Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How you know its summer?

• 17-04-2007 11:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭

Not actuall summer, as in the first of June or the summer solstice, but like when you first start to feel like its summer. For me it has to be when the little red spiderish fellas, blood suckers I think they're called, start to apear for thier annual campaign to take over the world. Either that or whn you first get that smell of warm tar out on the street.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

last week when it was pretty warm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭445279.ie

when it's warm after 9pm. not like at the moment - when the sun goes down it's bloody cold!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Wisesmurf

when the ladies break out the minimal clothes again and you have to queue for 10 mins to get ice-cream in that place in Bray.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Bees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭445279.ie

Wisesmurf wrote:
    when the ladies break out the minimal clothes again and you have to queue for 10 mins to get ice-cream in that place in Bray.

they broke out the minimal clothing about 3 weeks ago!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

davyjose wrote:
    Bees
    ...everywhere.

I flinch at the buzzing.

But yeh, hot weather.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

when you can smell freshly cut grass

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

When I'm tidying my room at 1am trying to find old lecture notes for Su***r Ex**s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

When I drop my first ice cream on the hot footpath

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Exposed skin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭de5p0i1er

Warm rain. Thats the best we get in Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Where it starts getting warming and brighter? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭Scrotum

When i'm laying back, sniffing the newly cut grass and the birds are singing their little songs and the icecream van is driving by the front door and junior asks for money for icecream and i lay there and say, **** off and have another cold beer.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

I had a Mr Whippy style ice cream over the weekend for the first time since I was a kid. That made it officially summer. (€1.85 for a 99!! Wow, I am out of touch....)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

When it gets warmer while at work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

When my nose starts running and my eyes swell up and the kids all point and stare at me whilst shouting "Mammy, Mammy, its the Elephant Man, hes scaring me waaaaah" then I know Summer has begun.

Oh and also when my ballsack starts getting stuck to the side of my upper leg region.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

When the daytime maximum temperature reaches 10 celcius. :p

When some bastard takes away our hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

When my wife starts making idle comments that the lawn looks a little untidy I know its spring.

When she tells me to get off my effing lazy arse and cut the grass, I'll know its summer.

I think its going to be summer this weekend :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭imeatingchips

when i cant stop sneezing and tears are streaming out of my eyes cos of the bastid hayfever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

When those little fecking sparrows start building their nests just below the roof of the house, and start pooping all over the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭NextSteps

When you can eat your lunch outside

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

When it stays bright after 8pm.
    When I see my first wasp.
    When the hayfever kicks in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

1..When you see the first "Captain of Industry" in shorts shopping in Superquinn at 2000

2..When you leave the butter out and its in a gooey mess when you come home

3..When the cat starts shedding fur all over the place

4.. When you see male drivers,first in trucks and then in cars driving topless

5.. when you go to the beach and your 'nads are frozen up into you

6.. When the Indo/Times/RTE/Star shows pictures of some young wan"Frolicking at Seapoint"

7 when your ringpiece gets a bit greasy around 1700

8.. when the aircon in the car breaks down

9.. When nobody but nobody talks about anything but Exams

10.. When the f*****r next door fires up the barbie and the roaring and shouting and hysterical female muuuuhawing goes on till 0200.

Love Summer i do,i surely do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Pighead wrote:
    Oh and also when my ballsack starts getting stuck to the side of my upper leg region.

Pighead wins. What's with the lack of third person though? You're losing it old man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

When I start to freak out about impending exams, that's when summer kicks in, to try and break you and laze about on the grass....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

there was a bee the size of a small bird in my room yesterday, so yeah its summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭ergonomics

When I start getting covered in bruises. It only happens when I stop covering up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

When I look outside from work and think I'd love to be having a cold beer in a beer garden right now.

Then take a half day and go to a beer garden and have a cold beer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 380 ✭✭ODS

Wisesmurf wrote:
    when the ladies break out the minimal clothes again

Ah you beat me to it - or as I put it, "when the skirts get shorter and the legs get longer" :)

Bye-bye the black boots until next winter :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

When you can cruise along in your car with the windows down and not get frozen to death....

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

When I get a horn just from walking down Grafton Street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Vorsprung

Girls get hotter in summer. A lot hotter!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

When I'm sitting in a beer garden at 10-o'clock at night drinking Bulmers and wearing a t-shirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,331 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

when the smell of fresh cut grass is filling up my senses
    and my toes are submerged in the water, and it feels good.

or when the weather is hot and girls are dressing less
    and checking out the fellas to tell 'em who's best
    riding around in your jeep or your benzos
    or in your Nissan sitting on lorenzos
    back in Philly we be out in the park
    a place called the plateau is where everybody goes
    guys out hunting and girls doing likewise
    honking at the honey in front of you with the light eyes
    she turn around to see what you beeping at
    it's like the summer's a natural aphrodisiac

oh yeah.

them red yokes are called "spider mites" btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

When i stand beside somebody in work and proclaim "Jaysus, its bloody warm".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭minnie_mouse

When the buses are full of swarms of spanish students :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

When the buses are full of swarms of spanish students :)
    Ah the spanish :) Pretty people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

when schools over
    when i can wear shorts
    when groups split and change because ppl are away
    when you see your teacher in town and dont have to run away and hide because you dont owe them homework!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

when i go to trinity to drink on a fancy green because it's central and makes me feel posh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Unpossible

When all the piles of snow finally melt

When the midnight sun decides to give me insomnia

When my g/f gets really dark, then keeps commenting on how amazing it is that Im still so white (we envy each others colour so I guess it evens out as we both see what we like :D )

When 3 Ice-cream stands, 6 coffee & pirakka stands & 3 "not so portable-portable" restarunts are set up in the town square

When the lakes finnally melt (hasn't happened yet)
    and of course there is;

Vappu
    Where I will break out my schools overalls for a day of drinking (If I get moved into my new appartment on time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

When I'm outside, it's sunny and I can hear people mowing their lawns and I can smell the freshly cut grass. That's summer for me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

How you know its summer?

when it's all sunny outside and I hear children playing, having fun, while I do assignments/exams :mad:

when your in work and you really want to be in a beer garden drinking bulmers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

When the best scenery in the country is Grafton Street