Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are people defined now by how busy we are?

• 01-03-2007 2:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭

Is this the best place to post this? Just a thought really:

I have a friend who always makes out that she is busy.....got a txt the other day "Ill be home this weekend - need a relaxing weekend - so I will pop over for a quick chat at some stage"........I get the impression that she wants us to think that she has a real hectic life....im sure she has, its just the way she portrays it.

My average week: I work full-time. I study a few evenings a week and also have exams. I have house work to do and a partner also. I also go out at least once a week. I try to see friends (mostly when they are available) and I try to exercise between all that also. But there are days when Ive nothing to do!!! Do most people have things to do every day?

Are people defined now by how busy we are? Like, because we are "busy" we are worth something or successful or seen to be successful?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

dellas1979 wrote:
    Are people defined now by how busy we are? Like, because we are "busy" we are worth something or successful or seen to be successful?

yep. I think so too. Its the whole modern American influence. That and how many friends you have on that feckin bebo site! People need to take a step back n realize there is more to life then how hectic their lives are and how much they've got goin on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Yeah people need to relax i like nothing better than to go into town ( Galway City ) on my day off and chill out, grab a bite to eat and just chill, if you just sit down in a cafe and look out people are always zooming by like for what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭tamburlaine

dellas1979 wrote:

I have a friend who always makes out that she is busy.....got a txt the other day "Ill be home this weekend - need a relaxing weekend - so I will pop over for a quick chat at some stage"........I get the impression that she wants us to think that she has a real hectic life....im sure she has, its just the way she portrays it.

Maybe she's insecure about people's perception of her and feels the need for her friends to know that she's been wanted and in demand by others, whether it be work or whatnot. I agree with you. Everyone has the day or two there's nought to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭dellas1979

Some people give the impression that they are busy all the time!!!

I dont think that this is true (that they are that busy all the time). I think people like to be seen as busy and it means, I guess, something exciting or you are needed or something - I dunno - I find it a little false sometimes.

Maybe its the way of the world these days. As I said, there are days when I have sweet f all to do. I wont go around with the pretence that I am "busy all the time".....

Some people these days, youd nearly have to book them 2 weeks in advance to speak with them as its all "busy, busy, busy....." - its not even a work related thing. Oh I dunno.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

I can't reply, too busy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

dellas1979 wrote:
    Some people give the impression that they are busy all the time!!!

I dont think that this is true (that they are that busy all the time). I think people like to be seen as busy and it means, I guess, something exciting or you are needed or something - I dunno - I find it a little false sometimes.

Maybe its the way of the world these days. As I said, there are days when I have sweet f all to do. I wont go around with the pretence that I am "busy all the time".....

Some people these days, youd nearly have to book them 2 weeks in advance to speak with them as its all "busy, busy, busy....." - its not even a work related thing. Oh I dunno.

Maybe they don't like you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

Maybe she's just busy. I have (had) a busy life and I'm a loser who makes no effort to disguise it.

Am not complaining about my friend at all. That was an example.

I am just thinking about how busy people are......or pretend or think that they are busy.

You cant be busy all day every day. But that is what people want other people to think about them - as the busier you seem, the more successful you appear.

Nothing to do at all with MY friends. Its just the way people want to be perceived.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭jrey1981

Well none of us posting on here can be that busy...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

What the **** is this obcession with deifining people...?

Are we that insecure that we have define people as Irish/English (Southern Ireland/British Isles threads) soccer fans/GAA fans/rugby fans (national anthem played at Croke Park) weird/normal (bus-spotters thread) catholic/protestant/whatever (various) Dublin/culchie/jackeen/west brit (again, various), by fashion, by job, by income,by the ****ing car we drive and now, for the love of God, by how busy we claim to be...?

What happened to individuality? Are we THAT blinkered that we cannot see? Why does every moment of ever day have to be dinfined by job, exercise, study? Wy do you feel compelled to account for it?

WHO THE **** CARES, OP, WHO THE **** CARES?

Calmblueocean... calmblueocean... calmblueocean...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭sonners

Ikky Poo2 wrote:

Are we that insecure that we have define people as Irish/English (Southern Ireland/British Isles threads) soccer fans/GAA fans/rugby fans (national anthem played at Croke Park) weird/normal (bus-spotters thread) catholic/protestant/whatever (various) Dublin/culchie/jackeen/west brit (again, various), by fashion, by job, by income,by the ****ing car we drive and now, for the love of God, by how busy we claim to be...?

What happened to individuality? Are we THAT blinkered that we cannot see? Why does every moment of ever day have to be dinfined by job, exercise, study? Wy do you feel compelled to account for it?

quote of the week for definite !!!! Absolutely brilliant :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Scriber

It is in people's nature to want to feel appreciated and saying you work really hard gives people the impression you are appreciated and they feel you respect that. It is definatly in our nature to want to belong and its just one of the many things we do to disguise an insecurity. So I dont look down on it.

I live my life to experience everything I read about and dream about, this is something I dont hide and I will admit if I am working hard or if I am dossing. There is a huge culture in Ireland at the moment which come with the success of the last decade of "The Tiger" which see's Irish people living to work and it really is worrying.

So people of my beautiful and charming country, relax slow down before you wake up dead with all your ambitions a mere dream that when you woke you realized damn there is no Porche in the driveway. Life will pass you by.

You are here for a good time, not a long time.
    Work to live and dont forget to smile & enjoy life.

Please take the time to read this as I worked very hard to write it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Ikky Poo2 wrote:

Well, you're desperately trying to be identified as an "individual", whatever that is. Thats just another classification.

Definition is pretty much just a part of identity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Good thread. Lots of people like to make out they're super busy. The "I've too many friends and too much work" syndrome. I used to be like that but since moving to Galway I am waaay more relaxed about things (no, no drugs).
    I think that big city folks just like to seem very "on the go" all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

i have a friend like that too, she seems to be forever busy, but sh emakes herself like that. she is always doing things for her family that she really shouldnt be doing. She makes work for herself.

Ikky - just a thought:

You say people are defined or sub-classed? The minute you undefine them, the way you think it ought to be, arent you defining them then yourself - because that is what you think it ought to be? May not be a collective defintion - you might be the only one to think like this - but you are still defining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

dellas1979 wrote:

My average week: I work full-time. I study a few evenings a week and also have exams. I have house work to do and a partner also. I also go out at least once a week. I try to see friends (mostly when they are available) and I try to exercise between all that also. But there are days when Ive nothing to do!!! Do most people have things to do every day?

no, pople are defined by how other people perceive them.

why do you think your friend doesnt have a hectic life? just becuase you seem to think your life is more busy, does that mean that your friends life isnt as busy as yours, and therefore it seems, is open to derision?

i dont lead a 'busy' life, but im always busy.
    just becuase im at home, doesnt mean im not doing something.

and just to add, i would put me sititng in front of the tv doing nothing and having some down time as a busy time. becuase its not up for negotiation to do other things.
    people are just people.

i actually find that people who need to define others to have too much time on their hands and little enough in their own lives to worry about.

Ikky Poo2 wrote:

pretty much what i say as well. its about people needing to have an opinion on everything, and that means catagorising things.

dont worry, its a teenage thing. it too, passes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

People define people and things because without definitions there is disambiguation and that leads to more confusion. whereas I could say 'look at that Russian' under a disamiguous society I would have to say 'look at that human from within 150 miles of 34'65"N 65'37"E.'....or something.

Without definition we wouldnt have google earth to tell me useless stuff like that (faked those coords, cant be bothered loading google...too busy)

without definition we could not make the internet, or boards or lots of stuff...in fact definition is pretty much the cornerstone of our evolution, and stuff.

Me? I'm busy as hell, and if I'm not busy I'm crashing, as in missing deadlines and doing nothing and in the long run throwing away my life....or I'm sleeping and typing on boards.
    Basically people are busy when they don't have the time off: time off being defined as a period of at least 48 hours where you can rest and relax or get out of your current location which after a while becomes a very stagnant insanity-inducing environment.

now, back to my programming project.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭carbonkid

When your all talking about definitions you mean labeling people? Well yea of course dellas1979 is labeling his/her friend because hes human and thats what we do all the time...and dont say you dont cause you do!!!
    i actually find that people who need to define others to have too much time on their hands and little enough in their own lives to worry about.

I wont say its cause he has too much time on his hands. You'd do that same to people you see or interact with all day on some level.

maybe, but i dont spend time trying to decide what catagory people shouldbe in.

they just are. but generally, i tend to put everyone in the same bucket. i think everyone is pretty much equal.

so, when we get threads on here about britney spears being white trailor trash, and everyone is jumping onthe band wagon, saying they wouldnt touch her with yhou a barge pole, well you know what, i reckon shes just a singer.

but thats what i think. you obviously think differently. and thats ok.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I like to give the impression that I fill up my day and am generally busy, but that's just to cover up the fact that I actually waste most of my day being lazy and sitting on my ass. I could be busy all the time, but I'm a massive procrastinator and again, lazy.

I got a reply to a text from a friend the other day, who hasn't been in contact since Christmas. She said "blah, blah, blah, sorry I haven't been in contact, I've been up the walls!" Up th walls since the 27th of December? From a person who regularlyl boasts that she has only 12 hours of college, at most, a week? Sure!

Well, like - there is no excuse for not calling a person and then giving a reason that you were busy.

Noone can be that busy.......for 2 months solid.

I am not defining people, in fact, if you think about it, they are defining themselves.

They want to be perceived as busy - busy/hectic life / social life - its a bit of a guard/front. Thats just it actually, sometimes its all a front - fake.

I dont think it has anything to do with bad time keeping - just a need to be seen as "popular" even - you know "busy, busy, busy....."

Its nothing to do personal-wise with people who do this - I was just wondering why people WANT to be perceived like this.