Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sunday Open Training - 2pm Phoenix Park

• 22-03-2007 11:58am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭

We'll be meeting at the WELLINGTON MONUMNET at 2PM.

Hopefully see a few new faces.

Numbers here please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭kaizersoze123

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

OK, here's where to go, for anyone with questions about that.

http://www.redbrick.dcu.ie/~darragh/junk/parkgatestreet1.JPG

The black circle is the gate, the big black tower to the left is the monument.

Thanks to Darragh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

I'll be there. Well unfit at this stage but up for the run about!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭LoBo

Afraid I can't be there this sunday. Watch out for simon going crazy with sliding tackles..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

LoBo wrote:
    Afraid I can't be there this sunday. Watch out for simon going crazy with sliding tackles..
    In fairness, there wasn't much wrong with his challenges in training. Some folks take exception to it, but that was the problem for us, too nice on the pitch. I'd never encourage kicking yer teammates to bits, but limping into challenges isn't doing anyone any good.
    As long as there's no malice and the intention is there to win the ball, fair enough I say.

Guess I'm #3 for Sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭LoBo

Savman wrote:
    In fairness, there wasn't much wrong with his challenges in training. Some folks take exception to it, but that was the problem for us, too nice on the pitch. I'd never encourage kicking yer teammates to bits, but limping into challenges isn't doing anyone any good.
    As long as there's no malice and the intention is there to win the ball, fair enough I say.

Oh I don't mean anything to do with training, I mean Simon's love of slides + the return to grass on sunday :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭Mikie

Hi there Lads:

Should be there.

Ankle is still a bit sore though so will have to take it easy...

Cheers,

Mikie.

LoBo wrote:
    Oh I don't mean anything to do with training, I mean Simon's love of slides + the return to grass on sunday :)
    Unleash the beast I say :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Savman wrote:

Guess I'm #3 for Sunday

I completely agree with you on the fact that we have been too nice on the pitch in competitive games recently. I didnt like 4 tackles last night which I feel would be fouls in a competitive game, thats all. I definitely think its got its good points to see people getting stuck in harder in training and I hope we bring it over to games from now on. Plus, you've got to bear in mind I can be a moany git a lot, particularly when getting a beating on the level I was getting last night!

Training was far improved last night, it was tough for my team with the numbers and Enda still carrying a knock but ya cant beat a good run around! I know I was shattered after about 45 minutes! Dunno about the surface though, sore legs this morning.

Special mention to Colm aswell, he was excellent Sunday in the match and brought it to training last night. Fair play mate.

Des has asked me if I will do a few things in training, drills and stuff, so I was thinking of starting Sunday with some simple stuff, running, defending and some attacking play. Hope we get the numbers needed, I'll be there.

My mate Paul is #5 btw. Trying to get more but wont know til the day, thats jst the way people are.

I think the game last night would've been interesting with even teams, that extra man kills ye after a while especially on that small pitch when the ball's never out of play.

If doing drills or exercises, work is needed on the first touch, it was poor in parts last night. When ye receive a pass, your first touch shouldnt take you 25 yards chasing after the ball. Some good moves though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Draupnir wrote:
    you've got to bear in mind I can be a moany git
    Can't say I've noticed.

I'll let ya off with that one cos you are the boss!

@Sav: yeah we will try to bring in some work on the first touch with one or two of the drills. I agree with you.

Another thing we need to work on, me included(possibly in particular), is playing about with it at the back. Even in training there must have been 10 stupid goals from messing in defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Gileadi

I'd love to be there to break you lads up but im in lyon for the week snowboarding :o

dont worry next week ill be back to do a number on ye

so, we've got 6 so far. where's everyone else?

Lads I'm out my ankle is still bad - I'll have to give it a week more - Next Sunday I'll be back.

Sorry!

Cheers,

Mikie.

If we don't have at least 10 then why bother at all.
    What have we got now, 5 is it? Or is there more friends of friends coming?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Is it still on tomorrow?

Numbers seem pretty pathetic. The lack of reasons for this is more disturbing. At least the usual suspects posted up why they can't go. Where are the rest :confused:

Is it because some players don't use the forums?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭bugs90

Hey,
    I haven't posted because I just don't know if I can make it. I'm working now and will be til after midnight :mad: and will have to work for at least half of tomorrow but if theres any way at all I can make it I will...
    Next Sunday I definately can't make it - its the go-live weekend for a project I've been working on for 5 months and I'll be working pretty much around the clock for the weekend:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I'll be there, but more than likely wont take part in anyting more than a bit of light jogging if at all, my back is causing me no end of pain. Had to work late the last coupple of nights so a trip to the doctor has been put off till minday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭emc2

Hi guys,

Can't make it tomorrow, I have to work, a couple of things went pearshaped on a project so can get out of it.

I'll be at the next session...

Just a reminder clocks go forward tonight 1 hour just so people do arrive an hour early/late.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭Quball15

Hey,

I said on Wednesday i wouldn't be there on Sunday cus of foot injury.
    I could turn up to watch but i have a dissertation that i need to work on.

Just spoke to Des, due to the lack of players, training wont go ahead today. No sense dragging out 6 people on a Sunday afternoon for a two aside world cup!

See you wednesday

Ah okay. The hour went forward today also. So there might of been confusion there too :)

cheers for the heads up lads :rolleyes: just back from the park. I only have net access in work.
    fúckin joke tbh, a text message could have saved me a 2 hour wasted trip up from dundalk

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

cheers for the heads up lads :rolleyes: just back from the park. I only have net access in work.
    fúckin joke tbh, a text message could have saved me a 2 hour wasted trip up from dundalk

Dundalk. Thats fairly poxy

kearnsr wrote:
    Dundalk. Thats fairly poxy

aye..just a tad

For the record lads, I've left the team. Had me mind made up before today, but stuff like this doesn't bode well.
    I hope yiz get it together and wish yiz all the best for the season.
    Cheers

Sav - For the record I think you are probably the best player we have. I'm sure you've got places on other teams waiting... But if its just a matter of the lads not getting organised - summer is coming and well the long nights make it easier.

If training started up on a set night - you never know we might just get it together????????????

Either way whatever you decide best of luck and if your ever up for a kick about give us a shout.

Cheers,

Mikie.

Cool bud, might take ye up on the kickabout thing at some stage ;)

****e sorry Shay, I didnt know about the net access thing. I would have sent you a text if I did obviously. Sorry man.

Same cramp happened to me - match was off - everyone should just swap mobile numbers.

Draupnir wrote:
    ****e sorry Shay, I didnt know about the net access thing. I would have sent you a text if I did obviously. Sorry man.

don't worry about it these things happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

don't worry about it these things happen

i knew but deliberately didnt ring you cos it was funnier to watch you looking lost at the monument. :D

I kid , i kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

I've just arrived in the US and been away from a computer for a good while so am only seeing this now.

Last I looked all seemed on the up with a proper training session with decent drills etc. (thanks Keith) being offered. To see it was cancelled due to the pathetic turnout is very disappointing to be honest lads. Shay having a wasted journey is a joke though and it's clear now we can't rely on the forum for last minute changes of plan. I think Des has everyone's mobile number, surely there's some way we can sort out a list on webtext without it costing much?

We clearly pointed out in the mission statement for this new season that we not only wanted good players, we wanted committed players. That means if you can't commit to showing up for the majority of training sessions and games, it is a pity, but the right thing to do is admit you can't commit. That way your spot will either go to someone who can make it, or else we'll be left in a position where we don't have enough comitted players and will have to make a call on whether or not to proceed, but at least we should be working off more realistic numbers. I know it's difficult to predict with work, have been ruled out twice now cos of it (though as I said I'll be a spectator for a while yet), but if I thought it was going to be a regular pattern I'd put my hand up and say it - even if we only need a replacement temporarily for a few weeks we'd at least be running at close to full strength.

Very sorry to hear Sav's left - clearly one of our best players and we were only starting to get the best out of him with the new system.

Hopefully a few more new players make the sessions this midweek and weekend and then sign-up - cos of the deadline we really need to turn 'interested' players into 'committed' players ASAP.

Yeah the list of mobile numbers is a good idea. Des just couldn't get to the list because it was on a PC that was out of reach.

I don't mind taking a copy of that list. But I have net access at limited times. Although I'm on a week off at the moment. I have free webtext. Old gaffer used to abuse that service or get other lads to abuse it for him :D