Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does this look familiar ??

• 22-03-2007 9:41am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭

I'm fu*king sick to my back teeth of stupid idiots that can't / won't use there indicators.

I was nearly run off the road several times on Tuesday by people turning off roundabouts without indicating.

Here is a prime example of a car driver not bothering to indicate or check his/her mirrors before moving out to overtake.

http://xpock.com/?p=1015

• Closed Accounts Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Garibaldi

I think the main thing to take from that is: avoid bikes with video cameras mounted on the tank. They're forever crashing, and you don't want to be taken out by their slidey, spinny antics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Dr4gul4

Garibaldi wrote:
    I think the main thing to take from that is: avoid bikes with video cameras mounted on the tank. They're forever crashing,

rofl :)

if you look @ the car at the beginning of the video, you can see him edging out a lot, he's wobbling out to the left even. no way would i chance going past him, fecking eejit like, you just know he's not gonna look in his mirror, and plow out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭babybundy

new enough idiot on a new bike ,
    want to show it off more than ride it properly
    i'm only on bikes 5 years and would still read it better
    and it looks more like the car ramed him it pulled out very early

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Scary... I have nightmares about these kinds of situations.. Biker was following a little close though, and he did overtake just after a blind bend, but then he may have had good visibility over the roof of the car.

Still, shudder... Hope the biker was ok..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,049 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

That's bad driving by both parties.

That was bad. I don't bother to assume that anybody will behave at roundabouts anymore so I stay well the hell away from any vehicle. There is far too much of this on multi-lane roundabouts:

Approach on right-hand lane.
    Cut straight through roundabout
    Exit on left-hand lane.

I've nearly had the nose taken off my car a good few times like that. Will be back biking soon so I'll be on the watch-out for all of this crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭McCalvin

Looks to me like the car in front of the red car slammed on brakes and the red car was avoiding it. Both the bike and the red car were too tail gating and didn't have enough time to react.

You can see the shadow of the car in front of the red car when the red car and the bike swerve.

Bad driving by both bike and car IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Laserface

That biker is some ****in eejit. Serves him right in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

Laserface wrote:
    That biker is some ****in eejit. Serves him right in my opinion.
    He might be, you're right... But the car is 100% at fault here ("insurance-wise" anyway).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

He might be, you're right... But the car is 100% at fault here ("insurance-wise" anyway).

They're always wrong ;)

How can you be certain, out of curiosity??

It looks to me like the car in front of the red car stopped suddenly (possibly to avoid a cow or something), and the red car swerved to not hit him. As McCalvin said above.
    The biker was just unlucky...and a bit stupid to be tailgating.

Can you claim off a cow??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Mjedl

No , but you can claim off the owner of the cow, get its tag number, plastic piece on its ear to trace the owner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

Laserface wrote:

It looks to me like the car in front of the red car stopped suddenly (possibly to avoid a cow or something), and the red car swerved to not hit him. As McCalvin said above.
    The biker was just unlucky...and a bit stupid to be tailgating.

What!! Where do you see this? I can see the car in front of the red one, but do not see any indication that it stopped. The shadows do get closer but I think that is more a factor of the red car accelerating for the overtake rather than the car in front coming to a stop for no apparent reason.

That said, even if you are correct, which I don’t think you are, a couple of points.

First the car:

The driver has a responsibility to be able to bring his vehicle to a stop in a controlled manner in the distance he can see to be clear. If he had done this, even if the car in front did stop suddenly he would not have to swerve.

Personally I think this was an overtake manoeuvre by the driver of the car. I think he was setting it up from quite far back. This would account for his closer proximity to the car in front, and the fact that he was driving, for the most part, very close to or even on the white line.

And finally, no shoulder check and no indicator. Nuff said.

The biker:

He spent most of the footage, up to the incident, in the overtake position. This should make it clear to anyone in front who could be bothered to check behind that he was keen to overtake and would most likely do so at the first opportunity. Given his position in the road I reckon he had great visibility of the road ahead and knew the overtake was on before the driver. I don’t think there were really any indications the biker could have taken that the driver was about to do what he did, certainly not from what we can see in the footage.

For me the car was the cause of the incident. Regardless of what the car in front of you does, if you have to swerve into the other carriageway to avoid hitting it, you have done something wrong. I still think though that the car was simply overtaking without and indication he was going to and no check to see it was safe to do so.

Is there anything the biker could have done? I believe so. Personally I would have taken the drivers position as an indication that he was going to try an overtake, given that, I might have hung back a bit unless I had some sign that he saw me in the overtake position.

Another point is that he started to accelerate whilst still behind the car. If he had pulled into the other carriageway, into a dominant position, at the same speed (a la Road Craft,) I think he would have been much better off. He would have had a better view to confirm the overtake was safe, the driver would have had a better chance of seeing him (if he did a mirror check,) and more importantly he would have more time to react to the car as he would not have been accelerating and. Had be done this he may have been able to duck to the right to avoid the car as it would have been in front of him rather than alongside.

That’s my 2cents from my 5 months of riding.:D

MrP

MrPudding wrote:
    What!! Where do you see this? I can see the car in front of the red one, but do not see any indication that it stopped. The shadows do get closer but I think that is more a factor of the red car accelerating for the overtake rather than the car in front coming to a stop for no apparent reason.
    I fully agree with you there MrP. I also think you can see the shadows getting closer because the red car accelerates before overtaking. IMO, the car driver is at fault (100%). He is a poor driver who does not check his mirrors (and over his left shoulder) before pulling out...

That said, as a biker I would have given loads of space to this maniac after seeing the erratic driving he was doing (driving right up the a$$ of the car in front). If you're a half decent rider you know when to keep well of cars driven that way!

Laserface wrote:
    How can you be certain, out of curiosity??
    Well, I tell you what. If you have a car, go for a drive. When a motorcyclist overtakes you, aim right to knock him down. Once the biker is down call the Garda, explain what happened (you're allowed to lie about a cow crossing the road if you wish, makes no difference) and then ask them who's at fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

Well, I tell you what. If you have a car, go for a drive. When a motorcyclist overtakes you, aim right to knock him down. Once the biker is down call the Garda, explain what happened (you're allowed to lie about a cow crossing the road if you wish, makes no difference) and then ask them who's at fault.

Interesting Plan Stefano, but I suggest some minor alterations:

Laserface claims to be some sort of biker, so let him be the volunteer that rides the bike, for example around a defined area. Next we get some scumbag volunteer to drive around same said area, with carte blanche to run over said motorcyclist with the vague pretence that he was "dodging a cow".

Then we ask Laserface, to come up with a reason as to why he shouldn't have been run over.

Car driver was 100% at fault like you said, not just insurance wise, because under no circumstances can you claim that someone else's wrong makes your wrong invalid.

L.

nereid wrote:
    Interesting Plan Stefano, but I suggest some minor alterations:

Laserface claims to be some sort of biker, so let him be the volunteer that rides the bike, for example around a defined area. Next we get some scumbag volunteer to drive around same said area, with carte blanche to run over said motorcyclist with the vague pretence that he was "dodging a cow".

Then we ask Laserface, to come up with a reason as to why he shouldn't have been run over.
    A little mean... But he'd get the point! :p
    nereid wrote:
    Car driver was 100% at fault like you said, not just insurance wise, because under no circumstances can you claim that someone else's wrong makes your wrong invalid.

L.
    We should have a bloody poll on this! lol :D

Jesus lads..relax! Lol

no need for the bitching like.
    I have been riding for 6 years...and in my own experience..I still stand by my point.

Not one of the above posts makes sense to me..
    all you are basically doing is complaining about the car..
    I'm looking at this from a bikers point of view.
    You should know by now that cars are the antichrist with their big blind spots...
    it is not news

Everywhere there are bikers whinging and screaming like girls that a car did this to me, and a car did that to me...blah blah blah

A good biker knows you should always stay well back, and not get anywhere near this type of danger.
    Where is your common sense gone??

When you are breathing through a tube, with your legs stuck up your arses, delighted that you got a few quid from a cage driver.....
    remember to think of me......riding away in the sun*...with a tiny laser on my face

*rain

Laserface wrote:
    it is not news

Everywhere there are bikers whinging and screaming like girls that a car did this to me, and a car did that to me...blah blah blah

A good biker knows you should always stay well back, and not get anywhere near this type of danger.
    Where is your common sense gone??

You are exactly right mate.

However, just so you know, "staying well back and not getting anywhere near danger" just doesn't cut the mustard so to speak.

You are as likely to be hit by something out of your control like some cager braking too late, or perhaps, simply not seeing you, as anyone else.

I do agree though that there are certainly some risks involved with driving in traffic, and telling someone that "they deserved" it is like us laughing at you when you get hit from behind because you should have known that there were dangers there.

Driving a bike defensively does not mean you can't make progress. A typical example of this is in the other thread that you posted some rediculous comments in, about the biker that got hit by the car pulling across their path.

Yes, fact is, as a biker you will come off worse, but knowing that it was not your fault is the least that us bikers can do.

That is why I did a RoSPA course. So I could best mitigate any risks and avoid as many incidents as I could before they ever materialised into incidents. However, since we are all human, and we are constantly learning, I have no problem holding my hand up and saying I can't drive properly. Once we start to claim that I drive better than you, you have lost.

Take care out there folks.

L.

nereid wrote:
    You are exactly right mate.

However, just so you know, "staying well back and not getting anywhere near danger" just doesn't cut the mustard so to speak.

You are as likely to be hit by something out of your control like some cager braking too late, or perhaps, simply not seeing you, as anyone else.

I do agree though that there are certainly some risks involved with driving in traffic, and telling someone that "they deserved" it is like us laughing at you when you get hit from behind because you should have known that there were dangers there.

Driving a bike defensively does not mean you can't make progress. A typical example of this is in the other thread that you posted some rediculous comments in, about the biker that got hit by the car pulling across their path.

Yes, fact is, as a biker you will come off worse, but knowing that it was not your fault is the least that us bikers can do.

That is why I did a RoSPA course. So I could best mitigate any risks and avoid as many incidents as I could before they ever materialised into incidents. However, since we are all human, and we are constantly learning, I have no problem holding my hand up and saying I can't drive properly. Once we start to claim that I drive better than you, you have lost.

Take care out there folks.

L.
    That is a very fair post Nereid.
    But in regards to the "other thread", if you can't see the obvious danger in overtaking on the left, you probably shouldn't be on a bike.

Laserface wrote:
    That is a very fair post Nereid.
    But in regards to the "other thread", if you can't see the obvious danger in overtaking on the left, you probably shouldn't be on a bike.

No, with the risk of being pedantic, if you realise the obvious danger, and do not take it into account, then you should not be on a bike. AKA driving without due care and attention / wreckless driving.

Driving within your own limits, taking known dangers into account, and driving accordingly, is exactly what being on a bike is all about. AKA using the motorcycle's traits to your advantage, while driving safely.

L.

what do you ride youself?

Laserface wrote:
    what do you ride youself?

Factory Restricted SV650N.

You?

Nice.
    I'm on a honda shadow 600.

I'd agree with your last point...but it obviously didn't do much for the guy who crashed in the bus lane.
    But i know what you mean indeed.

Bus lanes are for scooter drivers anyways :D