Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SU shop sign

• 21-04-2007 4:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

The yellow sign for the SU shop is on the rugby pitch, should anyone be looking for it or know anyone who is looking for it. Its pretty banjaxed.

How and why, I do not know.

Yeah, I saw some people with it last night when I was passing by at around 10.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭King.Penguin

college was bananas last night. every falt seemed to have a party going on. a little yob was starting a fight with the security guards outside ront arch at around 10 too.

friday evenings, sunny weather, lots of drink = scary irish people

Did every person in the cricket pitch suddenly start singing something last night?

Was in the shower and thought I head it, was pretty cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

heh, learnt a random fact last night. Never realised anyone could really see into my apartment until:

girlfriend and myself went back to the flat to eat the food we'd bought, and happened to have a quick kiss in the middle of the living room. what we didn't realise was that there was a huge amount of people out in new square at that point, who could see perfectly into the room. cue cheering.

quite surreal to be honest - remind me to close my curtains from now on...

• ****, I NEVER close my curtains. Just assumed nobody could see in :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Who would ever have thought glass was translucent....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

enda1 wrote:
    Who would ever have thought glass was translucent....
    Transparent you mean smart arse?
    ****, I NEVER close my curtains. Just assumed nobody could see in
    your higher up no? probally can't see into yours...

Yeah, I started closing my bedroom curtains after I was wandering around my bedroom after a shower, looked out, and locked eyes with some random lab worker woman - slightly embarassing to say the least. got a hell of an eyeful.

&#231 wrote: »
    Yeah, I started closing my bedroom curtains after I was wandering around my bedroom after a shower, looked out, and locked eyes with some random lab worker woman - slightly embarassing to say the least. got a hell of an eyeful.

Was that you in the cricket pitch yesterday then ;)

Nah, i'm a new square streaker kinda guy ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

why does the pav close so early?

bit lame. does it always close that early or just on busy days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

To give the riot police time to break up the scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Transparent you mean smart arse?

Meh, the light is distorted slightly so i'll stick to translucent. May be why they thought it was a sight worth beholding too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

enda1 wrote:
    Meh, the light is distorted slightly so i'll stick to translucent.
    Fair enough, doesn't make you correct though.

They've started doing it on evenings where there's an incident, or ones where the crowd is just mental sized. I find it hilarious when they think its a good idea to even TRY and move 1000 or so people into the pav all at once. idiots.

&#231 wrote: »
    They've started doing it on evenings where there's an incident, or ones where the crowd is just mental sized. I find it hilarious when they think its a good idea to even TRY and move 1000 or so people into the pav all at once. idiots.

It's still easier doing it at 9pm instead of trying to rush people out at 11pm!

True, but in all fairness if you have somewhere like the pav that will attract the crowds it does, they really should at some point get someone in who has a clue about event management and make it that tiny bit safer :P

the pav should be restricted to serving tea and sandwiches during cricket matches.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Has the place just attracting the wrong crowds? I havent been in the pav in 2 years and was there on Friday.

The fun police said that they have been closing down the place earlier and earlier due to crowd trouble and things just getting out of hand.

It was different in my day!

Over the past few weeks it seems to have been a lot busier then in previous years.

Probably because there's no Buttery anymore, all of the on campus drinking is confined to the Pav.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭xeduCat

kearnsr is right. There seems to be an idea that huge "Pav Fridays" and groups of drinkers stretching half way to the cricket crease is traditional - but that's not how I recall it, or how others who were here a few years before me (I started in 2000) remember it. Simple example being the much-maligned rope - never needed in the past cause the simple thing was that there was enough group cop-on to self-police it.

Truth be told, I think the biggest factor is the smoking ban; in the same way that beer gardens / patios are packed, an area for outdoor drinking on a wide scale (and a blind eye to cans brought in from outside) is obviously going to be packed, especially in good weather. And of course, no Buttery. (edit: forgot that, thanks John!)

Personally, as a resident (and I never thought I'd see myself writing this) I'd probably welcome some restriction on numbers, probably through trying to keep it for students. The bar may be able to serve 'guests' of 'members' under club licensing laws, but the outdoor areas are within the jurisdiction of the college not the Pav, and it's getting a bit ridiculous. Pissing in the bushes or coming in hammered and yelling in the library (whether by Trinity students or otherwise), and a good half hour of the campus sounding and feeling like Temple Bar - not to mention the clean up - is not some Pav tradition. (Yes I know all these things have probably been happening for years, my point is that the scale and frequency of it is a bit annoying)

The only times the Pav was remotely like it is currently were an odd day or two towards the end of exams. I walked through college a couple of weeks ago and the Pav was being closed around half eight and there were hundreds of students all the way down the side of the cricket pitch and a streaker ran across the cricket pitch. I thought the whole thing fascinatingly strange, I've never seen a crowd like it in TCD outside of a certain MCD run event on campus. It does seem to be completely beyond the capabilities of college security to control properly.

I'd say the place wouldn't be such a kip if they didn't move everyone on in such a rush.

the simple fact is that college havent copped to the fact that the pav will and is attracting large crowds, and larger steps need to be taken to actually figure things out. a couple of extra security and a rope wont make a difference....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭gilroyb

All the College need to do is find a way to get people paying for booze from the Pav itself. Never mind covering the Acting course deficit, with the crowds they seem to be getting recently they can use it to cover the entire college funding deficit.

to be honest, the pav stocks don't seem to be enough to cover the crowd.

Profits from the pav go to ducac.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭Dave3x

You know, I reckon the suggestion that the Pav would cover college deficits probably wasn't a serious suggestion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

Ibid and I have been noticing and noting a significant increase in the numbers people, who clearly have nothing to do with Trinity, asking us where the Pav is. It always seems to be filled with people from DIT, for some reason. Perhaps, they don't have a bar on campus. I agree with those, who are saying that there are too many people being served at the Pav. Even when I first came here in 2004, there was a smaller, more manageable number of people.

I would personally be reluctant to go down the route of "the Pav is only for trinity students" because it further compounds an elitist or secular reputation for trinity. Secondly, a signficant chunk of people these days aren't even going inside the actual building so unless security guards are going to go around pestering people on the grass/benches for ID cards it's going to be difficult to police.

I know the Pav is officially a members only bar but unofficially it's been fairly open to people that behave themselves (generally it's tipsy 17 year olds that get chucked out).

another interesting point is when a non-student get's a bit rowdy etc. the college security can't really do much. Threats of junior dean and all that don't really mean much to them so they lose a lot of their leverage. As I said earlier in the thread I saw a scuffle between a security guard and a little yob. The litte yob was playing rugby in the pav earlier and I knew he wasn't in trinity.

Anyway, it's only a couple of weeks of mayhem and a few more early closures will probably encourage the "outsider" to dirnk elsewhere.

Or else encourage people to start drinking earlier.

The fact that is the only place on campus to drink is a bit of a joke, no wonder its always packed, inside and out.

Let's not forget there's 100 pubs within 2 mins walking distance from campus

Yes but you know perfectly well that most people want to drink on campus because:
    a) it's close by and there's no real worry of being refused entry or trying to find a seat because you can sit anywhere on the cricket pitch that isn't roped off
    b) it's cheaper as you can just buy your cans in Centra
    c) there are streakers

What college need to do is work out how to cordon off an area for the pav properly and work out what the crowd capacity could then be and have it under control. It would be far easier to police and would be far safer than watching the crowd bulge and bulge and then pulling the plug when it gets to the point they can't handle.

sorry, pulling the plug well AFTER they can't handle it.

oh and if anyones interest, apparently thats the Old Shop sign.

I would personally be reluctant to go down the route of "the Pav is only for trinity students" because it further compounds an elitist or secular reputation for trinity.

I really don't see the problem with it. It's in Trinity, what's wrong with saying it's for Trinity students only?
    Secondly, a signficant chunk of people these days aren't even going inside the actual building so unless security guards are going to go around pestering people on the grass/benches for ID cards it's going to be difficult to police.

I remember at least two years ago (and beyond) having someone come up to me and ask me for ID while sitting on the grass, so it has been done before. Similarly, I've been asked to leave when I attempt to guess what cans they are serving (via a trip to Centra), and guessed incorrectly :)

Never been asked for ID in the Pav, only once in the Buttery (RIP) way back in first year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

I would personally be reluctant to go down the route of "the Pav is only for trinity students" because it further compounds an elitist or secular reputation for trinity.

Not really IMO. It's a members bar for use of members, all the bars in sports clubs (GAA,sailing,soccer etc.) at home are members only in a similar situation. There should be some facility to sign in guests, but this should be controlled and then there would be someone responsible if a non-TCD person caused hassle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭wesclark

Is it true that a 4th year med student climbed some sort of poll (or is that 'pole', too much politics) outside the pav, it broke causing a bystanding girl serious injury and the student was expelled?

(It did happen, just not sure if he was expelled)

hope not. the guy is an idiot but getting kicked out would be rather harsh. now if he was first year engineering i'd chuck him out no worries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

hope not. the guy is an idiot but getting kicked out would be rather harsh. now if he was first year engineering i'd chuck him out no worries.
    The tw@t should have criminal charges brought against him.

From what I heard (and this is based on a conversation my aunt overheard on the train down to Limerick (maybe Galway, I can't remember) between the guy's friends) he was at least heading towards an expulsion.

I was ID'd in the Buttery once. It was really annoying because I didn't have it on me and I was just out of an exam where they had given me grief about not having it (which was the reason I wanted a drink in the first place).

Oh, and the sign is still there.

In fairness it was an accident and wasn't malicious. He climbed up a flagpole for the craic and it broke. I'm sure he wasn't trying to break it or expecting it to break (it's been done before).

Now the guy that pushed the portaloo over should be shot.

b.ie polar wrote:
    The tw@t should have criminal charges brought against him.

Somehow I doubt that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

In fairness it was an accident and wasn't malicious. He climbed up a flagpole for the craic and it broke. I'm sure he wasn't trying to break it or expecting it to break (it's been done before).
    In fairness, he was doing something completely stupid that put the safety of all those around him at risk.

He climbed the wrong goddamn flag pole. I thought everyone knew there was one safe to climb flagpole, and one not so safe...fool.