Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rock Am Ring - Anyone Going??

• 08-05-2007 1:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭

1st to the 3rd of june in the nurburing F1 race track in Nurburg Germany, 60 Bands billed including the reason i'm going over ...Smashing Pumpkins!

Heres the full list:

http://www.rock-am-ring.com/newsitem.html?objId=6

So is anyone else going this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭foreignobserver

great value if you are planning to go there for the whole festival
    the ticket is €125. This includes not only gigs but also camping and parking.
    I wonder if you can get one day ticket? I could not stay for the whole length...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

Line up looks a bit rubbish to be completely honest, other than the Smashing Pumpkins there isnt really anyone that would make me want to go all the way to Germany, i reckon you can see most of them at UK and irish festivals just as easily.
    Although "My Baby Wants to Eat Your Pussy" must be worth a look to see if they live up to the godawful, yet wierdly fantastic name they have!

For a better line-up, in a cooler place, also with smashing pumpkins check primavera 07
    http://www.primaverasound.com/index.php?idioma=en#

Slint....Girls Against Boys....Sonic youth.....ahhhhhhh you gotta love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

I was quite literally 2 minutes away from going tot his last year. Couldnt get flights to the right place. My bro was at Rock im Park(the sister festival), and said it was amazing. Really wanted to go this year for the Pumpkins, but have the LC coming up, so that put paid to that. Hopefully they have the webstream again like last year. I wont forget the hour that made me miss Alice in Chains last year haha. Definately a few bands I'd want to watch on the stream if they have it

On Friday there, for shame for putting Linkin Park AND White Stripes ahead of Muse. Muse in the natural light means awful light show. Muse with awful light show takes away from the whole epicness of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 RawK

HA I literally just booked my tickets and flights last night!!!
    (well my mate did!)

flying out on the 31st of May
    back on the 4th June

cant wait, im a tad pissed scared though, first time in a holiday to a foreign country etc...

RaWk wrote:
    cant wait, im a tad pissed scared though, first time in a holiday to a foreign country etc...

Pish posh...enjoy it. In germany, they actually have good infrastructure ie. good trains, on time etc. You'll be fine. Never be afraid to ask anyone where to go. Just follow all the rockers:D Enjoy it!

ha ha cheers, will do mate.
    first thing ive to do is figure out train/bus times from Frankfurt to Nurburg!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 15,577 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

have to say loving the line up. i would love to go over but all my friends are doing the LC near that time. I would just love to see 30 seconds to mars and stone sour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭smelltheglove

been to this festival numerous times and its very very well organised and your gonna have an amazing weekend! I seen kiss there so i can go die now lmao

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭Jimkel

OK heres the thing
    Rock Am ring is on in Nurburg
    Rock IM park is on in Nueremberg

But Nurburg is also known as Nuremberg
    Nuremberg is a common way of spelling Nueremberg which is
    also known as Nurnberg

Nurnberg - Nurburg
    neuremberg - nuremberg

Man I nearly booked a flight to the wrong side of Germany!!!:o

Eirebear wrote:
    Line up looks a bit rubbish to be completely honest, other than the Smashing Pumpkins there isnt really anyone that would make me want to go all the way to Germany, i reckon you can see most of them at UK and irish festivals just as easily.
    Although "My Baby Wants to Eat Your Pussy" must be worth a look to see if they live up to the godawful, yet wierdly fantastic name they have!

For a better line-up, in a cooler place, also with smashing pumpkins check primavera 07
    http://www.primaverasound.com/index.php?idioma=en#

Slint....Girls Against Boys....Sonic youth.....ahhhhhhh you gotta love it.

Well the ticket was a gift so I'm not complaining! There are allot of crap bands on too, and all the good ones seem to be on at the same kinda times, which means ill have to miss some of the better bands. But its a holiday in Germany, I'm staying till the 5th so I get to see the town as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

well if it was free! lol, nah enjoy it mate, even if you dont see any decent bands im sure the experience will be good.

Jimkel wrote:
    Man I nearly booked a flight to the wrong side of Germany!!!:o

Ditto! ahaha at least two of us aren't that stupid!
    What date are you flying out? Our flight is leaving at like 7:30 on the 31st

(also dude, while i have your attention, This is totally off topic, but i was wondering how do i change my name on this board... i originally had it as this as a phase but since grown out of it, and would LOVE to change it, cheers!)

PS: ANYONE KNOW HOW TO GET FROM FRANKFURT AIRPORT TO NURBURG?

RaWk, here is a link to the German National Train service website, with the destinations already put in:

http://reiseauskunft.bahn.de/bin/query.exe/en?ld=212.57&seqnr=1&ident=3b.02336357.1178734078&OK#focus

They are just random times put in, so just alter them to suit yourself. Had them in from when I was searching this yolk last year. Long-ish journey, but on those trains, its quick. Pricey enough though

oh cool! Thanks a Mil Mushy! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

every member of qotsa that played rock AM got a tatoo after playing that gig of the date and time they were on stage to remind themselves NEVER TO GO THERE AGAIN!

Apparently its a nightmate festival

RawK wrote:
    Ditto! ahaha at least two of us aren't that stupid!
    What date are you flying out? Our flight is leaving at like 7:30 on the 31st

(also dude, while i have your attention, This is totally off topic, but i was wondering how do i change my name on this board... i originally had it as this as a phase but since grown out of it, and would LOVE to change it, cheers!)

PS: ANYONE KNOW HOW TO GET FROM FRANKFURT AIRPORT TO NURBURG?

Im flying the 31st as well, But I'm flying into Cologne - Bonn Airport just north of Nurburg, 90 minute drive by car so I dunno how long its gonna take to get there by train and bus.

As for changing your name, Honestly I've no idea, I recommend PM'ing a moderator and asking if it's possible.

Thousands of people flock to the Nurburgring for the F1 and to drive the track so it cant be that hard to get to, Well if ya hear a dublin accent at the festival it's probably me!

red_ice wrote:
    every member of qotsa that played rock AM got a tatoo after playing that gig of the date and time they were on stage to remind themselves NEVER TO GO THERE AGAIN!

Apparently its a nightmate festival

Every one else that has gone has said they loved it, Maybe the queens just had a bad gig, im sure the audience enjoyed it though!
    Well I wont have to worry about the logistics of playing a festival, only the logistics of getting drunk.

Besides, personally queens of the stone age aren't much to go by since they had 1 good song, went on like they were in the same league as bands like pink floyd only to fade into obscurity 5 minutes later. In fact I've never heard queens do anything but complain about their gigs, the audience, each other, Their drug problems (while advocating the use of drugs), The fact that the caviar wasn't prepared "Just so.." and maybe that their diamond shoes were too tight etc.

Jimkel wrote:
    Besides, personally queens of the stone age aren't much to go by since they had 1 good song, went on like they were in the same league as bands like pink floyd only to fade into obscurity 5 minutes later. In fact I've never heard queens do anything but complain about their gigs, the audience, each other, Their drug problems (while advocating the use of drugs), The fact that the caviar wasn't prepared "Just so.." and maybe that their diamond shoes were too tight etc.

rofl. Your living under a rock. noone knows was their only 'popular song' because it was radio friendly. You've obviously never listened to any of their albums, coz if you did you would love it. QOTSA never go on like they are better than anyone else... i've only seen them slag off Creed... but lets face it, they are creed. As far as them complaining about their gigs, i rekon your telling porkies. They always go on about how great the gigs are and always complement the crowed and be frank about how it goes. So your wrong on that note actually. the only thing that they say negative about their gigs is that they dont like live recordings because it takes away from the sound they produce - which is totally true. They never complain about their drug use, they promote it - so what? Just like other bands promote alcohol, they prefare drugs and that caviar thing is utter shite.

Dont make stuff up to back up your arguement! :)

Jimkel wrote:
    Besides, personally queens of the stone age aren't much to go by since they had 1 good song,

Looks like Red Ice beat me to it. Think he says it in his second sentence("Your living under a rock"), sorry to say mate! They had one "popular" song, which in all honesty, is probably one of the greatest "popular" songs to come out in a while(thats comparing to other popular songs ie. Snow Patrol, Razorlight etc.) Just remember, they had two utterly amazing albums out before this so-called "one good song". My mate only found out the other day the Queens were formed in 1998. They were never a one-hit wonder.

Jimkel wrote:
    Well if ya hear a dublin accent at the festival it's probably me!

haha yeah cool, my friend was thinkin of bringing a Ire Flag for being spotted?
    meh let them do what they want!
    hopefully there will be someone else going from frankfurt to Nurburg
    we only got tickets to frankfurt cause they were cheap with ryanair
    :rolleyes: typical wah?

red_ice wrote:
    rofl. Your living under a rock. noone knows was their only 'popular song' because it was radio friendly. You've obviously never listened to any of their albums, coz if you did you would love it. QOTSA never go on like they are better than anyone else... i've only seen them slag off Creed... but lets face it, they are creed. As far as them complaining about their gigs, i rekon your telling porkies. They always go on about how great the gigs are and always complement the crowed and be frank about how it goes. So your wrong on that note actually. the only thing that they say negative about their gigs is that they dont like live recordings because it takes away from the sound they produce - which is totally true. They never complain about their drug use, they promote it - so what? Just like other bands promote alcohol, they prefare drugs and that caviar thing is utter shite.

Dont make stuff up to back up your arguement! :)

I was being sarcastic. Plus I have heard 5 albums by them, as well as desert sessions and other things they were involved in.

and No one knows was not the song i was reffering to, I didnt like Songs for the Deaf because it was far too mainstream, and everything after that was just sell out BS. the only good song was I was reffering to was not "Go with the flow" it was an album track. I just honestly think they suck. They're depressing and pointless In my opinion, They appeal to the social "rebels" who dont even know what they are rebelling against with this "Lets smoke pot and make a difference" attitude . They are clever marketeers and thats all. Touting the use of Psychoactive substances such as hallucinagenics because of some ill tought out philosophical rethoric and one too many nights watching fear and loathing.

Mushy wrote:
    Looks like Red Ice beat me to it. Think he says it in his second sentence("Your living under a rock"), sorry to say mate! They had one "popular" song, which in all honesty, is probably one of the greatest "popular" songs to come out in a while(thats comparing to other popular songs ie. Snow Patrol, Razorlight etc.) Just remember, they had two utterly amazing albums out before this so-called "one good song". My mate only found out the other day the Queens were formed in 1998. They were never a one-hit wonder.

Once again lads dont jump to conclusions, I was not reffering to Go with the flow, I dislike that song. I have heard nearly everything By the QOTSA.

Jimkel wrote:
    They're depressing and pointless In my opinion, They appeal to the social "rebels" who dont even know what they are rebelling against, "Lets smoke pot and change the world" attitude . They are clever marketeers and thats all.

Lets hope you dont listen to Radiohead then, if you find that depressing. I love QOTSA, I dont smoke pot, I dont wanna change the world...thats a bit of a stereotype to saythe least. I like them for the good music that they put out.
    Jimkel wrote:
    I didnt like Songs for the Deaf because it was far too mainstream,

That reeks of music snobbery. You either like it cos its good, or dont like it cos its bad. To me, that seems like the attitude of , "its mainstream, I cant like it". People are like that to try and be more, I dont know, seemingly have a musically better taste. Then again,could be just a stereotype.

Fair enough if you dont like them, then you dont, and I cant/wont change that, as it is your opinion of music. But not liking them for the stereotypical crowd they appeal to in your opinion, and not liking their best album, and possibly one of the best of the decade(in rock music anyway), thats just a weak excuse.

All said while wearing my lovely QOTSA t-shirt;)

Mushy im a little confised with that Bus service link you gave me!
    regarding return times... and departure times

Can anyone give me any information that have on getting from Frankfurt to Nurburgring? Be it bus or train
    (also can you get them directly from Frankfurt Airport or do you have to go into the City?)
    because my mate said we might have to get a train to Klobenz and a shuttle bus to Nurburgring!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 silverdarcy

Pumpkins, Machine Head, Type O Negative, Korn - cheap at the price :)
    Have had my tickets for some time now!!
    Gonna be fantastic.

Jimkel obviously doenst listen to lyrics or understand the complexity of 70% of qotsa songs. Songs for the deaf was FAR from mainstream. Lullabies was, but even at that its an aquired taste.

Its fair enough taht you think they suck, thats your opinion, but dont go trash talking a band and trying to put forward a valid arguement that consists of fictional points.

You've listened to the desert sessions and so on, that grand, well done. The people who have contributed to those albums are all very reputable artists. As far as respect and apreciation by musicians in the music industry goes, its hard to find people to match up to josh homme. Theres no point in arguing about it!

Live stream for muse and Pumpkins I'm hoping for. Shall be a welcome break from studying.

http://www.rock-am-ring.com/schedule.html

Look at that schedule. Enter Shikari at 02.10 in the morning. Dear god, that'd be class. Main stage closes up really early. Oh yeah, if your doing a webstream, remember the extra hour. Caught me out for Alice in Chains last year:D

EDIT: Just in Pumpkins website there, it says there will be a "live broadcast of the Smashing Pumpkins performance at Rock Am Ring 2007". Think you go into mtv.de for the stream link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

Cheers for the link #Elites. Should make the day go a bit quicker.

Not sure who I saw earlier, some blonde long haired lad was singing. They were ****e. Then saw some band with a red background. Was that the Hives? If so, whoever they were, they were also awful. Some lad called gogol Bordello now. Think German country music, or a European Manu Chao

Ah well then it wasnt the Hives I saw, I was thinking that they'd be wearing their suits.

Linkin Park are being shown on Sunday I think. If you go by the mtv.de way, it says they're down for Sunday.

Cant believe they're showing Razorlight now. Muse woulda been so much better. Have it on though incase for muse

Very close to Smashing Pumpkins now. Getting very excited here. At least the quality will be good enough. Just remembering this time last year watching Metallica on the stream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Quality is excellent. I need to start to drive to Dublin soon, but I'll give them a few minutes to get on stage.

Some lad talking now, somve very excellent setlist coming up. My German isnt the the best, but there are lots of classics, lot more than other nights I think, sounds amazing. Years of waiting now, all comes down to this. Even though they have played before tonight, its the first chance to see them "live". For once they are just showing the setting up of the stage, no highlights aswell. Luckily I've gone to the toilet:p

Whoah...Ginger is very, VERY ****** HOT. So much better than those slutty pictures than on her website. Started off with Today, Bullet With Butterfly Wings coming up. Extended outro solo on Today too:D

EDIT: Billys back alright. Great shout at the end of the slow bit in BWBW. He loves it

Just saw a tri-colour at the end of the Pupkins set. After about 17 minutes of the 25 minute jam. near the back of the pit. hopefully it was someone from here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

#Elites wrote:
    and VR are on now (amazing)

Just posting to say the same. Fantastic stuff from them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

Any idea when MTV2 will be showing the Pumpkins set?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

Anywhere else I could see it?!!

edit: nvm its on youtube!

Damn, cant believe I missed Velvet Revolver. Whats their new stuff lke? I've only heard She Builds Quick Machines(which i'm not liking), and Let It Roll(which I'm liking). Plus a few days back, I saw a 2005 version on mtv, and Scott was awful then. Hope he's improved now.