Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No Experience Necessary

• 15-03-2007 9:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭

tonight at 9.30 on RTE2. It's about Sports Photography in case anyone is interested...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

was it good?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭shepthedog

Yep watched it there. Thought it was v good.. Anyone know anyone one here that went for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭mikeanywhere

I caught the last 15 or so mins of it so not sure how theyw ere chosen or what the requirements were for getting on the show in the first place.

However, its amazing what you can take with those beast of lenses (good ol Canon hey ;) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭trooney

shepthedog wrote:
    Yep watched it there. Thought it was v good.. Anyone know anyone one here that went for this?

I know the guy who won it in the end. Kinda vaguely. Used to work with him and never knew he had any kind of interest in taking snaps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Muineach

just wondering about sports photography, i saw the show with the massive "phallic" lens and all the kit, now would you just set the camera to "sports" mode and then just take the pics ?

Its just that they didnt seem to be messing about with dof, focusing etc.. ?
    Oh yea what type of canon camera were they using ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭jamescrombie

roooney ..... u from tullamore....

yes it was me who won it and i have been in here up and down for about 2 yrs... dont comment too much .. but some of u might remember me

Muineach wrote:
    just wondering about sports photography, i saw the show with the massive "phallic" lens and all the kit, now would you just set the camera to "sports" mode and then just take the pics ?

Its just that they didnt seem to be messing about with dof, focusing etc.. ?
    Oh yea what type of canon camera were they using ?

Canon mark II N

u dont have time to focus so its up to auto focus... no sports mode on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

It was interesting alright. They interviewed about 50 people to get a shortlist of 6. I would say that the interest was across photography and sport, and one guy who had a camera who was studying organic farming or something. The 6 shortlisted candidates then had to go to a table tennis tournament and basically just take pictures. On the basis of these, 3 were chosen for the two week trial.
    There was then various assignments to be done, including a session with Bernard Dunne, hurling match etc. before the final assignent in Croke park for the Aussie Rules game.
    They had big cameras and big lenses, but the biggest thing of all was the pressure. They had to have pictures taken, edited and sent back to the agency for half time. Everything was pressure. The two guys at the end had 5 pictures between them in the national papers.
    James, I think it's fair to say that you weren't expecting to win the contract? The look of surprise on your face said it all. In any case, fair play to you and I hope it's going well for you (great shot of Bernard Dunne up against the wall with the grafitti).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,982 ✭✭✭minikin

You won it jamescrombie?
    Still working at inpho?
    Went to college with Norman yonks ago, gas to see him all growed up :)

yes minkin still working here... loving every minute of it ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭jaqian

Missed it. Anybody record it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭mikeanywhere

yes it was me who won it

Congrats!!

So from the horses mouth then, what was the requirement to get on the show??

well done lad,
    No doubt you've a long & successful career ahead of you!
    So how are you surviving on the 10k a year? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,741 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Canon mark II N

u dont have time to focus so its up to auto focus... no sports mode on it

Congratulations -- a nice and rewarding career ahead of you !

One thing that struck me from my limited amateur photography career, and that came across in the show, is that rugby seams a lot easier to photograph than soccer .. maybe its more expressive or you can get closer to the action !
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/thebaz/378586375/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭GristlyEnd

Does anyone know if this episode will be repeated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,319 ✭✭✭sineadw

Oooo well done! I didn't see it but just read the bumph on the RTE website. Nice to know you're still there - I wonder how often it works out for people who win this type of thing.

nah, it's cause the ruggerbuggers can't run very fast :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭trooney

roooney ..... u from tullamore....

Nah. I'm from Dublin. That was me you bumped into the other night at the bus stop/ reminiscing about the aul hp days...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

The rugger has more stops in it, and the football moves a lot quicker. Congrats James. Hope you dont mind. :)

IMG_9260.jpg

ruggers i find easier... because u can more or less quess where the ball is going next so you can already have a eye on yur subject...... u are looking right at them and they run at you and are tackled so hense no so much side ways back ways up in the air stuff..... soccer in the eircom league is very hard because the lights are cr@p in must pitches appart from the brandywell i think.. alot of irish soccer can be a bit up in the air long balls... the likes of tolka park is two dark on the sides so u are just hoping for something good down the middle... so your narrowed down before you even start

borderfox i will post a pic up here of u tomorrow... return the favour like :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,763 ✭✭✭Fenster

Congrats :D

Thanks James, just finished watching the show now. Looked intense but you really seemed to lap it up the longer it went on. :)

cheers again everone...

i think i was a bit nervous with the TV crew staring at me.. the interviews were nerve wrecking but it wasnt just the bosses there were 7 or 8 other people in the room looking around corners... thats what got to me but i think u just get used to it and then start to get more relaxed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,741 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

cheers again everone...

i think i was a bit nervous with the TV crew staring at me.. the interviews were nerve wrecking but it wasnt just the bosses there were 7 or 8 other people in the room looking around corners... thats what got to me but i think u just get used to it and then start to get more relaxed

As a viewer , i got to say you both seamed quite comfortable in front of the lens , as well as behind it -- well done again ... i did feal for the other guy , think hes working in Donegal, seamed a decent sort too !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,368 ✭✭✭Covey

Congrats, well done James.

I found the programme fascinating. The presure came over big time. As an amateur if you get nothing decent, you try again next time, but here it was a neccessity.

I was intrigued that for one assigment ye were critised for not taking the advise regarding shutter speed. I would have thought you'd shoot shutter priority and adjust the iso if the light changed. Obviously not???

As a matter of interest how do you set up the camera (aperature, speed, iso etc) and what software do you use to assess and transmit back to HO?. Do you shoot in raw and if so who processes it.

Well done again.

T.

Isn't that the difference between amateur and professional. Professionals only get one chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,368 ✭✭✭Covey

Borderfox wrote:
    Isn't that the difference between amateur and professional. Professionals only get one chance.

Bang on. Focuses the mind a little though when you see it 'live' as were. For those of us who thought/think I'm a decent photographer, could do that, well it's not that easy when you HAVE to.

T.

This show was repeated at some ungodly hour last night, taped(dvd) most of it if anyone is interested.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

minikin wrote:
    This show was repeated at some ungodly hour last night, taped(dvd) most of it if anyone is interested.
    I'd definitely like to see this. I was going to enter it, but didn't fancy the whole TV aspect of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭GristlyEnd

I recorded it on my Sky+ last night but it missed the last 10-15 mins. Why can't RTE keep to it's schedule :mad:

Is it on youtube yet?

Sinecurea,
    I can post it to you, so long as i can get it back... i know one of the lads on the show.

No problem, thought what size of a file is it?
    You could compress it and torrent it if that helps?

eh... it's on a dvd by post i meant 'post'

minikin wrote:
    eh... it's on a dvd by post i meant 'post'
    Heh, yeah I know - I was trying to save the hassle.
    I'll PM you my address.

S.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭jaqian

minikin wrote:

Yeah I would be interested in a copy if thats ok.