Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

M10 - SL9 style Aeg - advice please

• 01-05-2007 8:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭

Hey,

Was thinkin of ordering one of these from airsoft-warrior. Few questions.

When I created an account it lists everywhere in the uk. I chose 'UK Offshore Dependencies - Isle', which I presume is correct for Ireland? Has anyone got stuff from them before?

Also, about that airsoft. Is it upgradable (i.e. scope, magazine etc). i dont see any accessories for it. The spec does not specify if its upgradable. I like the look of that airsoft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

kinkstr wrote:
    Hey,

When I created an account it lists everywhere in the uk. I chose 'UK Offshore Dependencies - Isle', which I presume is correct for Ireland? Has anyone got stuff from them before?

Also, about that airsoft. Is it upgradable (i.e. scope, magazine etc). i dont see any accessories for it. The spec does not specify if its upgradable. I like the look of that airsoft.

UK dependencies I think is the likes of the Orkney's and the Falklands - but dont quote me on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Like to point out that even ruinning on the higher 9.6v its still only 270fps. I'm no pro but that doesnt seem goood. Yeah, you'd need a larger mag aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭liamo333

Can i recommend you reconcider, that is a very big gun. For CQB (close quater battle) you will be much better off with an m4 or mp5 because it is smaller and not as difficult to take around corners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭kinkstr

liamo333 wrote:
    Can i recommend you reconcider, that is a very big gun. For CQB (close quater battle) you will be much better off with an m4 or mp5 because it is smaller and not as difficult to take around corners.

The site doesnt give dimensions for the airsoft i linked, any idea how long it actually is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭chalky

liamo333 wrote:

Pah! Don't listen to him! I did just fine with my M14 in CQB.
    Although the power is a bit low, and from what I can tell it has a plastic gearbox...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

was using a g3 at hrta last weekend and found it incredibly awkward for cqb due to the length, normally used to my mp5, much nicer for close quarters, although the g3 was grand for outdoors

that looks very long, a little too long tbh, and id definitely prefer a metal gearbox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

kinkstr wrote:
    Hey,

If it's at all possible, I'd really recommend you save up for a decent quality Tokyo Marui or Classic Army piece. It really is worth the extra cost. The hassle people have with cheaper low end AEGs is insane. That could quite possibly break down on you after firing several hundred shots. If the gearbox is plastic than that is very likely.

If there's no way you could possibly fork out any more, there ARE cheaper clones that have been tested as reliable. Might be worth your while even looking into that.

Im inclined to agree, been reading a bit about the gear boxes tonite and it does seem that a plastic one could give me trouble down the line so i think ill wait a while and maybe get something a little more expensive, and right now i think id be happy just picking up a cheapish pistol just for some target shooting.
    Something like this, probably not very powerful but im new to this whole airsoft scene so ill start small and build myself up to the rifles:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭Loobz

o1s1n wrote:
    If it's at all possible, I'd really recommend you save up for a decent quality Tokyo Marui or Classic Army piece. It really is worth the extra cost. The hassle people have with cheaper low end AEGs is insane. That could quite possibly break down on you after firing several hundred shots. If the gearbox is plastic than that is very likely.

If there's no way you could possibly fork out any more, there ARE cheaper clones that have been tested as reliable. Might be worth your while even looking into that.

Metal gearboxes are more reliable. However through my searching Ive found it difficult to find a piece with a metal gearbox that fires less than the legal limit (fps). Can anyone post some examples?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rew

The dimensions of a real SL9 are available and yes they are pretty long. SL9 is disigned to be a semi-auto target shooting rifle (a Civilian G36) so not really geared up to CQB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭MaxForce

Galaxy MP5K PDW Check out Gunners for info on AEG's. The guy is maticulous about the information he posts. This model MP5 I bought from RSOV and am very happy with it. I have a pic in this thread. It is pretty reliable but it does give you a taste for somthing better like a TM.

That Pistol Aint worth the money, if i'm correctly informed only CYMA 27 onwards are worthwhile and thats a 26.

This Is a good Choice, for a begginer.

You might wanna not buy and just go to HRTA in swords. Paul there sell off MP5s for €110-120 (Second hand). Its good cause no shipping charges!

BTW, the Pic thread....NOIP! You have too many guns, you need something else in your life!

Lethal_Bullet: who were you replying to? The OP was looking at an AEG, not a pistol.
    and yes, the cyma glock is supposed to be very nice, just ordered one last week myself, should be here mon/tues, not necessarily a beginner's pistol either, fair enough it "only" fires at about 240fps, but fps isnt everything

kinkstr: you decided on what your doing yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

kinkstr wrote:
    The site doesnt give dimensions for the airsoft i linked, any idea how long it actually is?

The SL-9 is just over 1 metre long. If your around 6ft tall, extend one arm fully out to one side then measure from the tip of that hand to your opposite shoulder. That is a rough measure of a metre.

It should be an accurate AEG but not much use in CQB. An AUG or G36K is the biggest you would want in CQB.

kdouglas wrote:

kinkstr: you decided on what your doing yet?

Havent ordered yet, where did you order your pistol from btw?
    I think ill go for what Lethal linked up. The only thing that concerns me is the site i buy it from, are RSOV reliable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

What's with the weird ad for imageshack in your post kinkstr?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭liamo333

:O You clicked on it?

kinkstr wrote:
    Im inclined to agree, been reading a bit about the gear boxes tonite and it does seem that a plastic one could give me trouble down the line so i think ill wait a while and maybe get something a little more expensive, and right now i think id be happy just picking up a cheapish pistol just for some target shooting.
    Something like this, probably not very powerful but im new to this whole airsoft scene so ill start small and build myself up to the rifles:D
    This is what I was on about KDouglas!

RSOV are very reliable and i hear keith who owns it is ver nice to deal with.:D

This is what I was on about KDouglas!

RSOV are very reliable and i hear keith who owns it is ver nice to deal with.:D

ah i see, must have missed that post, sorry

kinkstr: rsov are supposed to be very good, ordered one of those glock's from him on tuesday, it's currently in transit from hong kong, should have it mon/tues of next week. €80 in total incl shipping and 2 hi-cap mags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭N.O.I.P.

BTW, the Pic thread....NOIP! You have too many guns, you need something else in your life!

I have to admit I'm a little offended by that, I've only got 6 and if you think thats too many its a good job you havent seen my video game collection :D

Sweet, think ill be ordering mine later tonite, thought they were based in UK though:confused:

Post a review ASAP, wanna decide between glock and usp...

liamo333 wrote:
    :O You clicked on it?

Nah, I just placed my mouse cursor over it. Browser status bar shows the url then. I don't click links until I know exactly where they are gonna take me.

N.O.I.P. wrote:
    I have to admit I'm a little offended by that, I've only got 6 and if you think thats too many its a good job you havent seen my video game collection :D

You have a gun rack in your kitchen...admit it, you're addicted!

You should see my video game collection. At least 300 so far, and counting. Plus I have more movies than Xtra-vision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭N.O.I.P.

You have a gun rack in your kitchen...admit it, you're addicted!

Lies I tell you, lies and hearsay, my gunrack is in my sitting room :p

Very promising review of the Cyma CM .030 here, think my mind is made up on it. Including shipping it comes to just over 50 euros from RSOV.

get the extra mags, youll be glad of them, especially considering it has full auto!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭16airassualt

i was wondering would there be any laws against having an airsoft war in a secluded part of wicklow??i jus like real terrain like forests and streams nd stuff as apposed to indoor airsoft arenas:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

i was wondering would there be any laws against having an airsoft war in a secluded part of wicklow??i jus like real terrain like forests and streams nd stuff as apposed to indoor airsoft arenas:confused:

if you own the land and it happens out of sight of public places there shouldnt be. Otherwise I think theres a whole rake of laws against this

Wossack wrote:
    if you own the land and it happens out of sight of public places there shouldnt be. Otherwise I think theres a whole rake of laws against this

Would have to agree 100%. You would need to make sure that members of the public can't see you. And you might want to consider informing the owners of any nearby land just in case they are out for a stroll, see you with a rifle and call the police.

id consider informing the gardaí aswell while your at it, just so they know, that way if someone does ring them there reaction wont be "oh ****, a bunch of guys with guns" itll more along the lines of "oh yea, those lads mentioned they would be out there, they're not using real guns though, so it's ok"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

If it'd public land don't even think about it. If it's yours then give us all a call whenever it's available!

If you want to play outdoor skirmishes you should head up to Predator sometime. It's worth the trip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Harekin

The SL-9 is just over 1 metre long. If your around 6ft tall, extend one arm fully out to one side then measure from the tip of that hand to your opposite shoulder. That is a rough measure of a metre.

It should be an accurate AEG but not much use in CQB. An AUG or G36K is the biggest you would want in CQB.
    A G36K would still be too big for CQB wouldnt it? G36C what your thinking of?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

Just to note a lot of HRTA's games take place outside now.I think saturdays play was around 70% to 30% outdoors vs indoors(at least the games I played anyway) So the size issue is rather relative to where you want to play.

Anyone know roughly how long it takes for an order from RSOV to be shipped and delivered, ordered it last nite and im getting impatient already:D :D

He uses regitered Post Office mail: Supposedly 7-10 days! Could be quicker. Just hope they dont use Nightline!

Yup cheers Lethal just got the email this morning, 6-10 days from Hong Kong, not to bad i suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭Crave

What site is RSOV?
    Was thinking of gettin a star sl9 sniper as my next gun but it's ever so slightly over the limit at its lowest fps range 340fps which works out at 1.072 joules but it could be 1.202 @ 360fps, anyone ever get a gun that was just a tad over the limit, also can you get the fps reduced? SL9 really wanna be able to get it! another site said Energie max.: 106 m/s / 350 FPS / 1,10 Joule but thats max! any advice?

Crave wrote:
    What site is RSOV?
    Was thinking of gettin a star sl9 sniper as my next gun but it's ever so slightly over the limit at its lowest fps range 340fps which works out at 1.072 joules but it could be 1.202 @ 360fps, anyone ever get a gun that was just a tad over the limit, also can you get the fps reduced? SL9 really wanna be able to get it! another site said Energie max.: 106 m/s / 350 FPS / 1,10 Joule but thats max! any advice?

http://www.rsov.com/store/ (via the miracle of google search ;) )

Most websites overstate the power of their airsoft guns. But, be aware that if the gun is indeed over 1 joule, then you will need a firearms licence before buying one. Though after a few hundred shots are fired, the spring would weaken slightly and most likely drop to 1 joule or just below.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭Crave

Thanks and doh! Too tired to think of google, got up at 5am to study for a college exam!!!

My Cyma CM .030 arrived yesterday:) Pretty impressed with it so far, more powerful than i expected. It feels very solid considering its mainly plastic and is also fairly heavy once the mag and battery are in. Havent had much of a chance to see how accurate it is yet but from first impressions it was well worth it.
    dsc00175ei3.th.jpg
    dsc00176qh7.th.jpg

aye, it's a nice pistol alright for the price of it, ill be modding mine soon enough to see if i can get some more fps and higher rof out of it :D

Want one...but de usp...Arghhh