Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just had my car broken into this evening

• 27-03-2007 1:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭

I had my car broken into this evening. Now I am not a wealthy man and just drive a 1998 Ford Escort but I think the car is going to be a write off. I want to do some serious damage to the scum who did this to me. I can't understand the mindset of people who think it is good craic to crowbar open someone's driverside door and absolutely rip the s**t out of the ignition. I have no point to make as such but I am just so annoyed that people have no thought for other people and have no thought for the consequences of their actions. I am going to be without a car now for a couple of months yet the f**kers who did this gave no thought to that. Can anyone give me a few words to help me calm down as I am currently drinking red wine and beer quite hard as I am completely enraged by these people and know if they were ever caught (which of course they won't be) they wouldn't be in the slightest bit remorseful.

RAAAAAAAR

:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭runswithascript

They're scum who will eventually end up in prison and/or on hard drugs as will their children if they manage to spawn.

Was the car taken far from your home and where are you from? [edit] Don't know Antrim too well.

Where is the car now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Drax

Sorry to hear that dude. Had a radio nicked from my car once so I know the feeling. I was about to drive off and noticed wires hanging out of the radio slot! The feckers even locked the door after them! Hopefully they'll get their come-uppance. Beer and wine is fine but wine and beer..... careful now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭\m/_(>_<)_\m/

Jigsaw wrote:
    I want to do some serious damage to the scum who did this to me.

i do feel for you in you current situation,

but, violence wont bring back you car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,838 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

i do feel for you in you current situation,

but, violence wont bring back you car.
    would help him feel a bit better though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭NutJob

Sorry to hear it i know its a sh*1t thing to happen

The good news is 98 ford escort parts arnt that hard to track down and i dont think your car is a write off with the damage you described.

Ring around a few breakers yards and they'll have the parts you need

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭smackbunnybaby

OP - I feel your pain.the exact same thing happened to me last year.
    arrived out to the car one morning, all happy cus it was friday, to notice the driver door slightly open.
    The driver seat was stretched out and the steering wheel was warped beyond use.
    the passenger door had been wedged open also. now my car isnt the best car, but it gets me from galway to cork most weekends and to work as well.

the insurance company said it was a write off.i told them it wasnt, that the car hadnt moved all night and that the steering wheel was warped, nothing some spare parts couldnt fix.

insurance company wrote it off saying the car was worth 600 and the damage was 700 (economic write off).i took my 600 from them, got a steering wheel for 300 and fitted, 100 for a service and 200 for an assessor to judge it road worthy.

in the end i wasnt out of pocket, but the month or so with out the car was a pain.
    My advice to you is to look into parts etc and maybe contact your insurance company. i had a garda report to say to the insurance company that the break in was nothing to do with me.so when i claimed they didnt count it as a genuine claim.my premium didnt go up and it didnt affect me when i changed insurance company last week.

dont worry OP its not the end of the world, its a nuisance and never a good thing to happen but you will be ok.
    and with regards to wanting me wring someones neck!! tell me about!!i give them some kick up the a$$ if i could catch them.no regard for others..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

I was awoken on Sunday morning to the gardai knocking at my door. Sometime between 2am and 8am some scumbags thought it would be great fun to slash the tyres of the cars of myself and my neighbours.. Luckily only one of my tyres was slashed so I couple replace it with the spare but the son of one of next door neighbours had all 4 tyres slashed. He discovered this when he got into this car on the way to work.. You can bet that the pieces of filth that slashed the tyres havnt worked a day in their miserable lives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Sorry to hear about this. I thought all this nonsense was in the past - half the time I leave my car open, from sheer absent-mindedness.

Maybe it's because my car is very boring-looking.

Was the car parked on the street or in the drive or what?

luckat wrote:
    Sorry to hear about this. I thought all this nonsense was in the past - half the time I leave my car open, from sheer absent-mindedness.

Maybe it's because my car is very boring-looking.

Was the car parked on the street or in the drive or what?

i can tell you that my car was parked in a housing estate with no through road. there is no reason why someone should have been passing through other than to cause trouble.it happened in a car parking space 20 yards from my front door.

and something i could believe when i heard was a s follows.
    my sister lives in Dublin in apartments behing electronic gates.they have under ground parking.one night people got into the underground car park and slashed tyres and broke windscreens.the car next to hers was destroyed (windscreen and typres) but hers was untouched!!
    they went to an awful lot of trouble to get in there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

they went to an awful lot of trouble to get in there!
    not really, the security in the place probs gave the scummers the master code. i know that this has happened where i live (royal canal park dublin 15)

all the pikeys from finglas and cabra have codes for the car parks etc

ive had a brand new pioneer head unit worth 350 euros robbed and also a friends moped robbed from underground car park

didnt bother ringing the police back for obvious reasons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Cars should blow up when you trigger a detonator that you keep in the house with unlimited range to stop theft. Sure, it would lead to problems when stolen cars seemingly get randomly blown up while being driven, especially around schools and stuff. But I think it would definatly worth your childrens lives and it's a risk I'd be willing to take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭runswithascript

I take it these underground car parks don't have cameras as would have been my first inclination?

dusf wrote:
    I take it these underground car parks don't have cameras as would have been my first inclination?
    they do yeah but the security office wud usually have loads of cameras and there will generally be a few blind spots in them too

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

my house mate got a knock on the door at about 11pm one saturday night a few weeks ago, to find the police standing there asking her if that was her golf. it turns out the neighbours dog went mental, he looked out the window and seen a gang of 14 year old hoodies hanging around his car, so he phoned the police, when he was on the phone to the police of the of the little feckers walked across the road, picked up a rock and walked over to my housemates car and smashed the rear window. now the little fecker just done it calmly, and then just turned around and walked away, didnt try to steal anything and run from the scene. needless to say the fat lazy police never found them, even if they did nothing would have been done but i hope to god one day, they move up to joyriding and kill themselves. they have no respect for anyone or anything, i demand we have open season on the little ****ers and be allowed to ........ooopps better stop have already been banned for inciting violence but you get my drift. i live in a quiet settled area but in the last two/three months these hoodies from other estates have moved in and it is only going to get worse in the summer - sorry rant over but am still really angry -b.astards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Crea

My brothers car was stolen from outside my house when i lived in Dublin. He had to pay €80 to get it back from the towing company that the gardai had it towed by. When he complained to the garda he was told that he could make and official complaint but the towing company was owned by the commisioners nephew so he probably wouldn't get any satisfaction.
    So basically he was robbed twice. Bas***ds :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

Been just speaking to some police and there were some forensic people out as well. There are plenty of fingerprints all over the car but I am fairly pessimistic about the perpetrators being caught.

I actually live in a city centre apartment in Belfast and they managed to force open the shutter and get in. My car was the only one that was damaged.

There is also good CCTV of them that I saw myself this morning. They clearly had no idea the camera was there and thus made no attempt to disguise themselves.

I am getting the car collected and that is £80 to start with and will soon find out how much the repairs will be.

Do teenagers who do things like this just need to nurtured to help them learn better ways or do they need a dirty savage merciless beating to within an inch of their life (I am thinking the scenes from the film "Casino" when they are in the sugar plantation)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭MayMay

God I'm scared for my poor car now! :(

Sorry to hear this happened to you OP, so horrible. The little shi.ts! :mad:

Jigsaw wrote:
    Been just speaking to some police and there were some forensic people out as well. There are plenty of fingerprints all over the car but I am fairly pessimistic about the perpetrators being caught.

I actually live in a city centre apartment in Belfast and they managed to force open the shutter and get in. My car was the only one that was damaged.

There is also good CCTV of them that I saw myself this morning. They clearly had no idea the camera was there and thus made no attempt to disguise themselves.

I am getting the car collected and that is £80 to start with and will soon find out how much the repairs will be.

Do teenagers who do things like this just need to nurtured to help them learn better ways or do they need a dirty savage merciless beating to within an inch of their life (I am thinking the scenes from the film "Casino" when they are in the sugar plantation)?

yeah, forensics came out too to me.it may not come to anything, but it a good move. try and get them to write a report for you in case you do claim. it will make your claim a whole lot smoother.
    your insurance company should also pay for the towing of the car, usually this is in your policy.
    good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

I've got to go now and stand in the street because the recovery man I am using is from the country and my family have always used his services but he hasn't got a clue about city centre Belfast so I have to go to the bottom of the Westlink now and stand waiting for a big red Ford flatbed lorry!!!!!

Ah, these things are sent to test us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

Sorry to hear that mate. I really do sympathise same thing happend to me last week although they must have been weeklings in my case because they didn't get in but left a mess alright.

I had a footprint on the side of the door where they obviously were pushing for leverage. The top of my roof is scratched to bits above the door and there's a mark where the bar has sunken into the drivers side pillar while they tried to pry back the door.

My car door no longer closes properly (I can hear it letting air in on the motorway). I got a quote of €250 to get it fixed however the bodywork damage is on a hard to get to place and will cost a lot more.

I work for an IT company as a techie, i'm not rich, i'm paying for college at night and i'm (until today) €600 in debt because of college fee's). I really do not have any money to spend on my car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 nixor

It's a royal pain in the ass. Mine got broken into last year. It was sickening.:mad: I had approx €800 worth of cd's taken on me, a window smashed and some of the interior damaged. But amazingly I got all my cd's back. Apparently the boys got spooked or something possibly while breaking into another car and the gardai found all that they had taken just a few down the road. They had done 6 other cars in the same estate the same night.
    So sometimes there are happy-ish endings.
    I suggest public floggings for those caught guilty!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Beekay

Sorry to hear about your car!
    We've had 4 of our cars broken into and one robbed.
    One was broken into on new years eve at around midnight and all....they never rest.

Three were in the space of two nights. They robbed my sisters car on the friday, seen mine and my bros car(which was fairly nice jap car) and decideed they would come back for them the next night. On the sat, my sis had just gotten in from the pub and a second after she turned off the light in her room they smashed the window in my car and my bros, so thankfully we were able to scare them off.

The two others they ended up just pulling the door open and weren't able to get them started and the steering wheels were taken off trying to.

With the forensic stuff, it might help. a guy was caught for breaking into one of our cars....now it was about a year or two after. but he was still caught

*genuine question*

what are they actually trying to do when they mess up the steering wheel?
    are they just messing up the steering wheel or trying to hot wire it or what?

*genuine question*

what are they actually trying to do when they mess up the steering wheel?
    are they just messing up the steering wheel or trying to hot wire it or what?
    u obviously dont drive

when u get out of yer car sometimes if ur wheel is turned to once side, is is 'locked' and when u put keys back in ignition u have to kinda pull it hard to one side to un lock it

the joyriders i assume to this while theyre tryin to hotwire the car and probs break it, plus they smash up all ur ignition and the barrell at the back of it is where they rip the wires out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Sorry to hear OP. Kneecapping would be too good for the bastards.
    It sucks alright heh, I have had 2 motorcycles stolen and a car broken into in the past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Hard Larry

That sucks balls Jigsaw. Sorry to hear it man.

If those kids knew where to go and attacked only your car then it sounds like they knew what they were looking for and where to go

Its far easier to get a 98 Ford started than newer cars.

But they aren't professional wee ****s as if they were any use at their pasttime your car wouldn't be there now and would probably be burned out somewhere.

My mate lives in a 2 storey apartment his BMW was robbed from him one night when he got home threw his keys on the kitchen table and went to bed. The little thieving ****e had been watching him from outside. He scaled my mates drainpipe, slipped in through the balcony doors and swiped the keys.

In the same apartment block the thieves used a coat hanger to lift someones car keys off the hall table through the letterbox.

These feckers are evolving like chimps all the time. They could have been watching you mate.

I think it might be time to invest in a Hurley and a large dog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

its worth it when you catch them hearing them scream in agony to be let go... but not worth it when even after causing a few hundred quid worth of damage to your car, they can turn around and sue you for hitting them.
    happened to a friend of mine. his car was outside his house, we were inside having a few drinks. we heard a glass smash, and we looked out to see whats going on.
    his driver window had been hit with a big rock. and three little bastards were trying to get it started.
    the car was a 00 skyline. cost my friend about 1300 for repairs to the car window, the steering, ignition.
    he got sued for 4,500 for breaking one of their noses and snapping 3 fingers on the other fella who smashed it all up.
    the third got away but the cops picked him up after the other 2 gave his name.
    they were 14,15,and 18.
    who won there i reckon?
    my friend with 5,800 worth of bills, or 1 kid with a broken hand and another with a broken nose.

oh, and the 3 kids didnt have to pay for damages to the car due to their physical conditions not being able to work for a few weeks.

u obviously dont drive

am no :confused: ...i obviously don't think like a person who breaks into a car or have tried to hotwire a car.

which parts of my previous 3/4 posts didnt you understand when i said my car was also broken into....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

not really, the security in the place probs gave the scummers the master code. i know that this has happened where i live (royal canal park dublin 15)

all the pikeys from finglas and cabra have codes for the car parks etc

ive had a brand new pioneer head unit worth 350 euros robbed and also a friends moped robbed from underground car park

didnt bother ringing the police back for obvious reasons

Maybe royal canal park pikeys?

That RCP used to be a joyriders playground when it was one giant field, i see nothings changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

he got sued for 4,500 for breaking one of their noses and snapping 3 fingers on the other fella who smashed it all up.
    the third got away but the cops picked him up after the other 2 gave his name.
    they were 14,15,and 18.
    who won there i reckon?
    my friend with 5,800 worth of bills, or 1 kid with a broken hand and another with a broken nose.
    oh, and the 3 kids didnt have to pay for damages to the car due to their physical conditions not being able to work for a few weeks.

@Royalmarinecomp.

Once again the scummers win out.. The justice system is a joke in this country.. Maybe I am being naive but you would think that the some of the money that your mate had to pay those scumbags could have been awarded back by to judge to your mate to pay for the repairs to his car.