Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reverse Polarity??

Options
  • 26-04-2007 9:53am
    Registered Users Posts: 460 ✭✭

Hi All

Been reading on an English forum about reverse polarity being an issue with French Campsites........some on the board are saying it is an issue and some are saying it is not an issue

Whats the general consensus??

Also, where do you get polarity testers??

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

errr ...I'm no electrician, but there is no Plus and Minus on 230V

Or do you mean that they put current on what should be the earth wire?

I'd say that as long as you use the international CE connectors (the big blue ones with the three pins) you should be safe as they're all wired to the same standard and they are common on most campsites.

• Registered Users Posts: 460 ✭✭Malta1

Seemingly the problem seems to be that in some cases, the live and neutral at the plug are reversed and they get around it by having 2 fuses, one on the live (as we would) and one on the neutral.
    Im not an electrician either but if the live and neutral are mixed and there is a problem with your appliance, your fuse on the live will blow but there is still current flowing to the appliance as the current is flowing in on the neutral wire