Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Impreza vs. Evo vs. M3(E36)

• 01-05-2007 8:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭

150-200 miles a week, won't be used everyday. Budget upto £9k, will be buying in the UK. I've driven a 2001 Impreza and an E36 M3 and preferred the M3 as it was more involving. As it stands the M3 is cheaper to buy/VRT but more to tax, they're all fairly heavy on petrol and I know the Evo has to be serviced every 4.5k miles.

It would either be a 2001 Impreza WRX, 97-99 M3, or an Evo 5/6 (6 if I push it). This isn't a 'which should I buy thread', but I'm curious as to who here would have what, and why?

Whay would you buy? 60 votes

01 Impreza WRX
    0% 0 votes
    97-99 M3
    13% 8 votes
    98-99 Evo
    86% 52 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

M3 all the way! The Scubby and Lancer Evo are ten a penny in Ireland, while there seems to be less M3's floating around. I like the understated E36 M3 looks. Twin vanos for the 3.2 litre has been known for more reliability issues when compared to the single vanos 3.0 litre non M3 evo that was sold up to 1996ish. The vanos can be expensive to repair at approx 1000 - 1500euro if its in a bad way.

Id be on the look out for an older 3.0 litre non evo with BMWFSH and lowish mileage. Apparently real world performance is very similar to the 3.2 litre. Road tax slightly lower also when compared to the 3.2 litre. I was in the 3.0 litre at Mondello and it seriously shifts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

Give me a M3 anyday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭NiSmO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭irishpartyboy

M3 please. Different class IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

3-series are ten a penny in Ireland, and your average housewife won't be able to tell the difference. The ~1991 styling is seriously dated now.

Either of the other two.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

JHMEG wrote:
    3-series are ten a penny in Ireland, and your average housewife won't be able to tell the difference. Tail pipes on the M3 are too close together, makes the back look cross-eyed.

Either of the other two.

why would you care what the average housewife thinks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Evo and Impreza are extremely capable cars for what they are made for, no doubt about it. But we're talking cars with small turbocharged 4-pot engines here

The M3 is in a completely different league. And then there's those white, spoilered, boy-racer special looks about those Japanese cars that I don't particularly fancy ;)

The E36 M3 engine was generally accepted to be the best production car engine in the world in its day. When McLaren couldn't hack creating its own engine for the F1, they just bolted two BMW engines together for a good result :D

BTW, I'm surprised a same year Evo would cost the same as an M3 :confused:

copacetic wrote:
    why would you care what the average housewife thinks?
    Housewives in Ireland love 3-series. Didn't you know that. Doesn't matter which one.

unkel wrote:
    Evo and Impreza are extremely capable cars for what they are made for, no doubt about it. But we're talking cars with small turbocharged 4-pot engines here

The M3 is in a completely different league. And then there's those white, spoilered, boy-racer special looks about those Japanese cars that I don't particularly fancy ;)

The E36 M3 engine was generally accepted to be the best production car engine in the world in its day. When McLaren couldn't hack creating its own engine for the F1, they just bolted two BMW engines together for a good result :D

And unkel wouldn't be biased or anything.:D

Sovereign and timeless, the white-blue flagship, according to google translate.

JHMEG wrote:
    Housewives in Ireland love 3-series. Didn't you know that. Doesn't matter which one.

but I don't get why you care? anyone who knows anything can tell the M3
    apart...

copacetic wrote:
    but I don't get why you care? anyone who knows anything can tell the M3
    apart...
    I suppose if I owned an old M3, I wouldn't be too happy about people admiring my "lovely 316", because their best girlfriend from the local mother & toddler group as a 316 and my car looks the same... At lot of people out there know nothing about cars, but like the shape and the colour. I'd prefer a car where people said "lovely car, what is it?", if you know what I mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭cpoh1

unkel wrote:

Do you really think the E36 M3 is a better car than an evo6? The only reason these cars are on this guys list is pure performance and as refined as the E36 M3 is its nowhere near the level of performance of an evo6 makinen in standard from, its not as reliable either. Never mind how much better the evo responds to performance upgrades. If I was ever going to swap the skyline, it'd be for an evo6/7 or nothing else.

The only way the E36 is better than the two jap boys is with its comfort levels with a much nicer interior and more subtle looks. But you want a drivers car dont you?!

JHMEG wrote:
    And unkel wouldn't be biased or anything.:D

Sovereign and timeless, the white-blue flagship, according to google translate.

That's not a bad translation ;)

So you're not biased then? ;)

You've been around here long enough to know I have been driving big V8 petrol engined auto box BMWs for years. I bought my first BMW on an impulse after owning Japanese cars for many years. I like many cars, I've never been a fanboy of any make, but you might (or might not) understand I have come to appreciate my BMWs and some other BMWs :)

Google "engine of the year". If you like small engines, some Japanese companies are quite good at those. If you like (slightly) bigger engines, you'll find BMW is extremely over-represented at engine awards in those categories

cpoh1 wrote:
    But you want a drivers car dont you?!

What I want? At this moment in my life I need big cars and I don't fancy MPVs. A 3-series is too small for me. An Evo and a Lancer are only a fraction bigger than my wife's previous car, a Fiesta. So no good to me :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭TommyT

///M3 vs Jap Scrap. No contest.

JHMEG wrote:
    I suppose if I owned an old M3, I wouldn't be too happy about people admiring my "lovely 316", because their best girlfriend from the local mother & toddler group as a 316 and my car looks the same... At lot of people out there know nothing about cars, but like the shape and the colour. I'd prefer a car where people said "lovely car, what is it?", if you know what I mean.

I'm the complete opposite. I'd prefer a wolf in sheeps' clothing to a sheep in wolves' clothing. If I owned an M3, I wouldn't put it passed myself to take all the M badges off and replace them with a wee 316i badge at the rear

unkel wrote:
    That's not a bad translation ;)

You've been around here long enough to know I have been driving big V8 petrol engined auto box BMWs for years. I bought my first BMW on an impulse after owning Japanese cars for many years. I like many cars, I've never been a fanboy of any make, but you might (or might not) understand I have come to appreciate my BMWs and some other BMWs :)

Google "engine of the year". If you like small engines, some Japanese companies are quite good at those. If you like (slightly) bigger engines, you'll find BMW is extremely over-represented at engine awards in those categories

Ditto unkel. You've seen my posts for long enough to know I have an appreciation for Japanese effeciency.:D

Maybe when I'm older (now on the wrong side of 35:() will I appreciate a slothful big V-something. In the meantime gimme a brutally effecient, high revving anything that generates enough noise as well as power to make the hair on the back of my neck stand. Long live Noise, Vibration and Harshness!

Remember there are only two inherently balanced engines, an inline 6 and a V12 (Theoretically there are boxer engines, but no true boxers exist). So if you're looking for smooth, don't diss a 4-pot, simply cos it's a 4-pot. A V8 has its own problems.

PS. God gave us balancer shafts for a reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Captain Trips

JHMEG: what car were you in to get over 70MPG in? Off topic - just out of interest!

My wife's 2003 Honda Civic IMA. Me driving. On a motorway I get about 74mpg.

JHMEG wrote:
    now on the wrong side of 35:(

You and me both mate :)

I know you like your efficient small white cars and I'll never convince you otherwise, but surely, can you honestly say you've never fancied a big white car like a 3.5 V6 Legend or an LS400?

unkel wrote:
    I'm the complete opposite. I'd prefer a wolf in sheeps' clothing to a sheep in wolves' clothing. If I owned an M3, I wouldn't put it passed myself to take all the M badges off and replace them with a wee 316i badge at the rear
    Ideally I'd like my next door neighbour to say "Lovely NSX", but realistically she's gonna say "Lovely car, what is it?"

That's if I had an NSX of course.:(

JHMEG wrote:

but no-one is ever going to say that if you have an evo or a impreza, they are horrible.
    like unk, give me an m3, m5, s3, s4 etc anyday over anything obvious and trashy (imo)

unkel wrote:
    You and me both mate :)

I know you like your efficient small white cars and I'll never convince you otherwise, but surely, can you honestly say you've never fancied a big white car like a 3.5 V6 Legend or an LS400?

Hey, who said anything about white? Black please.

I had the (sort of) pleasure of having a 1992 LS400 for a few days while I was waiting for the distributor for the Integra to arrive from Canada. Silky smooth engine (did you see the champagne glass pyramid advert... 140mph and the glasses all stayed standing on the bonnet?). Acceleration still up to factory spec, even after 155k miles, at 8.38 secs on the 0-60mph.

But so fundamentally flawed in so many ways, in my eyes. Body roll like you wouldn't believe, but more importantly for me right now, was that when I put the foot down, the car moved swiftly, with absolutely no drama. In terms of drama, the Integra is as dramatic as it gets. That's cool (for me, right now. And even tho the Integra is less than half the cc, it matches the LS400 on the 0-60mph).

The new 300bhp AWD Legend. I'd like to give it a whirl, but I don't think I'd be too impressed.

JHMEG wrote:
    But so fundamentally flawed in so many ways, in my eyes. Body roll like you wouldn't believe

The whole "Lexus" idea was meant for the American market. It worked well for Toyota (and Honda and Nissan later) commercially though! The Japs have learned since then that they can't sell the same cars (with the same suspension setup) in completely different markets. A case to point was the SC430 which got was badly recieved when it came out in Europe

Although having said that, I doubt BMW would ever make their cars wobbly just to suit the American market

unkel wrote:
    The whole "Lexus" idea was meant for the American market. It worked well for Toyota (and Honda and Nissan later)

Minor correction. Acura were the first "luxury brand" created in the US by a Jap auto maker. Lexus and Infiniti followed.

But, by jebus, the LS400 V8 may be smooth, but the car handles like soap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

What happened to the discussion about the Evo v Impreza v M3? :D

I stand corrected! Acura was first. But what I meant was the marketing factor. Make a car way outside the normal range, i.e. LS400 way above any Toyota and give it a new badge and seriously announce that you're now competing with BMW and Mercedes. And for it to work commercially too :eek:

bazz26 wrote:
    What happened to the discussion about the Evo v Impreza v M3? :D

Mea culpa, bazz. I'm trying to ban myself for going O/T but I can't seem to find the right button :D

unkel wrote:
    Mea culpa, bazz. I'm trying to ban myself for going O/T but I can't seem to find the right button :D

Maybe you let yourself off with a warning this time.:)

Yeah, sorry, me too. Gone waaaayyyy OT.

To the OP, the M3 looks the same as the dated 1991 316i. But I've said that already... Altho 17 voters have voted for the M3, and only one (me) has voted for anything else.

unkel, YOU'RE WRONG! Only joking (sort of, well not really)... we'll reserve the BMW vs Honda debate (isn't that what it's *really* about) for another time.:D

I'm usually a fan of Jap cars but in this case I think the M3 might be a slightly easier car to live with on a daily basis than the other two imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,107 ✭✭✭John R

It really depends on what the car is wanted for. An Evo or Impreza for regular commuting type driving would be pretty awful but as a second car for track days or weekend outings then an evo 6 would be much more satisfying than an M6.

Using one of the rally-bred cars regularly will just be a magnet for scangers trying to race you at the lights in their Glanzas and cops looking to pull over boy racers.

unkel wrote:

Well if wolf in sheeps clothing is what the OP is looking for another option would be a Galant VR4. Similar performance to the Evo but with a twin turbo V6. IMO it is a better looking car than the 3 series and much less common then a 3 as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭Gatster

Originally Posted by cpoh1
    E36 M3 is its nowhere near the level of performance of an evo6 makinen in standard from, its not as reliable either
    We're looking at 8 year old cars here, so I'm not sure a standard E36 M3 Evo and a standard '98 Evo 5 would be that different in the real world. The Makinen is a specialised beast, even above the Evo, and as such commands a a premium. Also, with the 8 year old car thing, I can't agree that an Evo would be more reliable. They have to be services every 4500 miles and I think, beacause of what they are, there is a better chance they haven't been as looked after as well.
    Originally Posted by unkel
    BTW, I'm surprised a same year Evo would cost the same as an M3
    Evo's are by far the most expensive of the three for some reason. If I'm 100% honest I would almost 100% by an Evo 7 as they are much subtler than the rest , barring the M3 (the boy race/skanger thing does bother me :rolleyes:), but are too expensive to justify with my other commitments - we'll have to see how the cash flow goes later in the year. The plan is it will get used 2 days a week for the commute and then on planned jaunts next year to the Isle of Man and probably a Eurohoon, so it'll need to be able to keep up, whatever I get :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

My preference would be the e36 M3. In relation to the styliong comments, all styling gets dated very quickly these days, especially with the Jap cars. So I don't see how a dated BMW is any different to a dated Japanese car. There is only a certain amount of additional gain in having more power (well when comparuing the three cars in question). When are you really going to be in a position to notice the difference. The only time I see the Jap cars proving their power advantage is a drag race from the lights or something, which IMO is juvenile & illegal.
    If the car was solely to be used on the track then I think I would plum for one of the Jap cars. However I think of the 3 the BMW ismore suited to real world driving. You can mix it up with the petrol heads but at the same time you can arrive up at the Four Seasons without looking too out of place.

Note to OP: If yu d go for the M3 please, please don't ruin it by putting the "Lexus" style rear lights on it, tacky!!!

Eek, good God NO. In the event of M3 purchase, I want as original as possible, even down to the stereo if possible. I can't stand Lexus lights or any of that other non-performace enhancing crap (although good alloys and a nice body kit have their merits, just not on an M3)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

M3 is the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭znv6i3h7kqf9ys

I drive an E36 M3 3.0. Puts a smile on my face every time I drive it. Nothing comes close as an all rounder. You can compare the stats on power on paper all you want but it's how the power is delivered that's important. I've driven a wrx and yeah it's fast and holds the road nice but it's too skitty. M3 is a different experience all together. If you use the throttle gently it drives like a normal car, nice and smooth. If you put the pedal to the metal it turns into a different animal. This is what the vanos does & it's very very clever. I think it's got a bit of class as well. Suppose some people think the japs look better but then again some people think wearing tracksuits when you are not partaking in a sporting event looks good too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭bubonicus

http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/M3/Sport-M-/200906191762667/advert

Whats the catch besides the 3.2 litre engine? if thats a catch. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

JHMEG wrote: »
    3-series are ten a penny in Ireland, and your average housewife won't be able to tell the difference. The ~1991 styling is seriously dated now.

Either of the other two.

i have to agree, there is so many 316 with m3 look alike. And it is really out dated looks.

scooby WRX 96ish looks more fresher then 98 evo m3.

I was thinking about same cars actually. WRX vs supra VS m3.

And to sum up everything, WRX is a winner.

1.4k eu only for tax on a car, which will be doing about 150miles per weak....that does not make it a winner.

And bmw is a BMw, and m3 parts, service, cost a fortune, trust me...

BMW is a nice car, but all german cars love good roads... And ireland is really not having atleast half decent roads. i got a merc myself, so i know how badly suspension is being treated on these roads.

But its your choice m8. I hope you will be happy with your new toy!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Gatster wrote: »
    We're looking at 8 year old cars here, so I'm not sure a standard E36 M3 Evo and a standard '98 Evo 5 would be that different in the real world. The Makinen is a specialised beast, even above the Evo, and as such commands a a premium. Also, with the 8 year old car thing, I can't agree that an Evo would be more reliable. They have to be services every 4500 miles and I think, beacause of what they are, there is a better chance they haven't been as looked after as well.

Evo's are by far the most expensive of the three for some reason. If I'm 100% honest I would almost 100% by an Evo 7 as they are much subtler than the rest , barring the M3 (the boy race/skanger thing does bother me :rolleyes:), but are too expensive to justify with my other commitments - we'll have to see how the cash flow goes later in the year. The plan is it will get used 2 days a week for the commute and then on planned jaunts next year to the Isle of Man and probably a Eurohoon, so it'll need to be able to keep up, whatever I get :D

standard evo 5 against a standaer M3 evo is pretty similar. off the line the evo will have it with it 4WD grip but the M3 will power through at the 100mph mark due to its 3.2 engine.

the TME (Makinen Edition) commands a more money due to its extra graophics and different interier but essentialy is the same car. the turbo is a slightly smaller but is more responsive than the standard evo but imo you wount notice it in everyday life.

edit - forgot to say, the evo wins it for me too.
    and dont kid yourself into thinking that just the evo needs to be serviced every 4.5k......the M3 and the WRX will require oil changes every 5k approx to keep them in tip top shape, and thats in between regular services.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

What is it with all the zombie threads today?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

WRX seriously what is an M3 doing in this poll. Feckin posers car..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

JHMEG wrote: »

Lol, on an off topic note. I was watching a women trying to drive out of an icey estate this morning with her 3 series coupe. Rear wheel drive, the wheels just span, she stopped, they span, she stopped, and so on. Made for entertainment during the traffic:D

And excluding that fact, M3 all the way OP...

bubonicus wrote: »
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/M3/Sport-M-/200906191762667/advert

Whats the catch besides the 3.2 litre engine? if thats a catch. :P

It being the Mother of all Scams is the catch lol.

Lol, on an off topic note. I was watching a women trying to drive out of an icey estate this morning with her 3 series coupe. Rear wheel drive, the wheels just span, she stopped, they span, she stopped, and so on. Made for entertainment during the traffic:D

I know how she feels, had an 'incident' involving a hill, wide low profiles, ice and my 330ci a week ago yesterday...not sure why this thread was resurrected, but I ended up with a Prodrive Impreza which I ran as my daily for 9 months and loved - saw a few rough E36 M3's in the Uk, drove a mint saloon but didn't buy it and it sold the next week. Gave up after that.

Only just got over the Impreza before Xmas (8 months later), then we got this weather and I wish I had it again!

Lol, didn't cop on that it was so old lol:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭ncc98071

I have a subaru for sale on adverts if you interested!!!!!

ncc98071 wrote: »
    I have a subaru for sale on adverts if you interested!!!!!
    :D, 4wd...but I'm saving up for an RS6 Avant :eek:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

OMG two year old thread and i only done the poll today!

sorry :o