Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Laptop scam

• 28-04-2007 11:58am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭

There were some threads here a year or so ago about these guys selling laptops otside shopping centres then switching the case for another case with argos catalouges in it. At least one boardster has been caught by it.

Anyway, see page 11 of the independant. There is a photo of the two lads responsible being arrested! Apperantly they have done it all over the place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

They should print the pictures of the retards who fell for it also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Little sympathy for the fools who fall for these.
    They are just been greedy.

I'd bet that even if the laptop was totally genuine, worked perfectly but it was clearly stolen, they'd have no hesitation in buying it.

As I said, it's greed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

morons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

ye i heard somewhere before (prob a film) that you cant scam an honest person and definetely believe there is some truth in that................most scams offer a deal too good to be true or ways to make a quick but maybe not legal buck.

if its too good to be true it usually is

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

I'm not one to trade with complete strangers who approach me on the street with merchandise - no matter what they're offering... but to not actually look at the product you're about to buy from said complete stranger on the street, well then you deserve everything you get.

You know the way in the US, hackers can sometimes be given lighter sentences if they work with the FBI to catch other hackers? How about the Gardaí offer these guys a lighter sentence if they continue to do the scam and tell the authorities what idiots fell for it, so the Gardaí can the "deal with" them? They could do the country a great service in cleaning up the gene pool a little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭axer

I think these guys should be let go. These guys were just working under the natures law of natural selection.

Fools that buy from scams like these and get involved in pyramid scams deserve to loose everything they own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

micmclo wrote:

As I said, it's greed.
    Not just greed, but peoples facination with getting a bargin.
    In a way, a huge part of them, when buying it, can't wait to tell their friends what they just got for a knock down price, and then they can be the envy of everyone... even if they're flush enough to buy the real item fully legit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

whiskeyman wrote:
    Not just greed, but peoples facination with getting a bargin.
    In a way, a huge part of them, when buying it, can't wait to tell their friends what they just got for a knock down price, and then they can be the envy of everyone... even if they're flush enough to buy the real item fully legit!

You're right, that's not greed. That's stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭jd83

I have a polish friend and these two guy showed him this real high spec laptop let him try it out and everything. So he went home got money and met them. Brought the labtop home opened the case 4 x 1 litre of milk:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,064 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

flogen wrote:
    You know the way in the US, hackers can sometimes be given lighter sentences if they work with the FBI to catch other hackers? How about the Gardaí offer these guys a lighter sentence if they continue to do the scam and tell the authorities what idiots fell for it, so the Gardaí can the "deal with" them? They could do the country a great service in cleaning up the gene pool a little.

Lol, that would never work. they wouldn't get a single conviction on people who bought the goods, its called entrapment, would never stand up anywhere.

As for the scam, if you are stupid enough to fall for it your an idiot. Its done alot, a bag of sugar is a common swap for camcorder sized things.

But its not hard to scam the scammer, once you are aware of the scam. If they offer you the laptop, have a look at it, then agree to it while you have the laptop on you, give them cash and say you dont need the case (as this is when they make the switch)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

well done to the guys who done the scam as moron's got scammed.
    Why would you bother buying items that cheap, what you pay is what get :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,174 ✭✭✭✭phog

No sympathy for the clowns that get caught with this scam. Where do they think the laptop has come from if it's being sold in a car park?

If you want to buy a laptop go to a computer shop/website, if you want to buy a tv you go to an electrical shop, if you want to buy something that was robbed from an innocent person then you try buy someting cheap from the back of a car and hopefully you'll be scammed and the more this happens the better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭Nephew

According to the independent they were charging 700 for the laptops, sure you can buy a brand new laptop in pcworld for that. I've no sympathy for the fools who fell for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭axer

Nephew wrote:
    According to the independent they were charging 700 for the laptops, sure you can buy a brand new laptop in pcworld for that.
    Aye, but these were top of the range laptops! :D

I'd rather buy a crappy laptop from pcworld for e700 than a sony vaio from some guy in a carpark with a skanger tache, who is unable to return the laptop to the shop for a refund because there is a no celtic jersey and moustache policy in the shop he bought it from.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,649 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

What's the old expression? Let the buyer beware? Glad they got them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Jonesy3110

U guys keep going on about how these guys are selling stolen goods. At what point are they doing that? I believe Argos catalogues are free :P

As for the people who go for this scam - They are not criminals like most of you seem to believe, they're just dumb. I cant believe some of you are saying that the people buying the goods are worse than the scammers.

For shame :P

Put the scammers in jail, let the people getting scammed have to live with their mistakes. Hopefully natural selection will sort them out :P

Oh and Flogen, Ratboy says Hi :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

"A fool and his money are easily parted" Comes to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

I have little sympathy for the greedy fools,etc.
    flogen wrote:

<3 (Boards.ie: Handing over AH'ers details to the Ministers of Chlorine since 2000)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

rb_ie wrote:
    They should print the pictures of the retards who fell for it also.

werd, this **** only happens because some people are way to stupid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭veXual

Ha ha a guy I work with fell for it, he was very-very drunk at the time!

1st price they offered was "€500 for a €1200 laptop boss".

Eventually they offered it for €150 and he asked them to get out of the van and hand it to him whilst he handed them the money.

Lads who sold it to him tore off.

Opened the bag to 4 Argos catalog's.

Never laughed so hard in me life.. ahhh good times. :D

I can't understand how people actually get duped with the empty box after paying for it. If it were me I'd only part with my cash after I had the laptop in my hand, and verified that it was windows vista and not xp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

A guy I know once told me how he was approached outside Liffey Valley, I think it was, a couple of years ago by two lads obviously trying to pull this kind of scam. He feigned interest and then told them he was just going to go to a cashpoint to get the money to buy it off them. They were delighted and obviously thought they were quids in, so to speak.

A few minutes later they see him walking past them into the shopping centre and shout at him, "Here mister, where ya going? I thought you wanted to buy this laptop off us!"

He shouts back, "Nah, I changed my mind. I've enough cartons of milk at home, thanks!"

With that, the boys knew they were rumbled and hopped into their car and drove off as quick as they could! :D