Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Open on Chalenge TV tonight @ 11

• 20-04-2007 7:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭

Satellite 124 Brava - stay watching after the poker and ul probably stumble across some smutty stuff :D

We might get to see Lloyds laydown of AA but most importantly we will get to see the uber hot blonde bird (omfg) - she would give a dog a bone!! I reckon she had to jump into her dresses from a height....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,502 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

negative. (n)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,220 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

ill record it on Sky+
    and if somebody knows of a way to get it on file then ill put it up.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

\o/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭HalfBaked

Mellor wrote:
    ill record it on Sky+
    and if somebody knows of a way to get it on file then ill put it up.

Nice one Mellor. If it's not too cheeky of me to ask can you record all of them? It's on for the next 4 nights I think.

Can you programme Sky+ to do that?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I wish to be as cheeky as HalfBaked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭califano

yes he just needs to select 'series link' and it will record the whole series automatically.

no problem lads, its set to recod them all now
    now just have to figure out how to get them to laptop or disk
    made a thread in the satalite forum asking how to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭HalfBaked

Mellor wrote:

Excellent work by you! Thanks.

There are probably even people on this board who know how to do it? I'm sure we can figure something out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

anyone watch was it very different to the rte shows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭FungiWalsh

nicnicnic wrote:
    anyone watch was it very different to the rte shows

I've just jumped half way through the +1 broadcast, and it seems very similar, apart from the presenter. Even has Sideshow and Jesse May commentating, same as on the first RTE episode. There does seem to be a lot more poker being shown, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,502 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭FungiWalsh

Did they show any of the first two hours of play? :)

I've just checked on the Sky+ box, and unfortunately, it seems your TV table session doesn't show up. Andy Black is at the TV table on the first hand they show; the one where Eddie Scharf has third pair against Andy's nut flush, causing Jesse May to wonder "can he get away from this?" :D

I heard they didnt have film in the camera for the first level or two.
    So won't get to see this AA hand at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,405 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Did they show any of the first two hours of play? :)
    the camera werent running then...the powers that be told me that at the time and have told you since...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭semibluff

Lloyd, as i told ya at the open - Brindley sat down at his table all smug laughing how one guy told him two of his mates were on "the feature table". He continued to laugh and then told the table that there is no film in the cameras, it was a dry run to get angles and sound ready.
    (they were obviously waiting for the randomness of a few more celebrities to arrive on the table - lucky them!)

Yet you stil had to take your ear phones off!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Mellor wrote:
    What you need to do is record the files from the Sky+ box onto a DVD using a DVD Recorder. SKy+ allows you to do this using the copy function.

Once you have them on DVD, you need a program called AutoGK which will turn your DVD into movie files which can then be uploaded.

If you need any help then pop on over to the Audio and Video Editing forum and you'll find some help there (I might even have the time to offer you step by step advice :))

Lloyd - you should look for your money back

What you need to do is record the files from the Sky+ box onto a DVD using a DVD Recorder. SKy+ allows you to do this using the copy function.

Once you have them on DVD, you need a program called AutoGK which will turn your DVD into movie files which can then be uploaded.

If you need any help then pop on over to the Audio and Video Editing forum and you'll find some help there (I might even have the time to offer you step by step advice :))
    I was hoping that I could hook it up to my laptop to view, but I dont bot sure if I have video in
    DVD recorder was my back up plan, ill have to get a lend of one though. also didn't know what program I needed to upload, thanks for that.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

but most importantly we will get to see the uber hot blonde bird (omfg) - she would give a dog a bone!! I reckon she had to jump into her dresses from a height....

Any Pics of this chic...?She sounds like my kind of girl.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I was in the commentary box.... for guys without film, the director was sweating it a fair bit
    (and narking at Jesse and I goofing off...
    Jesse: "That button marks where the action starts from, right Tom?"
    Me: "Jesus Jesse how long have you been playing poker and you dont know that?")

The fact was that the first table was drawn at random and didnt have many big names on it. They had what, 20-something hours of play to get a few hours of footage which has to be shared with the into and the inane interviews and teaching the public holdem etc.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭jimmy456

its up on the net already but i dont want to infringe any rules by posting the exact link especially on my first post :) . ye all no where to find it anyway. the only problem is that the picture quality is abysmal. but im sure it will still be watched. by the way the first hand is shocking in that andy black got paid off so easily. worth a watch anyway. the commentary makes up for the lacking in pic quality:)

jimmy can you send me a link?

noel.hayes2 [at] gmail.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

jimmy can you send me a link?

noel.hayes2 [at] gmail.com

Gawd, are you really that desperate Noel!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭jimmy456

hey neol, for some reason it wont let me e-mail u but the video is on you tube just search it and you will be grand. im sure flushdraw will watch it aswell:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭AS_PokerKing

the dealer at the feature table is muck, i doubt she was one for honours maths in the leaving cert...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

the dealer at the feature table is muck, i doubt she was one for honours maths in the leaving cert...

In fairness maybe the occasion got to her,there is a lot of pressure dealing any table never mind a feature one it could have been her first time in the limelight.

Dee is sound and generally she knows what she's doing but the TV lights and stuff probably got to her.

Flushdraw wrote:
    Id love to have my way with Dee

FYP

Go easy will ya

She is one of the best dealers you find around the big events - the event probably did get to her, we all get nervous, not just the players.
    Between having a mike in her ear telling them when to deal the next card, combined with an oversized table (which is far from ideal to deal on) the cameras and then the "easy job of dealing" (as you seem to think) i think we should cut her a bit of slack einstein.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭insafehands

Yeah, does she deal in any Dublin clubs??

Can't see it on tube.

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=irish+poker+open

That has a few clips, including the folding kings preflop by antesup
    and Nicky's exit to DeWolfe

I have two episodes from challange recorded, so ill try sort them out soon.

Yeah, those were the search words I used. :)

Thanks though, just wondering were the challenge ones around.
    thanks for recording 'em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭boba_fett3099

semibluff wrote:
    Go easy will ya

She is one of the best dealers you find around the big events - the event probably did get to her, we all get nervous, not just the players.
    Between having a mike in her ear telling them when to deal the next card, combined with an oversized table (which is far from ideal to deal on) the cameras and then the "easy job of dealing" (as you seem to think) i think we should cut her a bit of slack einstein.

Definately one of the best dealers around! And far far better than the majority of the Feature table dealers they had at the IO.

Yeah, does she deal in any Dublin clubs??

She deals at GJP events.
    Originally Posted by Flushdraw
    Id love to have my way with Dee

FYP

100% correct..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭fiddlesticks

Definately one of the best dealers around! And far far better than the majority of the Feature table dealers they had at the IO.

Yeah way better.......lookin :eek:

She used to deal in the Emporium until she finished it to concentrate on her masters - in Mathematical Science!

(ok im not sure whats she's studying, but lol would certainly shut that guy up!)

semibluff wrote:
    Go easy will ya

hang on there... when did i say "easy job of dealing" ... I simply gave my opinion on wat i saw on the tele...end of, no harm meant...

ok fair enough

but your comment did not only comment on her dealing, but also a personal swipe on the intelligence of one of the most capable and courteous dealers around. (who is also a good friend of mine). Perhaps it was mis-typed or mis-read , either way lets leave it at that.

no offence to anyone intended but at least three times I had to stop flops being dealt as the counts were wrong. That baldy wnaker of a tournament directer ( he had giving me a warning on the sunday night one of two i got) told the final table that they had to speed up the time decisions took. I pointed out that it was the chip counting that was taking the time and not the players, both he and the dealer had counted the chips in the pots i pointed out being out.

I suggested to him that he got the english girl who chipped up during the tournament to be on hand for allins as she was a machine. the process speeded up considerably when this was done

semibluff wrote:
    ok fair enough

but your comment did not only comment on her dealing, but also a personal swipe on the intelligence of one of the most capable and courteous dealers around. (who is also a good friend of mine). Perhaps it was mis-typed or mis-read , either way lets leave it at that.

it wasn't a personal swipe but more of a half joking comment, anyway apologies :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Dee is a fine dealer and 1 of the best around.

That presenter is actually really annoying, she can't read an autocue to save her life and is just wooden, if she just shut up and stood there she would be so much better :)

cooker3 wrote:
    Dee is a fine dealer and 1 of the best around.

That presenter is actually really annoying, she can't read an autocue to save her life and is just wooden, if she just shut up and stood there she would be so much better :)
    Maybe just twirled around a bit, picked up chips frpm the floor,
    but in fairness she wasnt hired because of her poker knowledge

I know someone who hit on her successfully for a date, didn't get all the details but they went for drinks which is a good starting stack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

nicnicnic wrote:
    I know someone who hit on her successfully for a date, didn't get all the details but they went for drinks which is a good starting stack

nice hand, wp