Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What the mejaysus is this?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Its Special Set Dinner, apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Looks kinda like a cockroach. Burn it don't squish it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

well its still on me kitchen table. i put the ring off the top of a milk carton around it so it looks all nice now, like a statue or a trophy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

The_B_Man wrote:
    well its still on me kitchen table. i put the ring off the top of a milk carton around it so it looks all nice now, like a statue or a trophy!

Whatever it is, I blame global warming for it being there.

http://images.google.ie/imgres?imgurl=http://www.kingsnake.com/westindian/scarabeidae2.JPG&imgrefurl=http://www.kingsnake.com/westindian/metazoa7.html&h=650&w=850&sz=172&hl=en&start=2&um=1&tbnid=WhPwdU3dVTyxhM:&tbnh=111&tbnw=145&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dcockroach%2Bspecies%2Bbeetle%26svnum%3D10%26um%3D1%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DG

found that on google. does that look like it to anyone?

also, if thats a cause of global warming, then bring it on. When i discovered the first one, i was havin a poo. It was still alvie at the time so gave me something to play with to...eh....pass the time! :D

Is there any building/demolition going on in/around your house?

We had a similar infestation in work about 8 months ago. They weren't that big, but looked the same. Apparently it was some kinda insect that lived in rotting wood, ad came into our place when they knocked down the hotel next door.

Can't for the life of me remember what it was called though.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,653 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Can't for the life of me remember what it was called though.

"The enemy."
    Engage and destroy with extreme prejudice.

Seriously, though, one or two of them, I wouldn't worry too much. If they keep showing up, though, you want to seriously consider getting an exterminator in.

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

The first two are John and Paul, I can't tell if the other one is George or Ringo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 lucille

i think i know what kind of bug that is, i just don't know which word is used for it in english:
    chafer
    June beetle
    June bug
    May beetle
    cockchafer

http://images.google.de/images?hl=de&q=maik%C3%A4fer&gbv=2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

We'll go with cockchafer :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 lucille

haha..and if you weren't 13 yo ;) , which word would you use? is any one of these used in englsih...to describe a bug :) ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Is it a june bug? Or dune buggy

If it moved slowly, it probably wasnt a cockroach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Cormic

I for one welcome our new insect overlords. I'd like to remind them that as a trusted Boards.ie personality, I can be helpful in rounding up others to toil in their underground sugar caves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Cormic wrote:
    I for one welcome our new insect overlords. I'd like to remind them that as a trusted Boards.ie personality, I can be helpful in rounding up others to toil in their underground sugar caves.

Hail Insect Overlords

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭Ballerina

ew

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Hard Larry

Dude thats some sort of roach!

Time to get the Jeyes Fluid out and disinfect the gaff!

and I'd take it off the kitchen table too

Steenkeeng cucaracha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

That is actually called a Cockchafer or MayBug. Most commonly seen in May funnily enough. Scared the ****e out of me when I found one in the kitchen a few years ago.

Have you seen/heard him fly??

Loud bastards too!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭sportswear

it is certainly not a cockroach

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Hard Larry

Its too close to the Cockroach family for comfort...

Squish 'em all and let God sort 'em out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Calibos wrote:
    That is actually called a Cockchafer

I thought that was a joke when it was posted previously, but no.... it exists. :p

lol cockchafer! classic!

must be why me balls hav been itchy lately.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Be very careful... They can smell your fear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Good Jaysus...the 'For Sale' sign would be up if I found something like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭Nephew

Just be thankful its not this

WARNING ITS PRETTY GRAPHIC
    http://www.bentbay.dk/Brown_Recluse.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Nephew wrote:

http://www.bentbay.dk/Brown_Recluse.htm WARNING ITS SLIGHTLY GRAPHIC

'slightly' being an understatement!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

Nephew wrote:

http://www.bentbay.dk/Brown_Recluse.htm WARNING ITS SLIGHTLY GRAPHIC

sweet jebus. that's disgusting... surely there's some sort of treatment, rather then taking pics every few days for a website..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

I read the wikipedia entry and it turns out there's feck all that can be done but it also turns out they very rarely bite and when they do it very rarely cause necrosis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Nephew wrote:

Thats the last time i pick up a spider. He must have known what was comming when he started taking pictures so quickly after the bite.

That was gruesome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

Definitely a cockchafer. Its the time of year for them, and they arrive in cycles, so it looks like this year is a good one for their numbers.

Theres another thread I started previously on these fellas.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055090560

i honestly cant get over the name! all the boys have seen this thread and keep givin me abuse!

either way its gas! when he died, i stuck him in a pose on the kitchen table, and me housemates thought it was a plastic toy or basically didnt think it was real.

lol actually, sittin here watchin sky movies comedy. chinese film called Mastermind. freaky little fella in it that freaks me out more than bobby the boozy beetle. As long as them animals arent poisonous, then ive no problem pickin them up. but that little fella from this film is PURE WEIRD!!!! like a mini odd job!!! :D

ye, so Cock Shaver, eh? or chafer, watever his name is! best name ever! all i need now is some girls that i can throw them at! :P

actaully, is there a way to find their nest? i cud do wit collectin a whole rake of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Its the biggest 10c ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Seen a load of them around lately actually.

Ugh. B*stards.

Edit:
    Nephew wrote:

I'm pretty sure that's photoshopped...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭LovelyTom

I had some of those in my house before... no idea what they are...they're gone now though but it was just after i had moved in and the house was filthy... some kind of cockroach maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭angelbaby

found one identicle to that in a bin at work the other day!no one could figure out what it was!!its a freaky ass lookin bug!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

the 10C special!

ye i was surprised nobody noticed the chinese menu. woulda thought there'd be loadsa chinese food related jokes!! :D