Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Foxtrot 58 airsoft anyone interested?

• 11-05-2007 2:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭

anyone who goes to predator i assume will be familiar with the team Foxtrot 58 led by sgt. Big Sam (he's a seriously big guy you cant help but notice him.) Anyway the said team have opened up a seemingly spectacular new airsoft sight up North. Was wondering if there are people here interested in taking a trip up during the summer and storming the place.:D

Its a fair drive by the looks of it though. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Irish Trinity

about 2 and a half hour if the traffic is good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭Ample Free ...?

where exactly is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

I'd be up for it towards the end of summer, alright.

Going to try get to Predator first though - hopefully before the end of June.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

New Site? YEY! I'm Up for it. One the Junior Cert is over.....:eek:

Stick up a screenshot of it on Google Earth if you can so we can see where it is;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

yea, id be up for it too, hope to make it up to predator once my exams are finished

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Spriggan

But Robbie, how will we fit all these people into Pat's car? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭cherubaul

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Harekin

Man thats even further away than Predator! Will check it out tho when you's are heading up.

Says 2.5hrs from dublin...not too long. Like the cannon.

Whats the storie with everything? Any Facilities? Is it free?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,588 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

A new site????? :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

Details????????????

Your a mod and you only realised this now?

Get on top of things here Oisin.

Yes Details!!!!!! Before I have you executed for silence!:D

Master of the Universe

Your a mod and you only realised this now?

Get on top of things here Oisin.

Contrary to popular belief, I do have a life outside of this forum :p

o1s1n wrote:
    Contrary to popular belief, I do have a life outside of this forum :p

what's this "outside" place you speak of?

Master of the Universe

kdouglas wrote:

what's this "outside" place you speak of?

First I thought it was just a rumour. You know, the usual internet urban legends you see on snopes.com. But no, it was actually true.

Oh how I've wasted my life.

Anyway, yeah, new airsoft site! Excellent. Pity it's not down here though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Irish Trinity

i say we start another one some where down south, i could pitch in a bit.... i got a whole 2c in my piggy bank :D

sounds great in theory, but unless you have access to land without rental costs, then there's not much point at the moment, not much money in it for commercial purposes. Main thing to remember is that airsoft in the UK has been going for 15-20 years now, we're still not even at the 1 year mark, give it time, we're getting more and more players every day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭16airassualt

im not sure if it would be good having alot of airsoft sites and shops down south,because what would happen is some idiot would get his hands on one,decide it would be funny to shoot a garda,etc.. and knowing our government on issues like this,airsoft would be banned in a week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,043 ✭✭✭Wossack

im not sure if it would be good having alot of airsoft sites and shops down south,because what would happen is some idiot would get his hands on one,decide it would be funny to shoot a garda,etc.. and knowing our government on issues like this,airsoft would be banned in a week

well, thats a pretty defeatist attitude... in fact if more people got involved it would suit that situation better. Theres nothing stopping some idiot from getting one now and shooting a gardai (I'd be happy if I was that gard that it wasnt a real gun...). The only difference is that if it happened now, the govenment would have no problem shutting everything down, while theres no real public interest, and the popularity is quite low and the whole thing is relatively unknown. If on the otherhand, theres a large following, it'd be whole lot harder to shutdown.

and thinking the gov would outlaw it as a result of an incident such as this is a touch sensationalist too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭16airassualt

somebody who would just be messing around with it and shooting people on the street isint going to go to the trouble of looking up airsoft guns on the internet and ordering one.but if there was a shop on lets say o connell street,loads of people who have no intrest in the sport or its future would be buying them just to fuk about with,and it would only be a matter of time before the gardai get fed up with incidents involving airsoft and the ledgeslation is changed.

im not being defeatist i just think the way it is now is that if you go to the trouble of ordering one over the internet,youre going to use it for the right reasons,like skirmishing

Master of the Universe

Anyway lads, getting totally off topic here. This thread is about a new airsoft site. Something we should all be rejoicing about :)

anyway, has anyone found any pics of this new site?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

kdouglas wrote:
    anyway, has anyone found any pics of this new site?

It has its own section on the ASI forum, with this site-map.
    And theres two links to gallery photos here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭Ample Free ...?

Looks very good, I like the look of the terrain compared to Predator and it seems big enough too but it's one hell of a trip up there, unless theres some easy way like getting a train most of the way up I don't see it happening that often. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Looks very good, I like the look of the terrain compared to Predator and it seems big enough too but it's one hell of a trip up there, unless theres some easy way like getting a train most of the way up I don't see it happening that often. :(

Nearest train would be to Belfast I think, and that's still quite some distance away.

If we had enough people interested, we could organise as mini-bus or coach. Price wouldn't be too bad if we had at least 20 people.

Master of the Universe

Excellent. Woodland that you can actually navigate through without a machete. Have to sort out a group to go up there soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

i'd be up for a trip, a rented bus would be good aas it can get a group of us going together, just please dont have it on a weekend i'm working:(

Do ye have a website?

Skatedude wrote:
    i'd be up for a trip, a rented bus would be good aas it can get a group of us going together, just please dont have it on a weekend i'm working:(

Well since the journey time is gonna be at about 2.5-3 hours, I think only a weekend is feasible for most.

I think it is an amazing idea. How about we set a date towards the end of June so everyone can get time off? I dont like navigating through dense foliage so open "Jungle Warfare" is EXACTLY what I want!

EDIT: http://www.airsoftireland.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=7306
    Anyone interested?

We have enough trouble trying to get 10 people to show up at HRTA on Saturday. That and there are only 2 teams in the south, neither of which actually have 10 members.

This event sounds great, but I am not optimistic about getting a group of 10 people to head up north for a 2 day event.

And to make the coach/minibus economically feasible you need 15 people at the minimum.

*Sigh* The negativity Im hearing!
    Im sure with a bit of thought we could work something out.

Harekin wrote:
    *Sigh* The negativity Im hearing!
    Im sure with a bit of thought we could work something out.

Realism, not negativity.... ;)

Master of the Universe

We need to work out some more teams and start training them properly. There's definitely enough around the Bray/Wicklow area to get one together.

Im in anyways and no doubt my brother will be...Im getting 2X of those Chinese L96's (one Ill keep at 450fps and use up North/in England due to their special rules about bolt-actions and one Ill downgrade to use down here). Them, my P90 and my M9 is more than enough to fulfil any role required by a team.

Master of the Universe

Those China L96s arent much good at all. The magazine is really finiky. The body is very plasticy and has bad seams. The bolt action on it just feels cheap. I've heard that after a while the power is known to cause fractures in the bolt mech.

You'd be better off putting the money into a Maruzen L96. The combined price of two China ones and you'd be nearly there.

So there's your brother and yourself, myself...Hivemind and N.O.I.P? I also have a friend around the corner who just got his Aug in the post. Just need another 4. I'm sure it's possible!

id be interested, but it depends on dates, i may not be around for the second half of july

Master of the Universe

kdouglas wrote:
    id be interested, but it depends on dates, i may not be around for the second half of july

Well, even to get teams together to play against each other at H.R.T.A. Make it a bit more competitive ;)

We (as I've probably mentioned before) have a camper so we 3 would love a 2 day but we're not in a team and One currently has no camo. Anyone desperate for members located in Dublin Area?

well currently i've been asked to join the ghosts (or is it na taibhse?) so might be difficult for me to play on two teams at the same time....

although...

Bianche%20Two-Face%20Cropped%2080pc.JPG

one side for each team?

Lol