Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Downloading in UL

• 05-03-2007 7:41pm
    Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭

Whats the story with downloading in U.L. Is there someone watching how much we download or can we download as much as possible?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Legal stuff I assume?

Otherwise this thread doesn't have long to live.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,641 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

Unless you're logging on to the Windows domain (i.e. using a lab or office PC in the college and logging in) or you gave them your MAC address at some stage (I know you used to have to give them this to get onto their network with a laptop but I don't think they care any more) it'd be very hard for them to know who you are.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭440Hz

*places watchful eye on thread* ahem cough, careful now :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

440Hz wrote:
    *places watchful eye on thread* ahem cough, careful now :)

lads lads lads....lets not assume the worst right away......

at least wait until i mention..........

only messing :P

only a loosley related topic does anyone know the connection speed in the on-campus accomadtion and are download limits watched there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

I'd assume you can dl as much as you want in the villages, not sure what the speed is but aren't they running off the UL backbone?

kaimera wrote:
    I'd assume you can dl as much as you want in the villages, not sure what the speed is but aren't they running off the UL backbone?

i assume they are but would it not be restricted in some way..like if im the only one online im not gna get the hole t1(orwatever it is) bandwith im not a techy so iv no idea really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

Im frigging restricted from downloading stuff where I live:( ..feck sake..it's not like we have techies living here lik:rolleyes:

Fast_Mover wrote:
    Im frigging restricted from downloading stuff where I live:( ..feck sake..it's not like we have techies living here lik:rolleyes:

my mate is in a private rented apartment in cork and his bb acces has gone from unrestricted to 50mbs a day no time limit then back up to 300mbs a day no time limit.....now it seems steam warcraft etc has been blocked...........oretty sure the landlord is breaking contract but this is something i dont want happening to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭rmacm

PeakOutput wrote:
    only a loosley related topic does anyone know the connection speed in the on-campus accomadtion and are download limits watched there

In the villages you're connected to the college network but the speed at the edge of the network is 10/100Mb. From my machine in CSIS I get about 4Mb down using one of those speed test websites which isn't too bad. And there is no download limit. The college has a 400Mbps connection to the HEAnet backbone so you won't need to worry about download limits.

Cheers
    Rory

• Registered Users Posts: 6,641 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

Stats for the UL connection (and others) are here:
    http://www.hea.net/
    If you look at the graphs there's rarely more than about 150Mbit/s coming into UL so it's not like the connection is ever on full load. I guess most (all?) of the LAN connections are limited to 100Mb though - IIRC all the main building only became fully 100Mb/s a couple of years ago so it's quite likely some buildings/areas are still on 10Mb lines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭morbo

I don't know about you lads, but I feel very restricted using my own personal laptop in the student village. You can’t access any download program like Azureus, BitComit, Limewire (which is riddled with viruses!) or anything else like that. Gaming is restricted in the village too. A word to the wise, join the Gaming Society. Get their personal proxy settings to access the network. Then you can use the net like you do at home, you filthy porn mongers!

Also, yes, they can monitor you. In fact, they are monitoring you. But it's not people, it's just a network monitoring program that scans all out-bound and in-bound traffic for certain words, phrases, structure, etc. They know exactly what you are looking at. All Internet service providers have this ability. The Internet is anything but anonymous!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

morbo wrote:
    A word to the wise, join the Gaming Society. Get their personal proxy settings to access the network. Then you can use the net like you do at home, you filthy porn mongers!
    Join the Gaming Society anyway. It's great craic (shameless plug :D). We don't have any personal proxy settings to access the network. You might be referring to members of Skynet who have more open accounts to access the 'net. Those accounts are a lot more heavily monitored than regular proxy users e.g. people with laptops in the library, and any illegal activity is cracked down upon.
    Azureus does work over the UL network through the proxy. It takes a few minutes to get each torrent going but it does work. A screenshot of the settings you need are below. This guide is only for downloading legal content via torrents. What you do with it is your own business but I'm not responsible.

<snip>
    Regardless if it is for legal content the fact remains there is quite a bit of illegal material available via torrents and I can't condone it on the forum.