Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

in 6th year, applied for res, what can i expect

• 03-05-2007 7:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭

so Im in 6th year and applied for res in hamstead, i just want to know aside from no alcohol what other rules ans stuff can i expect, also if i dont get into res whats room rates like around the general area of dcu.

btw. i did read the sticky on acomodation, but i just want opinions from other people !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭public_enemy

Hehe, no alcohol... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭DemocAnarchis

Fascist room inspectors, paying for overnight guests, apart from that its not too bad. Be glad to get out of there next year myself, cant stand the invasion of privacy element to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

What to expect?

- houseparties
    - meeting new people
    - utter frustration when you realise you can't bring the hot bird you met back with you at the end of the night
    - inconvenient room inspections
    - fast but limited internet connection
    - fire alarms going off in the early hours of the morning

Thats it off the top of my head anyway :)

Hrm, I really need to edit that sticky on accommodation too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

so Im in 6th year and applied for res in hamstead, i just want to know aside from no alcohol what other rules ans stuff can i expect, also if i dont get into res whats room rates like around the general area of dcu.

btw. i did read the sticky on acomodation, but i just want opinions from other people !

Aye i applyed for Hampstead aswel, looking forward to september actually, new city, new people etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭StephenC_IRL

room inspection ????????????????????

ok this aint sounding good, im all for facism but, will they have problems with any of the following :

Multiple computers (crt and lcd)
    soldering iron
    miscelanious electronic parts
    boxes of cables, boards and components
    a surround sound system
    a wirless access point that doesnt allow connection to internet and is controlled by WPA and mac address filtering
    oscilloscope
    signal generator

also restricted internet ??

any ways of getting bittorrent.

no bringing back women :O

ok this is sounding bad, i dont function without torrents, what are room rates around dcu like ??? house or apartment

ok this aint sounding good, im all for facism but, will they have problems with any of the following :

probably not.
    any ways of getting bittorrent.

don't think so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

**** treatment and service even though you are handing over a few grand per semester to stay there.

Tbh, I lived at home during my brief 3 year tenure at DCU, and I think I faired better than those in the campus accomadation.
    Multiple computers (crt and lcd)
    soldering iron
    miscelanious electronic parts
    boxes of cables, boards and components
    a surround sound system
    a wirless access point that doesnt allow connection to internet and is controlled by WPA and mac address filtering
    oscilloscope
    signal generator

Haha, what a collection! But seriously, you wont be able to stick up any of yer speakers on yer walls (or posters for that matter), so you'll need stands my friend!

ahh i knew that, ive got the stands, but would they have a problem with the other stuff,

room inspection ????????????????????

List of funky stuff...
    Nope, as long as you keep it tidy they won't care what you have.
    also restricted internet ??
    Yep, the connection on Res is the same one as in college which means that many of the ports to services such as torrents and P2P are closed. Basically theres no way around it.
    no bringing back women :O
    Nope, no random overnight guests after 12pm. You may have guests if you go through Campus Res and fill out the required forms before 4pm that day however there are security guards posted on the entrance come 12 so forget about it. :)
    what are room rates around dcu like ??? house or apartment
    Well as per the accomodation thread your best bet for a similar type of apartment is Shanowen. Check out Shanowen Square and Shanowen Hall.

that shanowen place, that looks good,

is that owned by DCU or what ??

does that have any of this room inspection stuff ?? also is the internet restricted there ??

does anyone live there, if so please tell me what its like, and are there facist rules there ??

no, no and no.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

The net connection in Shanowen isn't a patch on the one in res. Restrictions are bypassable........

2048/256k is good enough for me, i wouldnt need anything above 512k if i cant torrent so the fast res conection would be an oxymoron to me.

ok so if im to be corrected let it be done now

Shanowen :

-slowish internet - but not restricted (torrents and emule will work)
    -none of this room inspector crap
    -you can have guests
    -alcohol is alright
    -its close to dcu but not on campus

if thats all correct it sounds like the best choice for me, thanks all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,216 ✭✭✭phreak

actually the shanowen connection is restricted. Firstly, the max download speed is 40k. Also, Most of the ports were blocked this year and if you get a torrent working it'll be extremely slow since they seem to be packet shaping.

Yep, what phreak said the rest is correct though. Shanowen is just across the road from campus though.

I wouldn't call the Res connection "bypassable" with respect to torrents either though.

there are ways to download anything you want from res. you just have to know how to.

The only real differences between res and shanowen are:

- you can have one guest back in shanowen on the spur of the moment whereas with res you have to plan ahead.
    - both internet connections are restricted but the one on res is over 100 times faster(not exagerating) than shanowen

Other than that there's little to no difference between the two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

That's cos you shanowen feckers were ruining it for the rest of us IBB customers on the Ballymun Road mast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

gizmo wrote:
    I wouldn't call the Res connection "bypassable" with respect to torrents either though.

If only there were some technology available that would let you virtually connect to a private network.... if only ;)

gizmo wrote:

newb :)

Thats the point though, most people are and hence its not something you could really advertise as being able to do. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭Alanthroneus

ive managed to stay on rez 95% of the year and havent been caught. so that not bringin girls back isnt true. jsut get to know security ( aww i miss peter) and its grand. rez is good crack but the room inspections and the like are crap!

thanks for all the help, right the best option seems to be shanowen and some way of getting my own internet connection , is the latency still horrible on iBB, whats clearwire like ?? (sorry ill post that in another forum)

but res, does that leave VPN open ??????? could i connect to my current networks and not have to lug my servers with me to dcu :p

also is there any way of getting res from shanowen (cantenna, omnidirectional wifi antenna etc...)

thanks for all the help, right the best option seems to be shanowen and some way of getting my own internet connection , is the latency still horrible on iBB, whats clearwire like ?? (sorry ill post that in another forum)
    Unfortunately you have to use the connection supplied by Shanowen, you can't get your own.

You most likely won't have a direct line of sight but the closest wifi access would probably be coming from the nursing building... /me gets the map..

dcu.jpg

Guh... that thing's bloody ancient. But the nursing building is now on the top right of that picture and shanowen is across the road directly above that. You're looking at at least 200 metres, I reckon...

Anyway. If you're planning on rezing it up at all, the best option would be to torrent to a remote server and then SCP the files from the server to your machine on rez. I used proxy bouncing to get around the firewall when I lived there. Paid for the account like but it worked well.... Can't remember the name of the software, but ya can set it up yourself with http tunnel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭Alanthroneus

gizmo wrote:
    Unfortunately you have to use the connection supplied by Shanowen, you can't get your own.

heaven forbid!!!!!! :) you dam computer folk are never happy

Oh yeah as far as I know, clearwire have torrents blocked.

i saw that with the nursing building and i think ill go for that,

are any ports for VPN open on the dcu wifi, and would they have a problem with a 384kbps tunnel being used all day every day

if a decent internet connection is important to you go rent a house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭Matthewthebig

if you want torrents:

Group of mates + server + dcu connection and you'll be ****ing set.

It's what I do.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

Its threads like this that make me smile. Nerds are hilarious.

<3

( also <3 IBB 3up, 3down, shared network with so much tv in two years I still havent watched it all, oh, and none of this tunnelling crap.)

The fact of the matter is that tunneling is not crap and IBB suck donkey balls in the vast majority of cases. Speeds on rez can get ridiculous. Ya can get steady 6MB/s down from some major sites like. Your 3 up 3 down is bits not byes and I dunno if my 'b' over there should be upper or lower case :P but yeah
    mega BYTES!1111123123123123

if you want torrents:

Group of mates + server + dcu connection and you'll be ****ing set.

It's what I do.

can i ask why i need a group of friends and a server, if youd like to explain please do, i get the server bit, i think, but why the group ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Evangelion

gizmo wrote:
    What to expect?

- utter frustration when you realise you can't bring the hot bird you met back with you at the end of the night

you just havent done it properly. I've done it and I've never lived on rez ;)

StephenC_IRL, because most students don't want to pay ~€60 a month for server. You could of course get a cheaper one on your own but something in that price range will ensure you get a fantastic connection and a huge amount of bandwidth, something that not even a group of people could hit. :)

Evangelion, first year was no problem for me as there were multiple entry points for Res. Second year and the completion of main entrance at the Sports Complex made matters more difficult and I a) cba climbing over a fence and b) didn't want to risk a taxi out to have my masterplan foiled. :)

yeah, i think for the mo ill vpn or http tunnel to my home server and collect my torrents on the weekends