Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This Weekends League Action (23rd-24th March 2007)

• 23-03-2007 1:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭

Here are this weekends fixtures

Allianz National Football League Round 5

24.03.2007 (Sat) @ 7.30pm

Division 1A
    Parnell Park Baile Átha Cliath v Fear Manach
    Referee: Eugene Murtagh, Longfort
    Páirc Uí Rinn Corcaigh v Maigh Eo
    Referee: Rory Hickey, An Clár

Division 2B
    Casement Park Aontroim v An Cabhán
    Referee: Stephen McNamee, Tír Eoghain

25.03.2007 (Sun) @ 3.30pm

Division 1A
    Letterkenny 2.00 Dún na nGall v Ciarraí
    Referee: Vincent Neary, Maigh Eo
    Páirc na nGael Luimneach v Tír Eoghain
    Referee: Brian Tyrell, T. Árann

Division 1B
    Crossmaglen Ard Mhacha v An Dún
    Referee: David Coldrick, An Mhí
    Cusack Park An Iarmhí v Gaillimh
    Referee: Peter Carney, Ros Comáin
    Celtic Park 2.30 Doire v Laois
    Referee: Jimmy White, Dún na nGall
    Newbridge Cill Dara v An Lú
    Referee: Tomás Quigley, BAC

Division 2A
    Cloone Liatroim v Ceatharlach
    Referee: Aidan McAlynn, Doire
    *Tullamore 1.00 Uíbh Fhailí v An Clár
    Referee: Michael Daly, Maigh Eo
    Ruislip 1.00 Londain v Muineachán
    Referee: Martin Collins, Corcaigh
    Hyde Park Ros Comáin v Longfort
    Referee: Joe McQuillan, An Cabhán

Division 2B
    Aughrim Cill Mhantáin v An Mhí
    Referee: Paul Finnegan, An Lú
    Wexford Park Loch Garman v Sligeach
    Referee: Eddie Kinsella, Laois
    Ardfinnan Tiobraid Árann v Port Láirge
    Referee: Tom Lynch, Ciarraí

25.03.2007 (Sun) @ 3.30pm
    Allianz National Hurling League Round 4

Division 1A
    Birr Uíbh Fhailí v An Clár
    Referee: Pat O’Connor, Luimneach
    *Dungarvan 1.00 Port Láirge v An Dún
    Referee: Fergus Devereux, Cill Dara
    Páirc Uí Chaoimh Corcaigh v Loch Garman
    Referee: Michael Haverty, Gaillimh

Division 1B
    Ballycastle 2.00 Aontroim v Cill Chainnigh
    Referee: James Owens, Loch Garman
    Páirc na nGael 1.45 Luimneach v Baile Átha Cliath
    Referee: Cathal McAllister, Corcaigh
    Pearse Stadium Gaillimh v Tiobraid Árann
    Referee: Michael Wadding, Port Láirge

Division 2A
    *Banagher 1.30 Doire v Ceatharlach
    Referee: Ciaran McGuinness, An Dún
    Portlaoise Laois v An Mhí
    Referee: Declan O’Driscoll, Luimneach
    Arklow 1.00 Cill Mhantáin v Ard Mhacha
    Referee: Tommy Ryan, T. Árann

Division 2B
    Ruislip Londain v Cill Dara
    Referee: Seán Whelan, Loch Garman
    Cusack Park 1.45 Iar Mhí v Maigh Eo
    Referee: Martin Mulholland, Doire
    Ciarraí Bye

Division 3A
    *Letterkenny 12.15 Dún na nGall v Liatroim
    Referee: Eamonn Hassen, Aontroim
    Markievicz Park Sligeach v An Lú
    Referee: Eoin O’Shaughnessy, Gaillimh
    Muineachán Bye

Division 3B
    Knockcroghery Ros Comáin v An Cabhán
    Referee: John Healy, An Clár
    Lisbellaw Fear Manach v Longfort
    Referee: Brendan Sweeney, An Cabhán
    Tír Eoghain Bye

28.03.2007 (Wed) @ 7.00pm

Allianz National Hurling League Round 2 – Re-Fixture

Division 1B
    Casement Park Aontroim v Baile Átha Cliath
    Referee: Ger Devlin, Ard Mhacha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

From a Wexford point of view I am definitely hoping for a victory in the football to keep the pressure up on the top 2

Wexford SF: J Cooper; C Morris, P Wallace, B Malone; G Sunderland, D Murphy, A Morrissey; P Colfer, T Howlin; C Deely, R Barry, A Flynn; C Lyng, PJ Banville, M Forde.

In the hurling I am not sure what to expect, we are in a good position to make the knock-out stages, especially with Down to come in the last game. It seems that Cork are taking this game very seriously by moving O'Sullivan back to full back. There is some experimentation in the Wexford team with Ruth moving back to full back.

Wexford SH: D Flynn; M Travers, D Ruth, P Roche; W Doran, K Rossiter, C Kenny; D Stamp, D Lyng; M Jacob, E Quigley, R McCarthy; P Carley, R Kehoe, R Jacob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

Massive game for Westmeath v Galway will be interesting to measure how good we are against an improving Galway team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Big ties for Dublin this weekend.Dublin footballers must beat Fermanagh which I think is far from a formality but we should win this game against a poor Fermanagh side who haven't built on their reputation from previous years.Our record against Fermanagh in the last two years has been bad with a draw and a loss.The venue of Parnell should boost Dublins confidence.Dublin to win by 4-5 points imo.

Dublin hurlers are coming off a great victory over Galway,I would expect nothing less than a draw for Dublin.We should be favourites going into this game but Casement Park is a factor and it will be interesting to see how Dublin play away from the cosy comfines of Parnell.

Mayo should overcome Cork by a margin of three points with David Heaney playing in midfield again,Cork have made three changes from the side that lost to Dub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

A totally unbiased view from me regarding Donegal v Kerry in Letterkenny.:D I take Donegal to win by two points. They seem to be learning from past mistakes and are playing with a lot of confidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,659 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Well, Wicklow talk here from me. Can see this weekend being tough for them as regards the football, playing the Division leaders, Meath. But ya never know, if they manage to sneak a win, it could consolidate a very good position for them coming into the last two league games.

As for hurling, well, its being a great season so far, and now they're playing the two "weaker" teams of the division. so ya never know, win today and that should very well be the Division 2A winners trophy coming to Wicklow. Never would have thought of it after the last however many years of failure. Good to see something good though.

Really think they should have made a double header at Aughrim this weekend, having the football and hurling on one after each other. Would make more sense, as now people have to decide between Arklow & Aughrim. Wicklow C.B. missed a good chance for a big turnout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

Kerry to give Donegal there first defeat of League. And i'm not just saying that because i'm from Kerry. Well.... maybe a little!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Dapos wrote:
    Kerry to give Donegal there first defeat of League. And i'm not just saying that because i'm from Kerry. Well.... maybe a little!

Donegal to win by 2. I'm saying that because I'm from Donegal.:D

Will be close. I see Declan O'Sullivan and Paul Galvin are back in the panel for Kerry. McFadden and Devenney have to be first choice after Tryone.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

patmac wrote:
    Massive game for Westmeath v Galway will be interesting to measure how good we are against an improving Galway team.

A repeat of last summer would be nice, result that is, football was terrible! Longford game is getting ever closer so be nice to see injured lads come back and no new casualties.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Our footballers have a tough task against Westmeath. personally I can't see Galway doing much this year with regards to the football - they seem to be very dis-jointed.

Westmeath to win by 2 points in an absolutly dour and un-interesting game.

As for the hurlers, I'm not sure what to say. Before last Sunday, I would have said there will be nothing between Tipp and Galway, but now Tipp have to be favourites IMO. If Loughnane puts out as strange a team as he did last Sunday, then Tipp will "massacre" us.

I'd say it will be very close - Galway wanting to make amends for last Sunday, while Tipp knowing that a win will virtually guarantee them a quater-final place. Tipp to win by 3.

Jaysus, Fermanagh took a wild beating. It's a pity because they do not deserve to play Div. 3 football next year. Or for that matter Limerick if it happens.

Maybe a play off with the top 2 from the 2 Div. 2's! would have been fairer.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Seanies32 wrote:
    Jaysus, Fermanagh took a wild beating. It's a pity because they do not deserve to play Div. 3 football next year. Or for that matter Limerick if it happens.

Maybe a play off with the top 2 from the 2 Div. 2's! would have been fairer.

In fairness to Fermanagh, they put in a much bigger effort than Cork did a fortnight previously.

Great display by the lads but we need two massive performances in the next fortnight as it's deja-vu from Championship 06 as we go into a big game with Mayo having not really being tested in our previous two fixtures.

I am hopeful for next weekend though! :)

Donegal 1-15, Kerry 0-13.

Sweet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Haven't a Clue

Great stuff from Donegal. Twice in that match, when it looked like things were just slipping away a bit from them, they came back with a string of points. Devenney was classy today too although he's a habit of getting the tricky points and missing the easy ones. I just hope we aren't peaking a bit early this year.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Looks like Division 2 for us... One more win and we're more or less there!

Great win, especially being 8 - 3 down after 20 minutes. We outscored Kerry 1-12 to 0-5 in the rest of the match. Devenney kicked some brilliant points. McFadden started well but faded. Bonner brilliant in the second half. Backs good in the second half as well and won plenty of ball in Midfield throughout the game. Looked very hungry when it was needed. Great to have Sweeney, Hegarty, Thompson and Doherty all in reserve too.

Be worried though about the effect Donaghy had until he got injured. Backs just wheren't tight enough in the first half and half forwards should have been better. Not impressed with Roper, great worker but wastes alot of possession and chances. Alot better in the second half though.

Great win for both our hurlers and footballers today - both unexpected, tbh.

The hurlers should have beaten Tipp by a lot more than just 4 points, the 3 goals Tipp scored were very soft and could have been avoided. At least a bit of character was shown today, even when Galway conceded a goal they went down the other end and tacked on a few points. Its all set up nicely for the kilkenny match next Sunday.

The footballers also had a good win against Westmeath - if they keep up this form then they could end up in Division one next year. Something that wasn't on the cards a few weeks ago.

Side note: Another great win for the Dublin hurlers today against Limerick: Dublin 0-22 Limerick 1-15 in the Gaelic grounds was a fantatstic result for them - if they win their outstanding match against Antrim on wednesday night, then they are practiclly guaranteed a place in the knoc-out stages of the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,760 ✭✭✭The Rooster

If the Dubs win in Antrim they are guaranteed a place in the quarter-finals. I didnt see it but I'd say the performance v Limerick was the best so far, and with 3 good players out injured. 22 points is a great score for a team who's failings in recent years has been lack of firepower.

Good win for the Dubs footballers (first ever victory over Fermanagh in the league (never played in championship)), but hard to judge properly given Fermanagh had a bad day. Still if the Dubs lose to Mayo in Mayo next week, as would probably be expected, then we're out. I thought Cork were going to do us a favour, but fair play to Mayo for a great comeback. If we do beat Mayo, as well as giving ourselves a chance of qualifying we'll also bring Kerry and Tyrone right back into the mix. Unfortunate that one of the top 5 will end up in Division 2 next year. Given that the Dubs are away to Mayo and havent beaten Kerry in donkeys, the Dubs are probably favs for that 5th position.

Excellent performance from Donegal. Without doubt the form team in the country and genuine All Ireland contenders. With the two weakest teams in the division to come (Ferm and Lim), it'd be a surprise if they don't make it 7 wins out of 7.

SSShhhh!!! We've had that talk before but it's looking good. :)

We seem to have genuine strength in depth this time. Ulster first then, maybe, the All Ireland.

Well, footballers lost today by a goal unfortunately. They only scored something like 1 point in the second half...not good enough really. Still think Wicklow are in 4 th place, some exciting matches coming up now against Tipp & Sligo.

As for the hurlers, they beat Armagh today, so Division 2A is pretty much secured. Does anyone know what happens with the hurling this year? Like, will Wicklow be promoted if they win it?

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Looks like Division 2 for us... One more win and we're more or less there!

I think that 2B will come down to the last round of games to decide the top 2. Unfortunately Wexford have put themselves in an akward position by slipping up against Waterford, so they have to win their last 2 games. It could all come down to points difference in the end.

Just like it looks like it might come down to points difference for the Wexford hurlers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Lots of good results this weekend. Two Dubs wins and Kerry going down! :)

Seanies32 wrote:
    SSShhhh!!! We've had that talk before but it's looking good. :)
    We seem to have genuine strength in depth this time. Ulster first then, maybe, the All Ireland.

Yeah. The game against Armagh has been moved to Clones. :mad: :mad: :mad:

Back on topic, Donegal showed a ruthless streak today that we haven't seen before. Towards the end of the game, they took all their opportunities. Strength in depth too, when you see Eamon McGee and Michael Hegarty on the bench. I rate McGee very highly.

smashey wrote:
    Yeah. The game against Armagh has been moved to Clones. :mad: :mad: :mad:

Back on topic, Donegal showed a ruthless streak today that we haven't seen before. Towards the end of the game, they took all their opportunities. Strength in depth too, when you see Eamon McGee and Michael Hegarty on the bench. I rate McGee very highly.

We'l need to set up a Donegal thread here! :)

Clones was terrible, but since when did the Ulster Council favour Donegal!:mad:

I remember McEniff having the same problem 2/3 years ago. If I remember correctly was Armagh as well! I think alot of this is that Armagh don't have their own County championship ground (Athletic Grounds under development) and that seems to be taken into consideration, though it shouldn't. Do take the point about more family tickets (Croke Park is excellent when it comes to that) but bringing a family to Clones is probably as expensive as paying full price in Ballybofey.

Anyway, rant over. Seems to be great strength in depth but I suppose Kerry and Armagh have the All Ireland Club members to come back to. Didn't like Devenney show boating with the high fives in the second half but that's Devenney I suppose. Save that for Armagh, hopefully :) Infuriating on and off the pitch :) Though going by his interview on Highland Radio he seems to have found a more mature side. McGee is a good player as well so shows the strength in depth in the backs too. Maybe Shane Carr will get a call!

Great to see Wicklow and Dublin hurlers doing so well. Maybe Hurling isn't on its last legs after all. Maybe Wexford struggling is a reflection on some of the stronger counties and the "weaker counties" aren't getting the credit for the work that's being done. Would love to see Down staying up, but unlikely.

I'd say a few of the other panel might get a start in the next 2 matches just to see how they get on. The team for the last 2 matches was the same, understandable come championship time, but it has changed from the McKenna Cup/ start of the league. A few new faces would make sure that nobody can take their place for granted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

roscommon 0-15 longford 0-12

sweet

i take great pride in knowing every year that longford peak in late feb early march and no matter how crap roscommon are playing we can always beat them no-hopers :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

A great display by Dublin at the weekend.Bernard Brogan played his heart out and Jayo was influential.Shane Ryan had his moments and ran hot and cold at times.Fermanagh are lucky Dublin were missing Alan Brogan,the score might have been more.

Good to see Vaughn thrown in the mix.I really feel sorry for this guy as he should be seeing more league action so that his championship form will shine through.Pillar has made mistakes putting a heavy burden on this guys shoulders in crucial moments.

I hope Mossy Quinn isn't carrying a knock.I think Dublin will get a draw at least from the remaining two games....I'd imagine this is more of a possibility with Kerry.I wouldn't read too much into Mayos one point win over Cork.Cork have been poor and Mayo are far more dangerous than they appear.Hopefully we'll stay up.This should be made more possible by our points difference which is much higher than Tyrone at least if it comes to points difference

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Good win for Mayo. Winning in the last minute shows heart which is always good and considering we're forced to play a second choice midfield due to injury and illness (get well soon Ronan McGarrity). Gave up a few soft scores including the first goal but it looks like Johnno is sticking with this defence so hopefully they'll all grow into it together.
    The forwards are still a bit of a puzzle between injuries and selections I firmly believe we haven't seen the championship forward line. IMO the two Mortimers, Kevin O'Neill and Dillon will start. After that it's up for grabs. Two from Moran, Kilcoyne, Campbell, McNicholas, Brady, O'Malley and Ciaran Mac (if fully fit he'll prob play). We also seem sort on out and out full forwards, Dillon isn't the answer up there. I'd say he'll play T Mort full forward and Conor and O'Neill in the corners, if Mac is fit. If not I don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭bennyc

Back on topic, Donegal showed a ruthless streak today that we haven't seen before. Towards the end of the game, they took all their opportunities. Strength in depth too, when you see Eamon McGee and Michael Hegarty on the bench. I rate McGee very highly.[/QUOTE]

We still missed some easy and paniced chances the goal opps and a couple of long efforts form Cass (my man of the match) we hit three times as many wides over all and need to start getting those on target. Our scoring level is well up with what is needed around the 15 point mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭arctictree

Mushy wrote:
    As for the hurlers, they beat Armagh today, so Division 2A is pretty much secured. Does anyone know what happens with the hurling this year? Like, will Wicklow be promoted if they win it?

AFAIK, top spot in 2A will just give us a place in the div 2 semi final

See - http://www.gaa.ie/page/allianz_nhl_closing_stages.html for details.

So if we want to win DIV2 we would have to win the semi and the final. We would probably meet Laois in the final and would have to beat them again. Not very fair if you ask me.

After all that, we may still have to play the loser in DIV1 to get promoted (not sure about this one).

A

Ah, cheers for that, sure its been good while it lasted. I thought just the top 2 teams(ie. winner from 2A and 2B) played against each other to decide the winners of that division, leaving out semi-finals. Wicklow in division 1 next year...t'would be a funny sight

arctictree wrote:
    After all that, we may still have to play the loser in DIV1 to get promoted (not sure about this one).

AFAIK, that won't happen. There will be no promotion for the winners of Division 2 this year. In fact, 2 extra teams (at least - I'm unsure if this could be 3) will be demoted down to Division 2 next year in accordance with the new League structure the GAA want to implement.

Personally, I believe there should be an incentive for a team to win the title (I know you'd have a trophy, but promotion would want to be another goal)

The situation with the League as regards promotion and relegation this year is as follows (well I'm 99% sure it's this way):

Top 4 teams from Div 1A and 1B go into new Division 1
    5th and 6th placed teams from 1A and 1B will join the top 2 teams from both 2A and 2B in the new Division 2
    Bottom two teams from 1A and 1B will join 3rd and 4th placed teams from 2A and 2B in the new Division 3
    Bottom 4 teams from 2A and 2B will make up new Division 4

These Division 4 teams will start the Championship as normal but will not go into the qualifiers if the lose an early round match. If they get as far as a provinicial final then they can join the qualifiers at that stage. If they don't get to a provinicial final then they go straight into the Tommy Murphy Cup after losing their early round games.

This IMO is a pretty fair way to do it. The league had to be reformed as the split was lopsided (5 of the best 8 teams in 1A) and it's new format is more equitable and managable. Some teams will get screwed over for a year, maybe two, but it will even out. It will also make the League more competitive and important at the lower reaches where it can lack a bit of bite.
    The changes to the Championship are mainly to give an extra weekend of football to the clubs which has to be welcomed and it will finally make a real competition out of the Tommy Murphy. By the way there still is an advantage in finishing top of the present Div 2A and B. Even though they will only go up to the new Div 2 they are joining the top 16 teams in the country which was all they were doing by getting promoted to Div 1A or B.

I think that people are getting confused about the procedures in the NHL and NFL so here is a brief explanation
    NATIONAL FOOTBALL LEAGUE (Two rounds left)
    Play-offs

The top two in each group go straight through to semi-finals in both Division 1 and Division 2.

Promotion/Relegation

Division 1:

* The top four finishers in each group stay in Division 1 next season.

* The teams that finish fifth and sixth in each section will be in Division 2 next season.

* The teams that finish seventh and eighth in each section will be in Division 3 next season.

Division 2

* The top two in each group remain in Division 2 next year.

* The teams that finish third and fourth in each group will be in Division 3 next season.

* The bottom four in each group go straight to Division 4 next season.

NATIONAL HURLING LEAGUE (One round left)
    Play-offs

The top three finishers in each group will be involved. The top finisher goes straight to the semi-finals, while second and third go to quarter-finals.

Promotion/Relegation

* The top four teams in each Division 1 group will remain there next season and the sixth-placed (bottom) teams are relegated.

* The fifth-placed finisher in both Division 1 groups will play-off and the winner will then play the eventual Division 2 champions to decide the final spot in next year's nine-team Division 1.

^^^^
    | | | |

Pretty much what I said for the football. Thanks for the hurling though. It always seems to be more confusing:rolleyes:

Yes - so basically, even if Wicklow win DIV2 (Big IF), they still have to play a DIV1 team and win to get promoted.

On the other hand, there will be 3 teams coming down from DIV1 and Wicklow will still be in DIV2 so a good opportunity to play some top class teams.

A

Edit - would love to see Wexford relegated. A wicklow/wexford league hurling match would be something. Timber would not be spared....

A

arctictree wrote:
    Edit - would love to see Wexford relegated. A wicklow/wexford league hurling match would be something. Timber would not be spared....

A

Not going to happen I am afraid, Wexford's last game is against Down and gives them an excellent chance of making the quarter finals

I think that people are getting confused about the procedures in the NHL and NFL so here is a brief explanation

Yeah, think that may have been my fault. I was looking for the hurling one though!

Well, if wicklow were in Div 2 next year, it would be a great opportunity to play some (much) better teams.

As for the fotball, well they better at least get Div 3 next year, which would mean the chance to play in the qualifiers aswell this year

Mushy wrote:
    Well, if wicklow were in Div 2 next year, it would be a great opportunity to play some (much) better teams

Yes could be 3 of Offaly/Down/Limerick/Antrim (possibly others). Some nice names there....

A

Still could be Dublin:p...I'm going to hell here for that:D

From looking at the tables, could be Offaly as they have to go to Waterford, and Limerick or Tipp could be in the final play off to decide who's in Div.1. Great to see Dublin in Div.1. Not many would have thought they would have stayed up so well. An example of what can be done at under age level.

Hopefully Wicklow can build on their work in next years league to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,693 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Antrim beat Dublin 1-13 to 0-12

Forgot about Antrim match. They where due one big one in the League as they always seem to do. Wouldn't write them off against Limerick either. Leaves alot to be played for in both Div. 1's. League play-off and relegation play-off wise.

As for football, God knows whats going to happen in Div 1B!

Seanies32 wrote:
    As for football, God knows whats going to happen in Div 1B!

Armagh for relegation. Please.

smashey wrote:
    Armagh for relegation. Please.

Was going to say that would be a April fools joke but they are playing on Sat. Damn!

Though with Laois away they could well be facing that.

Maybe the reason there playing so bad is they haven't had any home games in Clones! They haven't lost there in 4 years :)