Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This Weekends League Action (31st March-1st April 2007)

• 29-03-2007 1:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭

Well here are the fixtures for this weekends league game, discuss

Allianz National Football League - Round 6

-- 31.03.2007(Sat) @ 7.30pm --

Division 1A
    Tralee Ciarraí v Tír Eoghain
    Referee: Pat McGovern, Gaillimh

Division 1B
    Portlaoise Laois v Ard Mhacha
    Referee: Declan Hunt, Ros Comáin

Division 2B
    Páirc Tailteann 5.45 An Mhí v Port Láirge
    Referee: Seán Carroll, Iar Mhí

-- 01.04.2007 (Sun) @ 3.30pm --

Division 1A
    Clones Fear Manach v Corcaigh
    Referee: John Bannon, Longfort
    Castlebar Maigh Eo v Baile Átha Cliath
    Referee: Michael Hughes, Tír Eoghain
    Páirc na nGael 1.45 Luimneach v Dún na nGall
    Referee: Ger Lynch, Ciarraí

Division 1B
    Newcastle An Dún v Doire
    Referee: Pat McEnaney, Muineachán
    Dowdallshill 2.00 An Lú v Gaillimh
    Dundalk Referee: Aidan McAlynn, Doire
    Cusack Park 3.30 An Iarmhí v Cill Dara
    Referee: Padraig Hughes, Ard Mhacha

Division 2A
    Clones 1.45 Muineachán v Uíbh Fhailí
    Referee: Barry Toland, Doire
    Hyde Park Ros Comáin v Liatroim
    Referee: Cormac Reilly, An Mhí
    T.B.C. An Clár v Londain
    Referee: Tom Lynch, Ciarraí
    Dr Cullen Park 1.45 Ceatharlach v Longfort
    Referee: Pat Fox, Iar Mhí

Division 2B
    Markievicz Park Sligeach v Aontroim
    Referee: Declan Corcoran, Maigh Eo
    Kingspan Breffni Pk An Cabhán v Loch Garman
    Referee: Gregory Walsh, Aontroim
    Ardfinnan Tiobraid Árann v Cill Mhantáin
    Referee: Michael Meade, Luimneach

-- 01.04.2007 (Sun) @ 3.30pm --

Allianz National Hurling League - Round 5

Division 1A
    Walsh Park Port Láirge v Uíbh Fhailí
    Referee: Seanie McMahon, An Clár
    Cusack Park 1.30 An Clár v Corcaigh
    Referee: Denis Richardson, Luimneach
    Wexford Park Loch Garman v An Dún
    Referee: David Copps, Corcaigh

Division 1B
    Páirc na nGael Luimneach v Aontroim
    Referee: James McGrath, Iar Mhí
    Nowlan Park Cill Chainnigh v Gaillimh
    Referee: Brian Gavin, Uíbh Fhailí
    Nenagh Tiobraid Árann v Baile Átha Cliath
    Referee: Dominic Connolly, Cill Chainnigh

Division 2A
    Arklow Cill Mhantáin v Doire
    Referee: John Guinan, Cill Chainnigh
    Dr. Cullen Park Ceatharlach v Laois
    Referee: Michael O’Connor, Luimneach
    Páirc Tailteann An Mhí v Ard Mhacha
    Referee: Seán Whelan, Loch Garman

Division 2B
    Newbridge Cill Dara v Ciarraí
    Referee: Joe Kelly, Loch Garman
    Ruislip Londain v Iar Mhí
    Referee: Tommy McIntyre, Aontroim
    Maigh Eo Bye

Division 3A
    Tourlestrane Sligeach v Dún na nGall
    Referee: Martin Mulholland, Doire
    T.B.C. An Lú v Muineachán
    Referee: Declan Magee, An Dún
    Liatroim Bye

Division 3B
    Lisnaskea Fear Manach v Ros Comáin
    Referee: HP McCusker, An Dún
    Pearse Park Longfort v Tír Eoghain
    Referee: Tony Carroll, Uíbh Fhailí
    An Cabhán Bye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

It is a big weekend in the hurling, from a Wexford point of view I am hoping for a comprehensive win over Down. Although it is in our own hands as to whether we go through or not, I think that it will probably be through other results going our way. In 1A I expect Waterford, Cork and Wexford to make the knock out stages, with Offaly and Down facing the possibility of relegation. In 1B I expect Galway, Kilkenny and Tepperary to make it through, with Limerick and Antrim facing possibility of relegation.

In the football for Wexford, we have set ourselves a tough task by slipping up in the first game. The withdrawal of Diarmuid Kinsella from the squad has not helped, although he would have been unfairly suspended for this game anyway. It is a must win game in Breffini Park for us to stay in the hunt. I am expecting a tough game with Wexford prevailing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

A great match in store this weekend with Galway playing Kilkenny at Nowlan Park - this will show whether on not Galway will be able to hack with the big teams later on in the championship. KK will be fired up to beat Galway, although you could say the same on galway's behalf after the debacle below on Thurles.

It should be a good game, with the result in the balance until the very end (hopefully)

As for the footballers, Balke will be a loss at centre-back, but I think that there will be enough cover to beat Louth - possibly by 3+ points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Big weekend also for the Dubs in both codes. Unfortunately, you'd have to fancy Tipperary to win with home advantage in Nenagh on Sunday which will be a sad way for the hurlers to miss out on the knockout stages of the league despite an encouraging campaign thus far. From what I heard, they looked a bit lacklustre in Casement Park last night and you can't help but feel that 3 games in 7 days is just a tad too much. :(

As for the footballers, it really is time for them to stand up and be counted. I fear that we're in similar position going into the 2006 AI semi final in that we haven't really been tested in our previous two matches. However, a lot of the lads will want to make amends for throwing that game away last summer and a win here would set us up well for the game against Kerry on Easter Sunday with every chance of making it to the KO stages for the first time in 8 years. I fancy us to just scrape it by a point or two but I'm not underestimating Mayo on their home patch.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Big game for Cavan this weekend. A win would gain promotion to Division 2 next season and I think the Cavan players will be up for it after what happened at the end of last year. I expect Cavan to come out all guns blazing and really catch out Wexford with fast attacking play.

I think that Wexford will be equally up for it (being a must win game for them) but I think that home advantage for Cavan on the day will give them that added spring in their step. Cavan to win by 2-3 points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I will be at the match in Castlebar but I am going with a quiet confidence we can win.We are underdogs in this match with Mayo being at home and Dublin had two untested matches against Cork and Fermanagh.However,as I said,I would not look too much into Mayos last gasp win against Cork.Although Dublin did hammer Cork,I think that display was a one off by Cork even though I think we still would have won if Cork were on form.

The last time we went down to Castlebar,we got a 1-10 to 3 point hiding.I'd suspect that this won't be a one sided affair.Dublin can pip Mayos run in the league as we did the last two years.We got proper revenge for 2004 league defeat in 2006 by being the only team to beat Mayo in the league before the playoff.However,we need to win this to get a small amount of justice for the semi final last year.

Dublin hurlers were beaten by Antrim,which at this stage was a bit unexpected but the fact remains,Dublin play 2 games in the space of 3 days along with Antrim.Casement may have been the deciding factor between the two but I do think that Dublin can get a draw if they play out of their skins but in reality,it seems like Tipp will win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

I'll be in Castlebar also and my confidence is not so quiet. I think Mayo will win with a few points to spare. That we've got injury problems is my only concern. Having said that we have our first choice defence and some of our best forwards just a little weak around midfield and on the bench.
    A long time since we lost at home during the regular league season. We've beaten Kerry, Tyrone and Dublin in Castlebar over the last few years and I don't think we're weaker now than we were on any of those days. Looking forward to it though should be a good test and its an important game because we've Tyrone in Omagh on the last day and I don't want to be going up there looking for the win. Should be a good atmosphere to there always is with the Dubs.

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    I think that Wexford will be equally up for it (being a must win game for them) but I think that home advantage for Cavan on the day will give them that added spring in their step. Cavan to win by 2-3 points.

No it won't you are going to get served :p The Wexford team for Sunday has been named. I am glad to see Barry at centre forward, but I am suprised to see see Bradley at wing-forward, I wouldn't be suprised if the forwards moved around a bit.

Wexford (SF v Cavan): J Cooper; C Morris, P Wallace, B Malone; G Sunderland, D Murphy, A Morrissey; P Colfer, T Howlin; C Deely, R Barry, E Bradley; C Lyng, PJ Banville, M Forde.

It is also eight years since the controversial game between the two sides in Breffini

http://www.unison.ie/irish_independent/stories.php3?ca=37&si=565458&issue_id=5737&printer=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Well, in the football for Wicklow, it'll be big. A win against our closest team, Tipp, will hopefully consolidate 4th place, whereas a loss could be disastrous. And as my dad is a Tipp man, there could be some split loyalties here:D

In the hurling, Wicklow Vs. Derry in Arklow, a win means they finish top of Division 2A, something that was a surprise in all fairness. But fair play to them aswell, they havent lost a match, so they deserve something for their effort. And who knows, could build on it and play well in something like the Tommy Murphy Cup. A good League campaign though, so to top it off would be sweet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭daenis

Think the dubs will do it again this weekend. Taking into account our current form. I don't think it'll be the massacre that last years league game against mayo was but they're going out to redeem themselves.

No it won't you are going to get served :p The Wexford team for Sunday has been named. I am glad to see Barry at centre forward, but I am suprised to see see Bradley at wing-forward, I wouldn't be suprised if the forwards moved around a bit.

Wexford (SF v Cavan): J Cooper; C Morris, P Wallace, B Malone; G Sunderland, D Murphy, A Morrissey; P Colfer, T Howlin; C Deely, R Barry, E Bradley; C Lyng, PJ Banville, M Forde.

It is also eight years since the controversial game between the two sides in Breffini

http://www.unison.ie/irish_independent/stories.php3?ca=37&si=565458&issue_id=5737&printer=1
    But this time we won't lose our 10 point lead... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

daenis wrote:
    Think the dubs will do it again this weekend. Taking into account our current form. I don't think it'll be the massacre that last years league game against mayo was but they're going out to redeem themselves.

Current form against two teams that didn't turn up in Parnell Park?

I'd hope that those two walkovers would inspire a bit of confidence tbh, nut by no means would I consider it to be a good lead up to today's match.

I'll be at the match today, hoping for a Dublin 3 point win, but definitely not expecting one. The Donegal match didn't inspire much confidence for their abilities on the road :(

Hup the Dubs tho! :)

Wexford are 2 points up at half time in the football :) But they are down to 14 men for the second half and it sounds like Cavan will have the wind in the second half :(

A draw in the Wexford Cavan game, it is not a great result for Wexford they now need to beat Meath by 8 points to guarantee promotion :( At least there was an emphatic result for the Wexford hurlers which means that they will be playing Galway in the quarter finals :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

Well donegal and mayo through o knock-out stages so. Be interesting to see will it be Kerry, dublin or Tyrone who play in division 2 next year. God i hope it's not Kerry... Div 2, the shame!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

So Wicklow won today in both codes. In hurling, that means they are automatically through to the semi-finals, which is a big boost. They will hopefully have some missing players back by then. As for the football, the win puts them in good stead to achieve a top 4 finish, hence assuring Qualifier football this year, and what, a Division 3 spot next year? Good day all round for them then, big congrats should go out to the hurling team, unbeaten in Division 2A

Poor performance by Cavan today, they didn't look at the races at all. Missed about six or seven easy frees and should have been home and dry. The forwards were very very poor, Jason Reilly and Pierson were hiding behind their men for most of the game and it took the likes of McCabe, McKeever and Paul Brady to rescue the game for Cavan.

Great to see Lyng back for Cavan too, he's certainly looking very sharp and built like a tank compared to what he was before his injury. Hopefully with his and the returns to fitness by Rabbitte, Johnston and Larry Reilly we can make things happen this year.

[rant]
    On the down side of things and I have a feeling cruiserweight is going to defend his team to the last on this but, Wexford were disgraceful today. Diving, time wasting and were in some cases quite thuggish. Mattie Forde was Wexford's main culprit in all of this, firstly he got Mulvey sent off by play acting after Cavan had won a free, then after he was held scoreless by Hannon he very kindly landed a closed fist to the face of Hannon just on the sideline thus getting a ridiculous yellow card from his buddy in black.

Every second minute of the second half Wexford lay down and time wasted. If they had beaten Cavan it would have been a total injustice because as far as I and every other Cavan person around me was concerned, there was only one team out there playing football, and they were the boys in Royal Blue.

Don't get me started on the officiating either, the referee was an absolute joke. He was behind play for most of the game and gave some absolutely crazy decisions. The Forde incidents were laughable to be quite honest, obviously he was trying to ensure that he wouldn't have to answer to the GAA as to why the big star man Mattie was sent off. He was over fussy in the first half and then let all hell break loose in the second half.

As for the other officials, there was a Wexford point waved wide by the umpires that was over ruled by the linesman on the far side of the pitch. I can't really comment on this as I didn't have the angle to see it. However, a couple of minutes later there was a point given by the umpires kicked from the terrace side of the field that clearly went wide and the linesman who had a perfect view of it didn't do a thing. Ridiculous!

All in all, Cavan need to improve. They had an off day today so hopefully they can lift it for the rest of the league and championship campeigns. If they do, I'd say they could surprise a few people. Wexford are also a good team but need to start concentrating on playing football rather than playacting. They have good players all over the park as was witnessed in the first half and if they play football they could match most teams. The match officials need to, well, quit the game. The only place for them in the game is on the sideline admiring the sun, which is what I think they were looking at for the whole game. Or at least it impared their vision for some of it.[/rant]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

A good win for our footballers today over Louth - if we win next weekend against Down, I think we are through to the semi-finals and are assured of Division 1 football next year. I don't think many people would have thought that possible a few months ago.

As for the hurlers, they put up a reasonable showing against Kilkenny, but there is still a lot of work to do before the championship - Galway had nearly its full team out, whereas KK were missing Shefflin, 'Cha' Fitzpatrick and I wouldn't be surprised if TJ Reid makes their starting 15 this year. Kilkenny should have won this game by a lot more, Richie Power hadn't a good day - some of his misses were extremely poor, but they still won :eek:

Some of Galway's players went missing for long stages - Richie Murray, Tannion to name but 2. I have to say that John Lee was brilliant for Galway today - he is shaping up into an excellent centre-back, something we have needed for ages.

Another game for Galway is just what they need - its against Wexford next Sunday. It will be interesting to see what changes Loughnane makes for this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭starman100

Good win for Mayo today alright, thats a few times this year that they've made a good comeback in the second half. Johno's half-time team talks must be pretty good. Mind you, the sending off definitely knocked Dublin back. Lot of wasteful Mayo shooting towards the end though - same old story there.

And what happened exactly when Cluxton made that save under his crossbar and the umpire gave a 45? Cluxton appeared to hammer the ball towards him - and then a few loony supporter's got in on the act - Mortimer had to defend himself after the whistle went. More Dub fans giving the team a bad name and also very poor stewarding if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

cant BELIEVE roscommon lost to leitrim, looks like we will be playing tommy murphy cup next year, my god, septic in full back line. 6 points up with 20mins to go.....dear god :o leitrim always seem to have a hex on us for some reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Carrickman

Was in the Gaelic Grounds yesterday for the first time at the Donegal match, good enough game Limerick deserved the draw and I was glad to see them get it as they must be the most unlucky side in the top division to be in the position they are in sets them up with a chance next weekend against Cork a win for them would send Cork to division 3.

Donegal used a lot of their fringe players yesterday and got the point they needed to book a semi final spot, happy days!

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    [rant]
    On the down side of things and I have a feeling cruiserweight is going to defend his team to the last on this but, Wexford were disgraceful today. Diving, time wasting and were in some cases quite thuggish. Mattie Forde was Wexford's main culprit in all of this, firstly he got Mulvey sent off by play acting after Cavan had won a free, then after he was held scoreless by Hannon he very kindly landed a closed fist to the face of Hannon just on the sideline thus getting a ridiculous yellow card from his buddy in black.

I wasn't at the game myself unfortunately so all I can go on is what I heard. As for the sending off for Cavan I am sure that the ref was looking to even things up after Sunderland was sent off.

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Every second minute of the second half Wexford lay down and time wasted. If they had beaten Cavan it would have been a total injustice because as far as I and every other Cavan person around me was concerned, there was only one team out there playing football, and they were the boys in Royal Blue.

Apparently Wexford were trying to disrupt the flow of the game. They were playing into the wind in the second half, defending a lead with only 14 men. The plan was to disrupt as much of the second half as possible, not allow the game to flow, and basically try to stop Cavan getting a run on us. I have no problem with these tactics if that's what it takes to win a game like this, but I would have a problem with other teams doing it ;) . We frustrated the crowd and the Cavan players, and then we played some great football to keep tacking on the points and keep adrift of them. I think it is a bit unfair to say that only one team were playing football.
    PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Don't get me started on the officiating either, the referee was an absolute joke. He was behind play for most of the game and gave some absolutely crazy decisions. The Forde incidents were laughable to be quite honest, obviously he was trying to ensure that he wouldn't have to answer to the GAA as to why the big star man Mattie was sent off. He was over fussy in the first half and then let all hell break loose in the second half.

From what I heard the ref was a complete joke. Not that he was favouring any team, just bad officiating.
    PORNAPSTER wrote:
    As for the other officials, there was a Wexford point waved wide by the umpires that was over ruled by the linesman on the far side of the pitch. I can't really comment on this as I didn't have the angle to see it. However, a couple of minutes later there was a point given by the umpires kicked from the terrace side of the field that clearly went wide and the linesman who had a perfect view of it didn't do a thing. Ridiculous!

For the point that the linesman gave I believe that the umpire had the sun in his eyes so it could have been difficult to see if it went over. I didn't hear about any point that was clearly wide!
    PORNAPSTER wrote:
    All in all, Cavan need to improve. They had an off day today so hopefully they can lift it for the rest of the league and championship campeigns. If they do, I'd say they could surprise a few people. Wexford are also a good team but need to start concentrating on playing football rather than playacting. They have good players all over the park as was witnessed in the first half and if they play football they could match most teams. The match officials need to, well, quit the game. The only place for them in the game is on the sideline admiring the sun, which is what I think they were looking at for the whole game. Or at least it impared their vision for some of it.

Cavan are in a great position to be promoted now. Wexford have a lot of work to do and need a big victory and some luck next weekend. I am sure that Meath will be out for revenge having lost to Wexford last weekend. It looks like Division 3 football next year, and we only have ourselves to blame after that opening day defeat

I wasn't at the game myself unfortunately so all I can go on is what I heard. As for the sending off for Cavan I am sure that the ref was looking to even things up after Sunderland was sent off.
    Maybe so cruiserweight, still doesn't excuse him though. He was poor all game long, for both sides. Mulvey will now miss the rest of the league as a result, very frustrating as he is unstoppable when he's on his game.
    Apparently Wexford were trying to disrupt the flow of the game. They were playing into the wind in the second half, defending a lead with only 14 men. The plan was to disrupt as much of the second half as possible, not allow the game to flow, and basically try to stop Cavan getting a run on us. I have no problem with these tactics if that's what it takes to win a game like this, but I would have a problem with other teams doing it ;) . We frustrated the crowd and the Cavan players, and then we played some great football to keep tacking on the points and keep adrift of them. I think it is a bit unfair to say that only one team were playing football.
    True, every team does it, however the most annoying part was the diving. Any time a Wexford player was even tackled they went down like a ton of bricks. Which resulted in bookings for a number of Cavan players. It was the inconsistancy of the refereeing that got to me, as Cavan players had been fouled before hand and nothing was done about it.

From what I heard the ref was a complete joke. Not that he was favouring any team, just bad officiating.
    He was and I never said he was biased towards any particular team, he, his linesmen and umpires were just an absolute joke.
    For the point that the linesman gave I believe that the umpire had the sun in his eyes so it could have been difficult to see if it went over. I didn't hear about any point that was clearly wide!
    Indeed, but it was the same umpires that gave the point that wasn't a point. The sun would have been in their eyes on both occasions it was just different linesmen that were involved. James Reilly and a number of defenders protested it and the whole terrace was going balistic at the linesman. Wexford's water carrier (the same man that was sent from the field by the referee) even had a little word with the linesman at the time to make sure he wouldn't intervene. Again, I'm not saying they were biased, I am saying that they were completely inconsistant. It caused Cavan to lose a player and gave Wexford a point that wasn't.
    Cavan are in a great position to be promoted now. Wexford have a lot of work to do and need a big victory and some luck next weekend. I am sure that Meath will be out for revenge having lost to Wexford last weekend. It looks like Division 3 football next year, and we only have ourselves to blame after that opening day defeat
    Should be promotion at this stage. The lads should be out for revenge for that disgraceful performance they put in last year against Waterford. If they can't beat Waterford this time they might as well pack it in.

starman100 wrote:
    And what happened exactly when Cluxton made that save under his crossbar and the umpire gave a 45? Cluxton appeared to hammer the ball towards him - and then a few loony supporter's got in on the act - Mortimer had to defend himself after the whistle went. More Dub fans giving the team a bad name and also very poor stewarding if you ask me.

Yep a win is a win is a win. The best thing Mayo can take from this game is that we showed character and pulled the game out of the fire without 5 of our starting team and a few more of the squad players. T Mort, DB, Mac and Dillion will walk back into the team on yesterdays showing. Shooting was shocking and the sending off helped us in a major way. Not only did it stop there best froward but it freed up Kilcullen to join in around midfield where he was badly needed. Thought the ref was trying to make up for the sending off later on in the half giving a few dodgy frees but he got the major decisions right.
    As for the Cluxton incident well he saved it under the bar, then the ball bounced along the endline, he went after it and tried to stop the 45. Personally I think he just about got there but the umpire said he didn't and gave the 45. Then Cluxton hammered the ball away into the crowd. I don't think it was at the umpire just into the crowd in frustration still kinda stupid. Then some of the Dubs behind that goal came out onto the pitch shouting at the umpire and throwing bottles. Bad form really and no excuse as they were all older guys, 35+. They should be banned can't have that kind sh1t. Shout abuse from the stands if ya want but don't throw stuff and don't come onto the pitch.
    On another point I thought Barry Cahill was extremely lucky to stay on the pitch after his high tackle on Dillion. It was directly under me and almost a carbon copy of Ciaran Whelan's clothesline on McGarrity last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

Westmeath lost a dire game by a point and such is the league this season have gone from semi-finals to possible div 3 in two games, will need to avoid a 4 point defeat against Crossmaglen inspired Armagh(hoping to avoid Div3) or hope Derry beat Louth just to stay in Div2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭yurmothrintites

Glad to see Mayo win, I agree with Kevmy saying they showed great character. No dirty tackles like their counterparts. I have to say that a minority of the dublin supporters were disgraceful. Dublin brings loads of support wherever they play but if they are going to behave like that they need not bother. Bottlethrowing and shouting abuse does not change decisions. There wasn't a camera at the sidelines at the end so no-one can judge the umpires decision. It was appauling!
    Semi-finals here we come!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭gbh

Mayo and Dublin showed again they are two very average sides. There was nothing in this game to show either has come on since last season. The Mayo team are basically the same as last year with a few changes but crucially they are all a year older and further over the hill. Once they come up against the fit teams like Donegal and Kerry if they do in the championship, the same old frailities will be shown up. I just hope they go out of the championship early and not go through the same charade they do at every AI final they reach. Winning League matches in March and April proves nothing. Its the late Summer that counts.

Could you be more negitive? I'd like to point ut that 5 of mayo's main players are injured so we could not have played to our full potential anyways. Mayo have one of the best teams in the country and the Alliance league has been a clear prediction of who will win the championship for the last four years. Mayo reach finals for a reason!, they just choke up!

gbh wrote:
    Mayo and Dublin showed again they are two very average sides. There was nothing in this game to show either has come on since last season.
    Most teams don't look as good in the League in April as they do in the Semi Final in August
    gbh wrote:
    The Mayo team are basically the same as last year with a few changes but crucially they are all a year older and further over the hill.
    6 of last years U 21 were playing yesterday add CMort, Dillon, Enda Devenney, Pat Harte and Andy Moran and the team is hardly over the hill. As for changes from last year both the centre back and full back positions have been filled by younger players and theres no real need to throw away a large percentage of an AI final appearing team even if they did feck up in the final
    gbh wrote:
    Once they come up against the fit teams like Donegal and Kerry if they do in the championship, the same old frailities will be shown up.
    Whatever Kerry have over Mayo in football terms it is not fitness. They looked sluggish and tired in the league this year and the Crokes players have just as much football played.
    gbh wrote:
    I just hope they go out of the championship early and not go through the same charade they do at every AI final they reach. Winning League matches in March and April proves nothing. Its the late Summer that counts.
    If Mayo are so useless and are not able to prove themselves in late summer where are the other 28 counties? If you look back over the past 5 years Mayo are the only team bar the Big 3 who got to an AI final. Over this period in both league and Championship they are widely regarded as the 4th best team in the country, maybe not quite good enough to win Sam but still better than 90% of the teams out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Dublin are in far better shape than Mayo at the moment. Mayo got out of jail yesterday with the sending off. Only for that Dublin were going to beat them out of sight. We had no answers, and had thrown the towel in really.

Then with the sending off, Johnnos tactical nouse came into play, used the extra man great, and for some reason Dublin collapsed.

The sending off changed everything.

Man for man, 15 V 15, Dublin are way ahead of Mayo at the moment, I bet they can't believe they lost that match.

The Dublin No. 3 looks a real class act, great to see a good full back on the scene.

Was at the scoreboard end surrounded by Dubs, as usual they added greatly to the occasion.

Standard of play pretty poor, tension good......two average teams, one alot more average than the other IMO.

damn right!

Happy with how dublin played, not happy with the result :( . The sending off killed us, thought it was a bit harsh (i'm not at all biased :rolleyes: ) If we could have chosen any player not to get sent of it was keaney! Mayo used the extra player brilliantly though. We still shouldn't have fallen apart like we did. The behaviour of the dublin fans was disgraceful and it really annoys me how the minority give the majority a bad name. It was a bad call from the umpire but it still doesn't justify that behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Carrickman wrote:
    Was in the Gaelic Grounds yesterday for the first time at the Donegal match, good enough game Limerick deserved the draw and I was glad to see them get it as they must be the most unlucky side in the top division to be in the position they are in sets them up with a chance next weekend against Cork a win for them would send Cork to division 3.

Donegal used a lot of their fringe players yesterday and got the point they needed to book a semi final spot, happy days!

Limerick have been threatening this with Kerry, Dublin and Tyrone. Would be great for the weker counties to see them in Div.2 and Cork in Div.3.

Letting a 5 point lead slip with 5 minutes to go would worry me. We really missed Gallagher in Midfield. Cassidy is doing well but he needs an out and out midfielder beside him especiallly when playing one of the best midfields in the country. (Kerry, Tyrone and Armagh included!)

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Once again,Dublin snatch defeat from the jaws of victory.

Dublin were the all ireland winning team in the first half and once keaney got sent off it was all downhill from there.

It is encouraging to see Dublin play great football as they did in the first but getting sent off in a crucial match where we need to keep our division 1 status is not.Keaney and Bonner played well.Diarmuid Connolly was unlucky but I would have chosen Jason Sherlock to take that penalty before anybody else.

Anyway,I hope Mayo win the league playoffs.They have shown great character.

A word on Dublin. While they played some good football Sunday I think its a bad sign how they buckled when the pressure came on. Most AI are not won on how good your players are. In any given year there are 3 or 4 teams who have good enough players to win.
    In the end it comes down to hunger, grace under pressure, managerial decisions, luck and other such mental and spiritual things. Thats why Mayo haven't won an AI over the last 20 years either one or some of the reasons above have came against them. I don't think Dublin will win the AI this year because of the way the coolness went out the win both from the players and the sideline. Some confusing decisions made in regards subs, while some of the players felt the pressure, Mossy Quinn and Whelean again culprits in this as they have been all there careers. If I was a Dub I'd want Conal Keaney taking any pressure frees in the last minutes of games. Say all you want about player like Oisin McConville, Peter Canavan, Padraig Joyce, Dara O Cinneide and Conor Mortimor but when it comes to taking pressure frees to win games they usually deliver. It takes a certain type of confidence and player to score them, some great players otherwise simply cannot do it.

I don't think it's fair to say that Mossy Quinn can't take pressure kicks. He has delivered many pressure points for dublin in many different games. Keaney would also be able to do the same i'm sure, it's vaughan you have to worry about ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

kevmy wrote:
    A word on Dublin. While they played some good football Sunday I think its a bad sign how they buckled when the pressure came on. Most AI are not won on how good your players are. In any given year there are 3 or 4 teams who have good enough players to win.
    In the end it comes down to hunger, grace under pressure, managerial decisions, luck and other such mental and spiritual things. Thats why Mayo haven't won an AI over the last 20 years either one or some of the reasons above have came against them. I don't think Dublin will win the AI this year because of the way the coolness went out the win both from the players and the sideline. Some confusing decisions made in regards subs, while some of the players felt the pressure, Mossy Quinn and Whelean again culprits in this as they have been all there careers. If I was a Dub I'd want Conal Keaney taking any pressure frees in the last minutes of games. Say all you want about player like Oisin McConville, Peter Canavan, Padraig Joyce, Dara O Cinneide and Conor Mortimor but when it comes to taking pressure frees to win games they usually deliver. It takes a certain type of confidence and player to score them, some great players otherwise simply cannot do it.

I'd put Dublin firmly as the main challengers to Kerry this year in Championship.
    Donegal going well, but the Dublin team is very close now to the 'full monty'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I wouldn't writ off Armagh and Tyrone either when the "old reliables" come back.

Would still fancy Tyrone against Kerry.

Donegal and Mayo are looking alright too. Makes it the most interesting championship in years.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Steibhin

Hadn't heard about that incident with the Dublin 'supporters'. Its discraseful stuff and needs to be stamped out by the both the Dublin County board and by the real Dublin fans who have to stand up to these idiots and tell them that they are not welcome on the Hill. This type of things cannot be tolerated in GAA and must be nipped in the bud for fear it may become a bigger problem in the future.

Going back to matters on the field, fair play to the Galway team for putting a bit of a run together. I have never seen such pessimism surrounding a Galway football team since the early 90's. In fairness we have had a fairly handy draw in the league and we are still well behind Mayo but at least they are grinding out the victories, albeit unspectacularly.

Seanies32 wrote:
    I wouldn't writ off Armagh and Tyrone either when the "old reliables" come back.

Would still fancy Tyrone against Kerry.

Donegal and Mayo are looking alright too. Makes it the most interesting championship in years.

For me it's Tyrone this year. I know they've had a poor league but I think they'll come good in the summer, they still miss Peter Canavan though.
    Don't get me wrong I think Dublin will go far, semi-finals or the final maybe but I just can't see them winning the thing.
    Armagh will be a lot stronger when the Cross' players come back so wouldn't write them off, even if they have a lot of miles on the clock.
    Kerry I don't think will win it 3 AI finals in a row, Moynihan and McCarthy retired, everybody else a year older, the Donaghy suprise factor gone and one of the best managers in the country is after leaving them (IMO O Connor was the best Kerry manager since Micko)
    Donegal and Mayo also in with a shout.

It all adds up to the most open AI in 5 or 6 years.

I think Kerry will definitely be in the final this year.Everybody writes off Kerry if they lose a match or two in the league or early summer.When you look at the contenders for Munster,its now a three horse race with Limerick entering the fray...the only team to survive Donegals onslaught and come away with a point.They have ran every single team to the final whistle and have been known to give Kerry a few headaches over the years.

I said it before Christmas,I expect Limerick to seriously contend Munster.

I'm confident of Dublin winning Leinster but I see a serious threat in Kildare if they dispose of Meath.

As for AI,Armagh can never be written off,they now have the crossmaglen contingent back.Tyrone will be an obvious threat.I expect Donegal to win Ulster with their peak performance and at least get to quarters.