Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dubstep in Dublin

• 05-04-2007 6:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭

Anybody know if there's any dubstep nights on in Dublin? Just discovered this intriguing kind of music. Not sure what to make of it or what it sounds like loud, how people dance to it etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭spyro_2001ie

Yeah, theres a small gathering for the Dubstep in Dublin.
    Kaboogie !!! under Kennedy's on Pearse St. every second friday, Usually they have some producer or act that's currently on the scene (mostly from the uk, as thats where all the good stuff coming from)
    Find out more here ==> http://myspace.com/kaboogiemusic

Also these letrim guys run gigs in various venues around the city, but in the legal eagle more than most. They bring over a wide variety of class electronic acts including the dupstep. Heres a link to there festival from last year, which was ace, http://www.saifestival.com/ You should be able to get on their mailing list through that.

For further info, go to 'City Discs'(beside the Music Centre) in Temple Bar and ask for Craig, hes a sound lad and will be able to point you in the right direction.

Good luck, Wobbly Woobily Bass

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭scop

Thanks that should sort me out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Vitamin C

I came on to suss out the same thing. Question anwered, cheers lads.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iy2TOdvr8QY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

We do Dubstep nights in the Twisted Pepper every second month.

The Wobble crew do a Dubstep night in the Twisted Pepper as well.

Go and have a gander at the Irish Dubstep forum http://www.jungle.me.uk/index.php?board=3.0 for more gig info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

We do Dubstep nights in the Twisted Pepper every second month.

The Wobble crew do a Dubstep night in the Twisted Pepper as well.

Go and have a gander at the Irish Dubstep forum http://www.jungle.me.uk/index.php?board=3.0 for more gig info.

I'm surprised there aren't a few more nights like that in Dublin, considering how good some of the Dublin producers are. The TP is more or less the only club giving proper slots to D 'n' B and dubtep...You heard Detboi's new track Voices in Heaven? Can't wait for it to come out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭garthv

Twisted Pepper on Fridays...any of the MUD nights will get you your filling of bass. Beyond the TP there is really only Kennedys or any of the Kaboogie nighs where you will get any sort of decent night!

The TP is more or less the only club giving proper slots to D 'n' B and dubtep...You heard Detboi's new track Voices in Heaven? Can't wait for it to come out.

Yeah, it's a wicked and well run venue, has the best sound, has the best drinks deals, has a good crowd... Venue fatigue sets in once you realise that you spend pretty much every weekend there, but there's really no alternative, and on the basis of the way the place is run it's really hard to see how an alternative could really improve on it. It's not that the TP is the only club "giving proper shots" to DnB and Dubstep (Alix Perez is in Kennedy's this Saturday!) it's literally just that anywhere else wouldn't be as easy to run a night in given that most of your target audience will be in the Twisted Pepper regardless of where you put on a night. I only live two streets away from it and it would be a pain in the hole to have to walk any further to go play so it suits me anyway :pac:

Hadn't heard that Detboi tune before (or of Detboi) but it's not really my cup of tea i'm afraid...

Ignored Playaz do a savage night in Wax actually, once every six weeks or so, had Oneman off Rinse FM there last Saturday and had Ben UFO there before, both wicked gigs.

Dubstep in Dublin is going through a bit of a funny phase I reckon, most of the heads who have been pushing it for years are either all about the uk funky / new garage / old grime styles or they've gone down the whole Shackleton / Scuba / T++ route and are basically playing Techno; there's not too many left pushing strictly Dubstep from a purist perspective (and even that perspective arguably never existed anywhere in the first place), certainly not the way the "bored of electro house" crew seem to stereotype Dubstep (halfstep chainsaw bangers). There's even a few heading back to DnB... Personally I'm still buying loads and loads of Dubstep and I'm not sure if I'm ready or willing to take the plunge down to 130 yet (if ever). I don't really play it out at all myself though, I've enough DnB gigs to keep me busy :)

If you're using "Dubstep" to mean broken beats and loads of sub-bass then there's a fair bit of Dubstep around, I don't know of anyone in Dublin who actually plays all that Caspa and Rusko ****-**** music and who gets gigs out of it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

You'd think one of the dance venues that isn't doing so well, lik Andrew's Lane or somewhere, would change it up a bit and give a few nights to some of the d 'n' b and dubstep crews, even though a night night probably wouldn't be huge, it'd be better than what Trashed were getting every week before they closed (about 7 people in!). Just to give a bit of variety and freshness.

Again, it's more to do with where the DnB and Dubstep crews choose to put on their nights :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Weasel88

if you guys want to see good dubstep come to this event im organizing next month.

a4scub6MAY-1.jpg
    SALT are proud to welcome their first international guest, dubstep pioneer Scuba. Paul Rose, aka Scuba, is one of dubsteps most progressive producers. Originally from London, Scuba relocated to Berlin in 2007, a move which (according to some) influenced his critically acclaimed debut album, A Mutual Antipathy (2008). The stylistic synergy of the album cemented his position as one of the most forward-thinking dubstep producers. The project was subsequently completed with a series of remixes by Surgeon, Substance, Jamie Vex’d, Martyn, Marcel Dettmann and the artist himself under his house/techno-centred SCB guise. Latest releases include his Aesaunic EP and the critically acclaimed album Triangulation, both released on Hotflush Recordings, which Scuba is curator of.
    HotFlush is one of the original dubstep labels which has released some of the most important tunes of the genres reformative period (such as resident advisors 2009 track of the year Hyph Mngo by Joy Orbison) and continues to show endless originality.
    Scuba's latest commercial mix was SUB:STANCE. A blissful blend of techno and dubstep including forthcoming tracks from Untold, Ramadanman, Joker, Instra:mental and Surgeon. Released to promote the SUB:STANCE night at Berlin's techno Mecca, Berghain. The night itself is run by Scuba himself and is one of the first highly successful dubstep nights in Berlin.
    Expect a large night for this one.

SALT residents Redahan and Artless support with visuals from the amazing AV.KID
    Advance tickets available from www.bodytonicmusic.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭high heels

Have to say AV.KID is class..

Love his screens and vjing..

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Be great to get to Scuba alright, but a feckin Thursday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Weasel88

start the bank holiday weekend a day early, treat yourselves lol

Weasel88 wrote: »
    start the bank holiday weekend a day early, treat yourselves lol

Great tune that, just picked up the (somewhat disappointing) D:Bridge remix the other day as well. Good luck with the Scuba gig, I might drop down, he was savage when we had him in the Vaults a few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Weasel88 wrote: »
    if you guys want to see good dubstep come to this event im organizing next month.

a4scub6MAY-1.jpg
    SALT are proud to welcome their first international guest, dubstep pioneer Scuba. Paul Rose, aka Scuba, is one of dubsteps most progressive producers. Originally from London, Scuba relocated to Berlin in 2007, a move which (according to some) influenced his critically acclaimed debut album, A Mutual Antipathy (2008). The stylistic synergy of the album cemented his position as one of the most forward-thinking dubstep producers. The project was subsequently completed with a series of remixes by Surgeon, Substance, Jamie Vex’d, Martyn, Marcel Dettmann and the artist himself under his house/techno-centred SCB guise. Latest releases include his Aesaunic EP and the critically acclaimed album Triangulation, both released on Hotflush Recordings, which Scuba is curator of.
    HotFlush is one of the original dubstep labels which has released some of the most important tunes of the genres reformative period (such as resident advisors 2009 track of the year Hyph Mngo by Joy Orbison) and continues to show endless originality.
    Scuba's latest commercial mix was SUB:STANCE. A blissful blend of techno and dubstep including forthcoming tracks from Untold, Ramadanman, Joker, Instra:mental and Surgeon. Released to promote the SUB:STANCE night at Berlin's techno Mecca, Berghain. The night itself is run by Scuba himself and is one of the first highly successful dubstep nights in Berlin.
    Expect a large night for this one.

SALT residents Redahan and Artless support with visuals from the amazing AV.KID
    Advance tickets available from www.bodytonicmusic.com

Gonna try get to this myself, should be a good gig.....

140510.jpg

Since we're all doing the pimping thing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

i reckon ill go to boxcutter. how much is it in?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 337 ✭✭Sacred_git

theres a good bit going on these days which is great, i went to one a few weeks ago, a dj called shattfreak(i think) was playing - he was pretty crap, i don't think i ever heard any of the tracks he played ever, but hey it was better than the usual chart crap!!

i reckon ill go to boxcutter. how much is it in?

http://m.bodytonicmusic.com/store/

Advance tickets are a tenner at the Bodytonic store, or 8 Euro if you sign up for "Membership" (which is free, quick and painless).

You could also take your chances and join the REACH Facebook group and wait for one of our legendarily difficult competitions to win a pair of guest passes.

Sacred_git wrote: »
    theres a good bit going on these days which is great, i went to one a few weeks ago, a dj called shattfreak(i think) was playing - he was pretty crap, i don't think i ever heard any of the tracks he played ever, but hey it was better than the usual chart crap!!

Shatterfreak is great, if you didn't recognise any of the tunes he was playing it was probably because he plays mostly his own stuff - savage producer IMO.

Check out the Irishdustep.com Podcast for this special Irish producer showcase for more stuff from the cream of Irish dubstep.

http://www.irishdubstep.com/2010/04/ids002-gon/

Darkstar – Dead to me – [2010]
    Darkstar – Squeeze my lime – [Hyperdub]
    James Blake – Give a man a rod – [Hessle Audio]
    Lewis B – Take – [Smokin' Sessions]
    Major Grave – Dilettantism – [Forthcoming Standard] <--Big tune :)
    Hyetal & Shortstuff – Ice cream – [Punch Drunk]
    Jamie Grind – Balloon – [Forthcoming Infrasonics]
    Spatial – 100319 – [Dub]
    Chesus – Me n you – [Dub]
    Gon – Gotta have you – [Forthcoming Standard]
    Major Grave – Memories (A-Force Rmx) – [Dub]
    Colz – Pleasure control – [Demo]
    Major Grave – Lights (Colz Rmx) – [Standard]
    Gon – Chaka Mad – [Forthcoming Infrasonics]
    Deadboy – If you want me – [Numbers]
    Cassius – Feeling 4 u (Dragon Rmx) [Free Download]
    Once was nice – What could I do (Wideboys Rmx) – [Dubz For Klubz]
    Tivannagh – Live & learn – [Dub]
    Myd – Noria (Dubbel Dutch Rmx) – [Dub]
    Monkey Steak – Harlem drift – [Steakhouse]
    DVA – Natty – [Hyperdub]
    Pier – Six million dollar man – [Dub]
    T-woc – The window – [Forthcoming Alphabet Set]
    Gon – The rythm – [Forthcoming Carbon Logic]

And another one (this time exclusively Irish unlike the one above)

T-Woc - Johnny the Fox
    Kanobi - Skitter
    Radikal Guru - Conspiracy Dub
    Drokkr - Go and Beep
    Kanobi - Canpoy
    Boxcutter - Sidetrak
    Crysis - Speed Bump
    Fono One - Z Axis
    Major Grave - oh boy
    2Bit - Sub Ness
    The Errorist
    A-Force - Laserface
    Crysis - Flux Capacitor
    Crysis - Super Vilain
    SC - Bleeper
    Steve D - Nose Dive
    T-Woc - Believe
    Beckett - Feeling

http://rapidshare.com/files/253216703/EE_Irish_mix_-_Mixed_by_Crysis__DubCulture_.rar

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 337 ✭✭Sacred_git

Shatterfreak is great, if you didn't recognise any of the tunes he was playing it was probably because he plays mostly his own stuff - savage producer IMO.

Check out the Irishdustep.com Podcast for this special Irish producer showcase for more stuff from the cream of Irish dubstep.

http://www.irishdubstep.com/2010/04/ids002-gon/

Darkstar – Dead to me – [2010]
    Darkstar – Squeeze my lime – [Hyperdub]
    James Blake – Give a man a rod – [Hessle Audio]
    Lewis B – Take – [Smokin' Sessions]
    Major Grave – Dilettantism – [Forthcoming Standard] <--Big tune :)
    Hyetal & Shortstuff – Ice cream – [Punch Drunk]
    Jamie Grind – Balloon – [Forthcoming Infrasonics]
    Spatial – 100319 – [Dub]
    Chesus – Me n you – [Dub]
    Gon – Gotta have you – [Forthcoming Standard]
    Major Grave – Memories (A-Force Rmx) – [Dub]
    Colz – Pleasure control – [Demo]
    Major Grave – Lights (Colz Rmx) – [Standard]
    Gon – Chaka Mad – [Forthcoming Infrasonics]
    Deadboy – If you want me – [Numbers]
    Cassius – Feeling 4 u (Dragon Rmx) [Free Download]
    Once was nice – What could I do (Wideboys Rmx) – [Dubz For Klubz]
    Tivannagh – Live & learn – [Dub]
    Myd – Noria (Dubbel Dutch Rmx) – [Dub]
    Monkey Steak – Harlem drift – [Steakhouse]
    DVA – Natty – [Hyperdub]
    Pier – Six million dollar man – [Dub]
    T-woc – The window – [Forthcoming Alphabet Set]
    Gon – The rythm – [Forthcoming Carbon Logic]

And another one (this time exclusively Irish unlike the one above)

T-Woc - Johnny the Fox
    Kanobi - Skitter
    Radikal Guru - Conspiracy Dub
    Drokkr - Go and Beep
    Kanobi - Canpoy
    Boxcutter - Sidetrak
    Crysis - Speed Bump
    Fono One - Z Axis
    Major Grave - oh boy
    2Bit - Sub Ness
    The Errorist
    A-Force - Laserface
    Crysis - Flux Capacitor
    Crysis - Super Vilain
    SC - Bleeper
    Steve D - Nose Dive
    T-Woc - Believe
    Beckett - Feeling

http://rapidshare.com/files/253216703/EE_Irish_mix_-_Mixed_by_Crysis__DubCulture_.rar

Will check these out, cheers sorry but i thought the tunes played were pretty mediocre by shatter but i guess its all good, he can always improve :)

Horses for courses my dear friend - I quite rate his stuff though.

http://www.state.ie/2010/03/mix/state-mix-series-14-shatterfreak/

^ That podcast he did for State.ie has some lovely tunes in it too IMO

1. Nina Simone – Baltimore
    2. Joy Orbison – Hyph Mngo
    3. Burial – Untrue
    4. Untold – Stop What Your Doing(James Blake Remix)
    5. Eskmo – Let Them Sing
    6. Milyoo – Brok Meyhew
    7. Bullion – Crazy Over You
    8. Shatterfreak – Cobra Kai

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Wolf Club

Some mighty tracks on that mix, having Joy Orbison next to Burial sounds great! Scuba sounds like it will be a savage gig, IMO Twisted Pepper gets a much better crowd than a lot of places in town and the sound system is well equipped for dubstep (judging by sets by Kode9 and Caspa I've seen there).

Wolf Club wrote: »
    Some mighty tracks on that mix, having Joy Orbison next to Burial sounds great! Scuba sounds like it will be a savage gig, IMO Twisted Pepper gets a much better crowd than a lot of places in town and the sound system is well equipped for dubstep (judging by sets by Kode9 and Caspa I've seen there).

I'm just about to leg it out the door now in fact, Pangaea and Boxcutter in the Basement!!!