Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Storm Cinemas

• 13-05-2007 2:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭

There is a new Storm cinema opening in Waterford in a couple weeks and I got a job there. I'm just wondering... The fella who interviewed me (he was joking around constantly) said that we have to wear white shirts and dicky bows as part of our uniform and I was wondering if he was being serious or only messing!
    I know there are a few Storm Cinemas around the country and I was wondring if any of ye could help me out :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭qwertplaywert

excuse my manners,but whats a storm cinema?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

I doubt he was joking. That seems like the sort of thing that some cinemas would make you wear. Enjoy!

I remember being offered a job in the Eye Cinema in Galway when it opened - they made people wear ridiculous dungarees for the first while but stopped when staff started leaving because of them.

I never took the job. They wouldn't tell me the rate of pay and couldn't confirm how many hours I'd get per week - but they acted surprised when I didn't jump at the golden opportunity they were handing me. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

There is a Storm in Limerick, and they do have a uniform. Can't remember if there is a dickybow (there probably is), but I think its black pants, white shirt and waistcoat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

We have a Storm Cinema here in Limerick, and yes he was joking. IIRC they wear black T-Shirts with a red Storm Cinema logo on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

No, in Limerick, they wear the whole pants, shirt and waistcoat thing.

I know cos I live with one of the supervisors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

DarkJager wrote:
    We have a Storm Cinema here in Limerick, and yes he was joking. IIRC they wear black T-Shirts with a red Storm Cinema logo on them.

thats the omniplex,they wear the uniform with the dickie bow and waistcoat in storm

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

They wear a dickybow and wasitcoat thingy. The supervisors wear a tie.

I know because I too live with the aforemented supervisor!

He was joking around constantly because, well, people who work at the cinema are funny people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭CoNfOuNd

That's the uniform they wear at Storm Belfast too. Looks smart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭christophicus

Peteee wrote:

He was joking around constantly because, well, people who work at the cinema are funny people.

Any chance you can get me a job there after the LC ?? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭deisedolly

Peteee wrote:

Oh Christ I'm not looking forward to wearing that :( I'm going to be a feckin supervisor!
    Heading to the Limerick one for the whole feckin weekend for training :(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 watzdecraic11

yeah us storm pplz hav te wear dicky bows and waiste coats but ya get ovr dat in a day r so!!!yeah all the staff in the cinema i work r dead on and manager and owner even seems grand!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

yeah us storm pplz hav te wear dicky bows and waiste coats but ya get ovr dat in a day r so!!!yeah all the staff in the cinema i work r dead on and manager and owner even seems grand!

What is that garbage supposed to mean? Please, don't use 'Text speak' on here, or you will get banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,788 ✭✭✭Vikings

Going by that username... you might be lucky....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Dat is wack home boy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

There was me thinking this would be a worthwhile read :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,401 ✭✭✭✭x Purple Pawprints x

Yeah, they wear that in Storm Cinema in Portlaoise anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

Ok folks, I think it has now been very well established what the clothing attire for Storm cinema employees is. ;)