Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

garda/human rights

• 05-05-2007 9:53am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭

are there anywebsites out there that list the rights a person has when dealing with a the gardai. for example are they allowed do whatever they want in this damn country or are there limmintations. just wanna see what my rights are

What did they do to you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭TX123

persoanlly nothing but i just want to see what they can and cant get away with cos at the moment they have this power trip and think they can do whatever they want. im sure you saw qhat happened at the oil refinery

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 turk2

TX123 wrote:
    persoanlly nothing but i just want to see what they can and cant get away with cos at the moment they have this power trip and think they can do whatever they want. im sure you saw qhat happened at the oil refinery

Fcuk off you hippy dickhead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

As Robocop said "Stay out of trouble"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

turk2 wrote:
    Fcuk off you hippy dickhead

Banned etc.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,812 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

TX123 wrote:
    are there anywebsites out there that list the rights a person has when dealing with a the gardai. for example are they allowed do whatever they want in this damn country or are there limmintations. just wanna see what my rights are

Your rights depend entirely on the situation. You'd need to be more specific. They do have more rights than you think, for example, they can ask you for your name, address, date of birth, where you're going and where you've been all without having to explain why they're asking. It's best to just co-operate. If I stop someone and speak to them and they are co-operative, I'm less likely to think they've got something to hide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭stagolee

psni wrote:
    Your rights depend entirely on the situation. You'd need to be more specific. They do have more rights than you think, for example, they can ask you for your name, address, date of birth, where you're going and where you've been all without having to explain why they're asking. It's best to just co-operate. If I stop someone and speak to them and they are co-operative, I'm less likely to think they've got something to hide.

They can ask, I suppose anyone can ask these things, but is it an offense not to answer these questions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

well thanks to mickey d you dont have the right to remain silent anymore so what do you think?

alot of this comes down to the public order act which basically means if you fart at a gard that constitutes an offence and they can take you in. so shouting , using abusive language, asking him not to beat your friend over the head with his truncheon because his brains hanging out all fall into that catagory. in fact the latter would probably get you arrested for obstruction :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

I've always found that if you treat the Gardaí with respect, they do the same to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

It's got a lot to do with your appearance and the situation too though. They can be awful patronising bastards sometimes too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭easyontheeye

I've always found that if you treat the Gardaí with respect, they do the same to you.

i tried that and he freaked out because he thought i was being sarcastic (which i wasnt) ! :mad:

I was stopped by the gards in my car one time and from the outset they were confrontational and aggressive...out of the 2 experiences i have had with gards in my life they have both been pure power tripping w*nkers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

TX123 wrote:
    im sure you saw qhat happened at the oil refinery
    Nope. Feel free to expand on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,322 ✭✭✭source

I was pulled over last sat nite and breathalysed, had been seen leaving a club and getting into my car.....now i don't drink and the way i look at it is if i give them hassle they'll keep me longer than needed, so i was nice.....polite and took the test readily and passed, i even wound up having a laugh with the guard.

At the end of the day they're just people trying to do a job....If we all help them to do their job by co-operating with them when requested then you'll see a lot less attitude from them, ever heard of do onto others as they would do onto you?????

basically i'm saying if you give them attitude they'll give you attitude back. If you have nothing to hide, then don't be a prick trying to quote loads of different reasons they can't stop you, they're suspicious people and this behaviour will only make them more suspicious of you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭Binomate

Fihgt Teh Powah!!!1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

I drive a modded car. The majority I come across don't treat me with respect regardless of what i'm doing. Following me home in unmarked cars 2 inches from my back bumper, pulling me over for no reason.

Just why do you think they have such a bad public opinion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Most people who see a modded car automatically think that it's a dodgy boyracer, so you can't simply blame the guards for that.

But there are tossers who are guards, in the same way there are people in Burger king who get power trips when they get put in charge. The problem is that people are a$$holes and the sooner the dolphins take over, the better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

foinse wrote:
    At the end of the day they're just people trying to do a job....If we all help them to do their job by co-operating with them when requested then you'll see a lot less attitude from them, ever heard of do onto others as they would do onto you?????.

They may be just people and like people some of them are a$$holes and some are not. They do however have a reputation to maintain and what we are seeing in this thread appears to be that some of them don't seem to care about that. Whether they are a$$holes or not once they put on that uniform they should leave their baggage at the door and act with professionalism and courtesy, they can be a$$holes on their own time.

humanji wrote:
    Most people who see a modded car automatically think that it's a dodgy boyracer, so you can't simply blame the guards for that.

Oh but I can, it's harrasement. Last time I was pulled and questioned I was sitting at a red light waiting for a left turn. Clearly, i'm a drug dealing pimp lord.

Look there are some good guards, some bad. Not all are rotten apples but it only takes a few right? The thing is, in the US the cops in large cities are far more curtious and approachable , here I would feel intimidated to speak to a guard.

layke wrote:
    Look there are some good guards, some bad. Not all are rotten apples but it only takes a few right?

Which is exactly what can be said about people in modded cars. People will always remember the bad things before the good things. It's human nature (or maybe just an Irish thing :D ).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The majority of people I've ever met, who have a "thing" against the Gardai, are the ones who want to avoid Garda attention.

I'm not saying that everyone who gets hassled by the Gardai are criminals, but by and large, the people I've met who instantly give scowls or otherwise make comments when they see the Gardai, tend to be engaging in plenty of dodgy dealings behind closed doors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

layke wrote:
    Look there are some good guards, some bad. Not all are rotten apples but it only takes a few right? The thing is, in the US the cops in large cities are far more curtious and approachable , here I would feel intimidated to speak to a guard.

You should have stopped after your second sentence. My experience with US cops has been one of good and bad apples too.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

layke wrote:
    Oh but I can, it's harrasement. Last time I was pulled and questioned I was sitting at a red light waiting for a left turn. Clearly, i'm a drug dealing pimp lord.

Layke "some" modders attend "some" "Cruises" or "meets" and we all know what goes on at "some" cruises.

Im talking about deliberate taunting of gardai into chases knowing that if the chase gets too dangerous the gardai will call it off. Especially in border towns.

Car modders will say that alot of these people are joyriders who come across a cruise and give modders a bad name.

But from the industrial estates in Dublin and Galway and in the worst instances in border towns "boy racers" are their own worst enemy.

Check out a cruise that took place in Galway on public roads. That is only the half of it. The people shown her are not in stolen cars. They are in corolla gt's, civics and cars that they havre spent alot of money on.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PJ5d94w5wKw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Hoops1888

TX123 wrote:

All depends on what.

My advice is not to talk to guards if they for example they pull you off the street you just give them your name nothing else. If a guard pulls you over for example speeding he comes to your car, says do you know the speed limit dont answer him doing so you are infact pleading guilty to speeding. They also cant search your car for no reason so anytime they pull you over when you get out of the car always lock it if you leave it open they can search it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

seamus wrote:
    The majority of people I've ever met, who have a "thing" against the Gardai, are the ones who want to avoid Garda attention.

I'm not saying that everyone who gets hassled by the Gardai are criminals, but by and large, the people I've met who instantly give scowls or otherwise make comments when they see the Gardai, tend to be engaging in plenty of dodgy dealings behind closed doors.

yeah, but lots of us are doing something that shouldn't be dodgy in the first place. we're not raping puppies or burning old women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Hoops1888 wrote:
    All depends on what.

My advice is not to talk to guards if they for example they pull you off the street you just give them your name nothing else. If a guard pulls you over for example speeding he comes to your car, says do you know the speed limit dont answer him doing so you are infact pleading guilty to speeding. They also cant search your car for no reason so anytime they pull you over when you get out of the car always lock it if you leave it open they can search it.
    Sorry to burst your bubble. There are loads of reasons that Gardai may search a car, the most common is under the misuse of drugs act.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

I was always under the impression that once a door was locked the Gards couldnt force it to be opened without a warrant.

and the problem is everywhere as far as cops go, I have had modded cxars over there and here in OZ and the reaction is the same, they have a required return of work quota each month, and its easier to pick on soft easytargets to get your overtime than actualy gettin off their fat Biggoted arses and tryin to catch actual criminals

Hoops1888 wrote:
    All depends on what.

I can't see how acting suspicous around them is going to suddenly make them think nothing is wrong and walk away:confused:

Chief--- wrote:
    Layke "some" modders attend "some" "Cruises" or "meets" and we all know what goes on at "some" cruises.

Im talking about deliberate taunting of gardai into chases knowing that if the chase gets too dangerous the gardai will call it off. Especially in border towns.

Car modders will say that alot of these people are joyriders who come across a cruise and give modders a bad name.

But from the industrial estates in Dublin and Galway and in the worst instances in border towns "boy racers" are their own worst enemy.

Check out a cruise that took place in Galway on public roads. That is only the half of it. The people shown her are not in stolen cars. They are in corolla gt's, civics and cars that they havre spent alot of money on.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PJ5d94w5wKw

That's fair enough Chiefy but what has that got to do with me driving home at 1am only to pulled while sitting at traffic lights? As i've said most Guards are grand but there are a few out there. Personally motorcycle guards seem to be the soundest from what i've come across.