Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mika Villas- Crete

• 21-03-2007 12:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭

Hey guys,

Im going to the mika villas in crete this summer with 5 friends for 2 weeks. were all 19/20.

Were going to drink, go clubbing and have a good time, but ive heard bad things about the place, i.e doors being kicked down into ur apartment, and ur room been broken into. im going for a good time-but obviously dont want this stuff happenning. my friends and i are nothing like that, and would never do these things. having fun is one thing, but that just destroys a holiday.

any opinions would be great :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭PCros

Yeah friends of mine stayed there 2 years ago and had to put up with scumbags kicking in the door at 4 in the morning. My friends were a group of girls and they were terrified. The group apparently 'got the wrong door'. What adds to this is that the security guard is an absolute sh^%head.

Crete in general has improved so much from the leaving cert crap that was going on 5 or 6 years ago. Hopefull Mika Villas have stepped up their game aswell. A good point is that your located in Piskopiano which has top notch restaurants and your going early so wont be as packed as July and August.

Have alook at my other post in this thread for info on starbeach:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055067807

P.S i'm sure its going to be a great holiday, sure you'll be legless for two weeks and its hard for anything to annoy you when your over there.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

crete, great spot!!

mika villas........NIGHTMARE!

half of my friends actually went home a week early because the management are pricks.

walking into your apartment out of the blue, trying to charge us money for dirty sheets, bouncer is a prick, my mate got kicked out for pulling a mooner! Another one got kicked out for going for a swim at 6 in the morning.......

i could go on...... stay away from the owner manolis, he is a wanker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,136 ✭✭✭Moanin

Must have changed since I stayed there about 5 years ago.It was a top class much sought after apartment complex? The Management were very friendly and ran a good operation from what I could see.There never seemed to be many scumbags staying there.Maybe management has changed?

Moanin wrote:
    Must have changed since I stayed there about 5 years ago.It was a top class much sought after apartment complex? The Management were very friendly and ran a good operation from what I could see.There never seemed to be many scumbags staying there.Maybe management has changed?

ye the management changed in either 2003 or 2004. i think it used to be owned by an elderly woman but she retired and sold the place....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭CherieAmour

I hate to say it to someone who has already booked, but nightmare is the precise word for it.

I don't know about the owner cos we never had any dealings with him, but the people that were staying there were complete and utter scumbags.

I had that feeling of dread in my stomach the minute I got off the bus and sadly it turned out that my gut instinct about the place was right.

I didn't spend one day in the accommodation while I was there, never swam in the pool or even hung out beside it and never had 1 drink in the bar. Despite the wonderful things that we did during the day, I just dreaded getting back to it at night.

We packed up every morning and went to the Frida apartments around the corner where there is a gorgeous pool and bar.

Piskopiano is a good spot though, as is Hersonissos, and Crete is a gorgeous island. The food was fabulous!!!

I would go back to Crete but not to these apartments (sorry:( )

If you are planning on being legless for 2 weeks it mightn't bother you but I got sloshed a fair bit over there and even at that I couldn't take the absolute scum that stayed there and all that came with it.

The apartment was clean and all that, but we nearly got electrocuted using the cooker and the water went for 2 days while we were there - not nice at all when it's 34 degrees outside and you cant have a shower!! (may or may not have been out of the owner's control).

I did hear that people who requested to be moved after the first night got help from the rep, but we decided to try and stick it out.

The worst group of people there were evicted. We had a momentary sigh of relief and then what happened?? They all moved in and kipped on the floor with people who they had met there and they just happened to be next door to us. Because they had no keys, they were practically kicking the door in at all hours.

I'm all up for staying up all night but you do need some kip and I got none because of how badly this place was run and the people that were staying there.

I had a good holiday because we made the best of it but the people I was with all agreed that the apartments were a kip and that we would NEVER stay in them again. We were only there for a week and sometimes it felt like 3 months (in a bad way). The Frida apartments and the amount of places to go see and things to do were our saving grace.

Again, sorry to be the bearer of bad news when you've already booked:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,915 ✭✭✭Alkers

Agreed. Fairly poor place. Security gaurd by far the worst. Hit one of my friends with a bat:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Fu*k me these apartments sound like a nightmare, the apartments we stayed in 2004 in Piskopiano were actually really nice with a nice enough crowd thankfully enough, Crete is a really good spot with some of the best food ive ever eaten, it's unfortunate that you have these type of places.

Agreed on the food! Sensational!!!!

It certainly is a pity that these places exist because I absolutely loved Greece itself. There are some lovely places to stay though, but it seems you need to do some good research to make sure you get what you want!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭GreenHorn

We packed up every morning and went to the Frida apartments around the corner where there is a gorgeous pool and bar.

Sorry for the OP's impending troubles but I'm glad to hear this Cherie... Heading over with a handful of friends in May and we were originally going to choose the Mika Vilas but after some internet research we picked the Frida instead... Hard to find a good word about the MV from anyone who's been there in the last 3 years...

GreenHorn wrote:
    Sorry for the OP's impending troubles but I'm glad to hear this Cherie... Heading over with a handful of friends in May and we were originally going to choose the Mika Vilas but after some internet research we picked the Frida instead... Hard to find a good word about the MV from anyone who's been there in the last 3 years...

Cool. It's a lovely relaxing poolside with a gorgeous view from the mountains right down to the sea. They cook nice food all day and play good tunes on the radio by the pool. There's a lovely bar outdoors and there always tended to be something on in the indoor bar when we were there. We sooo regretted not picking the Frida to stay in, but luckily we were able to use the pool and bar, and there were always free loungers. There are restaurants and shops either side of the entrance and the apartments looked lovely. Nice choice! It's a world apart from the Mika (sorry OP! But maybe you could change?? Is it too late?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

GreenHorn wrote:

Stayed in Frida first time i was in Crete , not bad from what i can remember basic but not a nightmare like Mika .

jonny68 wrote:
    Stayed in Frida first time i was in Crete, not bad from what i can remember basic but not a nightmare like Mika .

Yeah they seem basic enough but they look nice and the place has a friendly feel. The pool was lovely!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭GreenHorn

Yeah they seem basic enough but they look nice and the place has a friendly feel. The pool was lovely!!

Yippee!!! Can't wait...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Simona1986 wrote:
    Agreed. Fairly poor place. Security gaurd by far the worst. Hit one of my friends with a bat:eek:

Yeah unlike Ireland where scumbags can run free in Crete if you act the fool you are likely to get hurt.

Things like pissing in the swimming pool, fighting, shouting at staff will probably result in a baseball batting.

Its considered normal behaviour for greeks to show aggression towards drunken scumbags and the police will not entertain any complaints from the tourists about security men (who all carry long batons) keeping the peace.

Normal decent Irish holiday makers love to see this type of justice given out to all i could describe as the absolute scum of Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 warden

Stayed here Sept 08 .This place is a dump stay away from it. It is for the 18 year old's who drink all night sleep all day. We arrived at 7am the reception area is part of the irish bar the music was blareing out of it and the was about 10 people all 18 or 19 pissed at the bar two of them a boy and girl had passed out on one of the tables. The manager or owner gave us a big speach about no noise and partys after 12pm a joke because the music blares out of their bar all night and then as the school leavers arrive back pissed at 6 or 7 they are ready to sell them more drink no wonder there is so much screaming and fighting there. Also the first thing you see in the apts is the price list for drink in there supermarket. The apts are in two blocks we stayed at the firs block where the bar was dont know what the second block was like .The apts themselves are ****e even by greek standards old and worn out rusty fridge no light in bathroom (asked all week to get this fixed ) and when you turned on the taps in the hand basin the water sprayed out all over the floor.This place is budget travel only . The Frida down the road are much better . Crete is great so is Piskopiano great food and great weather places like miks villas just let it down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 yeayea22

We got off the bus at 6am and found a horrible hotel wit horrible staff to greet us. I asked why the music was still blaring at 6 and the manager refused to respond. The manager spat at my wife and I as we were leaving.When i approached him to ask him to apologize for the disgraceful act of spitting the security guard misconstrued the situation and hit me with a bat.
    The next morning I went down to complain about the lack of air conditioning. My room was like a sauna and it was like 40 degrees outside. As i was giving out to the manager the security guard ran over and hit me with a bat.
    Now nursing two bat injuries I went to complain about the violent security guard. The manager said that I deserved it. I left annoyed, afraid and aggravated with the situation. I arrived back to my room to find the security guard looking through my wallet. When I quizzed him asking why he was in my room, he ran over to me and hit me with a bat.
    On the third night I woke up to find my wife was gone. When I went to look for her i found the security guard and her together drinking and kissing. This was the final straw...... I went to attack the security guard. He hit me with a bat.
    Worst holiday ever....I'm never going back to mika villas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,136 ✭✭✭Moanin

yeayea22 wrote: »
    We got off the bus at 6am and found a horrible hotel wit horrible staff to greet us. I asked why the music was still blaring at 6 and the manager refused to respond. The manager spat at my wife and I as we were leaving.When i approached him to ask him to apologize for the disgraceful act of spitting the security guard misconstrued the situation and hit me with a bat.
    The next morning I went down to complain about the lack of air conditioning. My room was like a sauna and it was like 40 degrees outside. As i was giving out to the manager the security guard ran over and hit me with a bat.
    Now nursing two bat injuries I went to complain about the violent security guard. The manager said that I deserved it. I left annoyed, afraid and aggravated with the situation. I arrived back to my room to find the security guard looking through my wallet. When I quizzed him asking why he was in my room, he ran over to me and hit me with a bat.
    On the third night I woke up to find my wife was gone. When I went to look for her i found the security guard and her together drinking and kissing. This was the final straw...... I went to attack the security guard. He hit me with a bat.

Is this for real?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

post of the century. i'm PMSL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 cosamet

Yes everything thats been said about the Mika Villas are True unfortunetly! My husband & I stayed there in Augest 08. He booked it as a surprise for me, I got on to watchdog etc.. to find out some info & it was awful! I really didn't feel like going at all! When we got there around 7am everyone was standing outside drinking & the music pumping!! I began to think omg everthing Ive read is true! We were allocated our villa across the road from the bar which I thought was good because we wouldn't hear that much noise, and we didn't really TBH, Although when we opened up our patio door to sit outside there was a disgusting smell, it was Sewerage! It turned our stomachs inside out! The heat was in the 40s we could'nt open the door, no air-con, so it was like a little oven! The security gaurds are dangerous, best to advoid them at all costs! We just slept there, never used the pool nothing! We did hire out a quad, I know it's not recommended but it was really necessary because it was a very hilly area & the taxi's were expensive! The quad was a godsend! We just took our time on it & we got to see lots of places. We also took the boat trip to Sissy (pronounced see-see) not sure if I spelt it right! It was Beautiful!! We also stopped off half way in the ocean for a swim! We had a terrific holiday overall But that was by keeping away from the Mika as much as possible! We also went to the Frida some nights for a drink, I'm sure budget rents out the frida aswell, so if your going over to Crete stay in the Frida. Also one more thing beware of the scratch card scam, they stop couples get them to stratch a card, (Always giving the lady the winning one)My hubby won a tee-shirt & I won a possible holiday, only thing was we had to agree to go see their place which was beautiful (around the size of 20 football pitches!) & stay for over 2 hours, refreshments, taxi etc all paid for.. But to cut a loong story short they try to sell you time share holidays!! I won the holiday for up to 6 but after close inspection, we would have to pay 50 sterling & take the holiday whenever it became available (& pay our own insurance & transfer fee's)(which could have been in Febuary) & we were not gaurenteed to fly from Dublin Airport, most likely we would have to leave from the UK & we would have to spend another day with them trying to sell us more timeshare! Hope this helps someone out! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Lampytron

Mika Villas...well to be honest everything that has been said, is true! But, mika villas is a young persons apartment complex, its meant to be loud and rowdy. Young people that go here love it. I've been twice, and I'm going to be there again next week at this very time, and I cant wait. There are places where young people go that is full of kids and there is no nightlife and no place for them go enjoy themselves. This is where they do it. If your up for a mad holiday with parties and summer flings etc. this is definitely the place for you. If your looking for a romantic or family holiday - STAY AWAY!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭PomBear

Mika Villas is a bit of a hole but if you're on some crazy drining party, its not the worst, only downside is security guard telling u to get in off the balcony and turn the music off after 12, bit ****e but not a bad spot otherwise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,167 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I stayed there a few years back. It was booked by somebody else.

I hated the place. People smashing their rooms up, music day and night, people jumping off the roof into the pool. People throwing things off their balconies at you when you are coming and going and that fvcking hill, seriously who builds hotels up a stupid hill like that??

If you are 21 or below then book away but if you are any older then avoid like the plague.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Partizan

absolute classic. :D

Seriusly, I stayed in Mika Villas in 2000 and had the one of the best holidays ever. About 5 of us went over for 2 weeks and crammed into one of the apartmets. All I can say is that I didnt sleep in my own bed for half the time. :p

Madness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭D.McC

I totally agree with Partizan. I was there for two weeks in 2000. I had a great time, sure the apartments weren’t 5 star but they were functional and comfortable.

While there I spoke with others who told me they come back every year, some even come back twice a year.

It’s amazing to think how this place has changed.

im sorry but this post has to be thanked again.....possibly the best post i have ever read:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭xTanyax

im sorry but this post has to be thanked again.....possibly the best post i have ever read:D

I couldn't agree with you more!! Classic post!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 adver2

you should visit the villas in crete located at the east side of the island

villas in crete
    holiday villas in crete

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭kcb

:D:D Thanks for that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭Ping Chow Chi

I just got back from there, and to be honest, I quite enjoyed it! :)

We (me and the GF) didn't spend much time at the apartments, but it was pretty quiet at night, no issues with anything. Maybe it's changed a bit, or maybe it was just quiet because of the economy, or maybe we were just lucky.

I am glad I didn't see this before I left to go though!

oh and the scratch card scammers are still trying to pull the same stunt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭xTanyax

Glad to hear you had a nice holiday! It is a beautiful little place. I'd say you were lucky lol :). I think that scratch card scam will always be around in Crete because of the timeshare property that they have near the mountains. A fab place and all that but too expensive.. They ended up offering us 5 holidays for 6 people, or 5 weeks for 6 people (1 of which we would have to come back and stay in Crete, something to do with the government) over a period of 3 years for around 5 grand. Now if we were interested we definitely could have bargained them down! Now that was for anywhere in the world in 5 star accommodation But we had to buy our own plane tickets! They said they could get us the cheapest tickets going but they couldn't even give us an example of a price & usually the plane tickets are the dearest part of the holiday. Anyways your lucky you didn't waste your day with them! Best advice I could give to any couple to avoid them is to say your not working lol! Then they won't bother you at all!:D

I just got back from there, and to be honest, I quite enjoyed it! :)

We (me and the GF) didn't spend much time at the apartments, but it was pretty quiet at night, no issues with anything. Maybe it's changed a bit, or maybe it was just quiet because of the economy, or maybe we were just lucky.

I am glad I didn't see this before I left to go though!

oh and the scratch card scammers are still trying to pull the same stunt!