Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why does our Taoiseach feck off every St Patricks day.

• 15-03-2007 12:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭

Just wondering why does our Taoiseach leave our country every St Patricks day and spend it with the US Pres. What other head of State has the balls/cheek to go away to another country on its national holiday? Do you think Bush would spend 4th July in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Apparently he uses the "goodwill to all Irish" day to beg for an amnesty of Irish illegals in the US.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

That day is a pretty excellent 'trade fair' though. It's when Irish politicians go off selling our wares on overseas missions, we get to be free of politicians for the day and go into town and watch the parade. I can't see any benefit to keeping him (or the other politicians) at home:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

We have him in the country 364 days a year (ok not really but still) surely you can do without him for a day or two?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

We have him in the country 364 days a year (ok not really but still) surely you can do without him for a day or two?

Maybe the op is like the david walliams character in little britain (the pm's assistant :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

The simple answer is because he is a tool, and its just another tool-esque thing that he does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

So...? It's not like we miss him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

To see a decent parade, that's why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

thrill wrote:
    To see a decent parade, that's why.

by the time that trundles through you shouldn't be able to see properly :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭jaggeh

because on paddys day the irish population is drunk and stupid enough to go after him with pitch forks and torches, its a preventitive measure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

its because the bastard is getting a holiday at our expense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

I'm quite sure he would refer to it as a sales trip,with expenses per diem;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭NutJob

Hes doing the rep thing and selling us abroad aswell as selling us up the river at home. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭Mully

DonJose wrote:
    Just wondering why does our Taoiseach leave our country every St Patricks day and spend it with the US Pres. ?

He doesn't. He's in the US at the moment, & will be back in Dublin for St Patricks Day.

On Friday 16 March the Taoiseach will participate in the traditional Shamrock Ceremony in the White House. The Taoiseach and President Bush will meet in the Oval Office for exchanges on Northern Ireland, immigration reform and a range of current international issues, including climate change. The Taoiseach will depart the US on Friday 16 March.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Because he has the infinite good sense not to want to hang around Dublin on St Patrick's Day.
    DonJose wrote:
    Just wondering why does our Taoiseach leave our country every St Patricks day and spend it with the US Pres. What other head of State has the balls/cheek to go away to another country on its national holiday? Do you think Bush would spend 4th July in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Plissken1

Did you not hear the news today, Bertie is on a mission to save our economy. Hes going on the piss with a load of multi-nationals, and while he is getting a few rounds in hes going to ask them to setup operations in Ireland. I mean Bertie is not really into this drinking lark, but hes going to take one for the team, and forge ahead with his mission to save us from the Dole queue. fair play to him !

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Plissken1 wrote:
    Did you not hear the news today, Bertie is on a mission to save our economy. Hes going on the piss with a load of multi-nationals, and while he is getting a few rounds in hes going to ask them to setup operations in Ireland. I mean Bertie is not really into this drinking lark, but hes going to take one for the team, and forge ahead with his mission to save us from the Dole queue. fair play to him !
    Exactly, every Taoiseach for as long as I can remember has gone over to the US and it happened to bring alot of jobs to Ireland. I don't agree with alot of the stuff that goes on in our government but this I do agree with.

Then again, maybe he's going over to get away from moany fúckers like the OP. Wouldn't surprise me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭CtrlSource

Reckon we can look after ourselves for a day!

Actually, sending himself and most of the cabinet abroad for Paddy's Day is money well spent. Raises the profile of this little country around the world for a day. Turn on any major international news program on 17th March and there'll be reports about parades etc. It's only a pity that some of them have to come back! :rolleyes: (I'm looking at you Martin Cullen and you Mickey McDowell...)

Tis nice for the aul' diaspora as well....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

He's giving a talk at a dinner where some 'strangers' will give him a nice present in a brown envelope ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I'm hoping I mis-heard it, but I thought it said on 98fm, not to long ago, something about Cullan's little Paddy's day holiday costing about €99,000! I hope to god I'm wrong!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Judt

Meh, it's a sales pitch. You could equally ask what our President does all day long. At the end of the day they're helping bring in the $$$

Besides, one of these Paddy's days we'll wave them all off at the airport, and then revoke their passports when they get to the foreign lands. Wah wah wah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

You're only jealous, admit it.