Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just out of curiosity?.

• 01-04-2007 12:22am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭

Can one of those laser key ring yokes cause damage?. Say if you flashed it across and you catch it in someones eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Yeah, it's like the sun. If you stare at it you'll go blind.
    You'd probably be ok, from just a glance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Clarehobo

Article here(I presume they're the laser pointers you're talking about)

http://www.drgreene.org/body.cfm?xyzpdqabc=0&id=21&action=detail&ref=607
    The most well-supported risk estimate suggests that the retina can theoretically be damaged if someone were to stare into the beam for 10 seconds (Ophthalmology 1997; 104:1213).

This is nearly impossible to achieve. In this situation, 10 seconds is nearly an eternity. The pupil, blink, and gaze-averting reflexes stop significant exposures in less than 0.25 seconds. Even in the office of an eye surgeon, with a chin rest, a target, and a machine to aim the beam steadily, it is difficult to keep a beam on a single spot for more than a few tenths of a second. So, a laser pointer in mischievous hands carries no real risk for immediate or delayed retinal damage.

Lasers can, however, dazzle the eyes. Both pain and dazzle spot images are common results of looking at a laser beam. This has given rise to panic in many individuals. Although laser pointers have never been found to do damage, they have produced hysterical blindness--people who can't see because they are convinced they can't

Why would you want to shine it into someone's eyes though?:confused:

On another point; one of my brother's friends got kicked out of a gig for shining one up at the person on stage.:rolleyes:
    Idiot had been warned not to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

They can be dangerous, but not with general use.

You'd only really suffer damage if you stared directly at the source of the light for about 10/15 seconds [why would ye like?]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

During late 2004 a man was arrested in USA under terrorist laws when he was identified as pointing a high power green laser pointer into the cockpit of an airplane. The USA recently made it a Federal offense, punishable by up to 5 years in prison, to point a laser at an aircraft. USA Lasers ACT 2005

Of course, the ones on the key ring probably wouldn't be too powerful but repeated viewing will no doubt cause damage. Maybe I'll have a go on my eyes. :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

It's hugely unlikely they could cause a lot of damage, unless you tape somebodies eyes open and have it fixed on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,725 ✭✭✭oleras

Get a keyring with a class 4 laser attached.... then see the smoke rise from your eyeballs !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

It depends a lot on the type of laser. Powerful lasers can actually damage your eye if you don't even stare into them. Lasers outside of our visible wavelength are also dangerous as your blink reflex doesn't kick in. The more powerful ones are even dangerous to your skin.

Class 2 laser isn't going to cause serious damage unless you stare into it. Accidently briefly hitting someone with it might hurt them, but shouldn't do any lasting damage (if in doubt see an optician).

One of previous jobs they had a special laser printer (Using a high powered laser). When a guy came into service it they put a huge tent up and he went in to the tent in googles and protective clothes.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Of course there are more powerful lasers.
    The OP is referring to cheap key ring ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil

I don`t plan on doing it to anyone, just someone got me in the eye a few yeas back and that eye tends to get sore. Just curious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

If only there was a glasses and eye forum...*moves to feedback*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Did you try to do DIY laser eye surgery too?:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Dooom

boreds wrote:

/rummage

Yay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,725 ✭✭✭oleras

Spike wrote:
    /rummage

Yay!

picture 2 looks a bit suspect............ maybe thats why he needs eye surgery !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil

boreds wrote:

Lol, it was some one else who was acting the maggot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Virtually impossible to get damaged eyes from them. There are standards for varying eye damage lasers can do. AFAIK there are no laser pointers on sale to the general public that can harm your eyes permentaly. If you were strapped to a chair and had your eyes propped open with matchsticks and had the laser pointed straight in your eyes then yeah it might happen. I'm working with some guys who perform experiments on eyes using lasers and the amount of paperwork and precautions taken is huge to ensure to damage is done. Even in my project the laser we're using has to be within acceptable limits of eye tolerance even though the chances that someone would actually see the beam are miniscule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

kevmy wrote:
    If you were strapped to a chair and had your eyes propped open with matchsticks and had the laser pointed straight in your eyes then yeah it might happen.

You better knock on wood, because you're going to feel really stupid when it happens to you! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

humanji wrote:
    You better knock on wood, because you're going to feel really stupid when it happens to you! :D

Planning something are we?