Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wearing Pyjamas Outside The House?

• 25-03-2007 12:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭

We've all seen them, what is it that makes them think this is acceptable and why is it always knack girls?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

i think it looks retarded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭runswithascript

It just stinks of commoner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Pic from one of the old threads. They need to be wiped off the street, lazy shower of gits. Maybe those hoses they use for football riots in some countries.

Show off, surely you can't find this attractive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Where did I say it was attractive? Its teh mank.

Then what are they showing off exactly dude?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

I hope it becomes really popular.
    That way i can stay in bed until the last second and then all i'll have to do is get up, put on my shoe's and go straight to work.
    dusf wrote:
    Then what are they showing off exactly dude?

Obviously he/she meant shower of gits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

dusf wrote:

LMAO! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Ru'ss pic isn't too bad. I live close to North King Street and many a time when I've been in the Centra there they'll come in with pyjama top and bottom's and slippers, both young and old.
    I've been tempted to take a pic many a time, I'm just not sure I could do it discreetly enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Ro: maaan!

It's ridiculous, and hilarious, I think. But there's nothing unacceptable about it. People are quite free to wear whatever they like. Laugh about it, sure. But people having serious problems about this kind of thing is yet even more ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

dusf wrote:

it really does i wouldnt mind if it was a nice lingerie thing well actually i would coz most of them are beasts...............

this is a bit of a pet hate i walk around the hosue all day in pjs see it all the time going into work.....

i know its a stereotype but all i think is lazy b***h seeing the kid to school down the road might drop in to colelct her dol and then goes home straight back to bed

i have absolutely no basis for this but thats jsut the impression it gives..........i think the other extreme with mothers in their 100K suvs and done up to the hilt at 8 in the morning is almost equally as ridicolous but at least it takes effort

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

When the weather gets better I'm gonna wear my slippers and a dressing gown into town so I won't even need to get dressed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

Ro: maaan! wrote:
    But people having serious problems about this kind of thing is yet even more ridiculous.
    So let's eliminate the problem. I say we have a mass cull and lynch of PJ wearing skangers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

1987 = Shell Suit
    2007 = Pajamas

Same people wearing both (or thier kids are)

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

yeh i wondered all about this i must say

i stay in city centre and going to centra on a weekend (i would say weekdays but im up for work and im guessing the type of people doing this are predominately claiming benefit and arent up at 8am)..

whats it about exactly?? its not attractive and looks awful and yet i see atleast 30 girls a weekend doing it (yes.. skangers)

least i know its not just me that it annoys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

mike65 wrote:
    1987 = Shell Suit
    2007 = Pajamas

Same people wearing both (or thier kids are)
    Grandkids. It is 20 years after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Cozmo

Its always people from council estates and kncakers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

What are these pyjama things?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Mackleton

Well I cant remeber where I heard/read it, but this pyjamas as outerwear thing is apparently a huge craze in Japan as well. You can see people, business people especially, hopping on and off the subway in their pjs and its accepted as quite commonplace over there. So its not just Irish skangers we're talking about here. Perhaps these girls are keyed in to some ultra hip underground trend, but then again, probably not.....

All the teenage girls doing it have names like Jacinta and the guys who have them 'up the poEwl' are all called John-Paul, JP or Whacker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

its just wrong!

how fcuking lazy can you get like??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

It was quite the craze when I lived up in Ballybough. Lots of the local gals wore them pretty much all day. I haven't seen it outside of Dublin though. Will it spread to rural scobie neighbourhoods?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭event

does it come from the hospital originally?

girls were in hospital, maybe having kids or something, and head outside for a smoke. Loads of them do this, and one day one of them goes to a shop, still in teh PJ's. Another girls see's this, then she does the same from home.

and so the cycle starts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

it makes me angry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

event wrote:
    does it come from the hospital originally?

girls were in hospital, maybe having kids or something, and head outside for a smoke. Loads of them do this, and one day one of them goes to a shop, still in teh PJ's. Another girls see's this, then she does the same from home.

and so the cycle starts

comes from being bone ass lazy and getting away with imo

^^^^ true story!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

Mackleton wrote:
    Well I cant remeber where I heard/read it, but this pyjamas as outerwear thing is apparently a huge craze in Japan as well. You can see people, business people especially, hopping on and off the subway in their pjs and its accepted as quite commonplace over there. So its not just Irish skangers we're talking about here. Perhaps these girls are keyed in to some ultra hip underground trend, but then again, probably not.....

i think there is more probability of a nipple sprouting on my forehead than irish skangers being able to do that, or any skangers for that matter..

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

i saw one in pyjamas in glasnevin cemetary one day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

PeakOutput wrote:
    comes from being bone ass lazy and getting away with imo

True- but still able to get the post office to claim their welfare money that the rest of us suckers with jobs are paying towards:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

It's the equivalent to staying in tracksuit bottoms when you have no intention of exercising, in my opinion. Always the fat knackers.
    I wonder do they have a special set for going outside in and then change into a different pair for sleeping? Surely they would have to if the ends get wet and dirty.

that requires too much effort i think!

Red Alert wrote:
    i saw one in pyjamas in glasnevin cemetary one day

ZOMG OH NOSE!

I don't live too far from Glasnevin so they're getting closer to my home - this can mean only one thing; INVASION!

AH JAYSUS HOWAYA

Also event, I like your theory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

i see it all the time in my shop,and its always knackers with their fat stomachs hanging out

Tracksuit bottoms aren't as bad as PJs tbh but I appreciate your pain :)

I've never seen a middle class girl in them [edit] *out on the street - I wonder would I be turned on by this? Man I love middle class girls... hummeneh hummeneh hummeneh....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

i work in a shop (not too far off from glasnevin cemetary... :o) and we get them in every now and then. usually at the weekend, when laziness has truely gripped the skangers.

it's scary really...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Those pyjama people are paving the way forward. It will start a new craze whereby people will already be in bed attire so you could go into shops and rent beds for an hour or two in town if you're tired.
    Why bother dressing up properly anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Ro: maaan!

I live across from the cemetary. Have never seen it around here. Only in knack holes. But I must start to keep the eye out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭kizzyr

They're everywhere. I used to work in St. James's Hospital and first noticed it there, I've since moved to the hospital in Tallaght and its rampant there. I've also noticed lots of people wearing them around the shopping centre in Blanchardstown. Its only understandable in certain circumstances: 1) if you're dropping kids to school and its been a mental morning and you just didn't have time. However if you do this you cannot get out of the car you just have to dro the kids and go...........actually thats the only way I can think that its understandable for someone to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭nicolo

Its actually meant to be some sort of new fashion, apparently they wear differant pyjamas to do differant things, like go out, lounge about the house or sleep. its pretty mad, dont think it has anything to do with the asians tough.
    still makes you want to start running down the street blind folded with a baseball bat and or chainsaw

Asians? Huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭edanto

Well it's hardly anything to get annoyed about... ffs

murderous thoughts!?!!?

It's just some kooky trend, anyone that's lived in town would have noticed people on the conveyor belt between the post office (dole), the spar (skins) and the pub (life) in pjs for a long time.

Latest reports describe young ones wearing wellies with PJs, but it's too early to tell if this is an evolution of the trend or merely a hyperlocalised unusuality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

I use the Finglas gym, and if any of the Boardsie's use it too then hopefully you'll vouch for what I'm about to say.

A group of delightful individuals who use the pool a few evenings a week. Not only do they arrive and leave wearing their PJ's, but whilst actually in the pool they wear 'going out clothes'.
    Honestly! The girls wear those horrible satin shorts while in the water, with boob tubes or vest tops, over their bra's and knickers.

I think its filthy, and it shouldn't be allowed, but a friend of mine works there and says there is just no stopping them.
    They are just not equipped to deal with the consequences of pissing off a big gang of knackers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭TechnoFreek

Although I absolutely despise knackers it should be noted that the rich kids (the girls and their ilk who like to think they live in the O.C.) are at the same thing!

Head a little south of the liffey and stay to the east coast and you will often see teenage girls in their pyjamas and ugg boots heading for a morning coffee after a hard night of drinking on the town loike.

Their hair is all tossed giving the impression that they are straight out of bed but oddly enough their make-up is perfect!

:rolleyes: :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭ciaran76

I have seen them walking around Blanch. shopping centre.

They are not just young ones either I seen women in their 40's (well they looked in their 40's:eek: ) doing this too !

To me they are sad people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Donald-Duck

ciaran76 wrote:
    I have seen them walking around Blanch. shopping centre.

They are not just young ones either I seen women in their 40's (well they looked in their 40's:eek: ) doing this too !

To me they are sad people.
    They're probably no older than 25;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Mrs. MacGyver

Ruu wrote:
    Pic from one of the old threads. They need to be wiped off the street, lazy shower of gits. Maybe those hoses they use for football riots in some countries.

But seriously i go to the shop in jamie ends all the time at night cause its around the corner and the take away, loads here do it cause its handy. I konw i'm a sad lazy person :(. I would never walk into town in them and i'm not a skobie. BTW i'm 27 and most of the people here where i live are in their 20's and 30's. Never seen anyone over 40 do it....Off now to the take away for nibbles before desperate housewives in my lovely blue jamies (i've no fashion sence!!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Pretend there is a Hitchhikers Guide convention on.

But seriously i go to the shop in jamie ends all the time at night cause its around the corner and the take away, loads here do it cause its handy.

ZOMG they walk among us!

And I see you're the mod of the 'State Benefits' forum - I think someone made a crack about pyjama wearing people and the dole earlier on!