Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

aintree punchestown

• 01-04-2007 10:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭

any board members attend either of these festivals ?never been to aintree myself as it doesnt appeal much to me ,dont know why but i do try to attend punchestown every year -anyone else ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭HiCloy

Never been to aintree but would like to

Been to punchestown festival a couple of times, like it
    - Good atmosphere
    - Big crowds, although does lead to pretty bad traffic. I got the arranged racecourse bus from busaras one year and missed the first 2 races!
    - good quality racing, although a lot of the stars are put away for the season at this stage, and usually a poor english challenge in general
    - its a good racecourse, good facilities and viewing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭knighted

last year at punchestown i only made it for 1 day but the naas taxi men were charging 20 euros from the track to naas and vice versa total rip -i enquired how much to take me home it usually cost about 40 euros -was told it was now 100 -told them to stick it and by 1am i got home for 40 cause they were doing no business -total rip off but with the new structure taxi payments it should be rectified-great pubs in naas for after racing craic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 cessile iarmhi

I looked into going to aintree this year and found a good package for €329 for two nights and only one days racing for the saturday. two reasons why i didn't take it as i'm not fond of the grand national as it is a lottery race and the second is i'd love to go on the friday as i personaly think it is a better days racing and i think history shows that.
    I like punchstown as a race track but i still think leppordstown is the best race track in ireland for view points for the ordinary racing going person like myself.
    will be heading to fairyhouse Easter monday for the irish national on monday will be going for my 17th year in a row since i was five.
    As long as it not like a disaster like last year never heard fairyhouse so quiet, but the previous year numbersixvalverde did the trick with the help from a tip going in the gate

tip going in the gate?every time im there im given a tip from the lady selling racecards she picked up off the ground or the tramp begging-and they usually win lol-wasnt one of theses two was it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Yeah I go to Aintree most years, the best thing about Liverpool is the nightlife, hotels push up the prices naturally so you need to book well in advance. Some nice scenery at Aintree on the Friday as its ladies day! For the Grand National try and get up on one of the rooftop stands, its some scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭decies

I will be going to punchestown festival on the 24th april from waterford.
    Coach transfer to punchestown stopping at gowran for champagne breakfast.
    Reserved enclosure admission tickets and complimenterary racecard all for 50 euro:D :D

Was on a coach trip to Michael hourigans yard and limerick races last sunday.15 of us had a royal box just beside michael o learys one ;)
    Chicken dinner before the first race a tv to watch the races if we couldn,t walk ten feet to the balcony!!!!!
    Plenty of wine and tea,sandwiches and cocktail sausasages before the last race.
    About 14 of us won the jackpot each won 25 euro :p:p

Ps Hourigan (very nice man) said Dancing tornado will win his next race and watch out for underacheiver :rolleyes:
    Beef or salmon looked well and posed for photos :D:D .
    Mossbank had blood disorder and hi cloy looking forward to aintree
    PPS: Dancing tornado runs 5-35 clonmel thursday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Hoofer

Never been to Aintree..doesn't appeal to me..packed crowds and everyone just there for the tail and drink....Cheltenham is the one for me.As soon as its over I concentrate on the flat though...I feel proper jumps racing is over when the festival concludes....been to Punchestown once, very busy and a nightmare to get out of after racing. Heading to Cork on monday for some flat action but I will be keeping an eye on the national as well....With this weather wer having the brilliant Galway festival seems closer and closer....hope they sort the water out

yes the publicans down there will have to use evian to water down the lager this year:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Hoofer

knighted wrote:
    yes the publicans down there will have to use evian to water down the lager this year:D

Good one Knighted...Ya, theres no danger of them spending money to do that...Can u imagine all the water they would have to get in for the racecourse if it isnt sorted by then...I think buckfast will be even more popular this year not that it isnt popular down there allready!!!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭Baggio

good stuff lads,
    ...go to punchestown every year..*run around it twice a week anyway eheheh*.....live in naaas, so is veryy handy...i like the festival there,.,.,,great atmosphere..great chicks!,,,racing tends to be good, although often horses have gone over the top for it etc. Fairyhouse for the national twice,,,was a collddd spot,,,leapordstown the same...cheltenham i liked...but you have to eh!"
    The curragh i love going to...plenty of room and a great spot on a warm summers day...and kilbeggan for the evning racing...

what ya's fancy in the aintree national?...Point Barrow for me and a sneaky savour on Livingstone brambel ..both e/w of course :)

ciao' amigos...Baggio.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭Murta

I kinda fancy Joes Edge for Grand National. According to Fredy horse is better than ever. Judging by Cheltenham and Fairyhouse, Fredy knows his stuff.
    I thinking of a saver on Idle Talk and Silver Birch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭easytiger!

Heading to Aintree for the first time this year, with a crew of around 30 from down home(anyone know good a detox centre?). Staying in Southport, it's an annual trip for the rest of the lads, I usually try to make Cheltenham instead, but looking forward to it. Will probably back Numbersixvalverde for the National again, everyone from home was on last year at fancy prices. Fancy Bothar Na for a saver as well. As regards Punchestown, I think it's a great festival, usually stay with mates down around Naas, but even when I drive down find out it's handy enough to get in and out of, that bookends the serious racing season for me, will abstain then until Gaillimh;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Were-rabbit

Punchestown every year for the last six years or so (age making memory a bit hazy). Usually at least two days of the festival, Thursday and Friday this year(though if can work out another day will go that as well).
    Love the fact that you do not need the reserved enclosure access to see the pre parade and parade rings unlike some other courses. In fact last year I do not think I once went into the reserved area even though had badge to do so. :)
    No so fond of The Crowds on the Friday, the last few years been mad and each year getting worse.. :(