Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

90's slang

• 05-05-2007 2:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 36

im writing a story set in the early 90's
    what i would love if for some of you to help re-jog my memory with some slang that was popular of the time

stuff like.
    "Deadly" (timeless I know!)
    "RAPID"
    "Awh SICKENER!!!"

let me know guys!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Scarleh (scarlet), Get out of dat garden, I'm a builder, schwinngg, rad, awesome, don't have a cow man, and anything else from clueless, waynes world and the simpsons.
    I have a few more at the front of my head, but cant think of right now, no doubt they'll pop out at sometime over the weekend.

Bearing in mind from 1990-99 I was 9-18

Calling someone a spa, dipstick, rehab, wankstain, benny, gaylord.

Calling cum jip or spunk.

Calling anal sex a backlash or a bum-ride.

Saying "dawwwwwwwwww" while acting a bit mental when someone said something stupid.

Saying "whoo whoo whoo whoo whoo" while thumping the air with your fist.

Rave on, rave to the grave, etc.

Bogus, radical, anything from the Turtles/Bill & Ted

Gick, diddies, on a bone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

RawK wrote:
    "Awh SICKENER!!!"
    Or a variant of that... telling people they're sickened (after proving someone wrong).

And ''will ye get off with me mate''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

boreds wrote:
    They still say that in some Liverpool gay bars I'm sure :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭30txsbzmcu2k9w

NOOOOOOT! (naaawt) was everywhere there for a good while:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

She was so, like, sickened. And I'm, like, "Who *is* that? What *are* you?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

boreds wrote:

Similar one, "shifting". :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Ruu wrote:
    Similar one, "shifting". :eek:

Yeah, that word was used a lot around home.

Deadly was another 90's slang word that we seemed to us a lot. "That is deadly" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Lirange

Kojak wrote:
    Deadly was another 90's slang word that we seemed to us a lot. "That is deadly" :D
    Courtesy in large part to Derek from The Commitments.

I think NOOOOT is making a bit of a comeback after Borat. 'This suit is blacknot:D

And shifting I think was more of a culchie thing.

''OH. MY. GOD'' is another, and ''How YOU doin?
    I hate Friends.

Go ask me bollix

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

"Cool" was another one, though by then I was in my twenties and thought I was sophisticated, so slang was not my kind of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

on reflection, it appears now that a lot of the 90's slang i heard or used was centred on the human posterior as in ... me hoop, me hole, or me brown ... as catch all responses to almost all questions or statements.

Q: Did you get question 6 on on the physics homework ?
    A: Me hoop

Q: Are you playing ball on Sunday
    A: Me hole

Q: Did you know that John Wayne only had one lung ?
    A: Me brown

Also, "are you for real ?" and "snap out of it!" were used a lot, especially if you had to demonstrate how worldly you were.

Lots of Bill & Ted quotes too ... bogus, gnarly, bodacious or excellent!

Ah ... the cut & thrust of witty repartee. Great days. Great days indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭DO0GLE

What about the 'Fleckers' in their fleckie, shiney tracksuits.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Haven't seen "bumchum" graffitied onto a boy-band poster since the 90's. :D

"Snared" or "caught rapid" for being caught out.

Shouting "sketch" when the teacher came along.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

"Come out of the fog"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Lirange wrote:
    Courtesy in large part to Derek from The Commitments.
    "Deadly" was popular way before that. Most of the phrases mentioned here were used in the 80's.

"Flecks" was in the 80's, all the scum used to wear the same nike jackets with 2 colours.

Ones I never heard in the 80s were "scarlet", and "massive", I always thought massive was odd. I would hear young scumbag girls on the bus shouting around "yeah Tommo, he's bleedin MASSIVE", I always wondered about these lucky well hung scumbags who seemed to be riding the whole estate since all the others girls would be agreeing as though they had rode him too!

At the beggining "massive" seemed to mean good looking, then it just became "good", so a song could be "bleeding massive"

Didnt hear "mad" in the 80's (meaning strange or amazing).

Also "gargle monster", meaning somebody who drank a lot, but more usually used by e-heads to describe a drinker who didnt take e

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I don't know if this was only Cork, but if you thought someone was good looking in the early to mid 90's, you called them a "fla".

My best friend is still upset about the time I told her she wasn't a fla (we were 8). It was a while before she found out what it meant. She was understandably pissed off then...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Not from cork but I thought fla was still used today?

The majority of the slang so far goes even further back than 80's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Mrs. MacGyver

Faith wrote:
    I don't know if this was only Cork, but if you thought someone was good looking in the early to mid 90's, you called them a "fla".

My best friend is still upset about the time I told her she wasn't a fla (we were 8). It was a while before she found out what it meant. She was understandably pissed off then...

I think the 'fla' was a Cork thing alright!. Also 'chalk it down' was commonly used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭Batesy

'That was a Dinger' and 'Ston-it' were classics.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 630 ✭✭✭MagnumForce

Q:"Where's John?"
    A:"Up me hole pickin daisies!"

"Scuther", "Manky" etc to mean horrible

there was another one, but i've forgotten it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 rockyfive

The one i remember the most is spunk.. taken from Charlene in Neighbours as in "Scott is such a spunk". I referred to most boys as being a spunk even though i was like 10! Plus i know that was more 80's...

obviously as i grew up it came to mean something different..

Other 90's phrases...

- Barf
    - All that and a bag of chips? (or was that just in galway?)
    - dweeb

other key 90's memories are Garth Brooks, rave music and Alanis Morrisette... a decade of musical contradictions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Bleedin rapid.."ah sure he's sure hes only bleeeeedin rapaah"
    Me mott
    Loooooser!!!
    Ride..."roide"
    Talk te da hand
    :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭ciaran76

I remember lads slagging each others Ma in the 90's like..."your Ma is a snowblower" etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

did ye get yer hole???............. yer whole weeks wages.. :D

another one - a buuoer meaning that girl is very nice and i'd like to marry her.....yer wans a "buuer" or all the "buuers" lads when looking at some spanish students.

Bray talk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 630 ✭✭✭MagnumForce

I remembered the other one:

The use of the phrase "Big Swingin' Micky!" to mean "So what?" or "Big Deal"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Cormic

I cannot believe that no one has mentioned Gift, I used it all the time when I was younger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

murphaph wrote:
    They still say that in some Liverpool gay bars I'm sure :D

you're sure:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Mrs. MacGyver

Sorted
    Stop the lights (maby thats a Cork one!)

Feek - another meaning for that girl is very nice and i'd like to marry her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭tc20

"drinklink" meaning ATM, anyone remeber the first Pass cards, white with the word Pass written in blue?

@ OP - what age are you, when did you grow up?

rapid crack, deadly doss, nifty (last one might be a bit 80s)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭soccerc

tc20 wrote:
    "drinklink" meaning ATM, anyone remeber the first Pass cards, white with the word Pass written in blue?

Yeah, had one of them yokes back in 1982, even lodged my wages through the machine every Eriday, except they didn't actually lodge them until next business day, the following Monday.:eek:

They will never catch on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Nordie

Majority of the slang is still be used in parts of Dublin today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

'wheel the biscuit (somtimes shortened to wheel the bickie') :eek:

'Get out of that garden'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Surely jo maxi is the ultimate 90s slang :confused:

that and buzz/deadly buzz/buzzin

was scobey around pre 90s??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Bassman

How about...."Bite me!" as '90s slang.