Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most embarassing thing you were made wear!

• 26-03-2007 12:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭

Growing up I was made wear what was bought for me. Until I became a fussy teenager that is. The worst and most depicable thing I can remember is a Kylie and Jason t-shirt :eek: which I was made wear, in public I might add when I was 9-10. All because an Aunt had bought it for me.

Whats your's and can you beat that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

petes wrote:
    Whats your's and can you beat that?

Chocolate brown velvet communion suit made by my granny, who was mostly deaf, blind and mad at the time ... without the benefit of measurements or any nod towards proper fitting .

It looked like it was made to fit an orangutan ... I was so embarrassed I sabotaged the family camera ... only the school photos have survived, and I was lurking in the back of the class for those.

Chocolate Brown Velvet FTW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Forgot to add. I was wearing bermuda shorts with said t-shirt. Although it is hard to beat that suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

Senior Infants when I was about 6 years of age
    I remember having to wear Mittens
    (gloves with only thumb hole but no finger holes)

The embarassing part was that there was elastic cord tied to both of
    them that was designed to go across your back and down both sleeves
    of your coat (then a navy/grey doval jacket) it was so you would not loose
    yer gloves. Dunno if my description makes sense or not.

~B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I had to wear these white communion, slip-on shoes to school when my other ones got destroyed in muck. It got a great reception from the rest of the lads though. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I was about to moan about a tweedy confirmation suit with cord shoulders but clearly there were worse fates than mine. Praise be. :D
    trout wrote:
    Chocolate brown velvet communion suit made by my granny, who was mostly deaf, blind and mad at the time ... without the benefit of measurements or any nod towards proper fitting .

It looked like it was made to fit an orangutan ... I was so embarrassed I sabotaged the family camera ... only the school photos have survived, and I was lurking in the back of the class for those.

Chocolate Brown Velvet FTW!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

pudding bowl haircut:rolleyes:
    I got all my families hand me downs, as I am the youngest. both, boy and girl clothes for me!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭deisemum

I'd have been pleased with a chocolate brown suit for my confirmation compared to the red and white checked wool suit and mantilla that I wore. I wouldn't mind but it cost my parents a lot of money.

For all you young ones that don't know, a mantilla is a white triangle shaped lace thing girls had to wear when they made their confirmation. I'm of an age where girls had to wear either a hat or a mantilla going to mass.

I'm also of an age where jumpers were very patterned.
    In secondary school and for dressmaking class had to make a striped patterned smock top in a polyester fabric. I was practically beat into the horrible thing and wore it with lime green bell bottoms that had big pockets on the outer side of your knee

boreds wrote:
    pudding bowl haircut:rolleyes:

No such thing as going to the hairdressers back then. I had to wear the John Lennon style glasses that had a loop on each arm that a ribbon went through to keep my glasses on and my mother used to cut my fringe.
    She'd start at one side and it would end up cut higher on the other side so she'd try trimming it and I'd end up with an uneven and extremely short fringe

Ah yes, let me correct myself. Pudding bowl haircut, freestyle. A zig zaggedy fringe and a spoon shaped head to complete the look.

boreds wrote:
    Ah yes, let me correct myself. Pudding bowl haircut, freestyle. A zig zaggedy fringe and a spoon shaped head to complete the look.

Exactly :o

No wonder one of my sister's cut up our childhood photos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

deisemum wrote:
    Exactly :o

No wonder one of my sister's cut up our childhood photos
    It's a pity when people do this, as there's glorious entertainment value to be had from these sort of pictures.
    Not so much when you're trying to impress girls and your mum brings out the baby photos, but later in life when you're less self concious about that sort of thing, the baby/childhood/teenage/wedding photos are rather wonderful. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

bullets wrote:

~B

Yep, they're called idiot mittens because you can't lose them. I had a pair too and also had to wear a duffel coat :D

Most embarrassing thing for me was wearing said mittens, duffel coat and also a navy, hand-knitted balaclava. Not the cool 'terrorista' type ones with the 'deadly' eyes, nose and mouth holes but the ones where the whole face is visible and only the back of the head, ears and neck are covered.

My mam used to knit us one every year for the winter walk to school and the wool would itch the hell out of me. I always made sure my hood was up over it because it looked so stupid otherwise :)

r3nu4l wrote:
    Not the cool 'terrorista' type ones with the 'deadly' eyes, nose and mouth holes but the ones where the whole face is visible and only the back of the head, ears and neck are covered.

That made me lol.

I remember them well. Didn't have one though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭rediguana

My aunt was allowed to pick out my Confirmation clothes as she was the one paying. Sigh. Even in an era (this was 1992) when nothing was stylish, the clothes stood out for being particularly offensive. On the big day, a similarly-cursed traveller kid wore the exact same thing in the church. This fiasco inspired mixed emotions in me; Was he stealing my thunder? Or deflecting some of the adverse attention away from me?

A lot of childrens coats nowadays come with the idiot mittens.

If I was to go up in the attic I'm sure I'd come across some of my eighties fashion disasters. Anyone remember batwing sleeves or the trousers where the crotch was down at your knees and swatches of fabric danling between your legs.
    Legwarmers in all gawdy colours, fushia pink stockings and garter belts. All the glitter you'd put on over your make-up and different coloured spray-on hair dyes in the days of big hair and shoulder pads some of which were like bricks and you thought you were the bees knees.

My children found it hard to believe it was me in some of those photographs. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Aura

I suffered hand-me-down duffle coats of every size, shape, texture and hue..
    Still baulk at the very sight of them!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

One word... Skipants :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

When i was about five or even younger I had to go to a wedding in a sailor outfit, shorts and all. There may even have been a hat, although I can't remember. Even at that age I knew it was so so wrong....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

When we were in National school, one of the lads came in wearing a Boyzone t-shirt :eek:

he got slagged off about it all day, and then stupidly wore it for another week for some reason :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Cormic

I remember being sent to the Gealtacht with only flairs during the drainpipe craze. It was the most embarrassing time of my life. I will never get that month back....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

school picture me and my 2 brothers in matching grey jumpers with red stripes down each arm.

oh the horror.

got hand me downs as i was the youngest and i remenber the duffel coats which were grand when dry but my god if it got yet you weighed down by it all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭Mikosyko

Fancy Dress 1994, 6 years old at the time.

I was dressed up as Des O'Malley who had just lost his seat in politics or some ****. Anyway it was horrible shirt, suit, tie and pants with the arse cut out of them! :mad:

I may have won but I'm scarred for life! :mad: :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭445279.ie

bullets wrote:

~B

Sitting here drinking my tears cos I was subjected to these too. :D

Was trying to explain them recently to a girl in work but she just didn't get it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭little lady

Bright orange sweatshirt with Radion (yes the washing powder!) written across the front.

Reading that reminded me of those global hyper technicolour tshirts that changed colour with your sweat.

On another note, I always envied the kids with the mitten strings, I thought they were a fantastic idea as I kept losing just one glove all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Mrs. MacGyver

Confirmation 1992 - navy sailor jacket with stripy bows, white wide lacy collared blouse (in fashion then!) and navy and white stripy cullottes (yes dreaded culottes...) and navy patent slip on shoes with navy bows. Horrible... and that awful pic is in the sitting room for all to see still!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

ROFL :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Honestly, i swear my parents were having a giggle at my expense the stuff they put on me. I must ask them about that next time i'm home.

The biggest offenders were a bosco jumper, which somehow found it's way into that years school photo, and my personal favourite, a jacket my mum had brought back from holidays somewhere, but this was no ordinary jacket, oh no.
    this, for a start, had no sleeves, no hood nor any method of closing itself up, it was lined with some form of wool on the inside, which also made up a dirty white puffy trim thing all around said jacket, and the jacket itself seemed to be made of suede or brown leather or something equally awful.

God i was thankfull for the cheap plastic embrace of Dunnes finest coats once i outgrew that beast of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

Im 2 years older than my bro, yet we were always dressed the same :(:confused:

Worst ...and there was a lot of bad :p ...had to be gettin sent in with a Green Wooly jumper with crazy zig-zag designs....over this were a pair of Pink!!..cord dungereens..and a pair of runners :confused::confused::(
    And of course..my younger bro was done up exactly the same :p

Damn you ma !!!!:D :D

I'd love a Bosco jumper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Love2love

Anyone remember the cycling shorts with the illuminous (sp???) stripe down the side??? Or Red or Purple Asics????

Don't even get me started on the BROS jeans and jumpers oh and sweatbands.

Oh and pumps in all different colours?????

And then there was they whole bellbottoms and frilly blouses era????

NAFF jackets

God, how can I love this woman who subjected me to this????

I had black and purple ASICS runners that I used to play football in and since I was useless with my left foot, the left foot shoe was always perfect and the right foot in tatters before long!

I had a blue BROS jumper and thought it was okay until my next door neighbour started laughing at me one day.

Fecker next door: AHAHAH! BROS, sure they're queers!:p :p:p
    Me (on the defensive): THEY ARE NOT! *crying inside*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

i was generally dresses ok as far as i remember. Me and my sister, who is 15 months younger than me, used to be dressed the same most of the time....i sed to wear the red version and my sister wore the blue..i remember having a reversable jumper....they were well cool. Anyway, besides all thatthere is one thing i would rather forget..i see ye all going on about those mittens..at least ye had mittens!!!!! when it snowed and we got a day of school we would all be outside making snowmen etc..everyone in their mittens/gloves....me and my sis...wearing SOCKS ON OUR HANDS........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

LMFAO :eek: :D

Something just came back to me there

Can anyone remember when baggy jeans were the thing...but it Was X-Worx and Eclipse :p

And they were always black witha little man at the back smokin a join or some alien or something...ahahaha...havent thought about them in ages :rolleyes:

For runners..i always used to have Dunlop in the early days...or LA Gear ..with the flashing lights :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭Gaspode

I got a lot of hand-me-downs which was a problem as my two older siblings are sisters, but some clothes came from 'friends' (I use the word loosely) of the family.
    The worst by far waws a pair of wide bottomed trousers, in a horrid brown colour, with the seam sewn into the front of them. They also had a huge waistband, with 6, yup 6 brass buttons on the waist band. looked like a cumberbund.

At the same time I had a pair of platform shoes in patent leather, and while it was the late 70s, platforms were wll out of date.

I was about 13 or 14 and in secondary so suffice to say I was not the coolest guy in class.

SeantheMan wrote:
    LMFAO :eek: :D

Something just came back to me there

Can anyone remember when baggy jeans were the thing...but it Was X-Worx and Eclipse :p

And they were always black witha little man at the back smokin a join or some alien or something...ahahaha...havent thought about them in ages :rolleyes:

For runners..i always used to have Dunlop in the early days...or LA Gear ..with the flashing lights :p

Ah only them ravers who listened to the Prodigy and that mad stuff wore those. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

ah ye the x works jeans. got my first par (hand me downs) about 4 years when they went outta style and the stripe addidas trackies were in. i thought they were cool, but got crucified for wearing them by the mates so i had to cut that black leather strappy thing off.

i feel for everyone who was made to wear a sailor outfit for a wedding. parents were def taking the pis( that day planning in advance for the day you bring your gf home in the future and a big picture hanging over the fire place with you and your auntie. horrible day that was.

remember those duffle coats with the fur around the hood, and how embarrising they were?school pics. then bands like oasis made them popular and now the hip hop crowd have them., cant believe people will pay shi* load for one of them now

I remember we used to get the odd parcel of clothes form the yank relations, big plaid or check things worse than golf outfits. :eek: We'd be the only ones in them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

ah..the parcel from the Yanks..i still remember the smell....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭Gaspode

We passed our parcels from the yanks to our even poorer cousins in England. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Every year, for quite a few years, I used to have to wear shorts to school. Not any ordinary shorts either, these were skippy shorts, with a little skippy badge sewn into them in case you didn't know. Well into the winter months I'd be traipsing into school to showboat my pale and pasty legs. One time a group of kids took pity on me and gave me advice on where the warmest place to stand in the playground might be!

My mom was never so observant. It would be blizzards outside and she'd be like, "We'll change you into your long pants soon". Yeah mom, just like those growth spurts that were due anytime now! I'm still waiting for those!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭bushy...

Earthhorse wrote:
    Yeah mom, just like those growth spurts that were due anytime now! I'm still waiting for those!
    Thats cos your body was putting all the effort into keeping warm instead of growing :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

SeantheMan wrote:

Ah yes, I think I had something similar, a pair of baggy petro-motions and an x-worx hoodie. Shame:o

*scurries away to destroy any remaining photographic evidence*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

A salior suit at my folks wedding when i was 3..complete with shorts, sailor hat and bowl haircut..:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

3 pages in this thread already ... and where are the pictures ?

thankfully, i have no pictures of my own chocolate brown velvet suit, though i do have a snap of a sailor suit ensemble which was almost as cringeworthy. :cool:

will scan & post when I get home ... come on folks, show the photos!

trout wrote:
    3 pages in this thread already ... and where are the pictures ?

thankfully, i have no pictures of my own chocolate brown velvet suit, though i do have a snap of a sailor suit ensemble which was almost as cringeworthy. :cool:

will scan & post when I get home ... come on folks, show the photos!

Do you actually think there is any photographic evidence of the abomination I was made to wear?

There are some of mine, watch this space! :eek: