Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

motorbikes in the park

• 03-04-2007 8:33am
    Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭

:mad: I went to the park last night with the mutt, the first time we had been the park this year, as its usually dark when I get home from work. I was thinking it’s a lovely evening, get there park the car, to discovery about a group of about 10 kids ranging from 10-13 years on those little motorised bikes, so I left the dog on the lead headed away from them. I was heading back about 10 minutes from the car, when one of the little fe.ckers came around the corner and nearly ran the mutt over. I put him on the lead and we headed back to the car, as I was getting to the car, they all started driving up and down past me on the path. I was getting a bit intimated at this stage and poor Oscar was not a happy puppy.

So I phoned the guards and told them what was happening. He told me there was nothing they could do, they would need 10/11 cars to catch them if they are on bikes and they didn’t have the manpower. These bloody things only go about 10 miles an hour!! He also told me they were aware that this was a problem in the park. Now I want to know if this is a problem why the guards not patrolling the area? One day some is going to get seriously hurt. The ineptitude of the guards astounds me.

It’s such a shame, it’s a lovely will park with ducks, rabbits and foxes but I will not be going there again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

.... Wait for it......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

What park?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

ooops, tolka valley park - not that it makes any difference where it is, they should not be allowed in the park to squash dogs and people

I always wanted to have one of those bikes growing up.

Lucky feckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

I live up near Tolka Valley Park and the amount of those bikes going around is unreal..

i might go back with some stingers, that will teach the feckers and i then i was getting parnoid about my car, they see you getting out of the car with the dog going for walk what to stop them taking your car for a walk? little scumbag knackers, hope they ****.ing kill themselves

irishbird wrote:
    what to stop them taking your car for a walk?

Locking it would suffice.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

Why don't you stab them in the eyes?
    Disclaimer: This is a question, not a suggestion.

Locking it would suffice.

LOL, its finglas mate, do you really think a locked car makes any difference to the them? they probably wont touch it if it was left open - sure where's the fun in that ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭NutJob

Thats the problem with those little bikes there two small to kill the little bastardos and just big enough to ruin your sunday morning snooze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

irishbird wrote:
    So I phoned the guards and told them what was happening. He told me there was nothing they could do, they would need 10/11 cars to catch them if they are on bikes and they didn’t have the manpower. These bloody things only go about 10 miles an hour!! He also told me they were aware that this was a problem in the park. Now I want to know if this is a problem why the guards not patrolling the area? One day some is going to get seriously hurt. The ineptitude of the guards astounds me

It’s such a shame, it’s a lovely will park with ducks, rabbits and foxes but I will not be going there again
    I think the guards have other things to do than chasing scumbags in the park, although it'd be nice with a bit of police presence when you need it.

Besides, if there is wild life in the park your dog should be on a leash, particularly during the spring when the little ducklings run around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭NutJob

biko wrote:
    Besides, if there is wild life in the park your dog should be on a leash, particularly during the spring when the little ducklings run around.

So they can be chased down and killed mad max style by a 10 year old on a chicken chaser.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭Tony Danza

biko wrote:
    I think the guards have other things to do than chasing scumbags in the park, although it'd be nice with a bit of police presence when you need it.
    I doubt they were doing any of those things that are more worthwhile at that moment.

biko wrote:

he brought there so he can run and play with the other dogs, of which there are many but when the scumbag bike people are around he is on a lease, it one of those extendable things, and the only dead ducks i have seen are those killed by the scumbags with pellet guns

biko wrote:

the police are supposed to be keep order and protecting people. the kids are on un-taxed and un-insure motor vehicles which is a crime, they are terrorising people using the park i.e, hurling, GAA, Soccer, fishing, walking etc. A number of parked cars have been broken into and you dont think this is a police matter? i would like to know exactly what else the police are doing? having tea?

First of all. If you had gardas in the park all dogs must be kept on a lead all the time. No more running around with the other dogs. This is also against the law.

However if you feel that you are intimidated by all means ask for more gardai. Make this an election issue when they come canvassing at your door.

biko wrote:
    Make this an election issue when they come canvassing at your door.

never mind an election issue - I have a list of complaints and concerns for them, they are photocopied so they can take a copy away with them :D

irishbird wrote:
    never mind an election issue - I have a list of complaints and concerns for them, they are photocopied so they can take a copy away with them :D
    :D I'm gonna do that too. Great idea!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭dame

I've seen those little bikes on the footpaths up in the Phoenix Park too. They usually don't wear helmets either.

Quad bikes and those little scrambling bikes can be a problem on the Curragh in Co.Kildare too. I'd like to know where their parents are. They seem to just drop them off and leave them there for a few hours. The little kids don't seem to be even able to manage them half the time and have no idea of safety what so ever. They'll fly out from behind gorse bushes and around hills and don't care about others out walking or running. I've seen many people trying to avoid them but the little f*ckers seem to enjoy swinging past elderly women out walking their dogs and spraying them with muck.

Once again; Where are the parents??? Do they realise how dangerous quads and bikes are? Can they really not afford a helmet after forking out a few hundred for the bike? Why don't they at least supervise their offspring and teach them manners and courtesy to others?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Its completely the parents fault.They buy the bikes for the kids,put petrol in them and let the kids drive around the place whenever they feel lik eit.I've seen one of the gardens that these bikes are parked in,three or four quads and an equal number of inbred,obviously unemployed adults standing around drinking.Hit the parents in the pocket everytime thier pups create a problem and they'll soon reign them in.

can i just say, it wasnt quad bikes last night, it Miniature motor bikes, these things look exactly like big people motor bikes, they were doing wheelies and i think there was a parent with them on one of this little bikes - some is going to get hurt and unfortunately, it is going to be some innocent out walking,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Feral Mutant

The obvious solution here is to get a bigger, angrier dog and train him to hate bikes.

the stupid yoke runs at their wheels snarling, he also attacks the lawnmover and the hoover, i think it is the noise - bloody pedigrees :D