Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the worst thing that's hit you from the vehicle in front

• 31-03-2007 10:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭

Just wondering what's the worst thing that's hit any of the riders out there.

On a trip to Galway was behind a truck for 10 mins only to have a corner of it's mud flap fall off fly up and hit my left hand. Was small enough so didn't effect anything. But didn't know what it was at the time so was a brace yourself and hope for the best moment.

The other day had a truck carrying earth in front. Winds were a bit strong and a large stone came off the top and hit me on the left hip.

Oh and a site I got a link to recently. http://www.motorcyclecrashvids.com/
    Check out the bike versus deer vid. Rider had no chance to avoid that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

A Wasp.

I could see the fecker coming at me from the distance. A black dot coming closer.

And closer...

And closer still...

SPLAT! Right in the centre of my visor. Then slid sideways off to the edge leaving a nice streak.

Just FYI, don't bother "wiping" the little fecker's remains, they just smear over the entire surface of the visor.

L.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Half a brick. Hit me on the shin.

2 things spring to mind. One was also a wasp except I had my visor open!, I pulled over very quickly and had a good look for him but thankfully he was nowhere to be seen.

Another time I was on the N7 behind a car when I see an exhaust section in the middle of the road. I would have been able to see it if it weren't for the car in front. Thankfully my TDR did a little hop straight over it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭Elfish

A cigarette butt. Don't wear visor fully down but almost closed, and it still managed to get into my helmet. Still have little mark on me smig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

some lad spat out of his car window. my visor was up and it hit me in the eye.
    and once i was riding behind a septic tank sucker truck. it was leaking all over the road. got covered in a film of ****. does not get much worse than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭dogpile

Spray off a windshield wiper...I'm certain some c*nts do this on purpose when they see a biker behind :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭madrab

Bag of fishguts!

it was disgusting & the worst part was thart it wrapped around me foot & the exhaust so it took me ages to get it off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

ah lads, this is a horrible thread for a beginning biker to be reading on a monday morning lol

(dont stop though, some funny stuff)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

dogpile wrote:
    Spray off a windshield wiper...I'm certain some c*nts do this on purpose when they see a biker behind :cool:

Yeah this really irritates me. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Chunkylover

got stung by a bee once, just under the helmet, had a bird crap on my boot (the left 1), been sprayed more than enough and hit a front bumper from a fiesta, who guessed she was going to turn right, I mentioned about using her indicators and she just looked at me blankly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭The Doktor

Had a cigerette butt hit me once. I stopped and picked it up and went after the aul one who threw it at me. She got away:mad: lucky here cos I wasnt impressed.
    Im gonna get a water pistol, and any time I get squirted, I`ll pull up beside the car and squirt the driver.."now.. how do u like it"
    Its not so bad if its just water, but those additives dont taste nice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Dorsanty

So I've got being stung, burnt and stinking to look forward to. Great. :eek:

Thought the flying bugs were after me the other day alright. Lid was going 'BANG BANG BANG' every few seconds on way into the city. Body count was getting close to that 300 film. Thought my lid was going to be covered but it turns out the loud hits are the deflections, it's the squish sound that leaves the mess behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Laserface

Dorsanty wrote:
    it's the squish sound that leaves the mess behind.
    Lol..I heard that's the case alright

yeah..fag butts are the biggest annoyance.
    Had one land in my lap once and go under my crotch.
    I ****in screamed like a girl and still don't know how I didn't fall off.
    when i pulled over to check..there was nothing.

Moral of the story lads...stay feckin well away from cars...no matter what

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

Three times Ihave had problems with wasps. Twice they went into my helmet, once on my down frrom Johnnie Foxes got stung, another time I was heading down the Naas Road, see the little fcuker coming flying towards me, think the impact of cracking into the side of my helmet killed him, and I pulled in and was able to flick him off me before he did some real damage.

Worst thing that ever happened me:
    I was driving through Terenure, and I could see a load of activity just ahead, just before the Guarda station. By the time I had gotten up to where I thought was a load of dust, I reliased it was a swarm of wasps/bees. I went straight through them, adn they must have been nearly dead cos they all practically fell onto my jacket, and trousers. I got to the lights put the bike on the stand and brushed them all of me - I was freaking out.

I don't think I managed to get stung. What happened was there was a bin truck in front and he must have hit something in a tree, and creamed a load of them. I was just behind the truck and went flying into them. Lovely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭tabatha

why dont you get the reg numbers of these idiots with the fag butts and report them. they can be done for littering. soon wipe the smiles off there faces when they are hit with a fine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

I've had a nappy. Highlight of my year that was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Had a bee fly up my sleeve, and sting me on the wrist.. Very annoying..
    Worst thing I ran over was some fresh fox roadkill.. Didn't see it until it was too late. Messy and scary at the same time..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Garibaldi

Haven't been hit by anything particularly unusual (being stung in the neck by a wasp isn't as much fun as it sounds, though), but the one foreign object that simultaneously caused me to nearly **** myself, come to a screeching halt (regardless of what was behind me), leap off the bike - kicking my GF in the thigh in the process, and beat the tank with a branch (seriously), was a spider, 8cm long (from front to back legs) that crawled out from under the tank and began making its evil, disgusting, sinister way towards my crotch. I don't know what its intentions were, and I wasn't waiting to find out.

When you're arachnophobic, you just have to take every day, one day at a time.

Oh yeah, the penance for bruising the GF's leg was far worse, and longer lasting, than the spider's life, but that's mental illness for ye. :D

Ah, I just remembered, I was also hit in the chest by a pigeon (low speed, but surprised the hell out of both of us), and had a football go under my front wheel when I was leaned over making that left around Jury's Inn at Christchurch. Bit of a heart-stopper, that was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭japjap

I use to never have the visor down. Then one day, for no particular reason I did have the visor down. Suddenly the vision in my right eye was blocked as I heard a loud thud. Nearly fell off. It was a big blob of cement, covering half the visor, came off a cement truck going in the opposite direction.

Ever since I always have the visor down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭bugs

Got hit with a bag of nails that fell off the back of a builders lorry. Bounced on the ground in front of the bike, i guess the bag split and i got showered with nails. Surprised the sh1t outta me but did no damage.
    Didn't realise what they were until i circled around and at that stage he was long gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭babybundy

a step on an nsr no real damage but my nuts were in bits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Pigeon Reaper

Two pigeons, a couple of cig butts, rubbish from bin trucks and the worse was two large concrete slabs from a truck. I luckily kept my distance from the truck which dropped the slabs as they would have killed anyone even in a car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭saobh_ie

I was on the M1 just past the Swords/Airport entrance on the way into the city center behind a bin truck...

I'd been there for five seconds and the smell was poxy so I was eying the outside lane for gaps, any gaps to force my way into.

When the remains of a bin bag and half a head of cabbage bounced off my arm leaving a big slimey juciey streak across my shoulder. Luckily it thundered rain before I got to my destination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Nothing major. Had a cigarette butt come flying against the visor once. Luckily it was down, or I would have had a cigarette in my eye doing 60mph on the motorway :eek: I hate smokers.

Also had a tiny, tiny stone hit me on the shin. I was doing 50mph. Stone came from a truck coming from the opposite direction. It was only a tiny stone, but going at a net speed of 100mph, it still managed to break the skin and cause a small bruise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Interceptor

Was behind a truck when its rear tyre blew out - was showered with bits of rubber and almost lost bladder control with the bang but didn't fall off.

Anytime a fag butt gets thrown out near me I pull level with the car and make friendly finger signals which might have sexual connotations....

'cptr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭wb

This sounds like something from Fr Ted, but a good few years back, I knew a nun who drove a honda 50. Like some of the earlier stories, a wasp flew into her helmet, and she went careering into the grassy bank where some kids were playing football. They were all rolling around laughing which was terrible, but I must admit it makes me smile every time I think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭beerbaron

Me too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭sutty

I once had a stone come out from under a car tire. It was fairly big and some how done a magic bullet job on me. I came in just under the left indicator, looped up a bit, missed the tank and hit me square in the nuts! I was in a lot of pain till about 4 hours after that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭psicic

I've hit a lot of things, like insects, grass verges and tarmac, but as for stuff coming from the car in front?

Well, last year I was behind several cars when they suddenly drove through dust on the road. I wasn't tailgating or anything in either case, but it's scary when you lose visibility all of a sudden.

On the motorway, it's easy to lose visibility when you wear glasses and there's a lot of spray about. Coming back from my last stop in Galway in the Photo Rally last year was a nightmare!

Then there was the inside wire from a hubcap. Could see that the car in the lane to the left (which is a left only lane...but let's not quibble at their lack of road awareness) had obviously lost the hub cab just at the previous traffic lights. It accelerated up to 60 just after Donnybrook, and cut into my lane without signalling having suddenly decided to respect the bus lane. The rim comes flying back, rolling along. I swerve to avoid it, it whacked of the top of my left boot - feels like it's momentarially caught on there and then keeps rolling back. Not really exciting now, but it hurt and I almost shat a little at the time.

Oh, and kind of related, when I was new to the bike I was going around a corner, saw something fly out of car, leaned too much and managed to catch my foot between bike and ground. Don't know how I did it, but it scared the life out of me.

Aside from that, just the usual loose chippings and water from windscreen wipers.

Ooooh....that reminds me....b*stards who deliberately do that - decide that they need to wash their windscreens when I'm behind them..... :mad: One day, I'll not just f*cking rev my engine or beep my horn when someone does that. One day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Conor_1978

Two litre carton of Dawn dairies best. Never realised milk could hurt so much, but at motorway speeds it can really hurt. Took me in the right knee, it bounced out of the back of a builders flatbed in front of me on the Motorway from Maynooth in towards Dublin, I tried to avoid it, but that damn thing bounced twice, changed direction both times, exploded across me and left me and my leathers stinking to high heaven when I got to work on a fine sunny summers morning. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 andy gaw

Drove to Donegal last weekend and just outside Athlone got a slap of a feckin jackdaw in the face,,, bastard **** all over me before he died. As for those windscreen cleaners..a quick bang on their wing mirrors as you pass reminds them to be a bit more careful next time !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭DiscoStu

A huge bumblebee. He bounced off my jacket collar, up into the helmet and out the open visor. That was a bit of a shock especially the buzzing on my neck as he worked his way up.
    A small bird almost got caught between the front forks this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭ifah

spare wheel from a car hopped out of the under carriage tray in front of my brother and creamed him a couple of years back - made dust of all the fairing on his bike. (doing about 40mph at the time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭DBK

Had another bike hit me when he got hit by a truck that didn't indicate. Not much damage done to me but scared the **** out of me. Legs were a bit bruised but I was more worried about the other guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭theKED

About 2 years ago, it was a gorgeous summers day, so i was just taken the bike out for a short spin.
    I was wearing a white t shirt and leather pants and boots and visor open.

I was passing a truck that was pulled in at the side of the road, in a lay by.
    He must have been pulled over having his lunch, as i was coming up along side the truck i could see this arm coming out of the drivers window, swirl a mug around in the air and then proceeded to chuck the mug of boiling water over me. :eek:

I was scalded, right in the face and over my chest. jESUS! i screeched to a halt and parked the bike, took of my helmet and t shirt and started running back to the truck.
    I could see this pair of feet quickly been taken off the dash board of the lorry and his engine being started.
    When i got to the lorry i jumped up on his passenger side steps. Bare chested and red faced, but he was pulling off in a hurry so i had to jump down.

Lucky for his sake.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭Whizzo

A truck coming towards me was shedding its tyre and I was travelling around 80. A piece of tyre about the size of a pack of 20 cigs hit me half on the neck / half on the collar of my leather jacket. Like a big scary slap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Drax

Coming down a fairly empty M7 a few years ago came up behind a car which had overtaken another. Just before he pulled into the left lane a flattened fruit box came from beneath his car and the passing draught blew it up into the air. I immediately moved to avoid it but somehow the wind caught it and managed to blow it into my path (probably a bit of target fixation aswell - I was fairly new to bikes).... It put a hole in the front faring, smashed one of my two headlights, a small scratch on the tank but luckily the angle it came at meant it went across my shoulder! I pulled over as did the driver in front to check if I was ok. I was grand and it wasnt anyone's fault, so th driver headed off.
    Never knew balsa wood could be so dangerous!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

fair dues to yer man ahead stopping and checkin on you

scary stuff though! sounds like you were pretty lucky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭Cmar-Ireland

Jesus lads, I'm looking to get my first bike soon.
    All these horror stories are enought to put me off..........nearly!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Dorsanty

Trick is not to panic. Try not to have your fingers too close to that front brake lever.

I can add another story though now,
    Heading south on M50 and was in overtaking lane behind a car with open trailer carrying garden furniture. Doing 130kph I might add so wtf is a car with trailer doing going that speed. Rules of the road are clear on this, 80kph for car with trailer. Anyway keeping my distance cause I don't like the look of it and up pops a blue bottle about the size of a coke bottle and heads straight for me. My distance meant I avoided it. Only days later did I find myself thinking what would of happened if the wind got under the garden table which didn't look secured. Will try to better gesticulate my disapproval of such behavior in future so as to better inform the other driver that he's making the roads unsafe (Doesn't look like the forum has the hand signal icon I'm looking for).