Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Qualified for the WSOP again!!! (Boast thread!)

• 13-04-2007 1:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭

Sorry for posting this in the main thread but i want to shout it from the hilltops!! I got my seat with Ladbrokes into the WSOP 2007 tonight and i'm well chuffed

It was a 16 runner event with $1,400 in and therefore just the 1 seat with cash for 2nd, 3rd and 4th. I was short stacked almost the entire way through but i managed to hang on and claw into the last 4 with a reasonable (but still the shortest) stack! There was a very agressive Irish guy from sligo who had well over half the chips with 6 to go but he threw them all away and i knocked him out to get heads up...

I had roughly 28,000 to his 15,000 and he was playing quite aggressively, he made a raise with the button to 2,400 (blinds 400/800) and i look down at A5 of diamonds, i decide to push (comments??) trying to take it down there and then, knowing that my image was very solid.

He insta calls with QQ! and the board was as follow

8 5 2 on flop

10 on turn

A on river (you beauty!)

so i sucked on on him, but i still would have had 14k left to play heads up with him...

anyway well chuffed to be going back, love it more every time i'm there, this will be my third year in a row in the wsop (6th time to vegas) and i'm looking forward to hanging out with all you lads again

Tom and Mike, you better be ready lads!!!!

Can't wait

gl

andrew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

Just home from a night on the beer, nice to see the boardsies starting early on their attempts to assault vegas once again.

Congrats!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,904 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

congrats, did you buy-in to the sat directly for $1400, or was it a supersat you won

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

n1 congrats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

Nice one Andrew. Btw are you still in sydney at the moment? If so we should meet up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭loosecannon

I played one of their daily finals for $100 last week and won that, so it's a great return on that

only slight problem was that i'm down in oz doing a bit of travelling at the moment and it was on at 8.30pm Irish time which is 5.30am over here so i didn't exactly get much sleep and i'm still absolutely buzzing here!

look forward to hearing of more of ye winning qualifiers

gl all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Flipper

That was obviously Paddy O Connor that you were HU with. He's been killin the NLH on there for years now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

Flipper wrote:
    That was obviously Paddy O Connor that you were HU with. He's been killin the NLH on there for years now

Yeah, he is one of the best players on the site. WP loosecannon, gl in Vegas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Well done and good luck in vegas, nice to get it out of the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

question:

can you still play for a wsop ticket if your under 21? will they still give you package once they find out your underage?

could just sell it off like

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Mr.Plough wrote:
    question:

can you still play for a wsop ticket if your under 21? will they still give you package once they find out your underage?

No, no, and .........no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

Nice on Andrew three years on the trot is some going!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,616 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Mr.Plough wrote:
    question:

Yes, No, and No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Mr.Plough wrote:
    question:

why not just play a Muti-table tournament with 10K first prize? or $1000 SnGs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

I played one of their daily finals for $100 last week and won that, so it's a great return on that

only slight problem was that i'm down in oz doing a bit of travelling at the moment and it was on at 8.30pm Irish time which is 5.30am over here so i didn't exactly get much sleep and i'm still absolutely buzzing here!

look forward to hearing of more of ye winning qualifiers

gl all

Nicely done, hope I can do something similar and see you out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭justbringit89

Well Done hope you represent the irish well !!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭davidgti

congrats and wd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

n1 andrew! see you over there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

nice result loosecannon, fair play to ya and hope all goes well in Vegas...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Well done Loosecannon....hope to join you this year..good luck over there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Congrats!

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I'm tempted to wish you bad luck and ask what the hell you are telling us for, just to be different from all the fawners, but I'm not that cruel.

Well done, and I hope to be over there too. Congrats (and I do mean that), it is some achievement qualifying on the cheap 3 years on the trot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

Well done Andrew, I can just imagine the QQ guy at home as the laptop goes smashy smashy lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

nice one Andrew, I'm still working on it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭robinlacey

nice work andrew,hopefully see you over there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

well done, down 1k trying at the moment on stars and tilt with 2 bubbles, will try for another 1k after that and if it is meant to be so be it. gl over there u jammy git

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭loosecannon

Well done Andrew, I can just imagine the QQ guy at home as the laptop goes smashy smashy lol.

i was thinking the exact same thing myself! but i had a chat to him after as i play quite a bit of omaha cash games with him on that site and he took it very well and wished me gl

he said that if it was for the package (i still would have been 2:1 underdog in chips if the QQ held) that it would have hurt more!

thanks for all the good wishes and i'm hoping to see a lot of you in vegas come June/July

gl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭luckylucky

I'll be seeing you there, just qualified via party poker steps :D

some rush isn't it :D