Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stupid things to do on a bike

• 01-04-2007 06:44PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭

I did the most stupid thing ever today whilst stopping at the M50 tollbridge. When I pulled up to the booth I noticed a nice shiney Euro on the ground, thinking to myself "I'll have that, it'll save me having to rummage for change", i bend down to pick up said Euro. And then guess what happened ???......

I FELL OVER !!! :eek: , and right in front of 3 other bikers (thank god I don't know them)

Luckily there's no damage done to the bike or myself, but I felt about 5 inches tall and made a right fool of myself.

Now that I've shared my inner most secrets with you please share your biking blunders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I've done something similar.
    Twas a lovely sunny Sunday afternoon so I thought I'd take a spin to Bull Island in Clontarf.
    Plan was to park the bike and go for a good long walk for an hour, perfect weather for it.

When I crossed the causeway I decided to drive across about 30 metres of sand to get to the a pillar that looked ideal for locking the bike up.

I made it about 5 metres before the back wheel sank and I fell off. Highly embaressing. I always thought you could drive a motorbike on sand(Paris-Dakar rally), somwhere I went wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭Idleater

KTRIC wrote:
    i bend down to pick up said Euro....

Oh man, that's class!

I've always been meaning to pick up some of that shrapnel, but my plan was to pop the bike onto the stand, walk around and gather it all up.

Takes more time see.

Sorry for laughing. I really hope you and the bike are ok!

L.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,779 ✭✭✭MrPudding

I was going to pick up some change and the toll guy told me it was his and to leave it alone.

MrP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭Idleater

MrPudding wrote:
    I was going to pick up some change and the toll guy told me it was his and to leave it alone.

MrP

Tell him to get up of his @rse and go and pick it up so...

or else, drop your coins on the ground first, so you have to "pick them up" ;););)

L.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭KTRIC

To make it even worse the f*cktard in the booth wouldn't accept the Euro, made it even worse.

Don't know what was going threw my mind when I decided to pick it up !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭sutty

KTRIC wrote:
    To make it even worse the f*cktard in the booth wouldn't accept the Euro, made it even worse.

Don't know what was going threw my mind when I decided to pick it up !!

Tight as a ducks hole:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Bradidup

KTRIC wrote:
    I did the most stupid thing ever today whilst stopping at the M50 tollbridge. When I pulled up to the booth I noticed a nice shiney Euro on the ground, thinking to myself "I'll have that, it'll save me having to rummage for change", i bend down to pick up said Euro. And then guess what happened ???.......

I did the exact same a number of years ago at the West Link only to be told off by a woman in the tool booth that it was their property, I desputed and and proceeded to get off my bike and pick it up. I said it belonged to genuine customers that dropped it. Most of the money is impossible to pick up as its imbedded in the tar. I then paid for myself and two other bikes me in the one payment. As took off, the boom came down and whacked my ex on the head on another bike, got damages for shock and new lid etc for £6000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Laserface

ffs :lol:

On Saturday i went out for a spin on the west cork coastal route. I stopped off at garrettstown beach for a fag and a bit of a pose.

I was sitting on the bike, texting someone i think, then i decided to get off and walk over to the wall for a better view.

Did I remember to put the stand down??

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,779 ✭✭✭MrPudding

Laserface wrote:
    ffs :lol:

On Saturday i went out for a spin on the west cork coastal route. I stopped off at garrettstown beach for a fag and a bit of a pose.

I was sitting on the bike, texting someone i think, then i decided to get off and walk over to the wall for a better view.

Did I remember to put the stand down??

No.
    LOL. I have nearly done that a couple of times.

The funniest I have heard is from the guy that took me for my CBT. He went to visit a mate and parked up on the pavement. When he was leaving the mate came out and they were chatting away. He got his gear on and got on the bike, stand up and left foot down, still chatting away. He ended up chatting for longer than expected and forgot where he was parked put the right foot down to get the bike in gear and found the 6 inch drop of the pavement to the road. A nice tumble.

MrP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭The Doktor

Went down to collect the friday night take away. Pulled up outside the Indian, and leaned the bike over to the left to put it on the sidestand.... that was still up. And you only figure it out when the bike is past the point of no return..... ah..ah.. ah... BOLLOCKS!
    Quick look around to make sure no one saw, cos that would just add insult to injury.
    Though i was impressed that I was able to pick up a Pan European by meself with out any help...
    Know a guy who dropped his Pan, and went to lift it up, but when he got it upright it kept goin...DOH!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭Drax

Once I was so delighted at getting some lovin' the night before, had a big smiley head on me this day, so wasnt paying full attention - I came up to a junction, went to take off, let the clutch out a bit to quick, the bike stalled and I couldnt catch it - fell off. I picked it up, a bit stunned and it then fell over the other way. Big line of cars building up behind me and not one f*cker got out to help me. :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Stoppied in front of about 30 impressionable young school girls on my CBR6 when I was 19, and binned it. School girls can look interesting from the flat of your back though, if you know what I mean!! :D

ned78 wrote:
    Stoppied in front of about 30 impressionable young school girls on my CBR6 when I was 19, and binned it. School girls can look interesting from the flat of your back though, if you know what I mean!! :D

Short skirts are great arent they :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Luckycharm

Well once managed to fill the bike full of diesel was thinking of something else when pulled up to the pumps and only realised when full :( A courier helped me work out to get it out after about an hour without causing damage- felf very foolish :p

What would have happened if I started it full of diesel would the engine have Ceased?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Im sure im the only one who did this but one time on my first bike years ago (virago) i was yapping to a girl in girl while standin by my junior hog. Anyway i had taken the chain off the rear wheel but forgot the disc lock on the front. I looked so cool tryin to do a speedy start to impress her when i moved 6 inches forward, and all the way down to the ground too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

pulleda wheelie when a guard was coming the other way..
    did not notice him. he turned .i disappeared . was ****ing it the whole way home in case he reported me. that was the end of the wheelies for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,969 ✭✭✭✭tk123

I can't think of anything I've done that would be in the same league as you guys? :rolleyes: :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Chunkylover

was getting my hair cut one afternoon, I left my helmet down on the bench, walked out after, totally forgetting it, got on the bike and when down dorset street wondering why everyone was looking at me, took about 30 seconds to realise what I had done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Wossack

was getting my hair cut one afternoon, I left my helmet down on the bench, walked out after, totally forgetting it, got on the bike and when down dorset street wondering why everyone was looking at me, took about 30 seconds to realise what I had done

you didnt get a mullet did you? :eek: :D

j/k! lucky no gardai spotted ya

tk123 wrote:
    I can't think of anything I've done that would be in the same league as you guys? :rolleyes: :D

You dropped your helmet didnt ye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭Dr4gul4

The Doktor wrote:
    You dropped your helmet didnt ye?

Dropped the hand more like :rolleyes:

/me hides

Dr4gul4 wrote:
    Dropped the hand more like :rolleyes:

/me hides

;):confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,969 ✭✭✭✭tk123

hey!!! I didn't drop the helmet - it fell !! :D and it wasn't like i was at a toll booth or anything!! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭sutty

Yeah TK, dont worry, what ever you like to do in the privacy of your own home is ok.....

no really it is :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Interceptor

I was watching some preddy laydees and ran into the back of a parked car, wrecked its bumper, dented my pride but didn't damage the bike due to low speed of impact. Boy did I feel like a nelly...

The guy who owned the car was really cool - said he had a bike and that accidents happened and that the bumper was damaged anyways and not to worry about it.

'cptr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,907 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

The guy who owned the car was really cool - said he had a bike and that accidents happened and that the bumper was damaged anyways and not to worry about it.

'cptr
    Sound man! :)

I never did anything like this in the 9 months I've been riding... Missed 2nd gear a few times and got a few looks from people wondering who the fook was revving their engine like a mad man, that's about it really...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭madrab

<_<
    >_>
    <_<

I was driving home yesterday & i decided to go into tesco at clarehall, i was driving slowly through the bollards making sure my mirrors would be ok. it looked good so i started driving through
    my foot got caught the bollard & twisted nearly all the way round hurt like fook & now im limping all over the place

madrab wrote:
    my foot got caught the bollard & twisted nearly all the way round hurt like fook & now im limping all over the place
    Sorry Madrab, I laughed... :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭madrab

at what...i did nothing :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Trying to have sex on the bike and end up crashing and totalling the front forks and the petrol tank.

Thaedydal wrote:
    Trying to have sex on the bike and end up crashing and totalling the front forks and the petrol tank.

Don't believe you, where are the pics ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,754 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Thae - that's o.k. so long as you weren't on yer own.......:eek: or is that the other way round.......??

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,754 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

KTRIC..........wouldn't it be awful if someone in NTR was reading this......and the cctv footage appeared on YouTube??

we live........in hope !!

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Most of the phoenix park doesn't have cct cameras :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Conor_1978

going back a few years, I got my first ever bike, a Dragstar 125, (only new bike I ever bought) had taken a grand total of 2 driving lessons, presuming driving would be easy. Went to take it home from Lucan bike shop to maynooth, got on , having trained on a nice honda with the ignition in plain sight on the handle bars, I stuck my key in the petrol cap to start it..... :( To this day my mates won't let live that one down.. It's been years and I still hear it ..

The drive home was fun, took the backroad, came to the flyover between celebridge and leixlip, halfway across got my gears stuck between second and third, couldn't understand why it was reving insanely high as i back the throttle, so kicked the gear level.. down, slammed into first and I became the only one I know to pull a wheelie on a cruiser, across a flyover.. the guy coming the other way in a car turned white as a milk bottle and my mate following behind nearly crashed he was laughing so hard.

Can I call you Mr Bean Conor_1978? Hilarious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Conor_1978

lol, feel free, my mates called me worse, though I can happily ssay in all the years since I have never done anything quite so embarrassing again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭psicic

Apart from one incident when I was checking out a jogger last summer, I think I can honestly say poor road conditions (e.g. rain), poor road surface (e.g. melted tar) and poor road users (e.g. a huge amount of the drivers out there) have contributed to the more embarrassing incidents I've been involved in.

<_<
    >_>
    <_<

In other words, I find a reason to get angry at someone or something else whenever I pull a KTRIC!!!

psicic wrote:
    In other words, I find a reason to get angry at someone or something else whenever I pull a KTRIC!!!

excuse me !!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭psicic

I propose a new entry for the BBS (Boards Biker Slang):

KTRIC, [kay-trik]

-noun

1. An embarrassing action performed in a motorbike related situation that the rider hopes no one else sees or remembers: "It was a proper KTRIC - I was distracted by jiggling joggers and accelerated into the back of a parked Airbus."
    2. boards.ie user of the same name who spawned the thread, so earned the definition.

:p

(by the way...I blame both the Airbus and the joggers not me.....um...not that I did that or anything....)

I haven't yet pulled a KTRIC in my (nearly) 10 months of riding but whenever I do, you guys will be the first to know! I love KTRICs, they make me laugh! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,850 ✭✭✭Fnz

I haven't yet pulled a KTRIC
    ... and I can't imagine KTRIC confirming your claims if you do! You'll have to post photos of that drunken night! ;)

EDIT: How rude of me... Hello Motorcycle forum.

Fnz wrote:
    ... and I can't imagine KTRIC confirming your claims if you do! You'll have to post photos of that drunken night! ;)
    LOL :D Took me 5 minutes to understand what you were talking about! Pulling KTRIC... LOL

Re: Stupid things to do on a bike.

1 - Invade Iran?
    2 - DMT?
    3 - Breakdance?

Lads, it appears to me that hot chicks are the cause of most of our spills! They should be wearing hi-viz mini-skirts and bikini tops to warn us of the imminent danger!

Drax wrote:
    They should be wearing his viz mini-skirts and bikini tops to warn us of the imminent danger!
    Quiet you... they'll kill us all with that rigout. Burqas for everyone! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭wb

Had only got my bike, and thought I'd take a quick short cut through some grass in UCD. Felt great passing all the lovely ladies until I slipped on some wet grass. Felt like a muppet trying to pick the bike up and trying not to slip again.

When I had a moped, I forgot to turn on my lights one night:eek: Nearly got hit a few times, and was cursing every one. Then it I copped it :(

I tried spinning my bike (well... Gilera moped) around in a circle on grass with the front brake engaged. Ended with me on the grass. Would have been (even) cooler if I had of managed more than a quarter circle 'doughnut'. Guess I couldn't handle that much raw BHP. :D

3 friends witnessed.
    wb wrote:
    When I had a moped, I forgot to turn on my lights one night:eek: Nearly got hit a few times, and was cursing every one. Then it I copped it :(
    Yeah, they ain't exactly high beams - more like glorified reflectors. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

some brilliant, brilliant ones.
    i'm laughing cos i feel yer pain.

mine isn't too bad
    got my pan only about a day or 2. felt like the dogs b0***x
    came to a stop sign on the verge of limerick city stopped, looked and went to take off in 2nd gear bike stalled and fell on its side. couldn't believe it happened so fast. even though my helmet was on i knew they could see my red embarrassing head on me
    a pakistan lad helped me pick it up i was so greatful to him i couldn't get out of there fast enough.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭NiSmO