭toe_knee

Its about 2 minutes behind the live match. Not bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,891 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

is the Carlow Kerry Christy Ring game gone to XT?

edit: DRAW AET, replay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 bineye

Laois beat Antrim by a few points.