Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UL Paintballing

• 03-03-2007 10:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭

Most of you already know the specifics but to prevent any confusion here it is:

The day after the UL intervarsity (Sunday April 1st) we will be going out to Combat zone in Shanagolden. The games will go from 12 midday to 4pm. A bus is being organised to bring us out from and take us back to UL (Stables arch). I've contacted CZ and they are willing to give us the student rate even though its a sunday but only if there are enough of us going.

Normal cost = €40
    Student rate = €30

I'm looking for a list from each club that are looking to go by this friday (9th) with every persons name, mobile number and working email address. The address to send these lists is to ularchery@gmail.com with your club name and "Paintball" in the subject. Doesn't matter what type of file you send as long as its understandable ;)

In order to book ourselves in we need to put in €20 per person aswell. The NUIG IV is the last possible time that these can be given to me though I'd prefer that people figured out who wanted to go and paid earlier. Anyone that hasn't paid by NUIG will be taken off the list and not be allowed go... except MuchSavage (gona get you good boy:p )

Any letters send to
    Cian O' Sullivan, Archery Club,
    Clubs and Societies,
    University of Limerick,
    Limerick, Ireland*

If you want to know anything about Combat Zone then follow this Link to their site

* well..... sometimes the postmen get confused

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 128 ✭✭MuchSavage

Do i get to go for free then yea? :) I hope i don't become the main target for the day!! Hopefully get a list by end this week, start of next week......this paintballing should be interesting, do we egt a team score...... humm wonder if i could break 500!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭baggins

In the interest of marvin's continued existence i dont think i'll be going somehow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭Cosine

@MuchSavage: Not free but you get to go for a very special price, only €73.45 in exact change please ;)

The last time I went to shanagolden there was a person of the match award so you can aim for that. Actually its really a man of the match, but vachn would have my left eardrum if I put that there. Bloody militants

@Baggins: Ah sure its grand, the only way you can tell the teams appart is by the different coloured arm bands. Telling people apparnt is nearly impossible!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭lilRedSmurf

Cosine wrote:
    The last time I went to shanagolden there was a person of the match award so you can aim for that. Actually its really a man of the match, but vachn would have my left eardrum if I put that there. Bloody militants

Yes, Yes she will......:mad:

Will someone kindly remind me to educate Cosine with some navigators next time i see him.

In other news, GMIT will have a list for paintballing by friday and the money should come thru by next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Blind man

I've used harry as a navigator before, you have my full permission to use him to educate kian anyway you want,

BTW, Cosine,

Never been paintballin before in me life an now get ta go on two on the one weekend, i gotta go to a corporate paintball thing on fri (Free shooting, free eaten an free drinkin) (they twisted me arm i tell ya)

But is it okay if i shoot in the two late groups ie second of each.

prob gonna come down seperate on sat mornin.

i know marve ain't gotten in a team list but just wanted ta say it while i thought of it...

ooh look a chicken

I'm only organising the Paintball. The actual shoot is being organised by memori so you'll have to get the ok from her.

oh and its Cian not kian :rolleyes:

Kian is cooler,

Heh Memori... have a goo at the above will ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Yuppie

Blind man wrote:
    I've used harry as a navigator before, you have my full permission to use him to educate kian anyway you want,

Is that refering to the indicator incident? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭baggins

I think i recall that i was navigating, harry was merely signalling muffin's intent

Lads just a reminder that the NUIG shoot is the last time I'll be taking money.

I want lists of people and preferably the deposits too well before then.

Only one college has gotten back to me and that was to appologise for not having a list

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭lilRedSmurf

Who is the cheque for the deposits to be made out to?

Sorry, forgot to add that in.

Cheques to be made payable to the UL Archery Club

Only two clubs have gotten back to me with lists of people going paintballing.

If no other clubs are planning on coming along can ye tell me please so I can make the booking at Combat Zone

Cheers

We'll be up next weekend, is it alright that all thats going, pay you in cash, or is a cheque necessary? or will it make any difference to yuou for the payment......... Are numbers slacking for the paintballing?

That'll be grand.

I've to contact CZ with a numbers figure to book the slot. We have about 30 people confirmed already which is a fairly good size. Was hoping to get a few more involved

For those that didn't look at the Combat Zone site :p There is a special offer that they have running with a bunch of local hotels €62 for a 3 person room.

I'll be booking Combat Zone on monday/tuesday and I'll post here when I do

Alright the venue and bus have been booked. For those that are looking for the special offers on accommodation I've asked and apparently all you have to say is that you are a group going to Combat Zone when you make the booking.

ah sure might as well congrat Cian too for the Paintball! Don't know about you lot, i thought it was great craic! well done, nice way to finish off the year....even if i did riddle you in the last game!! :) sorry man....fair juice

Don't worry, I'll get you back :p

Any war stories people want to brag about?

First arena when blue were attacking I found a lovely spot on the long wall that gave me a clear shot into one corner of the main bunker. Got a good few out you out but the best wat the guy I got on the ass :D

Apparently in the first game I shot the lid off some guys hopper whilst also splattering him in the face and spilling his ammo. Don't know who though.

Also got Tom from GMIT in the ear. But that was retaliation for shooting down on top of me head in lockdown. Shagafragraga...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,773 ✭✭✭connemara man

great day don't know how you are going to beat that for next year. :D

yeah for everyone's future warning do not tell family members that you got knocked out after being shot in the head.

the hassle is unreal.

~Coughattention seekingcough~

Am looking into other paintball arena's for next year. I know there are a few good ones further away from limerick but that would mean that you won't be coming back to limerick until 8 or 9pm. If dublin people have other transport (cars/bus hire) then those might be options but we won't know till next year :p

Have plenty of options for ye by then though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Robinhood101

Blind man wrote:
    Also got Tom from GMIT in the ear. But that was retaliation for shooting down on top of me head in lockdown. Shagafragraga...

Now Now it was fair,i didn`t mean it.......really

Also Muffin Sorry for shooting you in the exact same spot in the head every time .....What was it 4...5 times same spot over 2 games

between yourself an shane i lost count halfway through the first game.

note to any paint ball virgins do not wear anythin which isolates your head from the ten others peeping around from behind a tree...

Good God me poor skull was peppered.

Or pink dresses!