Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone else hate "The View"

• 25-04-2007 12:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭

Is four days a particularly long time to be wearing the same jeans?

Spars in Dumfrieshire are losing out on valuable toilet cleaners as a result of this lot's 'fame'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭goodfela

****ing pile of ****e this band - as Lily Allen said, they're like a mix between the Arctic Monkeys and the Proclaimers. This band will not be heard from after this year...i hope...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭nyarlothothep

although I havent heard much of them they arent that bad from what I did hear but it wouldnt really my kind of scene anyway musically. Find that comment very ironic coming from Lilly Allen. I guess since she doesnt even qualify as an artist she can get away with dissing other artists music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Bodhidharma

I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

is it the view you hate or the annoying amount of times you have to listen to the annoying song same jeans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭flynnduism

Their song Same Jeans is almost identical to Cornershop's 'Brimful of Asha' :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

I keep thinking of the RTE show when I see this thread. That is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Jimi-Spandex

The word 'hate' is a bit harsh. I don't care enough to hate them. They're a bit of a nothing band really.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

John wrote:
    I keep thinking of the RTE show when I see this thread. That is all.

Which I do hate. Bunch of pretentious gits.

I always watch it as I like to shout at the guests and how they are talking rubbish. I like John Kelly though. His name is very similar to mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭cashback

Hmmm I also wandered into this thread thinking it was about the RTE show. Which I do watch purely to see if any of the reviewers will ever write off the modern art exhibitions as ****. Which has happened, and heated arguments ensued.
    As for the band, I only know that 'same jeans' song and I do not like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

The lead singer has a very punchable face. That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

MikeHoncho wrote:
    The lead singer has a very punchable face. That is all.

Lmao :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭artnotort

there are worse bands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭yevveh

I rather dislike them also. Wearing jeans for 4 days is not very special. Occasionally I do go to the "disco" with them on too. Don't like their stuff at all, and these cries for band of the year 2007 are hilariously unwarranted. It's not that they're untalented, just I don't think their songs are anything that special.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Oh god yes. Fúcking atrocious band.

That same jeans song could have been written by a 6 year old. How does that ****e get popular? I've heard their songs about 349834587 times before. Unorignial repetitive shíte.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Yep, despise them. Pack of little c*nts.

Saw them being interviewed by Lauren Laverne on The Culture Show (far better than its Irish counterpart The View) on BBC2. They were trying to be as obnoxious and unco-operative as possible in an "I'm a cool rocker - I don't need to play by no rules" kind of way. Poor Lauren had to drag the words from them. She was clearly very uncomfortable. They deliberately barely said a word and whatever word they did say they just muttered. I'm sure when their sales start to drop and they need the publicity, they'll miraculously become more audible in interviews.

Little pricks.

Oh yeah, and someone on The View (the TV programme) last week said that a particular play worked in a "Brechtian way", knowing full well that most people wouldn't have a clue what she was on about. Then she proceeded to mention the French philosopher Baudrillard, whose name she mispronounced. The pretentiousness of that show pisses me off.

I'm in a bad mood...

OT: Baudrillard I can understand people not knowing but Brecht was one of the most famous playrights of the 20th century, you'd want to be living under a rock not to get where she was going with that comment.

Back on topic: I still haven't heard/seen this band but judging by their interview tactics I can't imagine them having much to say with their music if an interview on BBC2 doesn't motivate them into opening their mouths.

had a further listen to them there, I think theyre as good as the artic monkeys, the gossip and all those bands, though its still not music I would like. Feel sorry for them with everyone picking on them, although it works both ways a band thats vilified can have a lot of unlocked potential as opposed to the media darlings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 scooochie4

<SNIP>

Now, i'm not a fan of them and i dont really like that arctic-monkey-esque music, but i have to say they do have one or two good songs.

However i really didnt like their following. A lot of guys wearing girls jeans and that sort of crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

Music for vegans.

John wrote:
    OT: Baudrillard I can understand people not knowing but Brecht was one of the most famous playrights of the 20th century, you'd want to be living under a rock not to get where she was going with that comment.

OT: John, I was watching that edition of The View with a group of people and those who don't know much about theatre (all very intelligent, educated people but not theatre buffs) didn't have a clue what she was talking about when she made the Brechtian comment. The fact that she mispronounced Baudrillard is what I noticed - made me suspicious that she didn't really know what she was talking about but just mentioned him to sound impressive, which is something I'd say a lot of the contributors on The View are guilty of. Sorry, but I really wanted to clarify. Please don't get annoyed with me for being off-topic. No mention shall be made again. :)

Don't worry about it Dudess, it was just an observation on my behalf :)

What I am worried about is other people mentioning MCD events. Please, please, please read the stickies!

What MCD events? Come to think of it, what's MCD...?

Dudess wrote:
    OT: John, I was watching that edition of The View with a group of people and those who don't know much about theatre (all very intelligent, educated people but not theatre buffs) didn't have a clue what she was talking about when she made the Brechtian comment. The fact that she mispronounced Baudrillard is what I noticed - made me suspicious that she didn't really know what she was talking about but just mentioned him to sound impressive, which is something I'd say a lot of the contributors on The View are guilty of. Sorry, but I really wanted to clarify. Please don't get annoyed with me for being off-topic. No mention shall be made again. :)

tbh I think she missed the significance of the bargesian duplicity of the imagination in relation to her observations on Baudrillard and Brechtian spatial thermodynamics.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

tbh I think she missed the significance of the bargesian duplicity of the imagination in relation to her observations on Baudrillard and Brechtian spatial thermodynamics.

post of the week?

Of the year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 robotfridge

They're really boring, as are the arctic monkeys. After listening to one or two of their songs you feel all empty and annoyed.
    Put on some radiohead or some mars volta for some real content, you can't go wrong with either of those bands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

Yes they are bad, but the will disappear soon.

This years Hard-Fi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Stompbox

They're really boring, as are the arctic monkeys. After listening to one or two of their songs you feel all empty and annoyed.
    Put on some radiohead or some mars volta for some real content, you can't go wrong with either of those bands

That's a totally unjutsifiable comment. How can you say the Arctic Monkeys are boring? I personally find the Arctic Monkeys to be the most exciting band of the last decade, Turner could extract poetry from the opening of a tin of beans. I also find Radiohead are extremely overrated,mainly by people who are simply looking for a clique. Having said that, I do find Radiohead to be a fantastic band but I can't comprehend how you could view any music as boring.

Sweet wrote:
    That's a totally unjutsifiable comment. How can you say the Arctic Monkeys are boring? I personally find the Arctic Monkeys to be the most exciting band of the last decade, Turner could extract poetry from the opening of a tin of beans. I also find Radiohead are extremely overrated,mainly by people who are simply looking for a clique. Having said that, I do find Radiohead to be a fantastic band but I can't comprehend how you could view any music as boring.

its his opinion and he backed it up, Im totally in agreement with it. What does it matter if you dont agree with him on the artic monkeys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,113 ✭✭✭mada999

they have a couple of good songs and melodies...just because a song is easily played does not make it a cráp song...most of the "best" songs are usually wrote in a couple of minutes with easy chords...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

I loved their first couple of singles but then I bought the album....... horrific. Worst album I've bought in years.

Im just after reading this entire thread..man i need to find something better to do with my time..anyway, back on topic..now im not their biggest fan but to be fair the arctic monkeys at least were fresh at the time..its all these fcuking bands whose entire trip is "were like the arctic monkeys" that just annoy the living sh1t outa me..that crowd the view, yer man the spare artic monkey jaime t...i mean what in the fcuk is his story...have ye seen his new video..undoubtedly inspired by when the sun goes down..another sorta b list celebrity london actor..its just ahhrgghh..although to be fair..its probably down to the industry machinations..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Ruskie4Rent

B-list London actor? Surely you're not talking about Bob Hoskins.
    Oh well, The View aren't bad but i can see why people don't like them. I don't like the way people throw the Arctic Monkeys into the mix though and say "i hate those bands" ect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 gasolinehorsey

i really really hate the view

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭klaus flouride

I think they're a modern-day version of 'The monkees'. As in they're 4 young lads playing the right guitars, wearing the right clothes and singing the right kind of catchy tunes - right as in what a record company would consider right. Its plastic pop dressed up as alternative music in the right kind of way. But they're still s**te.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭klaus flouride

With regards to the Rte programme; any programme of that sort is going to be annoying- Artists talking about art, its bound to be annoying- they did have a good jazz band on a few weeks ago though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

musician wrote:
    Which I do hate. Bunch of pretentious gits.

especially Belinda McKeon.