Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Resurrection Fight Night - Galway

• 22-03-2007 4:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭

The Irish Muaythai Council will be running an international Muaythai show in Galway on Easter Saturday April 7th. The bill will feature UFC fighter Orlando Weit, who has also fought Sakuraba, fought Pro Boxing and also done security work during the Sahara Desert Marathons. Orlando will be fighting Jamie Crawford from Belfast who is the current Irish Middleweight Champion and No 1 ranked Middleweight in Britain in the Independant rankings. The full bill is as follows:

(1) 69kgs 5 x 2 mins B Class fight
    Dara Flores Vs Liam Robinson
    Galway English Champion

(2) 65-66kgs 5x2 B Class Fight
    Martin Conroy Vs Arezki Chayem
    Galway France

(3) 72kgs 5x2 B Class Fight
    Richard Macy Vs Karl Joyce
    IMC eliminator
    Galway Galway

(4) 95kg 5x2 B Class Fight
    Gary Hart Vs Trevor Willams
    Galway England

(5) 70kgs 3x2 C Class fight
    Joe O Toole Vs TBA
    Galway

(6) 70kgs 5x3 A Class Fight
    Paul Kelly Vs Sepeher Zarnmkhameh
    Cork French Champion

MAIN EVENT

(7) 75kgs 5x3 A Class Fight
    Jamie Crawford Vs Orlando Weit
    Irish Champion Former World Champion
    English No 1 Former UFC Fighter

( 95kg 3x2 C Class Fight
    Mike Joyce Vs England TBA
    Galway

(9) 72kgs 5x2 B Class Bout
    Brian Foley Vs Graham Molley
    IMC eliminator
    Cork Galway

(10) 72kgs 5x2 B Class Bout
    Joe Armstrong Vs Kevin Goubernator
    Irish Champion French Champion
    Belfast France

(11) 75kgs 3x2 C Class Fight
    Denise Connell Vs Lilla Chayem
    Cork France

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Andrew_M

Dave,

Good luck with the show, hope to make it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭paddyc

best of luck dave would love to be there but willbe in siam with wee mick pazsowski having a few beers and watching lumpini fights

hope the milkbottle does his stuff

paddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭Dave Joyce

Thanks guys, should be a good one with some interesting matches and I think Jamie should add a prominent name to his belt. Tell Mike I was asking for him Paddy and I hope everything is going good for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭BLUNT

All the best with the show my friend,hopefully see you in a couple of weeks.As I'll be at your place with young Ross..............all the best J

No worries, J, looking forward to seeing ya buddy, its been a while.

Wow Dave swinging Orlando Weit is a brilliant one. His KO against Roberto Lucarelli at UFC 2 is one of the best Vale Tudo KOs of all time. :)

Thanks Colm, he has some record which I just thought I might add,

NAME : Orlando WIET
    Birth date : 24-10-1965 PARAMARIBO-SURINAME
    Height : 1mtr 78
    Weight : 77/80 kg
    Style : Boxing +Thai boxing +Free Fight +kickboxing
    TRAINER'S NAME AND MANAGER: Orlando WIET
    Details about fighting history:
    180, fights total, full-contact, Kickboxing, boxing, Thai boxing, Free Fight, UFO UFC
    Fought in Thailand at Lumpinee stadium
    In Japan K1 UFO “universal”Fight art organisation.
    All my boxing fights on EUROSPORT TV.
    Fought in UFC II COLORADO
    Former World champion Thai and kickboxing
    Fight record 180 fights to date
    12 full- contact 3 lost, 8win by K.O
    32 kickboxing 9 lost, 17 win by K.O.
    20 boxing 6 lost, 8 win by K.O.
    2 UFC 1 lost, 1 win by K.O.
    3 UFO 3 win, by K.O.
    8 Free Fight 2 lost, 4 win by K.O.
    103 Thai boxing 12 lost, 30 win by K.O.

Just watched a few of Orlando Weits fights, and dont anyone jump all over me for saying this, but isnt he a little old now. Not taking anything away from the guy he has a fantastic fight record, and i dont doubt for a second that he's not still sharp, but 42 is old enough for anyone to fight thai boxing

But then again Randy Couture is 43 and he's still top of his game so maybe im wrong, but i'd say Jamie will win

Looking forward to it either way

Yeah Dave.....to long,my friend.we'll have a good yarn.......my friends just back from traing with an ole x champion Thai fighter.This guy specializes in Me Mai and Krabbi krabong and Thai healing arts,plus all the dances.So if you fanced it I'ed bring him over at some stage,to Galway before he go'es back to Thailand.This guyz stuff is the best thai stuff I've ever seen and we could show that ole arts from Siam and Indonesia,Malay ( Srivijaya Kingdom ) are very similar.Love to the family...looken forward to seen them all,keep'er lit J

Thanks brother, sounds great. How long is your friend over there for, as its bedlam here getting ready for this show and all thats involved but I'd love to take you up on the offer once the show is over.

ANDREW YA BIG FECKER:p , don't EVEN mention the age thing as its a sore spot (not JUST with me but hopefully a few more on here;) ). Besides its all in your head. I'll have you know that I beat Dennis Palmer in 2003 who WKN European Thai champ, and I WAS 40!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭paddyc

andrew was talking to him yesterday at fights up in bfast and jamie reckons even though hes old he still be a handful as hes in super shape now just like he was in the UFC

from jamies point of view hes sick o fightin joe soaps and tried getting on the bills for that 8 man tournie in the uk and was told there was nothing for him even though he ranked no.1 so hes glad to take a scalp ike orlandos, cos it will be good for getting hm fights abroad then after that

from daves point of view it a big crowd pleaser with a good few MMA gyms and that i am sure a few would be heading to see Orlando in the flesh... even though he is in for a kicking:)

paddy

Well Dave the guyz representitive is from Belfast and trained Silat with me,then came to London and became Stevens student.Steven met this guy in Thailand...he was willing to teach them as he knew of Steven's teacher.So now Ric ( Belfast ) and Stan ( London ) are now this guyz students.So the Arajan looks after orphans on the Thai/Burma divide and we were planing on doing a seminar to raise funds for them,so if at any stage you think you could help us out ? we'ed be more than willing to have it at your club.As it is the only south eastern m.a. school in Ireland,that is where theyed like to do it.So when I'm over,we'll have a talk about it.........all the best J

Paddy, i can totally see why its good to have a guy like Orlando on the card. Great for Jamie to have on his record and a good crowd puller for the show.

From fights ive seen him in though, he has always been in good shape, so i dont doubt he will be the same in Galway

If i had a few euro to spare, i think i could safely put it on Jamie

Hey J, most definately we'll talk re seminar. Ross was filling me on the Arjarn and the lads. Perhaps you could start a seperate thread and post a link to the clip from the film, so interested people could have a short look at the work he is doing in northern Thailand. Thanks brother

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭Ballisong

Resurrection Fight Night, this Saturday in the Black Box, Galway, get your tickets at s.e.a.m.a. academy or the Town Hall theatre Galway there going fast :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Aiodhan7

BLUNT wrote:
    Yeah Dave.....to long,my friend.we'll have a good yarn....:rolleyes:

Now that is a belter, wer talkin about a guy here who could sleep on his arse at the top of Dublins needle:p :rolleyes: . Tell ya what Jason if you bring plenty of Limp Bizkit and Metalica with ye I can assure you yil have a faster ressurection than Easter.

But then it is spring and he could be officially out of hybernation.

Matchsticks won't work, when his eyes close, its like tryin to open an oyster with a feather:D :D:D:D

To supress a truth gives it force beyond endurance

Aiodhan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭mark.leonard

It is probably above though I couldn't see it, but what time are doors at this event, what is the planned kick off time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭Ballisong

Doors are at 7 and the first fight should hopefully kick off at about half 7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭mark.leonard

Cheers Aran