Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish National

• 05-04-2007 10:43am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭

Who do you think will win the Irish National at Fairyhouse?

I like Snowy Morning and Distant Thunder both ran well at Cheltenham and the latter had a wind operation that seems to have done the trick.

It would be grat to hear peoples opinions on the race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭gamb1or

butler's cabin each way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭BangBeater

yeah, i like snowy morning's chances too assuming he runs, for the national. Grounds going to be sooo dry after all this weather! any sign of a drop of moisture??!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 slowlyin2stride

Snowy Morning doesn't run.

If u can over the fact that Damian Murphy will still be on board Whyso Mayo and that he will prob put up a lb or 2 overweight depsite what the trainer says, he is leniently treated off 135.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Crumbs

I'm interested in Oulart who was 2nd last year but hasn't done much since. Still hasn't won a chase but ran a couple of decent races over hurdles recently. However, if Cane Brake runs as top-weight, Oulart would be 6lbs wrong and I wouldn't be backing him then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Bullensroad

Yes i see snowy morning doesnt go sorry for that. The ground should be fairly decent with the dry weather and the forecast is fairly good. The dry wont suit cane brake and he will probably not go in it if the conditions dry out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

If Tom Taffe leaves Cane Brake in the race, it could well be so that Kings Advocate gets a nice racing weight. Novices have a very good record in this race and he was fancied at Cheltenham and ran 'ok'. Could be worth a look at 16/1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭BrianTheMessiah

Homer Wells, and Kerryhead Windfarm e/w

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

if cane break doesn't run oulart has a great chance. hasn't been trying in soft ground chases and I've been following him since his second in this race last year, and point barrow is now favourite for the aintree national. definately capable of winning a decent handicap chase on good ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

A New Story, Oulart, and Dix Villez all have cracking chances. I'll probably put 10 each way on the lot of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

scojones wrote:
    A New Story, Oulart, and Dix Villez all have cracking chances. I'll probably put 10 each way on the lot of them.

Is A New Story a definite runner Sco? I fancied him for the Aintree one and saw that he booked Nina for the ride. Obviously can't do both.

Still entered and still on powers site. I won't be backing anything until the day but we'll know then sure. I'd be disappointed if it was withdrawn.

damnit butler's cabin's down to 12s now.

Although its 16s with boyles...non runner money back too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭knighted

i backed butlers cabin at cheltenham a heart over head bet but i think he was lucky to win -if nine de sivola stands up i think its a great bet

rp website

Some potentially classy performers but the way the race panned out with many of them exiting, the form is questionable. It produced another shock result as BUTLER'S CABIN, who collapsed with oxygen deficiency as he was led back, obviously benefitted from his 96-day break after failing to build on his good effort here behind Exotic Dancer in November. His class saw him through in what boiled down to a duel with Character Building after Gungadu's exit but this effort suggests he needs careful handling and races spaced out.

The turning point was the second-last fence. It was here that Not Left Yet and Nine de Sivola fell alongside each otherindependently and were responsible for Bengo losing his rider. Bengo had run a shade too keenly but was still in the mix after getting a shade outpaced down the back straight. Miko de Beauchene also blundered away his partner nearer the inside rail. Not Left Yet had wobbled between rivals and looked to lose his action strides fromthe fence
    Nino de Sivola arguably looked to be travelling just the more menacingly of them,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Hoofer

I backed Juveigneur in the Hennessy at Newbury and he came second to state of play.I backed him at Cheltenham in the William hill and he just got beaten by Joes edge by a short head.I will back him in the Irish national.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭RalphCifaretto

I'll be backing A New Story and Kings Advocate. Horses off 11 stone + have a dismal record in this race and, as it seems Cane Brake is only running to keep the weight down for Kings Advocate, it all points to the two above for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

I'll be backing A New Story and Kings Advocate. Horses off 11 stone + have a dismal record in this race and, as it seems Cane Brake is only running to keep the weight down for Kings Advocate, it all points to the two above for me.
    it's probably often a marsh though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭DtotheK

ground wont suit cane brake and he's top weight so im stayin away from him.

I like the look of oulart and patsys hall (apparently 33-1) both eachway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 jimmy6904

Whyso Mayo. Def get trip unlike so many others (Bout 10 pull up every yr), will handle ground and lovely racing wt (Bout 10 stone). 5 of last 8 winners carried 10-1 or less. Jumpin bit suss but fairyhouse fences not that tricky. Couldnt see him out of the money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

oularts six lbs out of the handicap but his capable jockey takes 7 off so he's my main bet.

I've always liked Patsy hall and always had the feeling that the further he went the better he'd be so i'll have a small interest on him also. alas the 33s is gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

A big each way bet on Well tutored for me. A smaller e/w on nina de sivola.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 623 ✭✭✭hawker27

looked at the field and have gone with the following 3:

oulart 14/1
    a new story 20/1ew
    nine de sivola 14/1ew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Healio

Ruby walsh on board is a big positive, plus One Cool Cookie franked the form of his Limerick meeting with Kings Advocate, with a nice win in the Powers gold cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

From expertbettingadvice.co.uk:

Nine De Sivola- @ 16/1

Murphy eyes second Irish National
    PA News

Ferdy Murphy is banking on Nine De Sivola to give him his second Powers Whiskey Irish Grand National at Fairyhouse on Monday.

Murphy saddled Granit D'Estruval to victory in 2004 and in his improving novice, he believes he has another ideal candidate.

"Every now and again you come across horses that need extreme distances and he is one of them," said Murphy. "I think he is an ideal candidate as he will just hunt around and hopefully Graham (Lee) can just pick his spot and arrive to hopefully pinch the race late."

He added: "I spoke to my man over there and he travelled over well, he's had a spin on the track this morning so fingers crossed he runs well."

Murphy, who trains at West Witton, near Middleham, could not have his string in better form and he is hoping the six-year-old can atone for an unlucky fall three out when he was still travelling well in the National Hunt Chase at the Cheltenham Festival.

Before that, he had chased home the ill-fated Nil Desperandum in the stamina sapping Eider Chase at Newcastle, proving that extreme distances are no problem to him.

Murphy said: "I think the drying ground will actually help him. The reason he has acted well on soft ground before is that it slows the others up a bit.

"He jumps a lot better on good ground. He jumped great at Cheltenham but just caught the third last, he was going well though."

Good enough for me. Though in to 14s now with PP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭00dyel

any idea where we can watch this race?

My selections are:
    Whyso Mayo Win
    Kings Advocate Win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭HiCloy

00dyel wrote:
    any idea where we can watch this race?

It'll be on RTE2

I'm gonna back:

Dix Villez EW
    Kerryhead Windfarm small bet each way

Whyso Mayo WIN
    Nine De Sivola EW

good luck

oh and the missus went for
    American Jennie EW
    Butlers Cabin EW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Leon11

I've Nina De Sivola @14 e/w

and Chelsea Harbour @ 33 just as a long shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭An Gaiscíoch

If the "magic sign" is right then Butlers Cabin should win it

ruby not over confident on kings advocate in the interview on rte -doctor will have his work cut out today with the amount of jocks trying to do 10 stone -id say taffe will get battered later lol

gamb1or wrote:
    damnit butler's cabin's down to 12s now.

fair play to u 12s acceptable now lol -couldnt see it myself but i was big on nine de sivola e/w so im happy -well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,064 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Get in there

Any one else have Bulters Cabin
    :):):):):):):):):):):):):):):)

EDIT: Also I managed to get him at 14s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭jimmyboy

Cheers Wyndham for the post. I got NDS at 14's

I'm speechless, totally wrote off butler's cabin after it collapsed at Cheltenham. What a performance. You could see his legs wobbling on the way back. That horse is all heart.

Any news on Dix Villez? Looks like he died after that fall. Nearly flattened Nina too but she escaped unscathed thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭HiCloy

scojones wrote:
    I'm speechless, totally wrote off butler's cabin after it collapsed at Cheltenham. What a performance. You could see his legs wobbling on the way back. That horse is all heart.

I worte him off too, I was surprised to even see him run again this season the way he came in after the last race. Was a great performance again today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭Murta

HiCloy wrote:
    I worte him off too, I was surprised to even see him run again this season the way he came in after the last race. Was a great performance again today

I didn't rate Butler's Cabin dispite winning at Cheltenham. Didn't expect him to come close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭Murta

knighted wrote:
    ruby not over confident on kings advocate in the interview on rte -doctor will have his work cut out today with the amount of jocks trying to do 10 stone -id say taffe will get battered later lol

That's twice I've backed Kings Advocate after listening to Tom Taffe on Attheraces. I'll probabely back him again. I do think he ran a good race today and in Cheltenham. He surely has a big race in him.

according to justin carty some punter had 400k rolling over to kings advocate and he was frantically trying to back it down to cover himself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 623 ✭✭✭hawker27

happy punter here to,done nine de silva @14/1 ew:)

chump wrote:
    Whyso Mayo WIN
    Nine De Sivola EW

good luck

oh and the missus went for
    American Jennie EW
    Butlers Cabin EW

score score score.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭An Gaiscíoch

If the "magic sign" is right then Butlers Cabin should win it

Won well. Got it at 21 on betfair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭conZ

I have had Church Island backed EW at 40/1 all week on PP.com.

Had him backed today at 66/1 in the bookies too. Sweet.

~€195 back from €14 worth of a bet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

The Horse Racing forum has a charter. If any of you guys think that it's unfair and would like it changed feel free to post it on the charter thread and we will happily take on board all thoughts and suggestions.

For now though, Conz, you're banned for 24 hours for breach of the charter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Leon11

mods banning mods yes!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Taff

scojones wrote:
    Any news on Dix Villez? Looks like he died after that fall. Nearly flattened Nina too but she escaped unscathed thankfully.

It was Cheeky Lady that had the fatal fall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Pineapple stu

gamb1or wrote:
    butler's cabin each way

Nice one:)