Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WP nicnicnic, halfbaked and BCB

• 09-04-2007 10:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭

As the title says.

Well done lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭dvdfan

valor wrote:
    where did they finish?

Nicky came 6th i think €100k wow dont know about half baked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭valor

where did they finish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭insafehands

Yup, congrats to the both of you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

Congrats lads-dont forget big city banker nice result aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

Where did BCB finish? And half baked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Where did BCB finish? And half baked?

I think HB finished 17th. Not 100% sure where BCB finished. I think around the 40-50 mark

• Closed Accounts Posts: 780 ✭✭✭Captain Tom

yeah well done lads.nicky's a great player and a v nice guy.same goes for the fox.great to see irish players going so deep.

well done to both! How much did HB get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

c. 19k

Huge congrats to all three, well played and thoroughly deserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

well done guys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

cheers one and all and well done to all the others it was great talking to Peter and Noel as the tourney got deeper really looked for a while like we could of got a couple on the final table. btw who won the big slick seat for last before the money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Well done lads, great results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭sikes

whopper work lads

19k ****, nice one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

19k ****, nice one!

And he also backed himself in the boards last longest on Paddy Power at 40-1, so make that 20k!

His exit hand was sick, no way he can get away from it. Raised QQ on the button, blinds reraise and Peter pushes. Guy in the blinds had KK. Biggest pot of the tournament that would have left him with a huge stack!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

And fair play to Noel and Nicky as well. Fantastic performances all around. Nicky literally raising with air has to be the play of the tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

ianmc38 wrote:
    And fair play to Noel and Nicky as well. Fantastic performances all around. Nicky literally raising with air has to be the play of the tournament.
    i dunno, that guy calling the devil fish's all-in with KK would have to be a strong contender for that prize.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭Macspower

As above. well done to everyone from boards....

Unfortunately I didn't see any of it but Antes Up did a great job and I was able to keep up to date from there..

Mac

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I felt for Halfbaked in that hand and for Nicky too, who I have played with on many an occasion and have a healthy respect for his talents. BCB seemed to be having the time of his life and looked like he enjoyed every minute of it! Great results lads.
    Saddest hand of the tournie though was Brian O'Keefe (The Fox) who went out with 99 versus Rolands Axh. He flopped a set too but Roland runnered a sick flush. Brian was very humble about his experience in their video interview with us pre-final-table and despite being on a final table with Nicky, gave him all the credit for teaching him the game. It would have been legendary to see him win it but even a final table appearance is astounding. No shouts, slamming the table or anything, he genuinely took a terrible beat very well.

Nicky, dont think this means I'll go easy on you next time we clash. See you in Kerry I hope mate!

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭pok3rplaya

Good job guys

DeVore wrote:
    I felt for Halfbaked in that hand and for Nicky too, who I have played with on many an occasion and have a healthy respect for his talents. BCB seemed to be having the time of his life and looked like he enjoyed every minute of it! Great results lads.
    Saddest hand of the tournie though was Brian O'Keefe (The Fox) who went out with 99 versus Rolands Axh. He flopped a set too but Roland runnered a sick flush. Brian was very humble about his experience in their video interview with us pre-final-table and despite being on a final table with Nicky, gave him all the credit for teaching him the game. It would have been legendary to see him win it but even a final table appearance is astounding. No shouts, slamming the table or anything, he genuinely took a terrible beat very well.

Nicky, dont think this means I'll go easy on you next time we clash. See you in Kerry I hope mate!

DeV.

yeh I'll be there Tom. The fox has been by far the best tournament player (me included) in Waterford for the last six months and has a magic character for the game. God I remember how bad he was when he started but he is as sharp as they come and believe me you haven't seen the last of him. I felt all the week that he would run well purely on the grounds that he hasn't in a bigger tournament before and is far two good of a player not to be figuring. believe me there's other good one's down here that you'll be hearing a lot of in the future as well

Now i have to get him to go to the WSOP with me. Now that could be fun. I should add the way fox plays the game cant be thought he has a natural ability I just gave him the odd pointer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

wp lads great results all around, unlucky with the exit hands in all instances, but thats poker...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

well done men

halfbaked - looking sharp on da telly in your new top!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭AmarilloFats

well done all..nice one halfbaked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Marq

nh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

Nicely done lads, very well played all.

Nicky it would have been great if you had of won as you are a fantastic ambassador for the game but Martyn is a great guy and I hope he gets plenty of main stream coverage for his win (which in terms of public perception of the game will go a long way imo).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Gus Ivey

yea brilliant results all

fox was terribly unlucky, when de Wolfe hit runner runner hearts against his trip 9s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭OilBeefHooked2

Yeah congrats lads well done . esp Peter who I played with for a long period.
    Vul on the QQ v KK hand.
    See ye all in the Kerry at Connies spring festival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭fabsoul

i dunno, that guy calling the devil fish's all-in with KK would have to be a strong contender for that prize.

It was the devil fish's who called the all-in with A7o.

WP all good result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

Well done all concerned, massive performances! And while it would have been great to see Nicky take it down, I think we have a brilliant winner in Marty Smith. He's been around the Irish scene for a good few years now, and his win was really well deserved. He takes both his beats and victories with great grace, as well as being a very solid talented player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

Hey, well done to all concerned. I must admit i felt really gutted for the Fox when he got runner-runnered. He's as nice a guy as your likely to meet. Ye should all be proud of yere performances and lets not forger DavidK, a boards member from down here in Kerry who cashed in his first ever big tourney.

Well done all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

I thought the standard of poker played by the irish players at the business end of the tournament was first rate. Martin Smyth is very talented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Great result guys, wp covering your hand nicky, super stuff all round peter, noel etc. A very good ambasssador for the game in marty smith and one who will represent the title well. he took that 2 so well not rubbing it in etc, wp.
    Also did PPPspecial cash?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Well done to all of you.

Opr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭aodea

smyths fold of the queen of spades was brilliant unreal lay down especially as it was screaming to be called with the value bet was very impressed by him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭carrigeen

yep well done to everyone who cashed as said above and just add Thomas Finneran to the list great perforamance

Imagine if we could get a few dubs playing we might of been able to add to the five culchies at the final table :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭Gholimoli

cracking result lads and very unlucky that one of you did not take it down.
    most of you got it in ahead and my hear really goes out to hlafbake as there was nothing he could do there ...
    fair play all of you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭HalfBaked

Thanks everyone for all the well wishes over the IO and after, it was/is most appreciated.

Well done to all the boardies that played, especially Noel and DavidK who both played really well and cashed.

As for Nicky, I really thought he would take this down and there could not have been a more deserved winner IMHO. He played some great poker and with a little more luck on the FT could have gone all the way. Well done on the final table and glad they gave you a few quid for beers!

Peter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

wp to everyone who cashed especially Nicky and The Fox

tremendous performances, delighted to see them do so well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Huge congrats to all, well played :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Waterford ace

Well done to nicnicnic and the fox, great play over the 3 days, terrible bad beat for the fox but thats poker, id say the cant wait to play in the 25f/o in blazin aces, lol

carfax wrote:
    Nicely done lads, very well played all.

Nicky it would have been great if you had of won as you are a fantastic ambassador for the game but Martyn is a great guy and I hope he gets plenty of main stream coverage for his win (which in terms of public perception of the game will go a long way imo).

Cheers Steven I was nearly physically sick when i heard your beat. I'm delighted that Marty went on to take the title we were blind on blind from three tables out and three seat draws. The guys a top bloke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭dacman

Well played to nicki( great player and a real nice guy to have at your table) Congrats to the BCB and halfbaked too.(two sound lads) Great result and very much deserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

dacman FTW